Reviews: gregmiller17241838

Ipanema B & B

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Tucked away, with two gates you must enter before getting inside. Felt very safe, little confusing to arrive at first and secure a gate key to get inside and checkin. Lobby area and kitchen were very nice. Bunk rooms are a bit crowded, with bunk beds that are stacked three high (at least in the male rooms). Solid water pressure in the showers which was nice. Was only staying one night during world cup so grossly overpaid (~$100+ USD) but was a good place to rest my head.

Karisma Hostel Ipanema

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Good location. Staff supports 24/7 which is great. Very easy to come and go (both good and a bad thing). Slept through the free breakfast every morning so not sure what was available. Linens were not the best, but for the $$ the place was extremely affordable and easy to get to and from all the key areas for visitors in Rio. Traveled alone and was able to meet others to hang out/go out at night with.

Brussels 2GO4 Quality Hostel

Brussels, Belgium

Near enough to city centre to walk to most attractions, but also not necessarily surrounded by the best neighborhoods. Very diverse crowd in age and nationality makes for an interesting stay. Insulation in the building is terrible, so grab a bed by the heater because it gets quite cold at night during the winter. Staff is very helpful, and the lounge is open until 11pm every night for those wanting a quieter night. Blankets are too short for people over 6 feet tall.

EastSeven Berlin Hostel

Berlin, Germany

Although I was there in the off-season, I found it difficult to meet anyone else. Definitely did not have the social atmosphere for individuals traveling alone, although I heard this was an abnormality. They offer "deals" at nearby cafes, but I'd recommend shying away from them as there are cheaper options for food nearby.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, I´m sorry you did not meet people you liked. Because there were a lot of guest and no big group being self sufficient. The most amazing thing about your comment is, that you stayed with us on Monday night when we always serve "free food" made between 18:00 and 20:00 by our cook who always asks for help - best chance to meet fellow travellers in the kitchen. We really cannot help more ... With the vouchers it is always the problem: we do something as a free service for customers with no plus for us with no pushing travellers to do something - most hostels don´t care. Of course there is allways a better deal in a big city but the way you wrote your comment it sounds like you assume we give wrong tracks ... please think that we don´t want to start this type of conversation - we also don´t assume anything about you motivation to give us a bad rating.

Wombats City Hostel Berlin

Berlin, Germany

This is a great hostel if you're looking to meet other people and have a wild night out (or in if you stay at the hostel bar on the top floor). Not the best place if you're just looking for a bed to crash on after a long day of traveling. A bit pricey for the location, but you get a free drink once you check in. All-you-can-eat breakfast at the cafe next door is a big plus.

Czech Inn

Prague, Czech Republic

This is a great place for both the individual travelling alone and anyone travelling in groups. It's very easy to meet people, all the sights of Prague are only a short trip on the metro/tram away, and you'll be hard pressed to find cheaper pints than in the hostel bar during happy hour. Breakfast is a bit expensive, but worth it if you can put down a lot of food (all-you-can-eat) in the morning.

Inverness Student Hostel

Inverness, Scotland

The view and log fire are not all they are cracked up to be, but the staff is very friendly, the kitchen is more than adequate, breakfast is a good value and the beds are very comfortable. All in all, a great experience and I would definitely recommend it to others.