Reviews: SarahMacMelbourne

Location: Australia, Gender: Female, Age: 25

Hotel Meigetsu

Tokyo, Japan
77%

It's in far North Asakusa so you're by no means near any sort of tourist attraction but it's in a nice quiet area and you get a cute little room to yourself (bed isn't amazing but it'll do!). It doesn't have the social aspect of a hostel but it's got fine facilities, fridges washer dryer etc so for me it was actually worth it!

  • 19th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Guest House Pongyi

Kanazawa, Japan
86%

The staff are so super sweet and the location is really good but there's only 2 dorm rooms and they're pretty cramped. There's also only one shower. I think it would be fun to come here with a group of friends so that you would have a whole room to yourselves and take turns using the shower

  • 17th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Quality Hostel K's House Takayama

Hida Takayama, Japan
100%

Really lovely hostel in the perfect location for seeing Takayama. They put on a whole sushi night for us for free and not just samples of sushi enough for me to be full up!! And with apple crumble dessert!! Rooms were clean and the 4 bed dorm I was in had an ensuite. The room was small but manageable

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback. Hope you had a great time here in Takayama:) Please visit us again if you have a chance to come back Japan in the future!

Osaka Hana Hostel

Osaka, Japan
86%

Really lovely hostel in the perfect location for Osaka, staff could not have been nicer. The beds in the female six bed dorm I was in had privacy curtains as well as lockers, light and power point. The only thing I would say is that as a solo traveler it wasn't great for meeting people but then again I was there at a quieter time of the year

  • 12th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


94%

Really lovely staff and a good common area, about a 20 minute walk to the main shopping area which is pretty good!!

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


89%

Really nice hostel, super clean and with a cafe next door for breaky or drinks!

  • 4th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Elbrus Home

Kathmandu, Nepal
77%

Pretty clean, Khem is very helpful. Location is a bit intimidating at first but you really aren't too far from Thamel. Not great for bonding. Breakfast pretty good!

  • 14th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Las Musas Hostel

Madrid, Spain
77%

A pretty good hostel, I'd stayed in Way hostel before and thought Way had better breakfast, atmosphere and staff but Musas had an ensuite (in my 4 bed dorm) and single beds as opposed to bunks which was nice. The beds in both hostel are pretty average though, with plenty of springs to keep you awake at night.

  • 2nd Jan 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Hatters at Hilton Chambers

Manchester, England
74%

It was pretty quiet when we went which meant there wasn't really much fun to be had. Room was great (6 bed mix), really big and ensuite was better than some hotels. No lockers was a bit annoying though. Breakfast was basic. Staff were really nice.

  • 30th Dec 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks for your comments. It maybe a bit quiet in Jan, but come and see our receptionists who will let you know whats going on!

Castle Rock Hostel

Edinburgh, Scotland
86%

Really great hostel. Amazing location, heaps of common areas, staff are lovely and free pub crawl is a fantastically filthy good time. Rooms are lovely and spacious too. The only thing we could fault was that beds were a bit uncomfortable, it's a foam mattress on a wooden slab (at least in our 4 person dorm) and we woke up with sore backs most mornings. Everything else was so good though it didn't matter!

  • 6th Dec 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Euro Hostel Glasgow

Glasgow, Scotland
63%

Same as all the other reviews: it's basically a hotel and a poor one at that. Good things: it's central (although Glasgow is pretty small), breakfast is good, beds were pretty comfy. Bad: our room wasn't cleaned for three days, the free internet is downstairs and TERRIBLE, paid net isn't even that great, there's no activities organised and the common room is a joke. It's fine if you're with friends but probably not great for a solo traveller.

  • 2nd Dec 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Embassie Liverpool Backpackers

Liverpool, England
57%

We stayed during the off season so this review might not really reflect the hostel at other times. The staff were VERY strange, always using the computer, not giving a s**t about the wifi not working despite us telling them 3 times. Erin and the Kevins were great though. The place wasn't really clean, the kitchen was often filthy, the "cleaning" often involved them spraying bleach around the place. The hostel was a bit far away but not crazily so. Common area was very average, no couches etc.

  • 20th Nov 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
the cleaners work everyday, so if the kitchen was messy it is the guests at the time who are being inconsiderate to each other and leaving a mess. At the time of your visit a glass of water was spilt on one of the 2 free computers, so one was in demand, a second computer has been ordered, . The couch,s had to go because guests were using them as beds. KMark

Birmingham Central Backpackers

Birmingham, England
60%

Our time at BCB wasn't horrible but there were so many little things wrong with it that they really started to add up. All the beds were springy and squeeky, I got a few bites from something in mine, they had no license for alcohol when we were there AND no license to show any of the DVDs they have, some staff were great others seemed a bit disinterested, a strange crowd of people were staying there (not the fault of the hostel obviously). It was ok but nothing we'd recommend. ,

  • 6th Nov 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


100%

Don't even bother looks elsewhere. Best breakfast in the whole wide world. The staff are just the biggest sweethearts. AND the cat is boss. Just stay here.

  • 28th Oct 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


83%

It's a really lovely place, the beds are great because you have a curtain covering your bed and a reading light, breaky is pretty good too. It's not much of a party hostel but staff are great and it's right near a Tube stop.


Brussels Hello Hostel

Brussels, Belgium
37%

DO NOT STAY HERE. I cannot emphasise this enough. I was travelling solo at that time and they placed me in the "all girls dorm" down the road where there is no reception or internet and down a pretty frightening strip of road where freaks always hung out near the condom vending machine. Breakfast is sparse. There is NOTHING in the area, even the girl at the front desk who wouldn't take off her headphones said so. You have to get the metro anywhere. Stay inner city, trust me!!

  • 19th Oct 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Cocomama

Amsterdam, Netherlands
73%

Cocomama is a really lovely hostel but unfortunately you just don't get much value for money, there's no breakfast, you pay for towels, there's only one very crowded common area, you always have to get trams to the sights which can add up. The staff were really great, the kitchen is fantastically equipped, the beds are comfy and there's a LIDL nearby. If you have plenty of money then of course this is a great place but as a warning to budget travellers this might not be your best option.

  • 6th Oct 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sarah, Thank you for leaving a review. Fortunately we are definitely not a budget hostel. For a budget hostel in Amsterdam you do not get more than an iron bed in a smelly room sharing with 140 other guests. After all Amsterdam is Europeans third most expensive city. Breakfast is not included, but there is free coffee, tea, cereal, rice, pasta, spices and oil. Depending on what sights you want to visit, most of them are walking distance. Unless you want to hang out in the red light district and the tourist trap area all the time. Hope you enjoy the remaining of your trip! Love, Cocomama crew

Backpackers St. Pauli

Hamburg, Germany
80%

It's a pretty nice hostel in a good neighbourhood for vintage shops and cheap eats. The old town isn't a far walk either if that's what you want. Breakfast isn't included and is a rip off for 4eu, just go to the local shops and buy stuff. The 8 bed dorm was a bit cramped at times but nothing too horrible. The staff are nice, the rooms and bathrooms were clean and looked after and it always felt safe!

  • 3rd Oct 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear sarah, thank you for your comment. about the breakfast. for 4 eur you get breadrolls, butter, jam, chocolate spread, honey, cake, fruit, 4 types of cereals and coffee, tea or cocoa. you are not limited in what you take. so we think it is not a rip off.

Wombats City Hostel Berlin

Berlin, Germany
90%

The wombats hostels definitely have the 'big hostel' vibe, which means they lose a bit of character but they have really good facilities, breakfast is worth the extra money, the rooms are pretty clean (although there's always stuff left there by other people, dig, in there's potential treasures). There's not much organised nightlife either but ask the staff and they'll give you better directions than any pub crawl!

  • 28th Sep 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


80%

Good hostel but it's SO sterile, there's no character in the place at all! Just like a hotel basically, we found a lot of people checked in and out every day so the room was pretty annoying.

  • 22nd Sep 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Sir Toby's Hostel

Prague, Czech Republic
87%

Such a lovely hostel for relaxing, meeting people, cooking and seeing Prague. It is definitely out of the city, you need to take a tram for 1EU each day but that's not too much of a problem. The place is filled with amazing furniture and really good beds. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm which was enormous and perfect because I was sick but the 10 bed dorm wasn't as good, quite cramped. Breakfast is a little pricey at 4.5EU but it is amazing. If you don't mind trams and a quieter atmosphere then stay !

  • 15th Sep 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Paprika Hostel

Budapest, Hungary
90%

A really lovely hostel, you feel as though you're come home after travelling. The place is always sparkling clean and is perfect to sit back and watch movies or head out with the amazing staff. Couldn't recommend it enough!

  • 10th Sep 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Greg & Tom Party Hostel

Krakow, Poland
100%

This place is amazing, the staff are amazing, the food is amazing, it's always clean, there's lockers under the bed and safes the parties are amazing value and they really go out of their way to help and make you feel at home. I had to get a night train so they let me crash there all day and have dinner still followed by some shots and warm ice cream. Don't even bother looking anywhere else.

  • 7th Sep 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Hostel Oki Doki

Warsaw, Poland
93%

Really lovely hostel, clean and safe and in a great spot. As a solo traveller though it wasn't as good as other for meeting people because there was no organised activities or breakfast etc but the staff are so nice that you never felt alone anyway. Would definitely stay here again!

  • 3rd Sep 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Cheers Hostel

Istanbul, Turkey
80%

Really great place to stay, close to everything, good dorms, clean and a pretty good basic breakfast. Staff are a bit strange but harmless and there's not really any organised tours etc but the bar and front patio are good for meeting people. And there's a resident labrador!

  • 29th Aug 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Atillas Getaway

Selcuk, Turkey
77%

This place was good, but no where near as good as it claims to be. You have to pay for air con, printing, computers and vegemite.. There was no gym, no thai masseuse, no Milo, no Marmite, no lunch menu, no organic fruit to pick or many of the other things the website claimed. Despite this what we did get was basic and nice. Breakfast and dinner are very nice, nothing too exotic.. The Ephesus tour is a rip off, do it yourself for under 30TL. The Pammakale tour for 80L is quite good!

  • 25th Aug 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Bayrams Treehouse

Olympos, Turkey
97%

The most lovely amazing place to relax ever! Such good free food and buffet style so you get as much as you want, really vego friendly. It's one of the closest to the beach and the ruins and always being cleaned. The staff are wonderful and the rooms are basic but very well kept. Without air con it is very hot, about 30 degrees, but it does cool during the night (we stayed late August). One of best places we have ever stayed, don't even think about going to Kadir's

  • 21st Aug 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Hotel Kalender

Bodrum, Turkey
73%

Just stayed here one night it's a lovely hotel with a huge pool and nice breakfast. Everythings clean and the staff are very nice. It's only a bus from the main station so no stress there. Only thing was that our room, a four person private, was a bit small and the aircon didn't work. Apart from that we loved it there!

  • 19th Aug 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
we thank you for taking the time to review our property. we are pleased you enjoyed our stay with us . we look forward to welcoming you back again

Youth Hostel Anna

Santorini, Greece
60%

It is literally on the side of the road with no common room just a few chairs and tables but it's so noisy and dusty you wouldn't want to sit there anyway. The rooms are ok, relatively clean and comfy beds but they get really hot, even with air con. Toilets always smelt disgusting but most do in Greece and the showers were just three in a room with curtains so it was a bit hard to get dressed etc. It's a walk to Perissa beach which is ok and about 1 hours bus to Oia. You could find a lot nicer

  • 16th Aug 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


The Purple Pig

Ios, Greece
93%

Absolutely perfect hostel, rooms are lovely and have en suites, balconies, linen, towels and air con. The pool and bar are great, it's walking distance to everything - especially the beach which is at the door! It isn't really a party hostel but at the end of the day it's actually much nicer to come back to somewhere quiet at the end of the night! Staff are the loveliest people ever!

  • 13th Aug 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Paraga Beach Hostel

Mykonos, Greece
50%

Paraga beach is completely isolated meaning you have to pay whatever they want you to pay for everything from internet to water. You are ripped off at every turn. The permanent tents are horrible - just steel bed frames with slats of wood which move during the night. Drinks and food end up costing more than a nights accommodation. Mykonos in general is a massive rip off and you'd be better off going to Ios but if you must go here I wouldn't recommend Paraga beach at all.

  • 10th Aug 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


73%

Nice hostel, really good breakfast and quite clean. Good outside chilling area. We were here in early August and it was really dead so we can't comment on the "fun" factor too much. The showers etc are pretty bad too and there was a bunk in our room without a ladder! It's a $10-15 taxi to the station or the port if you're planning on seeing Capri etc so it can add up quite quickly. Really nice place to hang out though

  • 3rd Aug 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


The Yellow

Rome, Italy
70%

Perfect walking location from Roma Termini, 5 minutes at the most. The only thing to fault really is that you might be expecting a "hostel" when really it is just a bar downstairs and then rooms upstairs in amongst other hostels/hotels/apartments so not that good for meeting people seeing as there was no activities. That being said the bar is really good and cheap and you can rent iPads. You always have to wait a while to be served at the desk too.

  • 31st Jul 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Ms. McKenzie, We are delighted by your great comments. We are currently working on improving the front desk. We understand that when the reception is busy it takes longer to be waited on. We are researching ways to make the check-in process faster and more efficient. Thanks again and have a good one!

Archi Rossi Hostel

Florence, Italy
80%

Perfect spot in the middle of everything with all the facilities you could want however it is very sterile so don't expect to meet many people etc

  • 27th Jul 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


A Venice Fish

Venice, Italy
70%

It's really fun and you get good dinners but the review are true - I am covered head to toe in bedbugs. You are also kicked out of the place between 10 and 12 which isn't really a problem but when you get back you still don't have a bed because they de-construct them all. Pretty good for a few nights of fun but terrible if you want a good night's sleep

  • 25th Jul 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


90%

Perfect for resting and sightseeing!

  • 18th Jul 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


X Hostel Alicante

Alicante, Spain
70%

I think the high reviews of this hostel are from a bygone era. It's called a 'party hostel' yet has a million rules such as a fine for vomiting. However the rules are only sporadically enforced because the two nights we were there the noise was painfully loud, there was no aircon and mozzies everywhere.

  • 11th Jul 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sarah, Although we are a party hostel, we do have to set some rules. We have activities in the terrace till 11pm most nights and people do go out to party in the city. We do respect our neighbors as you would yours back home and therefore do have to enforce quiet hours. In addition, we are not babysitters and expect everyone to drink responsibly. Best of luck and hope you would return to see us again in the near future. Safe Travels!!!

80%

No customer comment


97%

Really lovely hostel where you feel at home, it's not a five star hotel by any means but it is way way way more fun.

  • 6th Jul 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Equity Point Marrakech

Marrakech, Morocco
70%

The location is excellent and the riad is beautifully decorated. You get all the basics like linen, breaky with fresh juice, towels and wifi but there isn't really much atmosphere or activities. So it's really just a good base point if you are with friends to head out and see Marrakesh.

  • 1st Jul 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Dar Hafsa

Fez, Morocco
100%

From the minute we walked in we were given a tour of this absolutely beautiful home, our rooms were exquisitely furnished, spotlessly clean and with the most comfortable beds we've had on our whole trip. You could not get a better location, 1 minute from the main street which means you have a quiet nights sleep while being steps away from the main sights This lovely family will stop at nothing to make your trip amazing, they organised tours, air conditioned vans to the atlas mountains where we

  • 27th Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Lisboa Hostal

Algeciras, Spain
87%

Seeing as you are probably going here for a port to Morocco you aren't looking for fun or character but this is safe, 5 mins from the taxi and port ( don't pay for a taxi just get directions), the woman is LOVELY and when we came there was actually a great festival she gave us directions to! Perfect for what we needed

  • 26th Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


The Garden Backpacker

Seville, Spain
97%

Seville is very different from any other cities like Barca or Madrid but this quiet hostel actually suits the lifestyle of Seville. Breakfast and staff are lovely, hostel is stunning and very clean. Definitely recomend.

  • 23rd Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Yes! Lisbon Hostel

Lisbon, Portugal
100%

Just the best hostel ever. Clean, fun, cheap, happy, great staff. Eat Isabels dinner every night if you can. Happiest 8 nights of our trip so far. Best.

  • 15th Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Revolutum Hostel

Salamanca, Spain
90%

Theres no activities or anything but the hostel is really lovely lots of places to sit and chill out. Beds are comfy and it~s close to everything!

  • 13th Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Umore Ona Bi

San Sebastian, Spain
93%

No customer comment

  • 9th Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Sant Jordi Arago Hostel

Barcelona, Spain
100%

Location is the best part about this hostel as it;s a walk to everywhere. It's very very clean and the staff are fantastic and very very helpful. It is quite small though, only a few rooms There are events EVERY night so you wont' be bored, however it means that for us at least we were woken up every single night by people coming in very very loudly! So if you were hoping to get some sleep this might not be the best place for you Still would highly recommend it!

  • 4th Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Way Hostel

Madrid, Spain
90%

Ericky id da man! Really good location, take the walking tour to get familiar with the area. Breakfast is amazing and the information at the hostel is fantastic. Only downside is that the common room has quite bad chairs - most being broken. But that isn't really much at all, very happy with our stay and are coming back again.

  • 30th May 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


90%

It's one of those lovely hostels where you feel like you're instantly friends with everyone. It's so homey and comfortable. The room was a bit scarce (my friends and I were in a private) but honestly it's barely roughing it when you think about some other places. I wouldn't have stayed anywhere else! :)

  • 16th Dec 2009
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Santa Barbara Tourist Hostel

Santa Barbara, USA
73%

I would stay here for the location again! For the short time I was there I didn't really get a good vibe from the hostel. The guy at the desk was one of the rudest people I've ever been served by. He would make guests line up until the clock actually struck 3 haha. But apart from that the rooms were clean and big and so were the bathrooms so really and truly Santa Monica is what you make it but probably spend as much time out of this hostel as possible ps. bus to San Fran is great value!

  • 13th Sep 2009
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


70%

I would stay here for the location again! For the short time I was there I didn't really get a good vibe from the hostel. The guy at the desk was one of the rudest people I've ever been served by. He would make guests line up until the clock actually struck 3 haha. But apart from that the rooms were clean and big and so were the bathrooms so really and truly Santa Monica is what you make it but probably spend as much time out of this hostel as possible ps. bus to San Fran is great value!

  • 12th Sep 2009
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


USA Hostels Hollywood

Los Angeles, USA
80%

I didn't stay here too long but I would highly recommend the location. Minutes from all the sights. Friends have stayed here and got to enjoy the nightlife more! It was very noisy one but really and truly I think that's always going to happen in Hollywood. Toughen up.

  • 11th Sep 2009
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)


Stay on Main

Los Angeles, USA
67%

Bit of a strange hostel! I think it was more like a hotel, and was actually attached to a hotel. As well as some sort of homeless shelter haha. Downtown LA is seen as a bit rough by some but really and truly if you keep your head up it's fine. So this is in a great location to see the town and all the sights. We got upgraded to a private room which I was really grateful for because as two girls we felt really safe in it. The corridors are a bit daunting but the room is really really nice!

  • 9th Sep 2009
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (54 reviews)