Reviews: bneth923

Location: USA, Gender: Male, Age: 30
91%

No customer comment

  • 15th Mar 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Alternative Hostels

Cuenca, Ecuador
97%

Real hot water showers with amazing water pressure(!!!), it's clean, $5 for laundry, there's a nice kitchen, the wifi is ok, towels, helpful staff and the location is good. Our first three nights were super quiet but on the fourth night, a group of Aussies had a party in the kitchen and kept everyone awake until 3am. Hopefully that's not normal though.

  • 27th Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Colonial House Quito

Quito, Ecuador
37%

No customer comment


Hotel El Estadio

La Ceiba, Honduras
40%

The hostel owner has some kind of scam set up with the taxi drivers. He (the owner) told us that we needed to leave one hr and 15 mins early for the ferry to Utila and that it was very far and we needed to pay the driver 200 L ($10). The driver repeated the same to us. It's a five minute drive. After dropping us at the ferry, the same driver had time to leave and come back FOUR TIMES bringing other people from our hostel. SCAM! Also, NO RUNNING WATER but this could have been the city's fault

Owner Comment (Hide)
NO SCAMS & PLENTY OF WATER..Hey fans this is Peter owner/manager here again paying my dues.We have our own water well & also use this city's supply but on this odd particular day the city was doing some repairs so the water supply was low for the whole city i explain to my beautiful guests what has happening & asked them to ration the water bec we had a full house & to be consider it so that others can take showers .As far as taxis our business is lodging but we go out of our way to call taxis

Base Camp Antigua

Antigua, Guatemala
69%

There are only two toilets and since they also are also showers, it was IMPOSSIBLE to get in there in the morning. All the guys were peeing in water bottles because of the insanely long waits in the morning. Other than that, this place is really not very clean. I really wanted to like it here because the staff were extreamly friendly and helpful (and the showers were hot!) but we still had to switch hostels after a couple days because of how gross the place was and because of the bathroom sit


Haina Hostal

Cancun, Mexico
77%

All the staff (especially Fernando) were amazing and super helpful! The cleanliness could be a bit better though, and unless you leave your A/C is on constantly, your room will become very damp and humid. In fact, our laptop BROKE because of the humidity in our room. Yeah. As for the location, it's very good if you don't mind being downtown. When we wanted to go to the beach and hotel zone, we just took the R1 or R2 bus for 9 pesos each. There's also a water jug for your to refill your bo

  • 9th Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
DEAR: THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR COMMENTS, EVERY SUGGESTION IS VERY IMPORTANT FOR US IN ORDER TO INCREASE OUR EFFORTS TO BE THE PLACE THAT YOU WOULD LIKE TO STAY IN CANCUN, ABOUT HUMIDITY, YES IT IS A PROBLEM WE HAD BECAUSE OF THE CONSTANTLY RAIN WE BEEN HAVING THESE TIME THAT WAS OUT OF CONTROL, BUT THANK YOU ONES AGAIN , MALENA

Smyle Inn

New Delhi, India
89%

There was hot water (6am-9am, 6pm-9pm), super-fast wifi, perfect location, the breakfast was great (and didn’t make us sick!) and the owner gave us three bottles of water for free! The room and bathroom could have used a good scrub but it’s really wasn’t bad for India. Note: they only give you a tiny roll of toilet paper (but this is pretty standard)


Dai Long Hotel

Hoi An, Vietnam
80%

Hated that they allowed smoking in the lobby and that the owner was the main offender; however rooms were far enough away that it didn't bother us there.


Vy Khanh Hostel

Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
83%

Wasn't as much of a gem as everyone makes it out to be, but the staff was great, the location was right in the heart of the city and the overall cleanliness was good. However, it was far more expensive than other options in the area, and there was a lack of hot water. Also, they didn't have water at all at one point and they "lost power" for about 8 hours, but everyone else had power in the area so...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guests, Firstly, thanks for your feedback. We are sorry that you were not happy with the price. We think $17 USD/1 night is not expensive for the location and the good services. You could have mentioned the effort that we made by driving 30 minutes, and all the hassle we encountered at the airport to handle your passport, but we did not charge any fee. Secondly, the power outage was beyond our control, apparently it was reparation work from the electric company and it happened to be during your stay, we are sorry for the inconvenience. Thirdly, we use 2 water heating systems: Solar heating and electric booster, yet the solar heating is more priority. Sometimes, it was rainy all day and the water is not too hot. So, if you had talked to us, we could have used the electric booster. We hope you could understand this situation. Warm regards from Vy Khanh Guesthouse.

Kampoeng Djawa

Yogyakarta, Indonesia
66%

It's pretty far from Maloboro street (main strip), but I think the street it is on is better! Everything you need is there. Hostel itself was alright, not fancy and we had issues with mosquitoes, but decent still.

  • 30th Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Terrace Hotel

Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei
83%

It's a hotel, not a hostel. Good place to stay. Getting there from the Ferry can be a pain though. Take a taxi to the local bus station (should be less than 10 dollars) and then take a bus from there to the city for $1.


YHA Auckland City

Auckland, New Zealand
97%

No customer comment

  • 12th May 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Bamboo Beach

Nadi, Fiji
74%

The staff make this place!! They are great and VERY welcoming. The place is a little dirty and there was no hot water, but internet is free! It's Fiji so you can't ask for much. Far from city but right on a great little beach. Good food close by. Free fire show, from airport picj up, free kava and a great chill out spot. Rooms are big but literally no keys or doors, just open to everyone (dorms). Lots of mosquitoes too. Better than most of the others in the are though! .

  • 4th May 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


YHA Auckland City

Auckland, New Zealand
94%

No customer comment

  • 2nd May 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


YHA Bay of Islands Paihia

Paihia, New Zealand
74%

A mix of a motel and a hostel. Bath was in suite and things were clean. A little far from town but other hostels are too. Nice staff, but only 2 or 3 people on staff. Close to bars and resturants.

  • 30th Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


YHA Auckland City

Auckland, New Zealand
97%

This place is like coming home for us. We've been here 4 times now. Clean, easy check in, great staff, no hassles. All the things you expect for a good hostel. Not a place to party through, good for sleeping and just relaxing!

  • 27th Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


YHA Rotorua

Rotorua, New Zealand
83%

Decent little spot, not a great location for town but neither is the competition. The staff is great and it is clean and most YHA's are.

  • 26th Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


YHA Greymouth

Greymouth, New Zealand
91%

Nice little place, MJ (the manager) was AWESOME and very helpful! We would stay again without question! Greymouth on the other hand... not the best place to spend time!

  • 9th Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Base Wellington

Wellington, New Zealand
51%

This place is not worth the money! And it's even more if you just walk in and book (thanks for saving us some $ hostelworld!) It's a typical Base (party place), but the bar is loud and if you want to sleep, this is not the place. We were also told by staff to make sure to lock your stuff up because 5 passports and a few computers are stolen every week! We also had someone drinking and smoking in our room, and when we said something to the staff, nothing was done.

  • 2nd Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, I'm sorry to hear your stay wasn't as enjoyable as expected and disrupted by noise. Due to our fantastic location which allows you to walk to all the main attractions, sometimes there is noise from surrounding restaurants and bars. To combat this we do our best to put guests in the highest rooms on each floor available and in your case, the 6th level. Due to the nature of sharing rooms with people you don't know we suggest you lock valuables away in the lockers provided to be on the safe side which people really like that all rooms have this facility. The person's computer which had been stolen was due to them leaving it out on their bed while they went out for the day. I can guarantee you that we don't have passports or laptops stolen all the time like you have mentioned and this is a rare occurrence I take very seriously. In regards to the person smoking and drinking in your room when did you report this to the reception team? Once again we have a 0 tolerance to alcohol or smoking within the building for the comfort of all guests. If you would like to discuss this further please contact me directly;

YHA Auckland International

Auckland, New Zealand
86%

A little ways out of the city, but easily walked (all the hostels are like this). Typical YHA, clean enough and above par for the other backpacker places! Easy access to things in the city!

  • 25th Mar 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Heaven Guest House

Jodhpur, India
33%

Worst Hostel of our Trip! After a 12 hour train ride, we wanted nothing more than a hot shower and a clean room. We arrived to be told there was NO water, no hot or cold! We couldn't even wash our hands! The hotel was being run by a tourist from Sweeden because the owner had left the day before to a wedding! We arrived to no water at all, a dirty room (sheets were BAD), and no owner. We were VERY disappointed to say the least. We left the next day and stayed elsewhere. Don't waste your money!


Golden Mango Inn

Siem Reap, Cambodia
97%

AMAZING!!! The best place we have stayed in the past 6 months of traveling. Sony and his family are amazing and so nice. Truly a great experience.


Ngoclinh Hotel

Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
90%

Great price, good location and VERY helpful staff! I would stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your staying in NGOCLINH HOTEL. I hope to welcome you in the future!