Reviews: mungous

Location: New Zealand, Gender: Male, Age: 25

Wake Up! Sydney Central

Sydney, Australia
80%

No customer comment

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


Books Hostel

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
80%

Great vibes, great staff, great breakfast, great wifi. Only downside was many of the toilets and showers barely functioned.

  • 29th Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ok. I am working to fix it! It is better now but for the world cup we will be ready. Don't ever feel reviews are not helpfull to us, we are just mixing. If you see pictures from what it was, and what it became, you would see that we put a lot of effort/money and we will do it until we find this place serving very well it purpose!

Paraty Beach Hostel

Paraty, Brazil
89%

Great location though you probably won't want to actually swim on this beach the water is too hot. Hostel has helpful staff, good vibe and good breakfast. Unfortunately the wifi is some of the slowest ever but I heard it is the same in most of Paraty.

  • 27th Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


Cafe Hostel

Sao Paulo, Brazil
77%

We walked into a dorm that was a mess and stuff on all the beds including ours. Also super annoying the bed sheets don't fit! Unless you somehow stretch them but even they they'll likely pop off. 2 of the showers didn't work and one of the receptionists seemed to hate people talking to her. But this was made up for by the others who were really friendly. When we were there it was super quiet, maybe it was the low season.

  • 23rd Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry that you were disturbed by other guests' mess, some guests are indeed not very tidy and we will pay more attention to that. I'm surprised that you did not receive the level of customer care our staff normally provides. We usually receive very good feedback regarding our staff, who is there 24/7 for our guests in order to ensure that they have the best time possible.

Tucano House Backpackers

Florianopolis, Brazil
80%

A nice hostel about 10 minutes walk to the shops / buses. Everything you need is there, though their reservation management could be better, myself and another traveller on a different day were told we had confirmed extra nights only to have them bumped. Organised trips out are pretty damn good.

  • 18th Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


Klein Hostel

Foz do Iguacu, Brazil
83%

breakfast and dinner both great. honesty bar is also great as is free pick ups and drop offs. wifi good, common areas good too, helpful staff. good place to stay in Foz

  • 15th Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


El Uru Hostel

Punta del Diablo, Uruguay
91%

Hostel is relaxing, awesome friendly owners. Just bring great earplugs/eyemask if you intend to get any sleep in the big dorm as it's mostly locals holidaying from the neighbouring regions than backpackers, who either don't know or don't care about dorm etiquette. About 25 minutes walk to the main beach and 25 to a smaller quieter bay. 2 minutes to a tienda and milenesa. Really nice spot. Bring your ping pong skills!

  • 8th Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


Caballo Loco Hostel

Montevideo, Uruguay
94%

Staff were the best I had in Latin America. Great people glad to chat and help you out with anything. Building and interior is really really nice, wifi good, dorms comfortable with lockers and breakfast is actually good! Only thing the toilets weren't cleaned daily. Otherwise it's one of those hostels that you feel like home in, and despite what people told us we found Montevideo to be really nice. Not many 'tourist attractions' but great to just explore for a few days.

  • 6th Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


Hostel El Español

Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
80%

Sufficient for a couple days stay in Colonia. Wifi spotty and breakfast was rock hard bread. On the plus side showers hot, toilets clean and beds comfortable enough. No lockers so bring a cable lock.

  • 2nd Jan 2014
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


America del Sur Hostel Buenos Aires

Buenos Aires, Argentina
80%

Not a true hostel but more a budget hotel. 5 floors of rooms, air conditioned, with ensuite bathroom and shower. Kitchen incredibly small for the capacity, not a lot of traveller atmosphere when we stayed over Christmas, better off going to a more 'character' hostel. Staff generally happy and helpful, TV room, computers and wifi all excellent.

  • 24th Dec 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


Tango Hostel

Cordoba, Argentina
83%

Staff are the best here, super helpful and friendly. The hostel is quite small so you can meet people easily enough but the overall vibe is very quiet.

  • 18th Dec 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


7 Duendes

Salta, Argentina
80%

Nice hostel about 25 min walk from the plaza. Very close to supermarket and bus station. Definitely go to Viejo Jack for steak the filet was the most tasty and tender we had in Argentina. Nightlife area a short taxi away

  • 14th Dec 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


7 Patas Hostel

Sucre, Bolivia
91%

Quiet but friendly hostel a couple of blocks from the main plaza. Staff are really helpful, facilities cleaned regularly. Kitchen nice and spacious and courtyard is nice to relax in. Wifi slow but that is typical for Sucre, get a Tigo SIM/chip with data it's cheap and faster, or plenty of Internet cafés nearby with faster internet if you need it

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


Pariwana Hostel Cusco

Cusco, Peru
97%

You really can't ask for a better hostel. Stayed at Pariwana in Lima and this was even better. Awesome colonial building with good bar, kitchen, big comfy bunks and great staff. But we found the travel desk was terrible for advice and expensive for a backpacker, especially for Machu Picchu. Organising a train yourself or buying a car package elsewhere was a far better option.

  • 6th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


Inka's Hostel

Cusco, Peru
80%

A nice cheap hostel with very comfortable beds. However it can get super cold. There is minimal security, dorms have lockers however. Good option if you're trying to save money.

  • 5th Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


83%

Very cosy little place about 10 minutes walk from the plaza in a big old 3-storey house. Super friendly day staff, but the night staff were terrible and didn't want to help with anything. Noise travels through/around the place very easily so definitely crack out the ear plugs. Kitchen facilities a little rough but better than nothing at all.

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment, relating to your comment about the night staff is important our future guests know that our regular night staff was ill and the man you mentioned was only a replacement for some nights, we apologize for the bad experience but now our regular night staff is working and is as good as our day staf!! Thanks! evelin

100%

One of the best and well organised hostels I've stayed in. Beds are super comfortable and staff very helpful. Can sometimes be a little noisy at night if you're in the upstairs dorms so bring earplugs. Very convenient location too.

  • 26th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


Happy Buddha Boutique Hostel

Medellin, Colombia
77%

Nice little place to stay close to Parque Lleras night life, great pitas and Indian food just outside. Could do with a few more showers and while the staff can speak fluent English and were really nice, one would randomly turn cold and act like asking for advice or assistance was dumb/inconvenient. Atmosphere is friendly and quiet but Casa Kiwi hostel is very close if you want to drink/meet more people before heading out to the parque.

  • 18th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


La Serrana

Salento, Colombia
86%

Really nice peaceful place, clean facilities and nice food in the restaurant. As mentioned wifi is in dire need of a fix. Don't plan on any heavy internetting. Hot water is very hot but manually turned on by staff. Town plaza is a 20 min walk or 6,000 COP jeep taxi. Nice big common area and kitchen. Good for a few days relaxation

  • 15th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


Black Sheep Hostel Medellin

Medellin, Colombia
80%

Nice hostel, Kelvin the owner is super helpful and easy going. Wouldn't say it was a party hostel but definitely a great place to meet other people due to the size. Area seemed relatively safe despite hearing a bad story every now and then. About 20 min walk to Lleras Park nightlife or a cheap cab.

  • 11th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


Eco Hostal Yuluka

Santa Marta, Colombia
83%

Really nice tranquil place on the edge of the park. However be warned it is not 20 minutes from Santa Marta it is more like 45. No real internet to speak of as it's via a cell network with hardly any coverage in the area so bring some analogue entertainment. Dorms are nice, pool is nice. Restaurant food varies depending on what you order. Overall just a good place to relax for a short stay closer to Tayrona Park.

  • 7th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


Mystic House Hostal

Cartagena, Colombia
83%

Really nice little hostel, more like a house. The owner is super cool and will happily help you out. Can also speak English but most front desk staff are still learning. Be warned the 10 bed dorm is windowless with a few fans but no AC so can get super hot, and there are no door locks or lockers. Has a small common area but no guest kitchen, I would recommend Red Moon (Mexican) at Media Luna Hostel for cheap eats.

  • 3rd Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


Fulano Backpackers

Bogota, Colombia
100%

'Hostel by design' Fulano is easily THE hostel of hostels in Colombia. Modern, clean facilities, nice bar, pool table, large kitchen, and great Italian owners who are always around and more than happy to help.

  • 30th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


89%

Not a hostel just a cheap motel. Beware the 'amenity fee' which will result in a slightly higher price than advertised here. But it's still great value, beds are comfy, it's not a far taxi to the strip. You can also walk it in about 15 minutes over the freeway (sidewalk on one side of bridge only). Free breakfast and late checkouts a bonus. Would stay again

  • 16th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


Amsterdam Hostel

San Francisco, USA
80%

Nice hostel in a good location, though like most of that part of SF it can be a bit sketchy.

  • 12th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


77%

Nice character hostel, as others said more like a home. Hawthorne is a nice place to stay. Only 1 power outlet in my dorm would be very nice to have some near the beds.

  • 10th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


City Hostel Seattle

Seattle, USA
100%

Honestly one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in, they've thought of everything. Facilities clearly marked and clean, activities, and art in the dorms makes a nice touch.

  • 8th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


USA Hostels Hollywood

Los Angeles, USA
77%

Nice clean and secure hostel. Rooms can get quite hot as there is no AC just a ceiling fan

  • 16th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


Ace Inn Shinjuku

Tokyo, Japan
80%

May seem like a capsule hotel but doesn't feel like one - would much rather these than dorm bunks. Location is very handy and staff are good with English. Lockers are too small to fit bags and security is zero so best bring a cable lock. Quite easy to meet other travellers here, and so yes you'll get some noise.

  • 12th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


Retrometro Backpackers

Tokyo, Japan
91%

I came back to this hostel because it is very friendly and cosy and handy to Ueno and Asakusa. Very friendly and calm atmosphere

  • 9th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


A&T Holiday Hostel Wien

Vienna, Austria
83%

Nice clean hostel with friendly staff and SUPER comfy bedding. Only downsides the rooms get very hot in summer (no air con); wi-fi is only in lobby and didn't have enough connections for everyone.

  • 7th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


74%

Very quiet when I stayed, but generally pretty pleasant. Neighbourhood is nice and about 20 min taxi to The Bund. Room had aircon which was a blessing. Bar with cooked food and espresso coffee was a nice option to have. Room lockers were a little flimsy, and the cleaning of toilets / showers seems to just be throwing a bucket of water at them - though I hear this is the norm for much of China.

  • 12th May 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


Bounce Sydney

Sydney, Australia
83%

Large common area, location is fantastic. Little more expensive than most (and everything costs extra) but that could be Sydney. Most computers I tried wouldn't run Facebook / Gmail properly.

  • 15th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


1166 Backpackers

Nagano, Japan
100%

Loved staying here, feels very communal and staff member at the time (Hikari) was super helpful especially when it came to ski field and snow monkey transport. Was freezing in Nagano but dorms are very warm and beds are comfortable. A block over from Nagano's main street, about 20 min walk from the station and 3 min walk to a 7-11. Perfect.

  • 13th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


86%

Didn't get to see much of the hostel, arrived late and only stayed 1 night. Seemed very good, quite a large hostel so not as easy to meet other travelers.

  • 11th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


86%

Nice Hostel, not too far to walk from the station and to the Memorial Park. Staff were extremely nice and helpful too.

  • 10th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


UK OSAKA

Osaka, Japan
80%

Originally booked for 2 nights but had to shorten to 1a day out, I got to Osaka to be informed my space had been taken. The owner was very kind though and did not charge me cancellation, and put me up in a nearby capsule hotel instead. Thanks. Only gripe is it was very hard to find from the street.

  • 8th Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


Retrometro Backpackers

Tokyo, Japan
100%

Great little hostel, agree it feels more like a home. Very great place to meet other travelers and make new friends. Quite a few Japanese stayed here as well which was a nice change. Only complaint is some of the windows bang repeatedly when it's windy, makes it hard to sleep.

  • 3rd Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


100%

Fantastic amenities, the 4 bed dorms have their own ensuite modern toilet and shower which is great. Very nice communal area as well, not too large, good to talk to other travelers. Staff I met (Eiyo, Miki, Sayo and Nabe) were all amazing, very helpful and friendly. Possibly my favourite out of 6 hostels I stayed at in Japan, 3 of which were in Asakusa.

  • 2nd Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comments. We are happy that you remember our names ! We hope you enjoyed our modern toilet : ) see you next time !

Khaosan Tokyo Original

Tokyo, Japan
69%

Quite cramped and very noisy between both dorms and the street. Can hear the doorbell all over. Area is good but there are plenty of other hostels nearby with better amenities for the same price.

  • 1st Feb 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We are very good location, No other hostels actually 100 meter distance from Asakusa station.We are very cozy atmosphere , We apologize if you feel noisy. Please feel free to let us know if you feel like that. We will try to the best for our guest sleep comfortable. Thank you again for your stay.

Hotel Innova

Paris, France
77%

no automatic after hours access but staff friendly, tidy rooms and facilities, and not much street noise. directions were a bit hard to find, take the 6 or 12 train to Pasteur station and it's right outside

  • 23rd Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


70%

a great spot if you don't want to to be amongst the bustle of London City, but at times an inconvenience as it is not only a good 15-20 min on the underground from the city but several blocks from the nearest station and there is virtually no one around the area at night. very nice and simple facilities however, continental breakfast is adequate

  • 28th Oct 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


Keystone House Kings Cross

London, England
80%

nice and straightforward hostel, right on a busy intersection it's constantly noisy, the windows are double glazed but if you are a light sleeper you will still need earplugs. The bedding was clean and good but the mattresses were extremely poky and probably need replacing.

  • 27th Oct 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


The New York Loft Hostel

New York, USA
80%

the biggest let down: having 12+ people in the same room. It's impossible to get an uninterrupted night's sleep with so many coming and going, tossing and turning. whenever the guy below me rolled over it shook the whole bunk. the best part is the kitchen/common area


Williamsburg HostL

New York, USA
77%

The biggest let down for me was the mattresses, they are extremely solid and uncomfortable. But on the plus side... like most said: it's more like a house. The facilities are really great. Pet cat is cool, not so sure about the mice.

  • 24th Apr 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (47 reviews)


Broadway Hotel n Hostel

New York, USA
83%

Good clean hostel with friendly staff and services and only 2 blocks from the subway. Rates are good value


57%

our room was miniscule, the closet door handle just dropped off as did the shower handles on our floor and the one below, making them unusable. the sheets were stained and the matresses worn out. would not stay again for the price