Reviews: Anonymous

Location: Germany, Gender: Male, Age: 32

Six Degrees

Jakarta, Indonesia
69%

I can't really understand how this hostel got rated "best small Hostel in 2013" by Hostelworld. First of all it's huge and secondly I've seen so many hostels that were much much better. This one was rather average. The athmosphere is not good at all, the rooftop is like a construction site. Staff have that typical "megapolis arrogance" and are not as nice as other Indonesians. The location was ok I guess, can't really compare to Jalan Jaksa. Breakfast was ok too.

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (21 reviews)


Generator Hostel Copenhagen

Copenhagen, Denmark
80%

This is a huge, very clean (almost sterile) hostel in a very good location. The bar area is quite cool, the rooms are nice, bright and clean, matresses comfy. The quality of the staff is mixed. I had one extremely unfriendly guy for check-in (what a pr...), but shortly after very nice guys at the bar. Breakfast is NOT, as some reviews suggest, a "very good" buffet, but rather a rip-off. I am sure there are cheaper options outside the hostel. The price is...well, 100 Euros for a twin room...!!!

  • 25th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (21 reviews)


Blue Danube Hostel

Budapest, Hungary
97%

It's actually not a hostel, it was a fully equipped flat. I booked a single room with shared bathroom and stayed in a 2-bedroom flat in a quiet courtyard. If you’re looking for a party hostel with a rooftop and bar to meet people, then this is not your place. But if you want your privacy, it’s perfect. The location couldn't be any better, sightseeing and party-wise. Sandor was also very friendly and helpful. I would definitely come back.

  • 7th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (21 reviews)


Achinika Holiday Inn

Adam's Peak, Sri Lanka
89%

It was quite a cool stay. We got stuck at Adam's Peak due to a cyclone and basically coulnd't leave the guest house. They prepared nice food for us and we could (had to) chill out in their resto the whole day. Unfortunately, they don't use their facilities to the fullest. It's perfect for a chilled out backpacker "party", but everybody had to leave the restaurant area at 10 pm! Alcohol is not served, so bring your own. Staff was mostly nice, but English can be a problem.

  • 12th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (21 reviews)


Malindi Guest House

Zanzibar, Tanzania
74%

This guesthouse is close to the fish market and the narrow streets leading to the entrance can seem dodgy in the beginning. Due to the proximity to the fish market the area smells like hell and unfortunately, the same applies to the common areas such as the courtyard, rooftop terrace etc. which could have been lovely otherwise. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and in general it's not a bad place. I had the feeling that this place must have been really great 20 years ago.

  • 14th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (21 reviews)


DOMOKUCHU

Zanzibar, Tanzania
86%

This is the perfect place for couple who want to chill and hang out for a few days. The bungalows are immaculate and beautiful. There's literally NOTHING to do except having long strolls along the beach and the tidelands. The colours of the sea are amazing at low tide and it can get rough at high tide. We didn't swim while we were there because of the seaweed that you'd have to swim over at high tide. But it's really one of the most romantic places, especially when there's a power cut.

  • 12th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (21 reviews)


ZenjiHotel

Zanzibar, Tanzania
97%

This was a very good place to stay, with super friendly staff, clean and cozy rooms, a safe in the room and it's very close to the port opposite the Cine Africa building (careful, Hostelworld shows/showed the wrong address on Tharia Rd, but it's actually Malindi Rd.). They also have their own cute café with free wifi and good coffee. We definitely recommend Zenji GH and out of the three hostels we stayed at in Stonetown, this was the only really good place.

  • 11th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (21 reviews)


Velkommen Backpackers

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
91%

the first night in this hostel we had to stay in a room without ac and window and almost suffocated. but the staff was friendly enough to give us a better room for the other nights. and that room was almost luxurious - with two queen sized beds and functioning ac, hot water, etc.! the atmosphere is nice and their bar serves good cocktails and is a pleasant place to hang out and meet people. the location is unbeatable and facilities absolutely clean! we had a really great time.

  • 2nd Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (21 reviews)


HI Siem Reap

Siem Reap, Cambodia
97%

this hostel is almost perfect. rooms are nice, staff is really sweet and helpful, the location is great, they even have a jacuzzi (cold water only) . the only downside is the price (20 bucks for an ac double bed room) - but you get a little surprise gift before you leave ;-). we would absolutely stay there again.

  • 28th May 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (21 reviews)


Vy Khanh Hostel

Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
100%

one of the best hostels on our asia trip. it's in a perfect location, right in the heart of touristy saigon but tucked away in a quiet lane. beds are perfect, bathroom beautiful, staff almost "too friendly" and give very good advice. we got breakfast coffee (vietnamese style, very delicious) and fruits for free. the whole building(s) is (are) immaculately clean. we were really happy with our choice and would always come back.

  • 24th May 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (21 reviews)


Our Melting Pot

Manila, Philippines
94%

even though the construction was not entirely finished (end of may 2012), the hostel was top class. the staff is really sweet, everything is beautifully decorated, breakfast was great and you could eat as much as you wanted. i am sure the roof top area will be perfect to hang out and have some drinks as soon as it is finished. the location is great, and even though makati ave. is very noisy, the room was totally quiet. thanks for a great stay!

  • 22nd May 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (21 reviews)


Cebu Guesthouse

Cebu, Philippines
69%

this place is not exaclty my dream hostel, but it was good enough for the 2 nights we stayed there. the small fan rooms are very basic and double bed rooms come with a bunk bed! the common areas a quite nice, but no one used them (low season?).the location is pretty ok, close to bars/clubs and some useful jeepney routes in front of the hostel. staff was quite nice as well.

  • 22nd Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (21 reviews)


Travellers Inn

Mumbai, India
57%

as most other comments point out: there is no common room, so everybody using the wifi has to sit on the stairs. most members of the staff were super unfriendly, slow and incredibly unprofessional. for these reasons, the price is way too high. on the other hand, the hostel is clean and the location could not be better (right next to cafe universal, which is one of the coolest coffee houses we have ever been to)

  • 17th Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (21 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you so much for the review hope to serve you once again with more professional staff Travellers Inn

Vinayak Guesthouse

Jaipur, India
69%

the hostel has a lot of potential, but the capacities are not used properly. the roof top terrace, which could be really beautiful, remains deserted. service is quite bad and - which is very common in india - you never get what you order. staff was quite nice. the location is not the best, as it is rather far away from the main tourist attractions.

  • 5th Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (21 reviews)


Heaven Guest House

Jodhpur, India
94%

this gh was my lucky place. so many good things happened there. we had a very pleasant stay and enjoyed it a lot. the family and staff was over-friendly and very helpful. the only thing they could change are the plastic mattresses which make you sweat a lot. but all in all, HIGHLY recommended!!!

  • 29th Mar 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (21 reviews)


Udai Haveli Guest House

Udaipur, India
89%

thank you once again we loved it a lot. you could provide soap and towels to get even better reviews.

  • 26th Mar 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (21 reviews)


Hotel Taj Plaza

Agra, India
100%

No customer comment

  • 24th Mar 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (21 reviews)


Smyle Inn

New Delhi, India
66%

No customer comment

  • 21st Mar 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (21 reviews)


Harbour Guest House

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
80%

this was a real hong kong experience. chung king mansion could be the perfect scene for a horror movie. the indian touts a particularly 'rustic'. but once you get used to the apearence of the building, it's a really cool place. the cells (can't really call them rooms) are hong kong-tiny, but very clean. the lady who ownes the place is nice and helpful. the price is unbeatable in hong kong! would recommend it - but seriously: NOT TO THE FAINT HEARTED!

  • 24th Aug 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (21 reviews)


Day & Night Guesthouse

Penang, Malaysia
57%

this hostel really needs new beds and pillows, as there was mold all over the bed (hidden below sheet and pillow case). there are no blankets. there is no toilet paper and usable soap either and the flush doesn't work. also, there should be bins in the rooms. in general, the place could be cleaner.

  • 30th Jul 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (21 reviews)


Fernloft KL @ Chinatown

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
93%

very nice hostel, clean, new, friendly. the roof top terrace is the perfect place to meet people and have fun. also, ask the staff for that special shop that sells alcohol for ridiculously low prices. the only downside was that the room had no window.

  • 13th Jul 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (21 reviews)