Reviews: caitlinwood57259

Location: Australia, Gender: Female, Age: 23

Bounce Sydney

Sydney, Australia
83%

Super clean, probably the cleanest hostel i've ever stayed in- this comes at a fairly high price though (there is only one bathroom on each floor with 2 showers in it, and these were often closed for cleaning or full). Super expensive but that is Sydney, being used to Europe hostels where wifi is free every where their cost of internet is ridiculous. Great kitchen and movie room but didn't find the staff particularly friendly or inclusive, big group of Brits that would take over a room.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Hostel Oki Doki

Warsaw, Poland
86%

Only stayed a short amount of time but extremely clean, quirky room themes, good facilities.

  • 24th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


80%

Great atmosphere- always something going on. Bunks could be better and bathrooms comfier but nothing that overrides the other stuff- right around the corner from all the cool bars in the Jewish quarter and about a 15min walk to old town.

  • 18th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Green Studio Hostel

Belgrade, Serbia
91%

Small but cute hostel, dodgiest lift in the planet, but all adds to the charm. great staff, and good place to chill and meet people. plus if you want to party there is the bar/basement just down the road. Beds in the private room (once off treat) were falling apart- the slats were constantly falling off, but huge room and great view of the park. Close to everything. All in all would stay again :)

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Old Town Hostel East Wing

Kotor, Montenegro
94%

Wish i could have stayed for longer, amazing location, great staff, very social. Nuff said!

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Hostel Albania

Tirana, Albania
66%

very difficult to find, barely saw any staff, and was so quiet- not their fault obviously. facilities could definitely do with an upgrade. Room for improvement but not terrible

  • 5th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Shanti-Hostel

Skopje, Macedonia
83%

Cute hostel, bit hard to find, very small, but just bad timing that it was very quiet when i was there. Fine for a short stay, comfy beds, bonus to have private curtains. Very friendly staff and close enough to town

  • 3rd Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Hostel Mostel

Sofia, Bulgaria
91%

All you can eat breakfast inc. waffles and free pasta for dinner = great value for money. Good common area to meet people and walking distance to all the sights in town. Organised day tour to the countryside was well worth it too.

  • 31st Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Istanbul Green House Hostel

Istanbul, Turkey
77%

Great spot if you want to be close to Taksim sq and Istiklai street. Not a great place for chilling out or meeting people. Clean and comfortable enough- especially by Istanbul standards.

  • 25th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Atillas Getaway

Selcuk, Turkey
89%

Would have liked to have stayed longer than 2 nights. Atilla is a legend, and his mum's dinners and breakfasts are amazing. Walking distance to the ruins of Epehsus, beautiful scenery, pool which was freezing but nice, can imagine in summer this place would be awesome to hang out.

  • 22nd Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


V-GO's Hotel & Guesthouse

Fethiye, Turkey
77%

Only stayed a night but bathrooms were nice, rooftop where meals are had beautiful view and close enough to town with cheap mini bus

  • 21st Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Saban Pension

Olympos, Turkey
86%

Such a cool hostel. Great for chilling out in a hammock in between trips to the beach and ruins. VERY quiet but that's every where in the south of Turkey after summer finishes. would like to return. AMAZING FREE dinners, best food I had in Turkey i think. Lovely staff. Very cold at night in the dorm but plenty of extra blankets available. I didn't feel worried about safety, because it was chilled out, but if u aren't comfortable with unlocked rooms with no security lockers u won't like it.

  • 18th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


91%

One of my favourite hostels in Turkey. Lovely staff, make sure they tell u what to see and where to go. Had amazing restarunt recommendations and weren't pressured to do tours or sign up for things like other hostels in Turkey. Really good dinners and very cheap. Close to everything in Goreme including the best lookout to watch the hot airballoons at sunrise.

  • 14th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Big Apple Hostel & Hotel

Istanbul, Turkey
71%

Only stayed a night in between other hostels. Seems just as typical as other hostels in Sultanahmet, i'd prefer to stay in Taksim or Kadikoy. Very touristy, all hostels run by men who are usually pushy and creepy. I didn't stay long enough to hate it, it was fine for a night, bathroom was clean as was the dorm, which is what u need other than to be social and close to all the tourist attractions, Blue mosque etc.

  • 13th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Cheers Hostel

Istanbul, Turkey
63%

I would stay in Taksim or Kadikoy next time, much less harrassment from the men as a solo female traveller. Fine hostel, good breakfast. Pushy and slightly creepy men, will try and sign u up to tours, friendly enough but i didn't feel that comfortable. Was in a big dorm but not great atmosphere for meeting people due to the layout of the building. great spot in terms of walking distance to all the touristy things in Sultanahmet.

  • 8th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Balkan Han Hostel

Sarajevo, Bosnia And Herzegovina
83%

Really nice owner, super comfy beds and extremely close to everything in town = pluses. Minuses, very quiet, newish hostel. No common area except a windowless room/bar that is smoke-friendly so you can't just sit in there and chillout even if u wanted to because you can't breathe. Bathroom not great and rarely enough hot water. All things that could be improved, and if so will stay again, as Sarajevo is a really cool city.

  • 6th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Hobo Bear Hostel

Zagreb, Croatia
71%

was sick here so didn't attempt to socialise much, but seemed like a weird layout for that, reception area also communal area but seperate from kitchen etc. Good kitchen and bathroom facilities. Close to main street.

  • 4th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


The Wild Fig Hostel

Zadar, Croatia
63%

I was sick during my stay, but seemed like everyone was having a good time. Very thin walls meant that drunken singing til 5am could be heard into the dorm, but that's hostel life. Could be cleaner. great kitchen. good that it's around the corner from a huge supermarket and the bus station but a bit of a hike into town. Nice enough staff.

  • 30th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Hostel Majdas

Mostar, Bosnia And Herzegovina
100%

Don't stay anywhere else in Mostar. Welcomed into Majda's home from the second you walk in the door. Bada's day tour is the best day trip i've done any where in the world. Nothing more to be said. I'll be back one day :)

  • 26th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Split Backpackers

Split, Croatia
69%

Not the best location, close enough to things but not in old town which is only interesting part of split. Not much space to chill out and meet people. Fine for one night.

  • 25th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Earthers Hostel

Hvar, Croatia
80%

More like staying with mates, great for meeting people, nice views from the rooftop. Kitchen needs some TLC- 2 working hot plates made a huge queue at dinner time. close walking distance to beaches, supermarket. main town square etc. lovely owners, very chilled out place.

  • 22nd Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Old Town Hostel Split

Split, Croatia
66%

Great location in the centre of old town, can't say that much more about it, except glad i was only there one night. Wasn't the worst hostel i've been but certainly had almost totally useless staff, and no atmosphere for meeting people. But i've found this in other hostels in split too.

  • 21st Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are sorry to hear you had a subpar experience at our hostel. We pride ourselves on staff and atmosphere which is what we believe makes up a hostel most than other factors. We would love it if you could email us at oldtownsplit@gmail.com with a more detailed report on how exactly we were 'useless' as we want to insure we do our best to improve the service and offer our guests a memorable stay. We hope to hear from you soon! Cheers, Dora, the manager & the OTH team

Villa Divine

Dubrovnik, Croatia
100%

I'll be coming back here if I return to Dubrovnik. Perfect hostel, super clean, feels like a friend's house, the staff are absolutely lovely people who make sure you're having fun and meeting people as well as treating you to surprises every day like banana splits or pancakes. Plus it's close to the local bus away from the touristy centre for some quiet time and close to the beach and shops. Oh and the view from the balcony is stunning.

  • 17th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Fabrizzio's Petit

Barcelona, Spain
83%

Feels more like a friend's apartment more than a hostel which is great for solo travel. Perfect location away from the hustle and bustle of downtown but close enough to anything via metro. ONLY downside is that i came out in a rash suspiciously like bed bugs whilst I was here which was disappointing but no one else had problems so potentially a one off and it wouldn't stop me from staying again, general standards of cleanliness were pretty good. Staff were lovely and very helpful.

  • 11th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


San Fermin

San Sebastian, Spain
60%

Can't beat the location, expensive for what it is - no kitchen, no common area etc, but that seems to be the norm in San Seb. One of the ladies on the desk was lovely for our first stay, the second one was absolutely horrible, unhelpful, grumpy and when asked to explain why my friend and i couldn't share a room even though it was empty she yelled at us. Would stay again simply because of the great location amongst the pinchos bars and near both beaches.

  • 9th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Bilbao Central Hostel

Bilbao, Spain
83%

Nice and clean, very friendly staff even though we couldn't communicate, two kitchens, bathrooms are great, beds are a bit uncomfy but no real complaints. great place to stay in bilbao.

  • 6th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Gallery Hostel Porto

Porto, Portugal
86%

More like a hotel than a hostel, amazing facilities- especially the bathrooms. Lacking atmosphere a tad but might have just been luck with the group. Dinners are amazing, and good value at 10 euros ( a LOT of food). Staff were lovely. Bit of a hike uphill with your bags but nice location and relatively close to everything. Would recommend, especially if you want a really good night's sleep.

  • 29th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Home Lisbon Hostel

Lisbon, Portugal
100%

loved it so much i stayed a week! Lovely staff, beautiful house, more like a hotel than hostel, perfect location in the centre of downtown, and Mama's dinners every night are incredible. Great for meeting people if travelling solo. Well fed, well rested and in love with Lisbon. Will be coming back Home soon!

  • 22nd Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


JJs Yard

Lagos, Portugal
77%

I was only here a night but the staff were absolutely gorgeous. Couldn't ask for a better location. great party atmosphere if that's what you're after, and you probably are if you're in lagos.

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Big Chill Hostel

Lagos, Portugal
60%

If you want to party with a lot of Australian's go for it. Not close to the city at all, a massive hike from the bus station if you've got luggage. close to a nice beach. great kitchens (there are two). not a terrible place but not for everyone. Things like having a toilet seat could be easily fixed.

  • 18th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


La Banda Rooftop Hostel

Seville, Spain
100%

Don't stay any where else. Best hostel i've stayed in, the guys who run it are awesome, the location is unbeatable, favourite part; nightly family dinners and drinks on the roof top over looking the cathedral. Guaranteed you won't want to leave

  • 13th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Makuto Backpackers Hostel

Granada, Spain
100%

Favourite hostel ever. Amazing atmosphere, great for meeting people, fabulously friendly staff, great location near everything. Hammocks and treehouse for siesta are perfect. Best Mojitos in Spain, great family dinners, free walking tour. Win win win.

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


86%

Beautiful building, great facilities, perfect location but would not recommend for solo travellers, no communal hang out area. Perfect if u want a comfy night's sleep in a nice room.

  • 6th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Barmy Badger Backpackers

London, England
100%

Very friendly and helpful staff. Cosy communal areas great for meeting fellow travellers, good kitchen facilities. No complaints :)

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review and that you enjoyed your stay at the Badger!

Melaleuca On Mitchell

Darwin, Australia
91%

Enjoyed my stay, staff were incredibly helpful, busy hostel but rooms quiet. Pools and bar great fun and good for socialising. Could use a quiet space for chilling/reading. But in general a social/fun place in the most central spot in Darwin, with the cheapest rooms.

  • 1st Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and we're very glad you enjoyed your stay!! We have at the moment opened up a movie room on the ground floor for another place other than the leisure deck to chill out. See you again soon!!

Bamber House

Auckland, New Zealand
100%

Best hostel I've stayed in worldwide. Amazing staff, awesome house with lots of character and space to chill, very close to the city without being nosy and overcrowded. Comfy rooms, great facilities. Can't say a bad word about it, love your work Steve! Wish I could stay longer!!!

  • 18th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (44 reviews)


Castle Rock Hostel

Edinburgh, Scotland
100%

Best Location EVER. The Edinburgh castle is literally right outside the front door!!! Clean, cosy, awesome common room, great staff. Highly recommend!!!


Lagan Backpackers

Belfast, Northern Ireland
97%

Best staff. Had a great time. Awesome cooked breakfast. Best potato salad i've ever had :P . Had a great stay


60%

Unhelpful and unfriendly staff - one woman in particular. Not really a hostel, no common area whatsoever. The day of checkout reception was closed as someone hadnt showed up to work, which meant we couldnt use the internet in reception, needed to book something for that day. they were completely unapologetic. Annoying that you have to use the restaraunt and bar toilets. Clean, relatively safe, good location. Might stay there again if other places booked.


Flying Pig Downtown

Amsterdam, Netherlands
77%

Not extremely clean as a whole especially bathrooms, sheets were though. Great location, walking distance to everything. Not a great place to meet people, as everyone was stoned, but great if that\\\'s what you\\\'re going there for. Hopeless internet, free, but so slow and too few that its not even worth it. the top bunk i was in had no railings and was in the middle of the room so was really dangerous. Other than that would probably still recommend it..


Czech Inn

Prague, Czech Republic
73%

More like a hotel than hostel, which is good and bad. Very modern. Really comfy beds (though the top bunks are dangerously high), good facilities etc etc. But no real common area so tough to meet people when travelling alone. Good brekky, good showers. Just not much atmosphere. Would still recommend.


Tiger Tims Place

Budapest, Hungary
93%

More like staying at a friend's house than a hostel. Very communal feel. Everyone chats around the dinner table, after cooking in the well equipped kitchen. Extremely helpful staff. Walking distance to everything. Very secure. Would recommend it to anyone!


77%

Good location..walking distance from main train station and all the sights. Helpful staff, great that they organise the day tours (like sound of music)for you and then the tour company picks u up from the hostel. Bathrooms arent great. Beds were pretty comfy. Pretty good breakfast for the price too.


90%

Excellent location, really close to main train station, really safe with card access to get in anywhere. Thought staff could have been slightly more helpful, maybe organising day tours from the hostel or something.