Reviews: d2amy

Location: England, Gender: Female, Age: 24

Hostelo the New Urban

Montreal, Canada
89%

Great location - only three blocks from Sherbrooke metro. Facilities were great, and the pancake breakfast was yummy - although it is just pancakes and coffee. The one thing that I hated was the fact that I was in an 8 bed girl dorms with en-suite, smaller than the size of my bachelor apartment - i.e. no room whatsoever to move around. Oh, and it was minimum 35 degrees at night, insufferable. I would stay here again but insist I was in a bigger dorm - as I saw that they existed.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


HI Holandes

Ilha Grande, Brazil
94%

Although the internet and wifi are painfully slow - and I know for some this is a big thing - the hostel is beautifully located about a 5-10 minute walk from the main road in Ilha Grande. Breakfast is great, although some of the staff serving it made fun of me more or less to my face thinking I didn't understand Portuguese. Stayed in a 6 bed girls dorm, it was two levels, with 2 beds and a bathroom on one, and 4 on the other. Floor are loud and do not allow for quiet bathroom use at night.

  • 14th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Backpackers House Paraty

Paraty, Brazil
71%

Good hostel that feels more like a house than a hostel - which is very nice. Stayed in an 8 bed dorm, its two three bed bunks, and one two bed. Wasn't too bad, bed was comfortable, but fan and air conditioning didn't work, and the mozzie nets had massive rips in them, or didn't have them at all. For most of the beds, the nets were too close to you for it to cover your bed without touching most of you body, which is very uncomfortable. AMAZING and I mean AMAZING breakfast though. Best in SA!

  • 12th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
the fun works, the aircon too. There is nets for everybed, just ask to the staff, like to plug the fun or the aircon if you don't find how. Many people don't use nets, so we have some out of the beds Thanks for your comment, I hope you come back

Casa Tiki

Itacare, Brazil
100%

We had a great time here. Patricia is such a nice person and she´s so helpful with everything you need while in Itacare. Its a super small Pousada, with only 4 or 5 rooms, so you get to know the people staying there pretty well. The breakfast is yummy as well, and the cold drink prices are fair - since youre not allowed to bring your own alcohol into it. We were originally in a room with a shared bathroom, but got upgraded for no charge. The outdoor terrace is great too.

  • 5th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Barra Guest Hostel

Salvador, Brazil
100%

This is a great hostel, the staff are friendly and super knowledgable and speak english. The free Caipirinha every night doesn´t hurt either.

  • 31st May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
:) Thank you so much, it's a pleasure to have travellers like you who makes our job so nice !!

Garden Stone

Puerto Iguazu, Argentina
94%

We had a great time here, were supposed to stay for two nights, but we stayed for four instead. The staff were great, although did not speak english so keep that in mind. The outdoor kitchen is pretty awesome.

  • 27th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Terrazas Estoril

Buenos Aires, Argentina
89%

Great hostel, the location is superb and you couldnt ask for friendlier or more helpful staff. The one thing that annoyed me are the bathrooms. The sinks leaked and there was almost ALWAYS water on the floor from this, or from the showers. Also, there ones bathroom where the garbage can is broken AND the seat. In the middle of the night, or after a night out, let alone sober, this is NOT fun. Just fix it, itll take two seconds.

  • 21st May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


60%

This hostel was not anything special. It had a nice court yard in the back and the rooms were clean. Two things that I did not like were the door to our 8 dorm bed did not fully shut, its winter, thank god I stole other blankets. Second, the main check in room/lobby STINKS. I smells like someone puked and they did not clean it up. Most revolting thing I have ever smelt.

  • 20th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


El Viajero - Hostel & Suites

Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
66%

Its fine, nothing to write home about. I just hate hostel that dont let you check in until check in time, even if only five out of 100 beds are occupied.

  • 19th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Amy!!! How are you? We are sorry if you had a bad moment waiting for the check in, but this has a reason. Our cleaning womens need to clean the room properly for the guests like you find everithing clean and tidy!!! Anyway, thank you for your comment!!! Have a nice trip El Viajero Hostels Staff

Hostel Estoril

Buenos Aires, Argentina
100%

Loved it, its a bit cleaner than Terrazas, but everything else is basically the same. Awesome!

  • 17th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Green House Hostels

Bariloche, Argentina
97%

Such a great place and both are so incredibly helpful and friendly. The only thing, as is previously stated, it is only a 10 minute bus ride into town and the bus does come ever 20 minutes, but when it is cold, THIS SUCKS. Also everytime we were on the bus on the way back we were nervous we were going to miss our stop as its hard to tell.

  • 13th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Hostel Lao

Mendoza, Argentina
100%

The staff are super friendly and they all speak a great level of english so there is no miscommunication. The best part of the hostel is Margarita! The house dog. Shes adorable and so lovely. So if you dont like pets, stay away.

  • 9th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Hostal Víctor

Pucon, Chile
91%

I really liked it for a quiet place. We were supposed to have a room with a tv and a double bed. We ended up getting two bunk beds and no tv and paid the same amount. We werent happy about that.

  • 4th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Hostel Bosque Nativo

Valdivia, Chile
91%

A bit expensive, but we did get a discount and an upgraded room free of charge. So that was awesome! However, the lack of any English understanding proved difficult when trying to organize excursions.

  • 3rd May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Newen Kara Hostel

Santiago, Chile
54%

Average hostel. Nothing spectacular about it. Close ish to the metro. SUPER COMFY BEDS THOUGH in the 6 bed dorm!

  • 29th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Montreal Central

Montreal, Canada
100%

Loved it!

  • 25th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


46%

DO NOT STAY HERE. It was rubbish and it was depressing. Not worth it and too far out of the city, take the money you use to get there to stay at a nicer place.

  • 5th Jan 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


SoBo House Brighton

Brighton, England
51%

This place wasn't anything special. Far away from the pier and such. Wasn't that bad, however next time I will be looking for a hostel closer to the action.

  • 30th Dec 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Amy, We are in the City of Brighton and Hove and just 1.5 miles or 2.4 Km from central club land Approximate Journey times for 1.5 miles. Walking - 22.5 minutes for 1.5 miles - The "average" speed for a normal, healthy individual walking at a steady pace (not speed-walking, but not dawdling, either) is about 4 miles per hour, or 15 minutes per mile. Taxi/Car - 5 minutes / Public Transport - 10 minutes - Rgds, SoBo

71%

Great little place, some staff weren't the friendliest, at least to my mate. Overall great stay and would stay there again. plus only 9 pound.

  • 28th Dec 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Bounce Sydney

Sydney, Australia
87%

Great location! Close to Central station, even coser than wake up, it's actually like a mini version of wake up to be honest, I like Bounce a lot more though.

  • 12th Jul 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Britannia on William

Perth, Australia
100%

This is not the nicet or cleanest of hostels, it gets bloody cold in the winter, but the staff and people are amazing. Britania will always be my home in AUstralia.

  • 7th Jul 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Bluewater Lodge

Nadi, Fiji
90%

Great little hostel. Not a party though. Does have a really good place to eat attached.

  • 27th Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Base Auckland

Auckland, New Zealand
70%

Typical big hostel. Good for the location, bad if you want to make friends.

  • 26th Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Reggae Guest House 2

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
93%

Great place, would totally recommend it and would stay here again in a heart beat

  • 24th Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Hostel Amigos

Singapore, Singapore
87%

The location is really the only downfall, it's still assessiable, but yea, sort of far to walk.

  • 9th Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Old Penang GuestHouse

Penang, Malaysia
60%

It was mediocre at best. You did get a free beer when you checked in though.

  • 5th Jun 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Xayana Guesthouse

Luang Prabang, Laos
90%

I loved this place. Don't know why it's rated so low on here. The only really bad thing about it was that the drains smelt a bit.

  • 28th May 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Phuket Backpacker

Phuket, Thailand
80%

It was clean and the aircon worked really well, you will wake up in themiddle of the night cold though

  • 24th May 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


A Little Bird Guesthouse

Chiang Mai, Thailand
97%

Awesome place, and you can meet loads of travelers here. GREAT location.

  • 24th May 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


I-Bed

Koh Samui, Thailand
100%

Best hostel I've ever stayed at.

  • 11th May 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


NapPark Hostel at Khao San

Bangkok, Thailand
100%

Super social, and great location. Free internet MAJOR bonus.

  • 7th May 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Sydney Central YHA

Sydney, Australia
77%

Was good, heard this place was really bad but enjoyed my stay here, very close to central station, and although the rooms are dated the rest of the place is pretty cool. Too expensive for what you get though, but that's YHA for you


Airlie Waterfront Backpackers

Airlie Beach, Australia
90%

Massive 8 bed dorm which was amazing because we had a lot of reorganizing to do with our luggage. Great air con, not a party hostel though, but beaches and magnums is about a 2 minutes walk away!


Parrotfish Lodge

Port Douglas, Australia
100%

Loved it, might be a bit cramped if it ever fills up, great staff and so friendly


Dingo Moon Lodge

Darwin, Australia
93%

Loved it, would stay here again in a heart beat, good air con as well!


Dingo Moon Lodge

Darwin, Australia
100%

No customer comment


Alice's Secret

Alice Springs, Australia
87%

A lot of the younger travelers had problems with the manager, he was great to me, but I was traveling with my mom. Very cute chill out area, quiet hostel out of the main bit, worth the 10 minute walk though.


Backpack Oz

Adelaide, Australia
83%

Alright, have seen better, but apparently best hostel in Adelaide, not sure if I want to see the other ones


Urban Central

Melbourne, Australia
73%

Staff were really unhelpful, well some of them, aka the girls. Very rude to my mom even. Great location though, on the tram to the city, fitzroy and st kilda, and 5 minute walk to southbank, pretty awesome locay for sure

  • 10th Apr 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for replying to the email I sent you regarding your feedback. It is unfortunate that you cannot remember the details of what happened or who your mother spoke to but we will endevour to continue to provide the best customer service that we can. Kind Regards The team at Urban Central.

Jailhouse Accommodation

Christchurch, New Zealand
100%

LOVE THIS PLACE! STAY HERE!!!

  • 9th Apr 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Albatross Backpacker Inn

Kaikoura, New Zealand
77%

the staff were very friendly and had a great and zoy common area

  • 7th Apr 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (67 reviews)


Noah's Ark Backpackers

Greymouth, New Zealand
77%

Cute rooms, although the cat room was a bit weird. The common areas and kitchen had a really awesome homey feeling to it.

  • 4th Apr 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Chateau Franz Backpackers

Franz Josef, New Zealand
73%

Cute little place. Felt like I was staying in ski cottages.

  • 3rd Apr 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Absoloot Value Accommodation

Queenstown, New Zealand
100%

Loved it, although the kitchen was WAY Too small. Fridges and TV in every room was a great touch, same with en suite toilets.

  • 30th Mar 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


YHA Lake Tekapo

Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
90%

Best kitchen, has everything times 3! Amazing view from the common area.

  • 29th Mar 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Jailhouse Accommodation

Christchurch, New Zealand
100%

Most awesome layout of a hostel ever! Staff were superb. Will stay here on my return to CHCH.

  • 28th Mar 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear you are planning to be a Repeat Offender! See you soon, Jail Warden.

Brisbane City Backpackers

Brisbane, Australia
67%

Too many room checks, and they really should fix their fire alarm. Was woken up two nights in a row at 12am, for no reason.

  • 26th Mar 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Britannia on William

Perth, Australia
100%

My home for 2 months. I miss it so much!

  • 26th Jan 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Britannia on William

Perth, Australia
47%

I've stayed at this hostel for 2 months and up until about 2 weeks ago I could say nothing but good things about it. But since then people have gotten kicked out and some(not all!!!) of the staff are lying to backpackers saying there are no rooms, or their reservation has been lost in order to get them to check out to have more turn over. The lying is really pointless and really just makes the more long term guests realize that this place actually sucks.

  • 25th Jan 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Wake Up! Sydney Central

Sydney, Australia
90%

I gave this a high review because it's a great place, although I didn't enjoy my stay because other backpackers basically don't talk to you and look at you as an outsider. I prefer smaller hostels anyways.

  • 19th Jan 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Asylum Sydney

Sydney, Australia
77%

Great hostel, very homey feel. Not clean though, well not spic and span sort of clean. I really loved it here though!

  • 26th Aug 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Alegria's Hostel

Bogota, Colombia
90%

We put the cleaning lady through hell here. She didn't like us one bit. But it was a great hostel, although a little cold at times, and the walk up the hill, although it gives you a good exercise gets tiresome. Would stay here again, as long as the cleaning lady didn't remember me!

  • 25th Jun 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Sunshine Hostel Medellin

Medellin, Colombia
70%

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was only be and my boyfriend, and 3 israeli guys and the owner the whole time. It was a pretty chill place, but it is very Israeli friendly. The owner spoke Hebrew, English and Spanish though all impeccably. No hot shower though, that was a big turn off.

  • 21st Jun 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Hostel Nucapacha

Guayaquil, Ecuador
63%

It was a little too far away from anything. It was nice for what it was, smelt sort of weird. Nice pool though.

  • 4th Jun 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Loki del Mar

Mancora, Peru
100%

Anyone and everyone who has stayed at a Loki in South America loves it. I stayed at the one in La Paz and the one in Mancora and loved them both equally, for different reasons. Food is AMAZING here and not that expensive, have the tuna! Great beach access as well. I'd live here if it were possible. Always a party.

  • 2nd Jun 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


57%

There was a HUGE issue with our booking when we arrived here. We fought for about 10 minutes and all the lady told us was there were no rooms, then miraculously there was. It was just nonsense. Stayed here for 2 nights and wouldn't stay again. No breakfast either.

  • 30th May 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Loki Backpackers La Paz

La Paz, Bolivia
97%

Great bar. GREAT PANCAKE BREAKFAST!!!!! Great times.

  • 22nd May 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


La Posada del Sol

Samaipata, Bolivia
80%

A texan owns this place, and I had the hardest time wrapping my head around it. He was a great guy though, very nice and helpful, felt like he was trying to make a buck though, but really everyone is. Stayed here for two nights and just relaxed. It's a nice little place in the middle of no where Bolivia.

  • 10th May 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


The Adventure Brew Hostel

La Paz, Bolivia
97%

Great bar. GREAT PANCAKE BREAKFAST!!!!! Great times

  • 5th May 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Loki Backpackers La Paz

La Paz, Bolivia
100%

Great place. Close to everything. I love Loki! The food here was awesome as well.

  • 4th May 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


67%

IT WAS SO COLD!!!! But Puno is a very cold place. Be prepared to sleep with mittens on. The managers were very friendly though and always made us hot water for tea.

  • 30th Apr 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Pirwa Hostels Machu Picchu

Machu Picchu, Peru
73%

Good enough place to stay in Aguas Calientes. Really everything is close to everything. It was a place to rest your head and not that expensive.

  • 26th Apr 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Incama Cusco Hostel

Cusco, Peru
53%

We only moved to this place because my mother got altitude sickness and needed her own room. There was nothing that stood out about this place other then he totally ripped us off on the taxi at 3 in the morning.

  • 25th Apr 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


90%

The only real pain about this place is that when you went to the common areas it got a bit cold because it was so open and made of stone. I had a great time here, especially since Cusco is probably my favorite city in South America. The staff were super friendly and helpful!

  • 23rd Apr 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


Hostel Kokopelli

Lima, Peru
93%

Was only here for about 5 hours, we got in late and had a very early flight. No idea where exactly this was because it was dark and both times I returned to Lima I still couldn't find it. The staff were SO friendly though and ever so helpful! There was a rooftop bar that looked like it could be a happening place.

  • 22nd Apr 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)


HQ Villa

Lima, Peru
60%

Very accomodation. Thanks.


Pensao do Norte

Porto, Portugal
100%

Lovely stay here.

  • 27th Feb 2010
  • Globetrotter
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (67 reviews)