Hostelworld.com

Reviews: stuart_beedie965

Location Australia,

  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Apple Hostel Italy, St Petersburg, Russia
9.7
15th Sep 2013

The location and staff are both absolutely brilliant (shout out particularly to Catherine!) - it's a quick walk to the Hermitage and the Neva River, and you can find almost anything just off Nevsky Prospekt, and the girls on reception have loads of tips ready! Hostel itself is fairly subdued, but the 24 hour reception makes it easy enough to stay out as long as you want in pretty fantastic city itself. The free laundry was also particularly appreciated!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Godzillas Suzdal, Suzdal, Russia
10.0
6th Sep 2013

Absolutely amazing hostel. It's huge and new, with lovely staff (and beanbags). Was very quiet in September too, which is a change of pace from Moscow! Great recommendations for food and sights as well. Fantastic location by the riverside - makes for a lovely walk back home at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Apple Hostel Moscow, Moscow, Russia
9.1
5th Sep 2013

It gets cramped in here, particularly in the dorm rooms, but that's what you get for the pretty central location (an easy enough walk over to Red Square - no matter what, in Moscow you'll do a lot of walking). Absolutely love the free laundry! Staff are generally very nice, although some people on reception are more helpful than others. Overall pretty good value for an expensive city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Gorky 6 Hostel, Kazan, Russia
8.6
3rd Sep 2013

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Art Hostel on Krasnoarmeiskaya street, Yekaterinburg, Russia
10.0
31st Aug 2013

I spent a fantastic three days here - there's a great apartment-like vibe. Not all of the staff speak English (and my russian was dreadful!), but there's always google translate at the ready if you need help with anything - everyone is so cheerful and does their best, and there are already maps ready to help you get around town and to a few of the destinations in the countryside. Great value, there's always someone at reception and the hostel has a solid kitchen if you feel like cooking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Ulan Ude Travellers House, Ulan Ude, Russia
9.4
24th Aug 2013

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Street Backpackers Hostel, Hanoi, Vietnam
9.4
14th Jul 2013

Absolutely fantastic value. Free breakfast, an hour of free beer and a location that makes it easy to get around the Old Quarter . Hanna is an awesome host and extremely helpful, although the rest of a staff seem to struggle when she isn't there. Quite a chilled atmosphere, easy to meet other travellers (particularly over said beers). Ha Long Bay tour booked through them turned out really well too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hue Backpackers Hostel, Hue, Vietnam
8.3
10th Jul 2013

Solid location near the river (although head inland for better dinner options) and a great atmosphere. The upstairs balconies are lovely spot to take a break and hang out, and there can be a good buzz at the bar downstairs in the evenings. The staff are sometimes not particularly welcoming, but overall were quite helpful in booking onward travel and tours.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Long Hostel, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
9.7
5th Jul 2013

Superb hostel. Stayed at the sister location just across the road (although they're really just one big hostel, run by the same family). Staff were helpful and fantastic at all hours of the day, and even though there was some drama with the storms & a guest during my stay they handled it all extremely well. Great value, and relatively easy to explore the city on foot or moto from here (suggest not spending too much of your time in the backpacker area though). Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
River City Inn, Singapore, Singapore
9.7
4th Jul 2013

At River City Inn for a 2nd time, only a quick stay, but I had a great time! The staff are lovely (all smiles and offering some fruit on check-in, even though I arrived quite late at night!) and the facilities are great (although the dorm beds are are little small for the very tall). Easy to walk to most of the major points of the city, or take the subway to the airport.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Castanea Old Town Hostel, Stockholm, Sweden
9.3
21st Oct 2011

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
St Christopher's Camden, London, England
9.0
3rd Jul 2011

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Metropol, New York, USA
9.3
22nd Jul 2010

Fantastic place. Williamsburg is a great area, cool alternative to Manhattan (which is still quick & easy to get to, a week-long subway pass comes in handy). Definitely an apartment vibe, and even the single bathroom thing isn't much of an issue as long as you try an accomodate people a bit. Very clean & a solid breakfast!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
HI Washington DC, Washington DC, USA
8.7
20th Jul 2010

Good (huge) hostel, well located & very secure. Be warned that there's a huge mix here, from families to school groups to interns, so it can be tough meeting other backpackers. The activities/tours/crawls can be good for that though, and the girl scouts left huge plates of food in the fridge for everyone (thanks!). My one complaint is the charge for luggage storage - I can't remember the last time I had to pay just to leave my bags for 2 hours

View Property Reply

Stuart: Thank you for all of the lovely comments! Helping hostellers to meet one another is the primary reason we offer these outings. Sorry about the luggage storage cost. This is not an uncommon message. We tried a free luggage room, but it didn't work out too well. The best option we had was to enlist an outside vendor to provide the lockers. If I could, I would make it free, again. ~Mark Schneider, General Manager HI-DC

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Cafe Hostel, Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
9.0
18th Jun 2010

Very compact and very new, with a nice cafe/bar downstairs. Great rooms and a do-it-yourself breakfast. It's a bit of a walk from the train station, but right by the centre of town. Staff are very helpful, with lots of tips for places to get a drink!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Krumlov House, Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
9.7
16th Jun 2010

Absolutely fantastic, I really wish I could have stayed longer. It's a great base for exploring Cesky Krumlov, but the hostel was also a really fun & chilled place to hang out in its own right - comfy lounge area, really fast wifi, lots of dvds & the one of the best book swaps I've come across. Great vibe

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Greg & Tom Hostel, Krakow, Poland
10.0
11th Jun 2010

Easily one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. Krakow's pretty affordable as it is, but it's even better when you're getting free drinks and dinner almost every night! Staff are great fun and a lot of help, there's always an interesting mix of people & the breakfasts are amazing

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hobo Bear Hostel, Zagreb, Croatia
9.7
7th Jun 2010

Great hostel, makes for a wonderful base to explore Zagreb. Staff were fun and a lot of help (especially pointing out spots to eat or giving travel tips). Only wish the lounge stayed open further into the night!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Legends, Rome, Italy
9.0
29th May 2010

Fantastic spot to stay in Rome. It's on a pretty good street near Termini station, with a supermarket just around the corner. Good dorms & helpful staff. The best part is the free pasta dinners every night though - great money saver if you're on a tight budget and makes it really easy to meet people despite the lack of a common room

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Bassetto Guesthouse, Florence, Italy
9.3
20th May 2010

Had a fantastic stay here! It's a bit out of the way, but that's definitely part of the appeal - peaceful and bordering the stunning tuscan countryside. It's easy to do day trips to Sienna or San Gimignano, and Certaldo Alto (the old town on the hill overlooking the city, a pretty short walk away) was a great little suprise. . Staff are great, really appreciated the lifts to and from the trains station. Make sure you stock up on food in the town though, it's a bit of a walk!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Euro Youth Hostel, Munich, Germany
9.7
9th May 2010

An amazing hostel. It\'s right near the station, which isn\'t the best area but an easy walk into the centre or towards the museums. The bar & common room areas are great, easy to meet people and hang out. Good wifi, very helpful staff and the place is absolutely spotless. The breakfast is worth the 4 euro or so it sets you back too

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Glasgow Youth Hostel, Glasgow, Scotland
8.3
2nd Apr 2010

The location is a bit away from the city centre, but it's a good area, with the park & museum close & some fantastic cafes on Woodlands Road (recommend 'Biblocafe' especially). Hostel itself is fairly nice, big lounge and kitchen, although they charge for wifi & could do with more utensils & cutlery.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
The Riverhouse Backpackers, Cardiff, Wales
10.0
31st Mar 2010

Superb hostel, one of the best I've ever stayed in. Staff are extremely helpful, the rooms are impeccably clean, there's a good (& filling) range on offer for breakfast, great lounge & dining areas with fantastic, laid-back atmosphere, easy stroll to anywhere in the city centre - wish I'd been able to stay longer! And the bowls of apples make for a great snack

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Birmingham Central Backpackers, Birmingham, England
9.3
26th Mar 2010

Only stayed for a night, but the hostel was in a good spot (only a short uphill walk to the Bull Ring complex), fun atmosphere and impressive movie screen! Lounge/Bar area is fantastic

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Astor Museum Inn, London, England
9.7
15th Mar 2010

Had an absolutely fantastic stay, ended up hanging around for a few extra nights. Location couldn't be better as a base in London (Brit Museum is brilliant, plus close to Holborn & Russel Square Stations & a Sainsburys for cheap dinners), staff are the best - cheery, helpful and a lot of fun & it's easy to meet other travellers. Have to pay extra for the wifi

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
9.0
7th Mar 2010

I had a lovely week's stay here. Maria and John are great hosts and the rooms are good value, not far to the beach area or the crossroads. While there's no communal area it's easy to meet other travellers on the balconies overlooking the garden, good atmosphere.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
YHA Bangkok Airport, Bangkok, Thailand
9.3
25th Feb 2010

I was only there briefly (early departure next morning), but the hostel was amazing! Very modern, sleek and clean, great staff, the rooftop is fantastic and the food is very nice. Good alternative to sleeping at the airport

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
9.7
6th Feb 2010

Easily one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Absolutely spotless, secure, staff is great, a good base for getting around Kyoto and fantastic bar and (huge) lounge area. Highly Recommended!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
9.3
2nd Feb 2010

Great rooms, helpful staff, cool little living area downstairs, plus very useful location right near the JR station and a bunch of smalls bars. Good stay!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
9.3
31st Jan 2010

Fantastic stay in a wonderful city, really clean rooms, good facilities and pretty close to the station and tram lines

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stuart_beedie965
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Khaosan Tokyo Samurai, Tokyo, Japan
8.7
29th Jan 2010

Great staff, showers & free internet were fantastic and Asakusa was a good neighbourhood. Thanks!

View Property Reply

Thank you for staying with us. We hope you had fun here. We look forward to see you again. Khaosan Tokyo Samurai

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.