Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous

Location Australia, Gender Female, Age 29

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
HI Boston, Boston, USA
8.9
24th Aug 2016

Great place to meet new people with common rooms and daily activities eg walking tours and pub crawls

View Property Reply

Hello we are happy to know you had a great time at HI-Boston and that you got a chance to participate in a few of our tours. Thank you for the feedback. AL

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
NY Moore Hostel, New York, USA
7.7
15th Aug 2016

Lockers in some rooms but not others. Free coffee and tea and use of kitchen was great. People were friendly but not much of a communal vibe.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
BED Hostel Colombo, Colombo, Sri Lanka
9.1
24th May 2015

Nice friendly atmosphere. Would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Electric Cats Bed & Breakfast, Bangalore, India
8.9
23rd May 2015

Great stay here, wish we were here for longer! Friendly and social atmosphere, yummy food downstairs, and the owner was really helpful.

View Property Reply

Dear Emily, Thanks for staying with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay at EC and hope to see you again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hotel Aeroporto, New Delhi, India
7.1
16th May 2015

Staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Our shower didn't drain and flooded the whole room! We weren't offered a new room, but they mopped up the water for us. Close to the airport but the taxi organised for us by the hotel was a huge rip off! We paid 600 rupees to get 2km to the airport. Probably wouldn't stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Pink Turban, Jaipur, India
7.7
13th May 2015

A bit of an unusual vibe at first but it picked up and was an enjoyable stay. The owner gave us very helpful advice including helping us book bus tickets using his online account. He also arranged a rickshaw/tuk-tuk for an entire day of sightseeing for 600 rupees - ask for Sunny!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Zostel Agra, Agra, India
8.3
12th May 2015

Great place to stay for visiting Taj Mahal as its a 15 minute walk away. No atmosphere while we were there but it was a quiet time to visit Agra. One of the reception staff was great and so helpful, but another staff member gave us bad advice about the buses/trains out of Agra.

View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you for the great review and rating. Good to know you liked our convenient location and the quite ambience. We're sorry about the inconvenience caused regarding the buses/trains - these things are a little unpredictable in India and we did not mean to give you wrong information at all. We'll make sure that we're more careful about these things. Thank you so much for letting us know. We hope to host you again! Cheers, Zostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Madpackers Hostel, New Delhi, India
8.9
11th May 2015

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
9.7
25th Jun 2013

Fantastic place. The staff arranged activities every evening which was a great way to meet people. The only complaint is that these activities were a little overpriced

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Snuffel Backpacker Hostel, Bruges, Belgium
9.7
22nd Jun 2013

Fantastic and helpful staff who even lent me an umbrella when it was raining and had good suggestions for things to do. Cheapest bar in town! Guests at the time I was staying weren't particularly friendly though. Overall great hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
7.7
18th Jun 2013

Excellent location. A nice budget hotel style accommodation more than a social backpacker vibe

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
The Walrus Hostel, London, England
8.9
15th Jun 2013

Staff were brilliant, breakfast was good, nice location in walking distance to lots of sights

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Amigo, Mexico City, Mexico
7.1
24th Feb 2013

Was an okay hostel with a friendly crowd. Had some issues with the staff, such as trying to make a reservation at reception and being asked to pay 200 pesos per night for a dorm, so instead we booked the SAME room using Hostelworld for 110 pesos.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral, Mexico City, Mexico
6.6
21st Feb 2013

Excellent location and nice facilities.However it seems this 'hostel' would suit those looking for a good-value hotel rather than a young backpackers crowd.Rooftop bar was lovely, but mostly empty.My friends and I also had trouble with one employee, who got drunk with us at the bar and then had a tantrum when things didnt go his way. It made us so uncomfortable that we had to check out the next day-moved to Amigos which was more chilled. Probably the worst backpacker hostel I stayed at in Mex!!

View Property Reply

It´s a shame you can come up with stories like this. There are rules to be followed at the hostel and you deliberately ignored them, despite being politely told many times. How odd is that you did not leave the next day and you even try to promote another fellow hostel in your review. Your only true sentence is the first one.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Tower Bridge Hostel, Puerto Escondido, Mexico
9.4
14th Feb 2013

Great place. Laidback, chilled and cheap - just what a hostel should be! Lovely pool, great atmosphere and the bar tender makes great cocktails for 20 pesos. It's a short taxi ride or collectivo from the main town and 20 min walk to the best swimming beach in Puerto. Would recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Zocalo, Merida, Mexico
7.4
8th Feb 2013

Location was excellent and some of the private rooms had balconies overlooking the main square. The atmosphere was a little strange as men who were selling accessories on the streets during Carnival time were also staying in the hostel. One staff member was very rude to us when we checked in. Personally I would probably choose a different hostel next time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Poc na Hostel, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
7.7
24th Jan 2013

Not really the party atmosphere we were expecting. Although the beachside location, hammocks and palm trees made it a great place, the beach bar was never used. The staff did not do much to create a social atmosphere. At the time I stayed, the guests ages ranged from late-teens to late 70's...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Soberanis, Cancun, Mexico
7.7
23rd Jan 2013

Fine for a one night stop-over but not really a social place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Books Hostel, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
9.1
17th Jan 2013

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Paraty Beach Hostel, Paraty, Brazil
8.3
14th Jan 2013

Great chilled-out atmosphere and cool, helpful staff. There was no running water at times and the bathroom was not the best but the staff's helpful attitudes made up for it. Would recommend it for a fun laidback time in Paraty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Sunset Backpackers, Florianopolis, Brazil
8.0
4th Jan 2013

Beautiful place, pool was great, close to the beach. Some staff were great however most were unhelpful and slow. Bills were often overcharged, restaurant was often closed or would only serve food to staff. Several times staff woke guests up during the night because staff had confused bed bookings. The hostel organises transport and entry to parties most nights however there was not a very social vibe in the hostel itself.

View Property Reply

Hey Emily ,thanks for your review. While you were here, we were with new staff, so takes time untill they pick up all the work we do at the hostel. Small things that are getting better day by day. About our problem with the restaurant, like we told all our guests, our main cheff had healthy problems, including a begginer of a heart attack, so for this reason, unfortunatly we had to close the kitchen twice in the past 10 days.. This things can happen in anytime. And finally, only once we had to wake up a guest, that supposed to check out on a day, and forgot to extend her stay. So in the middle of the night, we had to woke her up, because that bed was booked for somelse, and not her. Not several times, but only one time. In this case, it wasn�t the hostel fault. Even though you extended your stay for extra 5 nights, and gave us 100% for atmosphere, you could always come and speak with us about it. Safe travels Junior

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
El Diablo Tranquilo, Punta del Diablo, Uruguay
9.4
29th Dec 2012

Fantastic stay. Fun staff, laidback and social atmosphere, great parties. Best hostel in Punta del Diablo!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Milhouse Hostel Avenue, Buenos Aires, Argentina
9.7
20th Dec 2012

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Cinque Terre Holidays, Cinque Terre, Italy
9.0
11th Jun 2010

Great little place with good kitchen and nice views. I definitely recommend it!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Santa Monaca, Florence, Italy
8.0
8th Jun 2010

Make sure you have a map - the directions given are hard to follow! Not much of a communial area besides a very small terrace and lock-out between 10am and 5pm and then after 2am. Other than that, a nice place to stay

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
PLUS Camping Jolly, Venice, Italy
5.7
6th Jun 2010

Great swimming pool! Apart from that, restaurant was expensive, nothing nearby - not even a supermarket. Not a very fun atmosphere but good for a relaxing holiday

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
MEININGER Munich City Center, Munich, Germany
8.0
12th May 2010

Nice rooms, very clean bathrooms (and two per room was good), small kitchen but good facilities including an oven. I would stay here again

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
6.3
29th Apr 2010

Overpriced - internet is expensive, no kitchen facilities, no book exchange but a second-hand bookshop which is a rip-off way to swap books. Staff were a bit rude and not very fun. Hostel was a bit too big to really get to know anyone and was not very close to any attractions. But rooms were nice and spacious and clean. The table and chairs and sinks in the room were helpful.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
5.7
25th Apr 2010

Listed as a hostel but was actually a hotel and not designed for backpackers or young travellers. Good facilities and nice rooms but not easy to get into town, especially at nightime.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Vertigo Centre, Marseille, France
7.7
20th Apr 2010

Great layout and location, but extras such as internet and breakfast are not included in the price and make the very pleasant stay but a bit overpriced.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia,
  • Globetrotter
Arco Youth Hostel A&A, Barcelona, Spain
6.3
18th Apr 2010

There is a no alcohol rule at this hostel so not the place for young backpackers to have fun. Great location though.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.