Reviews: robyoung81

Location: England, Gender: Male, Age: 34

Billeragh House Hostel

Listowel, Ireland
77%

We stayed just one night in the Hostel, after driving past it a few times on the main road we eventually found it and met Liam the owner of the place who has renovated the building which is well over 200 years old in to a very homely, very large hostel. The room we had was spacious and the bed was comfy despite the mattress being quite thin, the bathroom was clean and quite possibly had the most powerful shower I’ve ever been in! Well equipped kitchen and lots of social areas, just very quiet!


Linden Hall Townhouse

Westport, Ireland
94%

Whilst I haven’t stayed at many B&B’s, this stands out as a top quality place. The rooms were lovely, clean, well decorated with an amazingly comfortable bed. The bathroom great too with a lovely shower. I’d liken it to a 4 star hotel room. The gentleman who runs it is a friendly, softly spoken irish men who was very helpful when needed. The Breakfast more than matched the bed, a great selection of fruits, yoghurts, cereals etc, juices, tea & coffee PLUS a cooked breakfast too. Highly recommende


Castle Hostel

Ballycastle, Northern Ireland
89%

Ran by a very helpful gentleman this is a basic place but it suited our needs perfectly. It was quiet whilst we were there, but the room was large and the bathroom clean with a good shower. The kitchen was well equipped and had everything we needed. Overall it feels a little dated thanks to the décor, and the mattress certainly wasn’t anything to write home about but for the price we paid I didn’t expect the Ritz. if I was in Ballycastle again I would definitely go back!


Vagabonds

Belfast, Northern Ireland
97%

We have stayed in a lot of hostels all over the world and this ranks as one of the best. We had a double room which was more like a hotel room, high ceilings, large comfy bed and loads of room. The shared toilets were always clean and modern, well equipped with excellent powerful, hot showers. Staff were friendly and helpful and were happy to book things for you when needed. Great free breakfast and loads of social areas.Really can’t stress enough what a great, well run hostel this is. Go go go!


Sky Backpackers

Dublin, Ireland
86%

We were in a 6 bed dorm, the location is great, a very short walk across to Temple Bar and other attractions. The Staff were friendly, answering any questions we had or making recommendations too. The place was also clean and generally well kept, with the Kitchen being a stand out, possibly one of the best kitchens in any hostel. Unfortunately, the beds were rickety metal bunk beds that squeaked every time you moved, no lockers either. The place lacked atmosphere despite good social areas.


Greg & Tom Hostel

Krakow, Poland
94%

I only stayed here for one night but the place made a great impression on me and i'll definitely be going back. The staff were very friendly and helpful, there's a small comfortable lounge area and my room was a 6 bed dorm which was spacious, light and airy. The beds were large with sockets and a light, the lockers were big and secure too. However the pillows were terrible, just a small bit of foam, bit of a let down after everything else. Breakfast was lovely and the free dinner was great too.


Vibe Hostel

Paraty, Brazil
91%

We had a great stay at Vibe hostel. Booked 2 night and ended up staying six. The rooms are clean and the showers are nice. Breakfast is decent with toast, cereal and fruits etc. best of all were the staff who were always extremely helpful. They made recommendations and we found a paradisic deserted beach thanks to them (ask about Praia de Laranjeiras). The atmosphere was quite chilled out, not a party place but we met lots of cool people there. Location is close to the bus station and centre


Cafe Hostel

Sao Paulo, Brazil
74%

We had an OK stay here. It is slim a good location really close to the Vila Madalena tube station. We were put in an 11 bed dorm even though we'd booked a 9 bed. The triple bunks were not ideal and a bit uncomfortable but ok. Bathrooms and showers were clean but the ladies were broken when we were there, not much of a problem just a little less privacy. Breakfast was pretty average, some stale cake and no tea. Social areas were ok but there didn't seem to be too much going on in general.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, it helps us improve our service. We put you in a 9bed dorm, because it is more spacious (and it has big windows and a balcony!). We explain that to the guests when we check them in. You were here on a Wednesday, next time you should join our (free) Forró class! (traditional Brazilian dance)

Hillside

Phuket, Thailand
91%

Really enjoyed our stay here over New Year. Lovely, clean large bungalow with an ok shower. Nice little pool and an excellent view out to sea. About 15 mins drive to Haad Rin, hostel puts on taxis for 100BHt every hour which is useful. Food was good here too and service above average. They have secure lockers in their own room which we were able to use for free to lock away valuables which was good for peace of mind. Overall and excellent stay. Recommended.


Mile Map Hostel

Bangkok, Thailand
83%

Nice, clean hostel. We got upgraded to a private room which was nice, clean with a decent shower and good air con. Location was good for Siam, just a short walk to train station. Staff friendly, only stayed one night but absolutely fine.


Downtown Siem Reap Hostel

Siem Reap, Cambodia
97%

We had a great time at this hostel, brilliant location just minutes walk from the night market and pub street. The rooms were really clean with huge high ceilings and the shower was nice and powerful too. What really made the place though was the atmosphere, it had a great pool area with a bar where you will meet loads of other travellers and spend the evening chatting and laughing over numerous beers. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the food served at the hostel was also great!


Thaphae Garden Guesthouse

Chiang Mai, Thailand
89%

We stayed here for 5 nights and it was a great place from which to explore Chiang Mai. Location is excellent just a few minutes walk to the old city walls where the nightlife, restaurants and Sunday walking street are. Rooms were clean, spacious with good storage space. Bathrooms were clean with a good shower. Pool was a nice bonus, although being undercover meant it was really cold all the time. Staff were very friendly and helped us book a few things such as cooking classes and Muay Thai.


91%

We only stayed here for one night, in 6 bed room. Bunks were sturdy and lockers were large. Location was good, 20 mins walk from West lake and right by the drum tower with lots of shops and restaurants close by. Staff were friendly although a better, English map of attractions would be nice. Common room was OK, fairly quiet and chilled. Overall a good so over in Hangzhou.


365 Inn

Beijing, China
94%

Probably one of the best hostels we stayed in whilst in China. Great location, just 10 mins walk to Tianenmen Square and a Metro station. We stayed in 2 bed 'dorm', which was actually a very nice twin room, large clean and comfortable. Toilets/showers were always clean & probably the best shower we've had so far. There's a nice restaurant/bar at the front which is cool for meeting other travellers. Staff very helpful, spoke good English although a better map could be provided.Highly recommended.


Dengfeng Climb International Hostel

Dengfeng Shaolin Temple, China
71%

After our taxi eventually found this place, we had a good stay here. The rooms are basic, with thin mattresses, but do have lockers and air con. Full size snooker table was nice, but room was always quite smoky. Staff were very friendly and helpful, helped us get to the mountain/shaolin temple and sorting taxis for us. It was very quiet when we were there, but overall it was fine. Basic but clean, could've been cheaper vs other hostels in China when taking into account facilities etc.


89%

We stayed in a private room and were very pleased, it was huge, clean with two large beds. Ensuite/wet room was fine, nothing special. Social area was nice if a little small, restaurant next door was quite pricey and only sold imported beers, however they let you bring your own and keep them in their fridge which is cool. Location could be a bit more central, about half hour walk to the drum & bell towers but taxis are dirt cheap. Easy to do get to the Terracotta Warriors on your own from here.


91%

Flip flop was a great base for exploring Chengdu city, clean rooms, friendly staff and cheap beer! The social area was excellent with a pool table, lots of seating and the food was good too. We did the panda trip with the hostel, which was well worth it even if we did have to follow a guide round. The staff provide a good map for exploring Chengdu Bunk beds were pretty rickety and squeaky, lockers were not big enough for backpacks but could fit all valuables in. Bathroom was OK.


The Cosy Garden

Yangshuo, China
83%

We stayed here for 5 nights. The hostel is located about 20 minutes walk from Yangshuo town centre, this walk can be very dark at night, But you can hire bikes from the hostel free after 6pm (just £2 a day normally). Bedrooms were clean with large, secure lockers. Bathroom was OK, drainage could greatly be improved! Staff were very helpful, providing maps & cycling routes. It could get very quiet in the evening time, so we usually headed in to town for something a bit more lively.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feed back :) we have torches available at the reception if your planning on heading out late with the free bikes ^_^ We do indeed tend to be quite quiet but that's what we aim for, when the town is so noisy we try and provide the balance for relaxation time! Hope to see you again!

Wada Hostel in Guilin

Guilin, China
94%

We only stayed here for one night as had heard there isn't a great deal to do in Guilin (which is true!) So just used this as a stop over to break up our journey from HK to Yangshuo. Wada is just short walk from the bus station. Excellent hostel, very friendly staff, lovely food from the kitchen and cheap drinks at the bar. Very nice chill out area and garden. We had a private room and it was clean and spacious, although there wasn't really any storage space, not a major issue though.


Yesinn @CAUSEWAY BAY

Hong Kong, Hong Kong
91%

Very nice hostel in a great location, based on the island and over the road from Causeway Bay MTR station, you can easily reach all the main attractions of HK from here. We stayed in a private room which are located just across the road from the reception but this wasn't an issue. Rooms very clean and secure, WiFi available throughout, small lounge area but met some cool people up on the roof terrace which is very nice and they even have a free massage chair! Highly recommended!