Hostelworld.com

Reviews: jpokarney7334



  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Smiths Cottage, Durban, South Africa
9.7
3rd Jan 2016

A little bit out of town, but the owners make up for this by selflessly shuttling tourists around town for a very minimal fare. The atmosphere here is very relaxed, as it's in a residential neighborhood. The owners are extremely knowledgable about Durban, and very helpful, kind and accommodating. They have basically opened up their home for tourists. They also use a lot of their time to help out tourists. Would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Lidwala Backpacker Lodge, Lobamba, Swaziland
10.0
2nd Jan 2016

Loved this place! Such a quaint place to relax and base yourself for traveling around Swaziland. The hike behind Lidwala is excellent and I really enjoyed the Lobamba village tour. Ntombi is one of the kindest staff I've ever met. My only regret is that I didn't stay at Lidwala longer. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Curiocity Backpackers, Johannesburg, South Africa
8.9
31st Dec 2015

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Maverick City Lodge, Budapest, Hungary
10.0
3rd Nov 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Umbrella Hostel, Bucharest, Romania
10.0
28th Oct 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Kismet Dao Hostel, Brasov, Romania
9.7
22nd Oct 2015

Almost perfect place to stay in Brasov. Originally booked for only 3 nights but extended for 3 more. Kismet is great for recharging and relaxing. Also, Brasov is a nice base for day trips all around Transylvania (rent a car through the hostel if you can). My only (minor) complaint was I wish the guy at reception was a little friendlier to me when I checked in in the early AM - it was 5:00 AM for me, too, and I was spent from a long bus ride. I did, however, appreciate the early check in!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Babushka Grand Hostel, Odessa, Ukraine
10.0
20th Oct 2015

Really cool, old house turned hostel. Lovely people running the place. And if you're a cat person (I am), there are two little guys chilling in the living area. Also, I really appreciated the early check-in after a miserable overnight train from Kiev. Would highly recommend Babushka and would love to return here someday!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Kiev Central Station, Kiev, Ukraine
9.1
16th Oct 2015

Cool and helpful couple runs this place. A bit of a walk to many sights, but that's not a bad thing - Kiev is a wonderful walking city. When I stayed, they were renovating a bit, so things were a little disorganized and messy. However, I don't think this is a regular occurrence. Overall, a good place to stay in a great city. Would definitely return to Kiev and Kiev Central Station Hostel!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Post House Hostel, Lviv, Ukraine
9.7
12th Oct 2015

10-bed room gets a little hot and musty, even during cool autumn nights. Hostel is otherwise very clean and comfortable. Wonderful and helpful staff and good location. Would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Home Made House/Hostel, Vilnius, Lithuania
9.4
6th Oct 2015

Lovely lady who runs this cozy place. Only one bathroom, which wasn't much of a problem, but could cause a wait. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
8.6
4th Oct 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
10.0
1st Oct 2015

Taro, the owner, is so friendly. Quiet alternative to Tallinn's party hostels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Soul Kitchen, St Petersburg, Russia
10.0
27th Sep 2015

SERIOUSLY, BEST HOSTEL IN THE WORLD! Do yourself a favor and stay here!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Godzillas Suzdal, Suzdal, Russia
10.0
23rd Sep 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
iVAN Hostel, Moscow, Russia
9.1
23rd Sep 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Piligrim Hostel, Vladimir, Russia
10.0
22nd Sep 2015

Excellent staff. Wonderful and refreshing place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Wings Hostel, Kazan, Russia
10.0
20th Sep 2015

Staff let me hang around all day waiting for my night train. I really appreciated that hospitality!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Omnomnom Hostel, Yekaterinburg, Russia
9.1
17th Sep 2015

Solid place to stay. Good staff, but I wish they had a better idea of what to do in and around Yekaterinburg.

View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback! We are always glad to see you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Trans-Sib Hostel, Irkutsk, Russia
8.0
9th Sep 2015

Very nice staff person and comfortable place to stay. Convenient location for arriving/departing from the train station. Shower was cold one morning and I didn't like having to pay for a night where I had taken an overnight trip to Olkhon Island. Average stay overall. Would probably stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
UB Guesthouse & Hostel, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
9.7
3rd Sep 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Dragon King Hostel, Beijing, China
7.1
1st Sep 2015

Kind of dirty and crowded room. Excellent, helpful staff. Okay place to stay for a night or two.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
365 Inn, Beijing, China
8.0
1st Sep 2015

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Marken Gjestehus, Bergen, Norway
9.1
29th Jul 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
City Backpackers Hostel, Stockholm, Sweden
9.1
25th Jul 2015

Good place! Would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Cue Hotel, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
9.7
21st Feb 2015

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Wombats City Hostel Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
8.6
21st Aug 2014

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Sky Lounge Hostel, Mostar, Bosnia And Herzegovina
10.0
17th Aug 2014

Really enjoyed staying here! The staff is especially amazing. Would have loved to stay longer, and hope to return someday!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Youth Hostel Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik, Croatia
8.0
15th Aug 2014

Very bare bones, but gets the job done at a reasonable-ish price. Nice and easy walk to Old Town, and I was quite happy with how quiet it was at night. Good sleep! Only suggestion is to put lockers in the rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Split Backpackers, Split, Croatia
8.3
12th Aug 2014

Atmosphere can be good or bad depending on what you're looking for. I was hoping for a quiet and restful night sleep, and the place and room were rowdy well into the AM. Probably would stay here again though, because the price, location and staff were all excellent. Note: I was in the 2nd hostel owned by this group. The main hostel could be completely different...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Brit Hostel Zagreb, Zagreb, Croatia
8.0
10th Aug 2014

Aircon doesn't work well. Rooms were so hot. Would have been better off with just the window open. Pretty good place overall, but a bit pricey. I'd go cheaper next time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel pri Janezu, Ljubljana, Slovenia
10.0
9th Aug 2014

Lovely and unique place, with the best staff you could ask for. Would really like to return here someday!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel pri Janezu, Ljubljana, Slovenia
10.0
8th Aug 2014

This place was so lovely and unique. Great value, including an awesome breakfast. Staff is the friendliest I've ever encountered, and I've stayed at a ton of hostels. I believe it's only open as a hostel during the summer, so if you're lucky enough to be traveling through Ljubljana at that time, stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
9.7
6th Aug 2014

Stayed here a few years back and this time around it was as good as remembered. Will definitely be back here when in Salzburg!

View Property Reply

hi there. thanks for the great feedback. working hard to get the perfect rating next time once you're coming back. save travels, yoho team :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Prague Square Hostel, Prague, Czech Republic
8.9
4th Aug 2014

Had a little spat with one of the staff, but otherwise, good place. Would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Atlantis Hostel, Krakow, Poland
9.1
1st Aug 2014

Make sure to ask for access to the bathroom with many showers and toilets. We were in a room that shared just one toilet/shower with another room, and that got a bit messy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
New World St. Hostel, Warsaw, Poland
8.6
29th Jul 2014

The single bathroom on the first floor can get a bit messy. Just ask for access to the bigger set of bathrooms and showers across the hall. Other than that minor complaint, it was an excellent stay. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
HI San Francisco - Downtown, San Francisco, USA
8.9
16th Jul 2014

Nice place to stay. Convenient location. A bit pricy but that's SF. Breakfast leaves a little to be desired. Rooms are big and comfortable. Would stay here again!

View Property Reply

We're stoked you enjoyed your time here with us in Downtown, San Francisco! The room rates we offer are slightly more expensive now than in the off season due to high demand and increased services. We like to believe the quality is in line with the rates, especially with our new bunk beds that offer two USB ports, two outlets, a reading light, shelve, and privacy panel. We hope to see you again for more fun under the fog!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Little Hanoi Hostel, Hanoi, Vietnam
10.0
8th Jun 2014

Great place to stay. Staff was very accommodating. If coming from the train station, just be aware of taxi meter scams (not the hostel's fault) - the ride should only cost a couple of dollars.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Waterland Hotel, Hue, Vietnam
9.4
6th Jun 2014

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Sunshine Hotel Hoi An, Hoi An, Vietnam
9.4
4th Jun 2014

Very nice place. Rooms are excellent! A bit of a walk from the Old Town. Still, would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
NgocThao GuestHouse, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
9.7
1st Jun 2014

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Me Mates Villa, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
10.0
29th May 2014

Awesome place. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Siem Reap Hostel, Siem Reap, Cambodia
10.0
25th May 2014

Awesome $2 breakfast. Very good Internet. Well run place that always seems full. Try to request a bottom bunk in advance because getting up to the top bunk is more awkward than normal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Lub d Bangkok Silom, Bangkok, Thailand
9.4
22nd May 2014

Stayed here three different times, so it's a good enough place to keep coming back to. Slower wifi at times is my only real complaint.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Common Grounds Pai, Pai, Thailand
9.7
12th May 2014

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Aoi Garden Home, Chiang Mai, Thailand
9.7
7th May 2014

This is the place to stay for backpackers in Chiang Mai. Excellent staff, who goes above in beyond to help you plan your time in and around Chiang Mai. Aoi is also a great place to meet other people. Place seemed full every night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Smart Hotel, Mandalay, Myanmar
9.1
2nd May 2014

Very happy with the early check-in (non-peak season), as my bus arrived very early in the AM and I was so tired. Staff was very accommodating. Nice, clean, rooms. A little pricey, but that's Myanmar right now. Would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Agga Guest House, Yangon, Myanmar
9.1
23rd Apr 2014

Good place for the price. Really nice staff! My only complaints are minor: hard mattresses and shower rooms that need remodeling. I would happily stay here again, though...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Lub d Bangkok Silom, Bangkok, Thailand
9.7
21st Apr 2014

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
House of Journey, Penang, Malaysia
10.0
18th Apr 2014

Thank you Cheryl and Ray for the awesome stay in George Town! Can't wait to return to Penang and House of Journey...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Sunshine Bedz KL, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
9.4
15th Apr 2014

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
10.0
13th Apr 2014

Perfect hostel and great price! The person who runs the desk is so lovely and helpful. Would love to return here!

View Property Reply

Hi Justin, thanks for your valuable comments, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again on your next visit.Fernloft Malacca Team.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Coziee Lodge, Singapore, Singapore
9.7
10th Apr 2014

Small but "cozy" place, with a wonderful and accommodating staff. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
In Da Lodge, Ubud, Indonesia
9.4
3rd Apr 2014

Had such a good stay I decided to tack on a few more days here. Excellent value for price! Would love to return someday...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Banjos Backpackers, Perth, Australia
8.3
1st Apr 2014

Good place...would stay again...lots of people here so the few bathrooms do tend to get messy...rooms are great though...my only real complaint is the terrible Internet connection...this shouldn't happen in a major city in Australia.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Brisbane City Backpackers, Brisbane, Australia
7.1
30th Mar 2014

Decent stay, comfortable rooms, okay staff. Internet is horrible!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Jack Backpackers, Cairns, Australia
9.1
27th Mar 2014

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Adventure Queenstown Hostel, Queenstown, New Zealand
10.0
19th Mar 2014

Perfect hostel! Would live here if I could. Of the dozens of hostels I've stayed in around the world Adventure QT is probably my favorite. Do yourself a favor: get away from the rowdy Kiwi Experience crowd and stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
8.6
2nd Mar 2014

Nice place! A little bit out of the way, but not a bad walk to get there. Would stay here again!

View Property Reply

Hi Justin Thank you for staying in lantana lodge. Just to let you know we have refurbished the place. All the rooms have been freshly pained & has new carpet. It is looking amazing. You should def come next time you are in auckland. Cheers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
JV's Hostel, Taipei, Taiwan
8.3
30th Jan 2014

Excellent value for money, and a great location. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Godzillas Hostel, Moscow, Russia
6.6
31st Dec 2013

Solid no frills place to stay. Would stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Soul Kitchen, St Petersburg, Russia
10.0
28th Dec 2013

Far and away the best hostel I've ever stayed in! Only regret is not staying longer...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Frendz Resort Boracay, Boracay Island, Philippines
8.9
27th Jul 2013

Excellent place to stay, for the most part. Only complaint is the pathways from the rooms to reception/restaurant/out flood during heavy rains. There's maybe six inches to a foot of standing water and it requires wobbly blocks to step on. Annoying, but better than walking in water I suppose. Would be nice if they could put in some sort of drainage system. Otherwise, great stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
10.0
10th Jan 2013

Wonderful place. Hope to stay here again someday!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
9.7
7th Jan 2013

Beautiful old house, great place to stay. Takeshi & Mika run the place and they are so kind. Would stay here every time in Nara!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
J-Hoppers Hiroshima Guesthouse, Hiroshima, Japan
9.4
4th Jan 2013

Very nice place to stay. A bit far from train station (have to take tram), but nice and close to Peace Park and museum. Rooms and facilities are great, but the building is cold during winter. Not a huge deal, but apparent. Regardless, I'd definitely stay here again!

View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to write a comment buddy. Enjoy your travels in Japan and all the best for the new year. :0)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Khaosan Tokyo Ninja, Tokyo, Japan
8.9
2nd Jan 2013

Had stayed at Khason Kabuki a couple years ago and it was booked this time around, so I opted for its sister hostel, Ninja. Not a bad place to stay, but much prefer Kabuki. Stayed in a twin private and there was just enough room for two suitcases between the bunk beds and wall. Had to shuffle things around each time one of us needed to get out of the room. The room was tiny, even by Japanese standards. But hostel was clean and convenient and the staff excellent. I'd consider staying here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Lotte - The Backpackers, Heidelberg, Germany
9.7
2nd Oct 2012

Excellent hostel in an awesome town. Great location for sightseeing, far from hauptbahnhof (have to take bus). Super friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Generator Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
9.7
29th Sep 2012

Great hostel, but as others have indicated, the in-room bathroom is so tiny. Just use the big one down the hall. Lot's of room. Very good breakfast, nice/clean rooms and an excellent location - steps from the Hbf.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Baxpax Downtown Hostel/Hotel, Berlin, Germany
7.1
25th Sep 2012

Not a bad place to stay, but not as good as I remember it being the last time I was in Berlin 3 years ago. Perhaps a place geared more toward the real young traveler. Dorm room was incredibly noisy at all hours of the night, and I'm quite tolerable to that kind of stuff. Not the hostel's fault, I suppose. 5.50 Euro breakfast was terrible compared to others around Germany. Orange juice - 0.2 L - is an extra 3.50 Euro...Highway robbery if you ask me, especially when it's free at other hostels.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Kangaroo-Stop, Dresden, Germany
7.4
23rd Sep 2012

Not a bad place. No frills.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Euro Youth Hostel, Munich, Germany
9.4
18th Sep 2012

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
A&O Nuernberg Hauptbahnhof, Nuremberg, Germany
8.6
14th Sep 2012

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
8.0
10th Sep 2012

6 bed dorm a bit small. One staff member kinda rude. Other than that, nice place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
9.7
7th Sep 2012

Awesome hostel! My only qualm would be lack of air con. Rooms get very warm and stuffy. Other than that, great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Evershine Guest House, Goa, India
9.7
24th Jan 2012

Awesome place! Sebastiana, the owner, is an absolute dear. Very close to the beach, though a bit farther from "nice" beach (with sand, not rocks). Lots of good restaurants nearby. Goa is awesome. Would definitely come back and stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Nirvana Hostel, Jaipur, India
4.6
21st Jan 2012

Very disorganized. They over booked rooms and had to send me to a different place. I ended up with a single room (had booked a dorm) for the price of a dorm, so I guess it worked out all right. Just a frustrating situation to be in early in the morning following an overnight train. Also, and more importantly, this place is WAY out of the way. The rickshaw driver had no clue, had to ask a half dozen locals who also had no clue, before we finally stumbled upon it. I'd steer clear of this joint...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Mewargarh Palace, Udaipur, India
9.7
18th Jan 2012

The family who runs this guest house is so kind. Great rooms and food options. Every facility you could need in India. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Udaipur outside of the Lake Palace...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Mystic Jaisalmer, Jaisalmer, India
10.0
14th Jan 2012

Great stay. The staff is very accommodating and their desert tour pretty good. Ashrif and JJ are very kind and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Ram Bhawan Residency, Varanasi, India
9.1
11th Jan 2012

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Smyle Inn, New Delhi, India
8.9
7th Jan 2012

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki, Tokyo, Japan
9.7
9th Sep 2011

Great hostel and staff. Cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in. Only recommendation would be to post more specific directions or a map online...

View Property Reply

Thank you very much for the comment on our hostel! We put so much energy into keep this newly renovated hostel clean for the coming guests. so it's really nice to hear you thought we are the cleanest hostel you've ever been. Hostelworld only shows one map but we have really a good direction to the hostel with some pictures, and a better map which is made by our staff on our website. Please check the access page next time, you will never lose your way :) Arigato !

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
West Lake Youth House, Hangzhou, China
9.0
21st Aug 2011

Nice place, GREAT location. Would stay here again...

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Shanghai Koala Garden House, Shanghai, China
8.7
17th Aug 2011

Dorm room was great, staff very friendly, and not a bad location - fairly close to a metro stop and pretty easy to find. Would definitly stay there again.

View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. Welcome to Koala next time.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
La Posada de Huertas, Madrid, Spain
9.0
23rd Sep 2010

John on tapas tour was outstanding! Wifi Internet connection was horribly slow. Other than that good place!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
10.0
22nd Oct 2009

Wonderful place. Not only a great location in Bern but Switzerland as a whole, Easy trips to Zurich, Geneva, Interlaken, Lichtenstein, etc. Set up shop in Bern. Would stay here every time I'm in Switzerland...

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jpokarney7334
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
Freedom Traveller, Rome, Italy
9.0
18th Oct 2009

Great staff, offered beers, tea and food, and were very engaging. Some people who work at other hostels in the area hang out at FT every night, and say it's far and away better. Shower was hit or miss as far as warm water, but only a problem because I had a cold at the time.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.