Reviews: kevinmccaul8779

Location: England, Gender: Male, Age: 29

Hostel Internacional Campo Base

Mendoza, Argentina
86%

Breakfast, staff, wifi and location were all very good.

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank u kevin... enjoy you trip

America del Sur Hostel

El Calafate, Argentina
94%

This is a fantastic hostel. Warm and good atmosphere etc. the only negative is, the male staff are really only concerned about the female guests... It does get a little annoying.. Great hostel though.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


The Ritz by Hostel Inn

Buenos Aires, Argentina
97%

The staff are awesome! They lost my clothes and then paid for them. Good wifi (but not in the 3rd floor). Breakfast also is great.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


89%

Great location, friendly staff, clean, fast internet and really hot water... Stay here!!!

  • 21st May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Vibe Hostel

Paraty, Brazil
77%

Not bad. Clean, decent wifi, friendly staff and good location. Only one bathroom between 30 people though and no lockers.

  • 15th May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Studio Beach Hostel

Ilha Grande, Brazil
74%

This is cheap, with an okay breakfast and internet. Location is amazing! Staff are poor as you don't really know who works there.

  • 12th May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


74%

Excellent location.. Hot water usually.. Lockers and decent breakfast. The negatives... Not that clean and there are no staff.

  • 5th May 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Mambembe Hostel

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
86%

This hostel has nice staff, quick internet and a good location in the lapa area, next To the steps. Breakfast is good and it is very safe, as lockers are supplied. There are a lot of 'long termers' living here, which means, it can be hard to integrate with them though. Overall. It's a good place.

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Timbo Posada

Puerto Iguazu, Argentina
91%

This is a nice hostel with a good ambiance. Location is great, wifi good and staff friendly (although some don't really speak English)... But, i would stay here again.

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


VIP House

Cusco, Peru
89%

I booked for two nights, but stayed for 8. The staff are beyond friendly and helpful. The wifi is the fastest I've found in South America, great for uploading fb photos at last! Free breakfast is basic, but free. Very clean and free lockers. Very peaceful hostel. The only negatives are low water pressure and there isn't a tv. If recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


86%

There are lockers available on the first floor. Free wifi (which generally works) and free pancakes 24/7. The staff are helpful too. This is not a party hostel as some other reviews misleadingly say. However, if you want to party, the space on the ground floor is available. I met some good people here, don't o on he trips the hostel offers. You can do it cheaper yourself (and you won't have to listen tothe drivers view on EvErYThInG)...

  • 27th Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do thank you for staying at the lowest priced and best located hostel in the city! Cheers!

Hostel Cat

Las Vegas, USA
77%

Lockers available in rooms. Good wifi and good selection of tv to watch if you're hungover. Location is not good at all, however the hostel arranges activities to do nightly. Staff are well organised and polite, however as with all hostels that have a core of "longtermers", they are not welcoming. Free pancakes too. Vibe is odd, although you can meet some people.

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


89%

This is a great hostel that has an atmosphere suited to all types of travellers. The manager is very helpful also. Hilo is great place to base yourself whilst on the Big Island.

  • 18th Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


77%

Only a short walk from the beach with free wifi and breakfast. Nice social area, that can get slightly noisy at times. Lockers are included also, though you need to buy a very big padlock. Stay here.

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Silverfern Backpackers

Auckland, New Zealand
74%

Free wifi for 30 minutes a day and a decent location. The rooms were well maintained and I met some nice people.

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments

Mount Backpackers

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
57%

The location is excellent and the staff are friendly. However, as a traveller, rarely have I felt as unwelcome as I did at this hostel. It has mostly long term workers, who have no interest in meeting new people. Also, it is very small and crowded. I think there are better options.

  • 11th Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Iwiheke Backpackers / A-Plus Lodge

Turangi, New Zealand
80%

This hostel is great place to meet people. The atmosphere is a plus and there's free wifi.

  • 7th Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Bumbles Bridge Street Backpackers

Nelson, New Zealand
69%

A good enough place to stay for a night or two with a well appointed kitchen. TV room and comfortable enough dorms. The place is pretty dated but at only $20 you can probably look past that.

  • 3rd Feb 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Chateau Franz Backpackers

Franz Josef, New Zealand
86%

A homely offering serving up a lot of added extras not often found at hostels in NZ. Dorms are comfortable if a little cramped, but the kitchen and social areas are clean and well used. Good place to meet people over the free breakfasts or free evening soup sessions. Free wifi is also great. The hostel is located in the town just a pleasant stroll from the glacier.

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Base Queenstown

Queenstown, New Zealand
69%

Centrally located and clean, however lacked a communal atmosphere and the kitchen was awful. There are better options than Base.

  • 28th Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your comments on your stay at Base. We are aware that our kitchen needs to have a refurb and are looking at planning a renovation to be able to accommodate everyone staying here. We hope that you do get a chance to visit again or try out another one of our hostels. Kind regards, j Smith Hostel manager bse Queenstown

Jailhouse Accommodation

Christchurch, New Zealand
77%

This is a decent place. It's clean and the staff are very helpful. It's a 30-40 minute walk from downtown and it lacks any form of atmosphere.

  • 23rd Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Pint on Punt

Melbourne, Australia
89%

Free wifi and free breakfast. The staff are really helpful as well. If you are looking for budget accommodation, I'd recommend this place for sure.

  • 21st Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Nomads Byron Bay

Byron Bay, Australia
83%

This is a decent place in a good location, with free wifi on the ground floor. It is a party hostel though.

  • 14th Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Base Brisbane - Central

Brisbane, Australia
89%

This is a really good hostel and the staff are very nice.. There's a dvd room and free wifi on the ground floor. The hostel is noisy into the evening. It is definitely a party hostel for 18-25 year olds. It depends what you want.

  • 12th Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Backpackers by the Bay

Airlie Beach, Australia
80%

This feels like a hostel. Good location and friendly staff. No lockers and you have to pay for wifi.

  • 5th Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Castaway's Backpackers Cairns

Cairns, Australia
83%

This hostel has a homely feel and it's easy to meet people. The staff are really nice, especially Sarah (the Scottish girl) who helped us out. There aren't lockers in the rooms though.

  • 31st Dec 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


The Northern Greenhouse

Cairns, Australia
83%

The staff, location, cleanliness and security are excellent. To be honest, it depends what you are looking for. This hostel is quite big and had lots of drunk teenagers. I prefer smaller hostels that have a traveller atmosphere. It was good here regardless.

  • 27th Dec 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


60%

It is in a good location. THE lady was nice, but couldn't speak any English. It's not far from downtown, which is convenient. The male dormitory smells really bad and it's not clean at all. It was okay here, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • 22nd Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry I can`t understand this comment. Because you stayed privateroom 2 nights. There is other place male domitory. So you didn`t watch male domitory... and you didn`t inside male domitory... Sorry I can`t understand...

Green Guest House

Kagoshima, Japan
94%

Really nice hostel. Only a 10 minute walk from the sakurajima port. I'd recommend this place.

  • 11th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel KL

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
100%

One of my favourite hostels. I always stay here when I'm in KL.

  • 19th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Da Rifi Hostel

Surabaya, Indonesia
66%

Staff helpful and great breakfast. Could be cleaner and location... Meh. Good hostel to stay at if passing through.

  • 4th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Roommates Penang

Penang, Malaysia
91%

Staff were informative. Beds were comfortable and great privacy.

  • 26th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel KL

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
94%

Staff were knowledgable and friendly. Good breakfast for free. Clean. Stay here

  • 22nd Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Travellers Inn

Singapore, Singapore
97%

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Place is clean and in a great location! Stay here!

  • 19th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Ocean Guest House

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
94%

This is a very good hostel in the best location TST. The owners are very nice, it is very clean and easy to find. It is not a place to meet people though. I've stayed at the dragon hostel also and this one is muuuuuuuch better!

  • 15th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Dragon Hostel Hong Kong

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
77%

This hostel is okay. It is clean and in a good location, although it is terribly difficult to find. The staff seem nice although there is very little English. Look for a hostel in TST is my advice

  • 14th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Hotel Taiyo

Osaka, Japan
51%

No customer comment

  • 30th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Backpacker Friends Guest House

Seoul, South Korea
93%

I had an excellent time in this hostel and I would definitely stay there again. The location is brilliant, and the owner Mr Choi is a really good dude. On a negative side, there are only two bathrooms for the entire hostel though.

  • 20th Feb 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi~ Kevin, Thanks for your review. I was so glad to meet you and thanks for stay our house. Have a good time and see you again. Thanks.

Camels' Oasis,Taipei

Taipei, Taiwan
87%

Very nice hostel in a good location. The owner is not always around though.

  • 29th Jan 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Hostel Hamasen

Kaohsiung, Taiwan
90%

This is a nice hostel. The owner TC speaks perfect English and is really helpful. The hostel has a bar with cheap beer on site. Maybe a 5 min walk from the subway. We had a good time in Kaohsiung.

  • 25th Jan 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Frendz Resort Boracay

Boracay Island, Philippines
100%

Everything about this hostel is amazing!! The staff are awesome, it's in a great location, it's clean and secure. Me and my friends spent 5 nights here and had a very good time. Highly recommended....

  • 9th Aug 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Red Carabao Community

Manila, Philippines
93%

The Red Carabao is a cool place to stay in Manila and I would definitely recommend it. The owner and all the staff are very helpful. We had no problems with anything. The location is a little way from the bars if that's what you're looking for though :(. But, on the latter thought, taxi's are cheap here.

  • 7th Aug 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (46 reviews)


Phiman Water View

Bangkok, Thailand
83%

This is a nice hostel with plenty of character. It is different than most hostels you will stay in. probably worth a visit just for that.


Phuket Backpacker

Phuket, Thailand
100%

Awesome atmosphere, would totally recommend. Thanks.


Phiman Water View

Bangkok, Thailand
80%

Friendly staff


Villa Pink House

Da Lat, Vietnam
97%

This is a very nice hostel in a very nice location. The staff are extremely helpful.

  • 26th Nov 2009
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (46 reviews)