Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: mungous

Location New Zealand, Gender Male, Age 27

  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
91 Loop, Cape Town, South Africa
9.4
3rd Mar 2016

Great hostel good downstairs bar/cafe, good wifi speeds and extremely comfortable beds. Only bad thing was the state of the in-dorm shower/toilet wasn't great at the best of times.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Noosa Flashpackers, Noosa, Australia
8.0
25th Jan 2016

quite pricey in the summer but nice and modern hostel, good vibe. Staff are helpful

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Zostel Jaipur Hostel, Jaipur, India
8.3
13th Jan 2016

Brilliant hostel, great common area, vibe and cleanliness. As others mentioned the dorm doors can't ever really be shut due to a bolt on the inside and one on the outside so you'll either trap someone inside or lock them out. Quite an unusual choice, maybe cut some hand-sized holes in the doors?

View Property Reply

Hey Thank you so much for taking out the time to write us a review. Thank you for pointing out about the door bolts. It was a pleasure having you over and we would love to see you again! :) Cheers Zostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Pappi Chulo, Goa, India
6.6
25th Dec 2015

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Flamingo Hostel, Krakow, Poland
8.0
13th Jul 2015

Cosy hostel centrally located, party vibe. Don't stay in a dorm that faces the street if you value a quiet night's sleep as Krakow goes off every night and bars are across the road. Bar crawl every night from the hostel, it's a good time. Wi-fi was mostly reliable

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Oki Doki, Warsaw, Poland
10.0
9th Jul 2015

Hostel has everything you need in a good location. The staff are locals and very kind and helpful. Wifi was intermittent but strong enough to get things done

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
7.1
27th Jun 2015

All in all a good hostel but compared to other hostels in the area I don't know why it was almost twice the price. Free sangria and pizza nights are nice but would be better to have complementary breakfast IMO. Wi-fi was sporadic and showers need some attention.

View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us!!! Prices here and in the area changes almost daily, so we can not give you a proper answer, but you can let us know why you chose us and that we'll make us improve for sure! We're glad that you liked our free dinners and free drinks nights, we'll take into consideration your recommendation about breakfast. Thanks again and safe travels!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Billabong Gardens, Sydney, Australia
9.4
18th Mar 2015

A very handy located hostel in Newtown. Rates are very reasonable, facilities are plentiful and well maintained. The private rooms are great, like a motel, and the dorms are good - long term stayers generate a lot of clutter, be warned - but the dorm bathrooms are cleaned frequently which is the main thing. No common areas open after 11pm is a blessing and a curse. Pool is nice for a dip though not many people seem to. Long-termers have different vibe for sure but still very friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Tokyo Village, Sydney, Australia
7.4
3rd Mar 2015

Not a big party hostel which for me was a plus but there's still enough merryness to have fun or just chat to travellers. Kitchen facilities are great, unfortunately toilets are a bit of a letdown depending which one you use. Some are ok others are a bit messy and missing things. Rooms good, gets pretty hot up the top and there is no A/C but that's pretty standard for a lot of Sydney hostels. Wi-fi is fine 20 free min/day enough for essentials. Would rather pay by data than time though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Wake Up! Sydney Central, Sydney, Australia
8.0
18th Aug 2014

No customer comment

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Books Hostel, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
8.0
29th Jan 2014

Great vibes, great staff, great breakfast, great wifi. Only downside was many of the toilets and showers barely functioned.

View Property Reply

Ok. I am working to fix it! It is better now but for the world cup we will be ready. Don't ever feel reviews are not helpfull to us, we are just mixing. If you see pictures from what it was, and what it became, you would see that we put a lot of effort/money and we will do it until we find this place serving very well it purpose!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Paraty Beach Hostel, Paraty, Brazil
8.9
27th Jan 2014

Great location though you probably won't want to actually swim on this beach the water is too hot. Hostel has helpful staff, good vibe and good breakfast. Unfortunately the wifi is some of the slowest ever but I heard it is the same in most of Paraty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Cafe Hostel, Sao Paulo, Brazil
7.7
23rd Jan 2014

We walked into a dorm that was a mess and stuff on all the beds including ours. Also super annoying the bed sheets don't fit! Unless you somehow stretch them but even they they'll likely pop off. 2 of the showers didn't work and one of the receptionists seemed to hate people talking to her. But this was made up for by the others who were really friendly. When we were there it was super quiet, maybe it was the low season.

View Property Reply

I'm sorry that you were disturbed by other guests' mess, some guests are indeed not very tidy and we will pay more attention to that. I'm surprised that you did not receive the level of customer care our staff normally provides. We usually receive very good feedback regarding our staff, who is there 24/7 for our guests in order to ensure that they have the best time possible.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Tucano House Summer Hostel, Florianopolis, Brazil
8.0
18th Jan 2014

A nice hostel about 10 minutes walk to the shops / buses. Everything you need is there, though their reservation management could be better, myself and another traveller on a different day were told we had confirmed extra nights only to have them bumped. Organised trips out are pretty damn good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Klein Hostel, Foz do Iguacu, Brazil
8.3
15th Jan 2014

breakfast and dinner both great. honesty bar is also great as is free pick ups and drop offs. wifi good, common areas good too, helpful staff. good place to stay in Foz

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
El Uru Hostel, Punta del Diablo, Uruguay
9.1
8th Jan 2014

Hostel is relaxing, awesome friendly owners. Just bring great earplugs/eyemask if you intend to get any sleep in the big dorm as it's mostly locals holidaying from the neighbouring regions than backpackers, who either don't know or don't care about dorm etiquette. About 25 minutes walk to the main beach and 25 to a smaller quieter bay. 2 minutes to a tienda and milenesa. Really nice spot. Bring your ping pong skills!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Caballo Loco Hostel, Montevideo, Uruguay
9.4
6th Jan 2014

Staff were the best I had in Latin America. Great people glad to chat and help you out with anything. Building and interior is really really nice, wifi good, dorms comfortable with lockers and breakfast is actually good! Only thing the toilets weren't cleaned daily. Otherwise it's one of those hostels that you feel like home in, and despite what people told us we found Montevideo to be really nice. Not many 'tourist attractions' but great to just explore for a few days.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hostel El Español, Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
8.0
2nd Jan 2014

Sufficient for a couple days stay in Colonia. Wifi spotty and breakfast was rock hard bread. On the plus side showers hot, toilets clean and beds comfortable enough. No lockers so bring a cable lock.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
America del Sur Hostel Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, Argentina
8.0
24th Dec 2013

Not a true hostel but more a budget hotel. 5 floors of rooms, air conditioned, with ensuite bathroom and shower. Kitchen incredibly small for the capacity, not a lot of traveller atmosphere when we stayed over Christmas, better off going to a more 'character' hostel. Staff generally happy and helpful, TV room, computers and wifi all excellent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Tango Hostel, Cordoba, Argentina
8.3
18th Dec 2013

Staff are the best here, super helpful and friendly. The hostel is quite small so you can meet people easily enough but the overall vibe is very quiet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
7 Duendes, Salta, Argentina
8.0
14th Dec 2013

Nice hostel about 25 min walk from the plaza. Very close to supermarket and bus station. Definitely go to Viejo Jack for steak the filet was the most tasty and tender we had in Argentina. Nightlife area a short taxi away

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
7 Patas Hostel, Sucre, Bolivia
9.1
29th Nov 2013

Quiet but friendly hostel a couple of blocks from the main plaza. Staff are really helpful, facilities cleaned regularly. Kitchen nice and spacious and courtyard is nice to relax in. Wifi slow but that is typical for Sucre, get a Tigo SIM/chip with data it's cheap and faster, or plenty of Internet cafés nearby with faster internet if you need it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Pariwana Hostel Cusco, Cusco, Peru
9.7
6th Nov 2013

You really can't ask for a better hostel. Stayed at Pariwana in Lima and this was even better. Awesome colonial building with good bar, kitchen, big comfy bunks and great staff. But we found the travel desk was terrible for advice and expensive for a backpacker, especially for Machu Picchu. Organising a train yourself or buying a car package elsewhere was a far better option.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Inka's Hostel, Cusco, Peru
8.0
5th Nov 2013

A nice cheap hostel with very comfortable beds. However it can get super cold. There is minimal security, dorms have lockers however. Good option if you're trying to save money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
8.3
1st Nov 2013

Very cosy little place about 10 minutes walk from the plaza in a big old 3-storey house. Super friendly day staff, but the night staff were terrible and didn't want to help with anything. Noise travels through/around the place very easily so definitely crack out the ear plugs. Kitchen facilities a little rough but better than nothing at all.

View Property Reply

Thanks for your comment, relating to your comment about the night staff is important our future guests know that our regular night staff was ill and the man you mentioned was only a replacement for some nights, we apologize for the bad experience but now our regular night staff is working and is as good as our day staf!! Thanks! evelin

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Pariwana Hostel Lima, Lima, Peru
10.0
26th Oct 2013

One of the best and well organised hostels I've stayed in. Beds are super comfortable and staff very helpful. Can sometimes be a little noisy at night if you're in the upstairs dorms so bring earplugs. Very convenient location too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Happy Buddha Boutique Hostel, Medellin, Colombia
7.7
18th Oct 2013

Nice little place to stay close to Parque Lleras night life, great pitas and Indian food just outside. Could do with a few more showers and while the staff can speak fluent English and were really nice, one would randomly turn cold and act like asking for advice or assistance was dumb/inconvenient. Atmosphere is friendly and quiet but Casa Kiwi hostel is very close if you want to drink/meet more people before heading out to the parque.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
La Serrana, Salento, Colombia
8.6
15th Oct 2013

Really nice peaceful place, clean facilities and nice food in the restaurant. As mentioned wifi is in dire need of a fix. Don't plan on any heavy internetting. Hot water is very hot but manually turned on by staff. Town plaza is a 20 min walk or 6,000 COP jeep taxi. Nice big common area and kitchen. Good for a few days relaxation

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Black Sheep Hostel Medellin, Medellin, Colombia
8.0
11th Oct 2013

Nice hostel, Kelvin the owner is super helpful and easy going. Wouldn't say it was a party hostel but definitely a great place to meet other people due to the size. Area seemed relatively safe despite hearing a bad story every now and then. About 20 min walk to Lleras Park nightlife or a cheap cab.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Eco Hostal Yuluka, Santa Marta, Colombia
8.3
7th Oct 2013

Really nice tranquil place on the edge of the park. However be warned it is not 20 minutes from Santa Marta it is more like 45. No real internet to speak of as it's via a cell network with hardly any coverage in the area so bring some analogue entertainment. Dorms are nice, pool is nice. Restaurant food varies depending on what you order. Overall just a good place to relax for a short stay closer to Tayrona Park.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Mystic House Hostal, Cartagena, Colombia
8.3
3rd Oct 2013

Really nice little hostel, more like a house. The owner is super cool and will happily help you out. Can also speak English but most front desk staff are still learning. Be warned the 10 bed dorm is windowless with a few fans but no AC so can get super hot, and there are no door locks or lockers. Has a small common area but no guest kitchen, I would recommend Red Moon (Mexican) at Media Luna Hostel for cheap eats.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Fulano Backpackers, Bogota, Colombia
10.0
30th Sep 2013

'Hostel by design' Fulano is easily THE hostel of hostels in Colombia. Modern, clean facilities, nice bar, pool table, large kitchen, and great Italian owners who are always around and more than happy to help.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
8.9
16th Sep 2013

Not a hostel just a cheap motel. Beware the 'amenity fee' which will result in a slightly higher price than advertised here. But it's still great value, beds are comfy, it's not a far taxi to the strip. You can also walk it in about 15 minutes over the freeway (sidewalk on one side of bridge only). Free breakfast and late checkouts a bonus. Would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Amsterdam Hostel, San Francisco, USA
8.0
12th Sep 2013

Nice hostel in a good location, though like most of that part of SF it can be a bit sketchy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
HI Portland Hawthorne, Portland, USA
7.7
10th Sep 2013

Nice character hostel, as others said more like a home. Hawthorne is a nice place to stay. Only 1 power outlet in my dorm would be very nice to have some near the beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
City Hostel Seattle, Seattle, USA
10.0
8th Sep 2013

Honestly one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in, they've thought of everything. Facilities clearly marked and clean, activities, and art in the dorms makes a nice touch.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
USA Hostels Hollywood, Los Angeles, USA
7.7
16th Aug 2013

Nice clean and secure hostel. Rooms can get quite hot as there is no AC just a ceiling fan

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Ace Inn Shinjuku, Tokyo, Japan
8.0
12th Jul 2013

May seem like a capsule hotel but doesn't feel like one - would much rather these than dorm bunks. Location is very handy and staff are good with English. Lockers are too small to fit bags and security is zero so best bring a cable lock. Quite easy to meet other travellers here, and so yes you'll get some noise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Retrometro Backpackers, Tokyo, Japan
9.1
9th Jul 2013

I came back to this hostel because it is very friendly and cosy and handy to Ueno and Asakusa. Very friendly and calm atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
A&T Holiday Hostel Wien, Vienna, Austria
8.3
7th Jul 2013

Nice clean hostel with friendly staff and SUPER comfy bedding. Only downsides the rooms get very hot in summer (no air con); wi-fi is only in lobby and didn't have enough connections for everyone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
7.4
12th May 2013

Very quiet when I stayed, but generally pretty pleasant. Neighbourhood is nice and about 20 min taxi to The Bund. Room had aircon which was a blessing. Bar with cooked food and espresso coffee was a nice option to have. Room lockers were a little flimsy, and the cleaning of toilets / showers seems to just be throwing a bucket of water at them - though I hear this is the norm for much of China.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Bounce Sydney, Sydney, Australia
8.3
15th Feb 2013

Large common area, location is fantastic. Little more expensive than most (and everything costs extra) but that could be Sydney. Most computers I tried wouldn't run Facebook / Gmail properly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
1166 Backpackers, Nagano, Japan
10.0
13th Feb 2013

Loved staying here, feels very communal and staff member at the time (Hikari) was super helpful especially when it came to ski field and snow monkey transport. Was freezing in Nagano but dorms are very warm and beds are comfortable. A block over from Nagano's main street, about 20 min walk from the station and 3 min walk to a 7-11. Perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
8.6
11th Feb 2013

Didn't get to see much of the hostel, arrived late and only stayed 1 night. Seemed very good, quite a large hostel so not as easy to meet other travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
8.6
10th Feb 2013

Nice Hostel, not too far to walk from the station and to the Memorial Park. Staff were extremely nice and helpful too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
UK OSAKA, Osaka, Japan
8.0
8th Feb 2013

Originally booked for 2 nights but had to shorten to 1a day out, I got to Osaka to be informed my space had been taken. The owner was very kind though and did not charge me cancellation, and put me up in a nearby capsule hotel instead. Thanks. Only gripe is it was very hard to find from the street.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Retrometro Backpackers, Tokyo, Japan
10.0
3rd Feb 2013

Great little hostel, agree it feels more like a home. Very great place to meet other travelers and make new friends. Quite a few Japanese stayed here as well which was a nice change. Only complaint is some of the windows bang repeatedly when it's windy, makes it hard to sleep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
10.0
2nd Feb 2013

Fantastic amenities, the 4 bed dorms have their own ensuite modern toilet and shower which is great. Very nice communal area as well, not too large, good to talk to other travelers. Staff I met (Eiyo, Miki, Sayo and Nabe) were all amazing, very helpful and friendly. Possibly my favourite out of 6 hostels I stayed at in Japan, 3 of which were in Asakusa.

View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your comments. We are happy that you remember our names ! We hope you enjoyed our modern toilet : ) see you next time !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Khaosan Tokyo Original, Tokyo, Japan
6.9
1st Feb 2013

Quite cramped and very noisy between both dorms and the street. Can hear the doorbell all over. Area is good but there are plenty of other hostels nearby with better amenities for the same price.

View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment. We are very good location, No other hostels actually 100 meter distance from Asakusa station.We are very cozy atmosphere , We apologize if you feel noisy. Please feel free to let us know if you feel like that. We will try to the best for our guest sleep comfortable. Thank you again for your stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hotel Innova, Paris, France
7.7
23rd Jun 2012

no automatic after hours access but staff friendly, tidy rooms and facilities, and not much street noise. directions were a bit hard to find, take the 6 or 12 train to Pasteur station and it's right outside

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
7.0
28th Oct 2011

a great spot if you don't want to to be amongst the bustle of London City, but at times an inconvenience as it is not only a good 15-20 min on the underground from the city but several blocks from the nearest station and there is virtually no one around the area at night. very nice and simple facilities however, continental breakfast is adequate

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Keystone House Kings Cross, London, England
8.0
27th Oct 2011

nice and straightforward hostel, right on a busy intersection it's constantly noisy, the windows are double glazed but if you are a light sleeper you will still need earplugs. The bedding was clean and good but the mattresses were extremely poky and probably need replacing.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand,
  • Globetrotter
The New York Loft Hostel, New York, USA
8.0
28th Apr 2011

the biggest let down: having 12+ people in the same room. It's impossible to get an uninterrupted night's sleep with so many coming and going, tossing and turning. whenever the guy below me rolled over it shook the whole bunk. the best part is the kitchen/common area

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Williamsburg HostL, New York, USA
7.7
24th Apr 2011

The biggest let down for me was the mattresses, they are extremely solid and uncomfortable. But on the plus side... like most said: it's more like a house. The facilities are really great. Pet cat is cool, not so sure about the mice.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand,
  • Globetrotter
Broadway Hotel n Hostel, New York, USA
8.3
30th Apr 2010

Good clean hostel with friendly staff and services and only 2 blocks from the subway. Rates are good value

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mungous
  • New Zealand,
  • Globetrotter
5.7
23rd Apr 2010

our room was miniscule, the closet door handle just dropped off as did the shower handles on our floor and the one below, making them unusable. the sheets were stained and the matresses worn out. would not stay again for the price

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.