Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: darylwarren007



  • darylwarren007
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Vila Veselova, Ljubljana, Slovenia
6.0
25th Oct 2016

An ok hostel. Not the best location beside motorway so quite noisy and no atmosphere. Very dark and staff are not that helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • darylwarren007
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Castle Hostel 1004 - Bled, Bled, Slovenia
9.4
21st Oct 2016

Great place. Recommend you stay here in Bled which itself is a great place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • darylwarren007
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
The Hostel Paulista, Sao Paulo, Brazil
8.0
8th Jul 2014

Good setup but was let down by poor showers and a toilet that overflowed. The guys in my room did not help leaving a bomb sight on departure.

View Property Reply

Hi, Daryl. Unfortunately, it's hard to control how people use the bathrooms and showers. Our cleanners staff works untill 17h and after that if we have to count on good sense of guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • darylwarren007
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
7.1
6th Jul 2014

A good place in good location but the bathroom was in a bad state even after cleaner. I was there for World Cup and there was no one there. I still had to pay a premium rate via hostel world even when a friend paid 40% less with no booking.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • darylwarren007
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
Santa Semente, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
6.6
4th Jul 2014

Shower was the worst I had seen in South America. It stank and was ice cold. The area is good but due to being out if the way the owner could provide a small info sheet for busses and metro etc. instead you get a map drawn on a napkin. Quaint but not good in this age of travel. Most people staying there spent all their time on computers etc and there was little interaction and atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • darylwarren007
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
Klein Hostel, Foz do Iguacu, Brazil
8.6
2nd Jul 2014

Nice place. It is a little out if the way though. Clean with good facilities and very safe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • darylwarren007
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
Iguazu Falls Hostel, Puerto Iguazu, Argentina
6.0
1st Jul 2014

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • darylwarren007
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
6.0
20th Jun 2014

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • darylwarren007
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Hostel Akilpo, Huaraz, Peru
7.1
22nd May 2014

OK hostel but nothing special. Would advise that they do not book the Santa Cruz trek!!! You need to go elsewhere to do this. Also the advice given to a French girl was poor dating that she could trek it alone was stupid as not an easy trek at altitude.

View Property Reply

Hello Dear Customer We give information very flexible, not only trying to sell tours. You can book tours here when we have an organized group,if not you have to book in another company. We do not make transfers nor do we like to get commission for these. So you should not exalt and please do not consider "stupid" the desicion of a person. She made ​​the decision to do it independently. Plus she was informed before undertaking the trek. I wish you the best from Huaraz. Akilpo Team

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • darylwarren007
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
8.9
16th May 2014

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • darylwarren007
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
6.9
9th Dec 2012

This rating could have been a lot higher had Nishan the owner not forgotten to re book our room for our final night in Sri Lanka. We had been looking forward to staying in one of their very nice rooms but were left at a loose end after traveling all day from Adams peak. We were forced to take a room next door at ocean view (awefull and not clean). Not an ideal way to finish trip. That said they stored my bag and helped book many things for us however we were left with a bitter taste in the end

View Property Reply

Dearest Guests, We all at Marine Tourist Guest House Thank you very much for sharing your experiences about Marine House. We will attend to the point highlighted in your valuable review.Further we thank you staying with us for 3 times,while you were in sri lanka.On your second stay you booked a dorm room for the last day,so we kept the dorm room for you.I applogise,that we couldnot entertain your request at the last moment to upgarde your roomto a balcony room in new building,since it was fully booked. Wish you all the Best ! Looking forward to serve you in future too.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • darylwarren007
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
SurfCity, Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
5.4
4th Dec 2012

I arranged this room on hostel world and found it to be of an average standard in comparison to others I had stayed at in Sri Lanka. They seemed to only be after my money and not interested in good service. I have limited needs but the ability to make simple decisions was lacking by the staff. Very overpriced for what you get.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • darylwarren007
  • New Zealand,
  • Avid Traveller
Brunei Hotel, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei
8.7
27th Dec 2009

Very nice place, cheap but very well located. They also took care of my bags for 5 weeks while in Malaysia at no cost and extended my checkout time both days as flights were later at night.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • darylwarren007
  • New Zealand,
  • Avid Traveller
Stay-In Lodge, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
7.3
26th Dec 2009

They have a great location in China town, and I arrived to the Xmas market which was great. They also organise the Mt Kinabalu trek at the cheapest price around. It can be on the noisy side but that was kareoke xmas carols at BB cafe across the road.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.