Reviews: Anonymous

Location: Australia, Gender: Female, Age: 27
97%

Fantastic place. The staff arranged activities every evening which was a great way to meet people. The only complaint is that these activities were a little overpriced

  • 25th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Snuffel Backpacker Hostel

Bruges, Belgium
97%

Fantastic and helpful staff who even lent me an umbrella when it was raining and had good suggestions for things to do. Cheapest bar in town! Guests at the time I was staying weren't particularly friendly though. Overall great hostel

  • 22nd Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (23 reviews)


77%

Excellent location. A nice budget hotel style accommodation more than a social backpacker vibe

  • 18th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (23 reviews)


The Walrus Hostel

London, England
89%

Staff were brilliant, breakfast was good, nice location in walking distance to lots of sights


Hostel Amigo

Mexico City, Mexico
71%

Was an okay hostel with a friendly crowd. Had some issues with the staff, such as trying to make a reservation at reception and being asked to pay 200 pesos per night for a dorm, so instead we booked the SAME room using Hostelworld for 110 pesos.

  • 24th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Hostel Cathedral

Mexico City, Mexico
66%

Excellent location and nice facilities.However it seems this 'hostel' would suit those looking for a good-value hotel rather than a young backpackers crowd.Rooftop bar was lovely, but mostly empty.My friends and I also had trouble with one employee, who got drunk with us at the bar and then had a tantrum when things didnt go his way. It made us so uncomfortable that we had to check out the next day-moved to Amigos which was more chilled. Probably the worst backpacker hostel I stayed at in Mex!!

  • 21st Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It´s a shame you can come up with stories like this. There are rules to be followed at the hostel and you deliberately ignored them, despite being politely told many times. How odd is that you did not leave the next day and you even try to promote another fellow hostel in your review. Your only true sentence is the first one.

Tower Bridge Backpackers

Puerto Escondido, Mexico
94%

Great place. Laidback, chilled and cheap - just what a hostel should be! Lovely pool, great atmosphere and the bar tender makes great cocktails for 20 pesos. It's a short taxi ride or collectivo from the main town and 20 min walk to the best swimming beach in Puerto. Would recommend it.

  • 14th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Hostel Zocalo

Merida, Mexico
74%

Location was excellent and some of the private rooms had balconies overlooking the main square. The atmosphere was a little strange as men who were selling accessories on the streets during Carnival time were also staying in the hostel. One staff member was very rude to us when we checked in. Personally I would probably choose a different hostel next time.

  • 8th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Poc na Hostel

Isla Mujeres, Mexico
77%

Not really the party atmosphere we were expecting. Although the beachside location, hammocks and palm trees made it a great place, the beach bar was never used. The staff did not do much to create a social atmosphere. At the time I stayed, the guests ages ranged from late-teens to late 70's...

  • 24th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Soberanis

Cancun, Mexico
77%

Fine for a one night stop-over but not really a social place.

  • 23rd Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Books Hostel

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
91%

No customer comment

  • 17th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Paraty Beach Hostel

Paraty, Brazil
83%

Great chilled-out atmosphere and cool, helpful staff. There was no running water at times and the bathroom was not the best but the staff's helpful attitudes made up for it. Would recommend it for a fun laidback time in Paraty.

  • 14th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Backpackers Sunset

Florianopolis, Brazil
80%

Beautiful place, pool was great, close to the beach. Some staff were great however most were unhelpful and slow. Bills were often overcharged, restaurant was often closed or would only serve food to staff. Several times staff woke guests up during the night because staff had confused bed bookings. The hostel organises transport and entry to parties most nights however there was not a very social vibe in the hostel itself.

  • 4th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Emily ,thanks for your review. While you were here, we were with new staff, so takes time untill they pick up all the work we do at the hostel. Small things that are getting better day by day. About our problem with the restaurant, like we told all our guests, our main cheff had healthy problems, including a begginer of a heart attack, so for this reason, unfortunatly we had to close the kitchen twice in the past 10 days.. This things can happen in anytime. And finally, only once we had to wake up a guest, that supposed to check out on a day, and forgot to extend her stay. So in the middle of the night, we had to woke her up, because that bed was booked for somelse, and not her. Not several times, but only one time. In this case, it wasn´t the hostel fault. Even though you extended your stay for extra 5 nights, and gave us 100% for atmosphere, you could always come and speak with us about it. Safe travels Junior

El Diablo Tranquilo

Punta del Diablo, Uruguay
94%

Fantastic stay. Fun staff, laidback and social atmosphere, great parties. Best hostel in Punta del Diablo!

  • 29th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Milhouse Avenue

Buenos Aires, Argentina
97%

No customer comment

  • 20th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (23 reviews)


Cinque Terre Holidays

Cinque Terre, Italy
90%

Great little place with good kitchen and nice views. I definitely recommend it!


Hostel Santa Monaca

Florence, Italy
80%

Make sure you have a map - the directions given are hard to follow! Not much of a communial area besides a very small terrace and lock-out between 10am and 5pm and then after 2am. Other than that, a nice place to stay


PLUS Camping Jolly

Venice, Italy
57%

Great swimming pool! Apart from that, restaurant was expensive, nothing nearby - not even a supermarket. Not a very fun atmosphere but good for a relaxing holiday


80%

Nice rooms, very clean bathrooms (and two per room was good), small kitchen but good facilities including an oven. I would stay here again


63%

Overpriced - internet is expensive, no kitchen facilities, no book exchange but a second-hand bookshop which is a rip-off way to swap books. Staff were a bit rude and not very fun. Hostel was a bit too big to really get to know anyone and was not very close to any attractions. But rooms were nice and spacious and clean. The table and chairs and sinks in the room were helpful.


57%

Listed as a hostel but was actually a hotel and not designed for backpackers or young travellers. Good facilities and nice rooms but not easy to get into town, especially at nightime.


Vertigo Centre

Marseille, France
77%

Great layout and location, but extras such as internet and breakfast are not included in the price and make the very pleasant stay but a bit overpriced.


Arco Youth Hostel A&A

Barcelona, Spain
63%

There is a no alcohol rule at this hostel so not the place for young backpackers to have fun. Great location though.