Reviews: Anonymous

Location: Australia, Gender: Male, Age: 26

River City Inn

Singapore, Singapore
91%

Easy location to MRT with helpful location. Hostel is very clean

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


Wada Hostel in Guilin

Guilin, China
97%

The Wada girls (staff) were a great help; hostel is a good location and has a good feel to it

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


Mama Naxi`s Guesthouse

Lijiang, China
74%

I initially went to Mama Naxi #1 where the lady running it was quite rude and unhelpful in finding the other hostel (Mama Naxi #3). The hostel overall is not bad however there are many options in the old town of Lijiang.

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


80%

No customer comment

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


89%

Good fun hostel with very helpful staff, decent location near the subway and various buses

  • 23rd Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


Jiuzhaigou Hostel C

Jiuzhaigou, China
86%

Good cheap option for Jiuzhaigou if you wish to avoid the expensive hotels in the town. Hostel has been renovated recently and is very clean

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


77%

Please add some English signage in the complex as its very hard to find at night

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


Huangshan Bed and Breakfast

Huangshan, China
97%

This is without doubt one of the bet hostels I've stayed at in my 40+ countries I have visted on my travels. Steven (the owner) was a great help in planning trips to Huangshan and to the villages surrounding Tunxi; he is fluent in English with a large vocab. The hostel is in a newly built (open early 2013) hence very clean with new facilities; it is located in the suburbs but Steven was able to pick me up from the bus station (10 mins away) and drop me at the train station; all free of charge

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your reviews and we will offer more good tour information and free pick up service and free breakfast .The English speaker will help you somethings you need and so on and so forth.The new rooms with new facilities.The service is guaranteed.No hesitation to come to our Bed and breakfast.

Touran Backpacker Hostel

Hangzhou, China
86%

Hostel is harder to find at night, it is 20m before the Hupao/Manjuelong Rds corner, as noted in the directions, if coming from the North heading South on Hupao. Rooms are dated and aged with limited hot water and no toilet top (in single room) however the staff help (in particular Kathy) compensates this as they provide invaluable help.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We will try to fix these problems and hope to see you again

77%

Great location. Located near East Nanjing Rd Station and only 5 mins from the Bund and on Line 2 connecting Pudong Airport and Hongqiao Airport and Train Station.

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


Mango53 Inn

Taipei, Taiwan
86%

No customer comment

  • 1st Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


Walkers' Hostel

Taipei, Taiwan
89%

No customer comment

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


Astor Hyde Park

London, England
86%

No customer comment

  • 1st Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


Hatters at Hilton Chambers

Manchester, England
91%

No customer comment

  • 30th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


Castle Rock Hostel

Edinburgh, Scotland
86%

No customer comment

  • 29th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


Goodnight Lisbon Hostel

Lisbon, Portugal
91%

Overall a good hostel however some (note only some not all) rooms are a but on the small side as the hostel is in a narrow building. Facilties (such at laundry) and activities are at the Good Morning Hostel which is bigger and i would reccomend staying at over Good Night. Staff at Good Night are great and very helpful

  • 11th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


Gold Coast

Lagos, Portugal
97%

Great hostel to stay, everything is modern and clean; Carlos and his sidekick are very helpful in highlighting the key spots in the town and make you feel very at home during your stay. Definitely recommend the Gold Coast for stays in Lagos

  • 9th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


The Garden Backpacker

Seville, Spain
94%

No customer comment

  • 6th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (65 reviews)


Red Nest Hostel Valencia

Valencia, Spain
91%

No customer comment

  • 3rd Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


Sant Jordi Diagonal Hostel

Barcelona, Spain
86%

No customer comment

  • 1st Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


Santa Mix Hostel

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
97%

Excellent hostel with a home-like feel to it with comfortable wooden beds to sleep in. George and the staff makes everyone feel at home. Everything you want in a hostel is at Santa Mix.

  • 27th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


Garden Stone

Puerto Iguazu, Argentina
94%

Nice hostel with a cosy 'homely' feel to it, great for a night or two to see the falls

  • 26th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


Milhouse Hipo

Buenos Aires, Argentina
63%

No customer comment

  • 22nd May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


83%

No customer comment

  • 20th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


100%

No customer comment

  • 18th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


H Rado Hostel

Santiago, Chile
86%

No customer comment

  • 9th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


Community Hostel

Quito, Ecuador
94%

No customer comment

  • 3rd May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


M Montreal

Montreal, Canada
94%

No customer comment

  • 11th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


Planet Traveler

Toronto, Canada
89%

No customer comment

  • 8th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


Chicago Getaway Hostel

Chicago, USA
94%

No customer comment

  • 5th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


San Juan International Hostel

San Juan, Puerto Rico
86%

Great cosy hostel, Luke running it was very helpful.

  • 27th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (65 reviews)


Fortaleza Guest House

San Juan, Puerto Rico
86%

No customer comment

  • 25th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


Green Tortoise Backpackers

San Francisco, USA
91%

My.second stay - still.a great hostel. One suggestion, could you implement personal curtains for each dorm bed like GT in Seattle

  • 21st Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


91%

No customer comment

  • 20th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (65 reviews)


94%

Great hostel with a curtain with each dorm bed making it easier to sleep

  • 17th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


91%

No customer comment

  • 14th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (65 reviews)


Golden Mango Inn

Siem Reap, Cambodia
89%

No customer comment

  • 5th Nov 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Cambodia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (65 reviews)


Wombats City Hostel Munich

Munich, Germany
89%

No customer comment

  • 3rd Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (65 reviews)


Greg & Tom Party Hostel

Krakow, Poland
91%

Great hostel to party. Every night, a night out with unlimited shots

  • 29th Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (65 reviews)


Chillout Hostel

Warsaw, Poland
91%

Great hostel, stayed for the euro football, as to be expected prices were bumped up similar to everywhere else in town. The two guys at the front desk were very helpful though

  • 27th Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (65 reviews)


83%

Very commercially driven hostel, from an email on check-out to rate the hostel higher than it's current rating on hostelworld to a 5% (?!?!) surcharge if accommodation paid by credit card. Definitely driven by money, more so than any other hostel I stayed at in the Baltics. That being said, beds were comfortable, showers were reliable and overall a decent hostel.

  • 25th Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (65 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Daniel... we are so commercially driven that we gave you a FREE shot on arrival, FREE bed sheets, FREE Towel, FREE lockers & Lock, FREE Guide Map, FREE Walking Tours, Long Happy Hours Everyday, FREE Internet Computers and FREE WiFi. That sounds like a very good deal... doesnt it??? Safe Travels!

Jimmy Jumps House/Hostel

Vilnius, Lithuania
97%

Great cosy hostel with very helpful staff with local knowledge.

  • 24th Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (65 reviews)


Tallinn Backpackers

Tallinn, Estonia
91%

Great party hostel. Super clean as well with the girls at the front desk cleaning bathrooms multiple times during the day.

  • 21st Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (65 reviews)


Hostel Rudolf

Rovaniemi, Finland
71%

More like a cheap hotel with so many private rooms rather than a hostel! Being unstaffed.isn't great especially having to check in at hotel santa claus

  • 18th Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (65 reviews)


Hostel Turku

Turku, Finland
71%

No customer comment

  • 17th Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (65 reviews)


CheapSleep Helsinki

Helsinki, Finland
83%

Location could be better, takes 10-15 by tram to get into the city, otherwise a good clean hostel

  • 14th Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (65 reviews)


83%

No customer comment

  • 3rd Nov 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (65 reviews)


NgocThao GuestHouse

Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
86%

No customer comment

  • 29th Oct 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (65 reviews)


97%

Excellent hostel, best I stayed at in China. Word of advise, if you are coming from Hongqiao via the subway, best to change at Zhongshan Park to West Yan'an, it's less of a walk from the station.


60%

This place is not very welcoming to foreign travelers. Firstly, the directions to the hostels are poor, from the train station, 'Take the public bus K801 From Xiangxie Business Tower (The stop is not at the main train station)' is not helpful when you do not direct guests to Xiangxie Business Tower. Secondly, upon ringing the hostel for directions, they were more concerned on checking my booking before giving out directions. Thirdly, there is no sign in English of the hostel. Fourthly, staff seem to want to serve local Chinese guests before foreign ones. More than once, a local traveler asks queries whilst I was being served by reception and reception went on to help the guest. Finally, I was asked to leave the (empty) common area/bar as I refused to buy any of their overly food. Doesn't help that wifi is only available in this area and not from my room. Foreign Travelers beware! Definitely the worst hostel I stayed at in China.

Owner Comment (Hide)
sorry that you didn't have a nice time here, but thanks for your review, help us improve our service level to accommodate latter guest better. we are definitely not willing to be that, while there did be misunderstandings when you were here. 1. the bus stop is not just in front of the station but with a distance, we didn't make a good direction from the station to the stop, since it's not so easy for us to clearify the situation. we asked friends, it has been appended now. 2. we intended to make sure the one who is calling us got a right one. thanks for your noticing. 3. definitely it was not our intention, thanks for your noticing, we will do better. 4. there is a communal area on the first floor in front of the reception for check-in-out, it's freely relaxing. there's cafe bar next door, the first floor of the cafe is foor business, guests are told to consume here with a 20% off for guests of the hostel, however you are always able to relax freely on the 2nd floor of the cafe. wifi avai in the communal area and cafe bar and dorms, internet access with a cable line in private rooms, as been advertised on the page of the website

Happy Dragon Hostel

Beijing, China
93%

Excellent hostel who pride themselves on service. They offer a number of tours to the Great Wall and other attractions. Would recommend to all, keep up the good work girls!


93%

Stayed in a private room here, very clean room and very modern set up. Staff are very helpful, definitely stay here again!


Park Guest House

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
80%

Whilst extremely small (I had a single room which was 1.5m x 2m and a shared bathroom of 1m x 1.5m), the hostel itself is good; however, located in a building with 17 levels of other hostels and in the lobby there are every man and his dog trying to sell you rooms to the other hostels , if you are okay with being hassled, I would recommended this hostel.


Yesinn @Fortress Hill

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
87%

a bit cramped, but to be expected in hong kong


Green Tortoise Backpackers

San Francisco, USA
100%

great hostel, no complaints. they even had free thanksgiving lunch on thanksgiving, great experience for a non-american!


USA Hostels Hollywood

Los Angeles, USA
93%

They were nice enough to not charge me for a night when I had a cancelled flight and couldn\'t get into LA


Chelsea Star Hotel

New York, USA
57%

Not very clean, and bed were very creeky. No lockers.


Sant Jordi Diagonal Hostel

Barcelona, Spain
100%

One of the best hostels I stayed in, the staff were really friendly and organised many nights out in Barca. Recommend to all visiting Barca!


Hostel Galla

Milan, Italy
73%

Clean and friendly staff, just not much in the way of fun, but typical of Milan hostels.


Chianti Hostel

Rome, Italy
90%

Nice organised nights and dinners, but rooms were cramped (to be expected in Rome) and showers weren\'t the best. Staff were really helpful though.


Budapest Bubble

Budapest, Hungary
100%

Great little hostel, Bronwyn (who runs the hostel) is very friendly and helpful especially in identifying what to watch out for in Budapest.


Czech Inn

Prague, Czech Republic
100%

One of the best hostles I have stayed in. Felt like a hotel, beds were very comfortable, they provided with decent sheets and powerful shower, certainly worth the extra krona to stay here


Jetpak Jumpdesk

Berlin, Germany
97%

Great hostel, location not the greatest, but very chilled out and very helpful staff. Rooms were nice and spacious, cheap 1-2 Euro breakfast too


Shelter City

Amsterdam, Netherlands
50%

Good Location, that\'s about it. Very very dirty, would not recommend. Staff close toilets/showers for 3 hours each day, they are in the same state after the \'clean\'


Uppsala City Hostel

Uppsala, Sweden
90%

Friendly and very lenient staff