Reviews: grisogoesnuts

Location: Australia, Gender: Male, Age: 31
71%

A hostel from a converted old five story hotel. There are plenty of rooms and they are tiny but well maintained. There is a central access lift to all floors. The entry and foyer to the hostel are large. The reception staff were friendly. The surrounding subburb is nothing special by Paris standards. When we arrived for breakfast at 8:30 am it had all been consumed! We were told that 'that was all they had'. Poor form guys. If you have 200 guests then you should cater for 200 guests or more.

  • 17th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (33 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
That is strange, we order 250+ croissants everyday, so it is not possible that by 8.30am everything is gone, we would have had many more compaints! We think that the question might have been understood as 'that's all we have' in the sense that there are no other choice. We replenish the breakfast several times in the morning as it runs out, so maybe you arrive as we were in the back getting more of everything. Thanks for your feeback, and hope you enjoyed Paris nonetheless!

Hotel Jungfrau

Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland
91%

On the main drag right between the train station and pub. This older hotel has loads of character and the views from the rooms are stunning. You will look down the valley at the main waterfall. Rooms are big. Showers are hot. There is no kitchen, fridge. But you can get free coffee in TV room. The owner is fussy but nice. It is not as cheap as the hostel but much more private. I would stay again.

  • 29th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (33 reviews)


Apinelo Hostel

Split, Croatia
97%

We rented one of the studio apartments down stairs from the hostel. This apartment was excellent. It had a queen bed with a single fold out. All newly renovated. Excellent bathroom. TV mounted to the wall with a connected PC for browsing the net. Cupboard space and a kitchenette with fridge and kettle. The staff are excellent and the hostel is very well maintained and extremely clean. The second best hostel I have ever stayed in! From the train station cross the tracks and walk three mins.

  • 10th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (33 reviews)


Taban Hostel Zagreb Centre

Zagreb, Croatia
83%

Can be tough to find so print out a map of the area. Take two tram stops to square then ten minute walk up pedestrian mall to hostel which sits atop a bar/cafe. The bar is a different owner and this is evident by the way the bar staff totally ignore you when you arrive with a backpack on. However, the hostel staff were very helpful and the rooms was very clean. Hot showers and clean sheets. The breakfast is served in a basement bar and is absolute rubbish. Washing service cheap and fast.

  • 8th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (33 reviews)


Jazz Hostel & Apartments

Bled, Slovenia
97%

A well run hostel with everything. Avoid catching the train as it's 2 km walk from hostel. Take bus and it is 800m walk. It has hot clean shower, excellent owner, big proper kitchen and basic clean beds. It adjoins a bar/cafe by the same owner. Bled itself is charming. Row yourself on lake Bled. Climb the castle an have fun.

  • 6th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (33 reviews)


Jugendhotel Egger

Villach, Austria
83%

This is reminiscint of a large place to stay on a school camp. It is three floors of large rooms with fold out bunk beds. Everything is spotless and new. There is an adjoining courtyard with pool. The staff very nice but hard to find? It was totally dead in May we were the only guests. Not in a good location on the edge of Villach. €10 cab from HBF/Bus center. It is a 20 minute walk to town and food. There is a service station, hardware store and highway and not much else. Would be fun when busy

  • 5th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (33 reviews)


91%

This is the big brother to the 'Alessandro Downtown Hostel' which is on the other side of the station. Having stayed at both this one is the same price but much better. The location is north of the Termini by 3 minutes on foot. The neighborhood is central city hobo but the area around the hostel. It dominates the lower three floors of a well maintained old building. There is an adjoining bar where an excellent breakfast is served for €4. Hot showers and clean sheets all round. Expensive but good

  • 2nd May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (33 reviews)


91%

Firstly excellent location. Three minutes from the Termini main station. It is two blocks from the train so you will have to deal with the usual riff-raff and hobos that frequent these areas. The hostel shares it's building with another three star hotel. Entrance via a huge wooden door where you get 'buzzed' in. The rooms are big and clean. The bathrooms big, with nice hot showers. The staff were Philipino and top multilingual guys. Laundry is self serve and €8/load. Great, but expensive place.

  • 26th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (33 reviews)


Metropolis Hostel

Istanbul, Turkey
77%

Hostel sits on two parts. A four story old residential building with a charming rooftop bar, and an extra accommodation section across the road above a restaurant. We have stated in both sides. The hostel is old but well maintained. The rooms are spacious with clean beds. The showers are hot and clean. The wifi is unreliable and slow. The two staff members are uninterested. Breakfast is run by two ladies and is very good. Location is behind a bustling food street, excellent location!

  • 21st Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (33 reviews)


91%

Located in a quiet cul de sac two minutes from bus station (Otogar). This place has cool old Persian rugs throughout the hostel. The staff is two men with wives. The staff are clean cut, very patient and cheerful. They offer and book almost anything you could do in this town. The rooms are basic but clean. Bathrooms are shabby but big and again very clean with hot water. Large warm common room. Deck with pool. The common computer works, no viruses and they have printer! Finally. Breakfast great.

  • 18th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (33 reviews)


�zmen Pension

Antalya, Turkey
91%

Ozmen pension is smack in the middle of the rat maze that is the old town Antalya. Take a taxi as it is damn hard to find. It is a three story concrete hotel come hostel. The two staff members are friendly and helpful in perfect English. The rooms are very clean and like a three star hotel setup. They made us tea and brought to the room on request multiple times for free! The breakfast is fresh and Turkish. No common area. No kitchen. Wifi fast and everywhere. Not a social place. Cheap, clean.

  • 17th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (33 reviews)


Artemis Yoruk Hotel

Pamukkale, Turkey
97%

This little place is located right smack in the center of Pemukkale, so it is the perfect base for you to see the ancient city and the natural springs that dominate the skyline from the town. The hostel is very large and well laid out with a large lounge and reception. The rooms border a large square pool in a central courtyard. The rooms are basic but very clean and the beds come with a warm duvet/doonah. The included b'fast is fresh. A lady makes you pita bread fresh whilst you wait. loved it!

  • 10th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (33 reviews)


Artemis Hotel

Selcuk, Turkey
94%

It is smack in the middle of Selcuk and 150m from the Otogar Bus Station. There is a fresh deli across the road and plenty of shops and Cafes within 200m There is a large main lounge with adjoining courtyard and enclosed breakfast area with open fire place that was roaring! The Breakfast is Turkish only, but fresh and excellent. The beds have sheets and not very warm blankets. Shower is hot with pressure. Basic but fine. The staff are excellent! Young, friendly and cool. Plenty of advice.

  • 8th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (33 reviews)


Saba'a Hotel

Petra, Jordan
97%

This hostel is smack in the middle of Wadi Musa, the town that services the 'Petra' attraction. Warm welcome by staff whom were cool and all spoke English. The hostel is old and has basic facilities but is well maintained and very clean. The rooms have clean sheets and the shower was hot. Located within 100m are a plethora of shops, stalls and eats. The wifi works everywhere and was excellent speed. Lounge area is comfy and they serve you free tea. Breakfast is fresh and starts at 6:30. Awesome!

  • 2nd Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (33 reviews)


Jordan Tower Hostel

Amman, Jordan
91%

Firstly communication with Hostel staff via email was excellent. Haz organized airport pickup and subsequent car toured Petrathe following day. The hostel is in a very central location in Amman with many small stores and a decent middle eastern restaurant below the hostel. The room as basic but clean. Toilet came with paper and flushed when asked. Shower was hot but poor pressure. WiFi worked very well and the included breakfast was excellent and served from 6:30 am. Old but very well run place.

  • 1st Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (33 reviews)


Hostel HOMEr

Prague, Czech Republic
57%

I will be diplomatic. The location is excellent. 100m to old town Prague square. Arrived to find that our booked double room had been allocated to a guy from a lads night thus my girlfriend and I were placed in a 12 bed dorm with the remaining drunken lads for an 'interesting' night of no sleep. That's OK it happens. Next day got private room with obviously used dirty sheets. Took them to staff whom had no more clean double sheets? Friendly staff but poorly run hostel. New facilities hot shower.

  • 25th Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (33 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello guys,thank you very much for you review. Im just little bit surprised,because you had a choice and you didnt mind to stay in 12bed room. Our hostel is superclean and I can guarantee that just CLEAN sheets are used!!!!

EastSeven Berlin Hostel

Berlin, Germany
100%

This is it, they have the coveted title of 'The Best Hostel I have ever stayed in!'. There has been stiff competition but East Seven wins it. Two basic things for me for all hostels: Q1-Is the bed clean? Q2-Is there a high pressure hot showers? I base all my reviews on these two factors. This Hostel is so above and beyond that those factors don't even count. Staff: Happy, Cool and helpful. Internet: Fast and works everywhere. Local area: Trains, Cafes, Shops. A very, very clean well run warm gig

  • 21st Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (33 reviews)


America del Sur Hostel Buenos Aires

Buenos Aires, Argentina
94%

Firstly the staff here are excellent. The location is 400m from La Defencia which is a street that includes lovely architechure, markets, coffee and food. The post office is 800m and supermarket across the road. The domestic airport is $15 US Dollars away. It is a bit pricey but you get what you pay for. Clean, well maintained. Huge common area with outdoor courtyard. The shower was hot with good pressure. The only drawback was lack of fitted sheets which meant they would come off easily. Great!

  • 3rd Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (33 reviews)


America del Sur Hostel

El Calafate, Argentina
94%

OK this is a nice big new hostel that has been built out in the newer North Eastern part of El Calafate. This is great because of there is plenty of space for the newer construction but it comes at the cost of being slightly further from the town center than some of the more established hostels such as Hosteria Patagonia. It is a solid 10 minute walk from the town center and is on dirt roads. However you are welcomed to an amazing ski-resort style. Beds comfy, showers hot with pressure! Awesome.

  • 2nd Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (33 reviews)


97%

I have stayed at this hostel a few times whilst passing through Tokyo. the beauty of this hostel is the location. It is in a little back street fifty meters from the Kuramae Station on the Odeo line. The other bonus is 7-11 is thirty meters down the road and lawson is one hundred meters in the other direction. The hostel is nicely layer out on the bottom floor with a generous common area, small but adequate kitche, plenty of fridge room and a small tatami matt area. Staff awesome, Asakusa great.

  • 24th Jan 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (33 reviews)


Grand Hostel Berlin

Berlin, Germany
100%

THIS IS A PROPER RUN HOSTEL! Wow what a nice change to go to a hostel again that had cool young staff that were willing to help and very knowledgeable on their town. We had an awesome stay at this hostel. The building is charming and newly renovated. The bar is a good size and has a good vibe at night. The WiFi works on all floors and is free! The breakfast is cheap and fresh and run very well. Their is a train station 100m down the road. The staff were EXCELLENT and that is what makes it great.

  • 28th Aug 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (33 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey John. Thank you so much for your comment. We had a good time with you and we are looking forward having you back one day! Warm regards from the Grand Hostel Berlin. Clara

Cityherberge

Dresden, Germany
93%

This is a slick run and very clean place. More of a tidy 3 star hotel hence you get families and a mixed crowd. The rooms are flawless, the whole place is brand new and newly renovated. There is a small bar at reception and an excellent lounge room with flat screen TVs and lovely lounges. Whilst the bathrooms are shared they are large and include toilet, vanity and shower in the one lockable room so you can get good privacy. The location is initially difficult to find but well sign posted. Great

  • 26th Aug 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (33 reviews)


67%

This is a small hotel posing as a hostel. The location is excellent, although in a somewhat skanky area of Munich, and very close to the train station. The rooms are immaculate and very very clean. However it lacks the vibe that hostels are known for. No real comfortable common area. No guest kitchen, no fridge, no food storage area, no free Internet, no washing machines. The breakfast is cheap and very good quality continental style food. Very clean, neat 2 star hotel. No hostel vibe.

  • 16th Aug 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (33 reviews)


97%

This Hostel is very close to Nara station. Staff is mature but cool and flex. The place is well equipped with free internet and PCs in the foyer. The beds and pillows are new and great. Doonah/Comforters are awesome. Each room has 2 bunks and a toilet and shower which backs onto the room through a sliding door. Strange design but works fine. Also LCD TV in room. Great place really enjoyed the stay.


Homeikan

Tokyo, Japan
77%

This is not your typical hostel - hence the name. Firstly this place is difficult to find, even if you are familiar with Tokyo. For JR pass holders you WILL def need to use subway. Use only Kasuga north exit unless you want to lug your gear 1.5km. There is no signage so study the photos prior. The place is very beautiful but the rooms are very small and old. The staff can be very very fussy. In summary lovely old place - good for the experience but not for the fun.


Khaosan Tokyo Samurai

Tokyo, Japan
90%

A great little hostel that is 300m from Asakusa station on the subway. The beds are wooden bunk bed style and the pillows are small Japanese style. The staff are awesome! The amenities are clean and the showers are high-pressure and hot! Great place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us. We will keep doing our best to make this place the best! Thank you so much for your kind comments and rating. Hope to see you all again in near future!

Kiwi Basecamp

Christchurch, New Zealand
97%

The owner Chris is exuberant and knows that it takes good staff to build a great place. Very clean, awesome staff and the free shuttle bus was very helpful. See you all next time!


The Lab Queenstown

Queenstown, New Zealand
77%

Firstly the staff and the owners are young, fun and extreemely helpful. The free b'fast is awesome. True b'packer experience - cheap, fun and a bit grungy. Favours the younger crowd with party atmosphere. Clean beds and very hot showers. Ski amenities lacking - poor drying room, board racks unsecure and no tuning areas. Great location with 2 min walk to center of town! A wrinkles to iron out but a fun place overall!


Khaosan Tokyo Samurai

Tokyo, Japan
90%

The staff were really cool and patient. The rooms are pretty stock standard with your wooden bunk type arrangement, but they have not crammed them in like some other places. So there is a desk in the dorm rooms and you can use your laptop with the excellent Wi-Fi! Overall heaps better than the Tokyo YHA (that place is dry and has curfew) but a little off the JR lines as you need to hop the subway to get here. Cool place, very clean o

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your stay and also for your comment. We hope you had a good time at our hostel. Subways in Tokyo is complicated, especially for the first time. However, once you get used to it, it's quite convenient and rational. Thank you very much. We hope to see you again.

Mt Hakuba Backpackers

Nagano (Hakuba), Japan
87%

The owner 'Dave' really makes this hostel cool. It is a 5 min bus ride from the nearest lift and the bus stop is out the front. There is a convenience store 50m away which is great. It has good beds (although a little crammed in) with good soft doonas. The best thing abou this hostel is the attached bar which has happy hour 5-6pm and 500Y meals that rock! I had fun at this cool Hostel. Warning early checkout 0930am!


83%

O.K. This backpackers is pretty good. Its pros are: great location. its only con is that the rooms are a little cramped and the stairs to the room are a b'''ch. there is toilet facilities on all floors but showers only on the 2nd and 3rd. Minor points I know but worth the mention. The staff were fantastic and i had a great time at this backpacker! John, Sydney


100%

I have stayed in a bunch of backpackers all over the world and this one is clearly the best. Had a fantastic stay for 3 nights and really enjoyed the accom and the staff and the rad atmosphere. Dont bother looking anymore this place rocks. I also recommend hiring the bikes as it is a great way to get around Kyoto and see the sights. Ride along the river too it saves having to battle the traffic lights and its quicker than the train. Thanks K`s House. John 27 Sydney Australia.


J-Hoppers Hida Takayama Guesthouse

Hida Takayama, Japan
87%

Takayama is a quiet little place and its bloody cold too in winter. We stayed 2 nights in the little town and i believe there are only a couple of must-see things. 1 - Old goverment building near the markets. 2 - Hida Folk village. The folk village is only a short bus ride away and its only 200 yen as opposed to the crazy 4200 yen to get out to the UNESCO `certified` folk village. Seriously the hida one is very cool and the thatched roofed houses are beautiful especially at night when they light