Hostelworld.com

Reviews: Anonymous

Location USA, Gender Female, Age 28

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
8.3
9th Apr 2016

An OK place to stay but not wonderful. The 5-person female dorm is very cramped and all our bags could not fit. Staff members could have been more helpful-- I was not told about the breakfast items and had gone out to buy things... Only to realize in the morning that they were provided. Also, lockers are not inside the room and may even be on a different floor. Location is good and everything was clean, though.

View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback! We're sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with our service and facilities here. Just letting you know that we do not provide any food in the morning except for those jams, margarine, and peanut butter for your own toast. We'll try to get a full score for "staff" next time when you're here! Thank you for staying with us :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki, Tokyo, Japan
10.0
7th Apr 2016

Fantastic place! I've stayed in three places in Tokyo and this is by far my favorite. The dorm rooms are spacious and have private bathrooms and the beds are really comfortable. What really stands out in this hostel though are the staff--they are simply incredible. They are so friendly and really care that you have a good time in Tokyo. The location is also great--close to many restaurants and the subway. If I come back to Tokyo, I will 100% stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Deer Park Inn, Nara, Japan
9.4
5th Apr 2016

Really nice place. The location is a bit far away from the train station but you can easily take a bus. It is close to a lot of really pretty nature. Everything is clean and the bed is comfortable. The only negative is that the windows rattle every time someone closes the door. Otherwise, it is great. Super nice staff, too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Guest House Ouka, Hida Takayama, Japan
9.7
2nd Apr 2016

Really great place! Staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. Beds are comfortable and everything is very clean. Yes, there are not any doors but it is not an issue--There are curtains everywhere. If you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. The location is also great-- close to the train station and easy to find. I recommend this place and would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Yume Nomad, Kobe, Japan
10.0
31st Mar 2016

Great stay at a really cool place. All the staff are fun and interesting people. Awesome common area that makes it easy to meet people. Everything is clean, beds are comfortable, and some rooms have ensuite bathrooms. Good location- right by a subway, lots of restaurants, and a convenience store. I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hotel Mikado, Osaka, Japan
9.1
28th Mar 2016

A great combination of a hostel and a hotel. Free sauna and bath are awesome. They also give you a bag that includes slippers, a towel, a toothbrush and more. Location is great (although not in the downtown area)-- by the subway and a JR Line (great if you have the rail pass).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Kamp, Okayama, Japan
9.1
26th Mar 2016

Really cool place! Huge common area/bar/cafe on the first floor. Staff are nice and everything is clean. Walls are really thin-- bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. Great location- close to the train station and many restaurants.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Guest House Roku, Hiroshima, Japan
9.4
23rd Mar 2016

Great stay! Really sweet staff! Welcome drinks and common area make it easy to meet many travelers. Huge lockers in dorms are very useful. While the hostel isn't in the center of the downtown area, it's close to a JR stop, which is useful-- and it is close to a giant supermarket! I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
10.0
17th Mar 2016

Wonderful stay! Amazing staff that will go out of their way to help you. Great information displays that make it easy to search for what you want to do and where/what to eat. Very cozy feeling. Location is great- close to the train station and lots of beautiful shrines and bridges. I would 100% stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Guest House Hokorobi, Fukuoka City, Japan
9.4
15th Mar 2016

While this hostel is not located in the center, it is a very short walk from the subway (and the line which seems to be the best for travelers). No street noise at night-- great for light sleepers! Friendly staff, hot showers, clean facilities, and very safe. Lockers are huge and rooms are spacious. If you are looking for a relaxed, pleasant stay, this is your place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Meander Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
8.9
13th Mar 2016

I have mixed feelings about this place. Pros: incredibly safe, included breakfast, free tea/coffee/water, everything was very clean, great common area, in an area that has many shops and restaurants. Cons: some (but not all) staff were rude and even slightly condescending, location at night is really noisy (which makes you not want to open the window)

View Property Reply

Dear Valued Customer: Thank you for your feedback and review of our hostel. While we are glad to hear of the ‘Pros’ you have written, however, we are deeply concerned about your negative experience regarding location and our staff. We invite you to provide a more detailed review at (email:info@meander.com.tw) if possible, so we can address the problem and provide our past and future customers a better experience. Our staffs are customer service specialist and any feedback regarding their service is always heard and respected. We deeply apologize about the inconvenience and we look forward to hearing from you again. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you have safe journeys in the future. Yours faithfully, Wendy Hsu Assistant Manager, Meander Taipei Hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Rear Backpackers Hostel, Hualien, Taiwan
10.0
10th Mar 2016

I had an amazing stay here. The staff are all awesome people who are very helpful and they genuinely want you to have the best time possible. During my stay, we had homemade hot pot, projected movies on to the wall for a movie night, and made pancakes. The location is perfect- 3 mins to the Bus and train station (great for those going to Taroko). Breakfast included is a nice bonus. Facilities are clean, beds comfortable, and showers hot- everything one could want.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Afei Surf Hostel, Kenting, Taiwan
9.4
8th Mar 2016

Great place for a chill time! Right beside the beach and close to a bus stop. The included breakfast is delicious. Staff are really helpful and friendly. Included towels and small toiletry bag are awesome. Beds are comfortable and shower is hot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Funny Yummy Angel, Kaohsiung, Taiwan
10.0
6th Mar 2016

Great place! All the staff were extremely helpful and really made my time in Kaohsiung special. The beds are comfortable and everything is very clean. Sunday dinner was also super fun and a great way to meet others. The balcony/rooftop is perfect for enjoying the sunset and relaxing. Free coffee, tea, and drinking water were also great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Seren Hostel, Tainan, Taiwan
10.0
4th Mar 2016

Fantastic hostel! The owner was one of the best/most helpful owners I have ever met. He went out of his way multiple times to make sure I had an amazing time. The cafe downstairs is a really nice place to hangout and meet people. Beds are comfortable and everything is really clean. Location is also great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
T-Life Hostel, Taichung, Taiwan
9.4
2nd Mar 2016

Great place! The owner was incredibly helpful and gave many good recommendations. Comfortable beds and awesome showers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Happy Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
10.0
29th Feb 2016

Wonderful place! Very helpful staff. Comfortable beds and everything was clean. Shared areas are very relaxed. Close to the subway and a huge night market. Free breakfast was also great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
7.7
19th Feb 2016

The rooms were warm and the showers were hot-- great for the cold winter! The staff were helpful in answering all my questions and helping me to arrange things. Location is good--within a short walking distance to a main street for food and shopping. Only negative: no toilet paper in the shared bathrooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
9.4
11th Feb 2016

Great hostel! Located in a main tourist area/hutong/close to the subway. Staff were very friendly and answered all my questions. Beds were comfortable and the showers were hot! I stayed in a 4-person dorm, which was spacious and the curtains made it extra private. Huge areas to store your luggage in the room and convenient lockers that use codes are available. I did the Great Wall tour and the Kongfu show through the hostel-- recommend both!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Captain's House, Sanya, China
9.4
20th Oct 2015

Never before have I stayed in a hostel with such amazing staff. They really went out of their way to make sure I had an incredible time. As a solo traveler during the off-season (middle October), they tried to connect me with others and recommended good activities to do alone. I cannot say enough good things about Tom and Kathy. Location is great-- close to two different beaches. Everything was clean. Rooftop hangout was enjoyable as well. I would highly recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
9.7
19th Aug 2015

Everything here was wonderful! Friendly and super helpful staff who helped with any and all questions. Nice and chill common areas. Food options in the hostel were cheap, delicious, and quick. I stayed in a two person room which felt more like a hotel than a hostel (which was great!). Good showers with hot water. Everything was clean. The tours were easy to book and enjoyable. Free dumpling party and cooking class were amazing additions to our trip! Good location, too. No complaints!

View Property Reply

Hi~Thanks for your great review, it definitely motivates us to do job better! We hope to have you stay with us again in near future. Wish you a great journey:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Han Tang Inn Hostel, Xi'an, China
9.7
15th Aug 2015

Everything here was wonderful. Friendly and super helpful staff. Nice common areas (especially the rooftop garden). Breakfast options in the hostel were cheap and quick. I stayed in a two person room which felt more like a hotel than a hostel (which was great!). Good showers with hot water. Everything was clean. The tours were easy to book and enjoyable. The airport pickup was also fantastic, as our arrival was very late (3am). Good location, too. No complaints!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Touran Backpacker Hostel, Hangzhou, China
8.9
14th Apr 2015

The staff were incredibly helpful and really tried to make our visit as meaningful as possible. The location was ok-- walking distance to the lake. The beds were comfortable. There was hot water. Locks were included for the lockers (which were quite large).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
City Hostel Seattle, Seattle, USA
10.0
14th Jul 2013

This hostel was great! The staff were super friendly and helpful. All guests must show their key at the front desk before passing through so it makes the place very safe. The beds were very comfortable and there are large fans to keep things cool. My friends and I stayed in two different rooms (4 person, bathroom attached) and both were clean, comfortable, and spacious. We loved the patio area--great for having some relaxing drinks or meals! Breakfast was standard and good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Uppsala City Hostel, Uppsala, Sweden
7.7
24th Feb 2013

Location was great! Sometimes staff were less than helpful. Stayed in a 2-person room-- room was really small but comfortable beds. Very clean but not much to do in the hostel-- one TV and one computer.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
City Backpackers Hostel, Stockholm, Sweden
10.0
19th Feb 2013

I loved this hostel! Very clean and very safe. Wonderful location. The staff were extremely helpful and answered all our questions. Comfortable beds. The free ice skates and sauna were also great!

View Property Reply

And we love you right back! Lena

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Backpackers Kaweskar Hostel, Puerto Natales, Chile
9.7
23rd Dec 2011

Great staff! They were very friendly and welcoming! Comfortable beds. Hot showers. Good breakfast--including peanut butter and Netulla! There is also a nice lounge area with games, magazines, and movies. It is a very relaxed atmosphere. It isn't in the center of town but that is not important because the town is so small. I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The Singing Lamb Backpackers, Puerto Natales, Chile
9.4
15th Dec 2011

A wonderful hostel! Possibly the best hostel breakfast I have ever had. Comfortable beds. Lockers. Towels provided. Amazingly clean bathrooms and hot showers. Very friendly and helpful staff. I only had one day to do a quick visit to Torres del Paine and I booked it with the hostel. It was a great tour! I stayed two nights and would absolutely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Backpackers San Pedro, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
9.0
24th Oct 2011

Comfortable beds. Extremely helpful staff-- They answered all of our questions and the tours they provided were great. We never had to go to a tourist agency. Also, they had wonderful recommendations for restaurants. Bathrooms and shared spaces were very clean. The cats that are around the area are super cute and really friendly! It is a small walk (7-10 minutes) to the center but it is not a big deal, even at night. Everything felt very safe. No major complaints! We would stay here again!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Nativa Hostel, Pucon, Chile
7.7
20th Oct 2011

The staff was wonderful! They even made us breakfast one day when we slept past breakfast hours. Breakfast was great (juice, fruit, eggs, bread, etc.) The tours provided were fun and booking them was really easy! The location was excellent. There are many great restaurants and shopping around. Showers were great, too! Beds were average. Small issues with security. Our room didn't have lockers and we didn't have a key to lock the room-- only key needed was to enter building. No outlets in room.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
8.3
31st Jul 2011

This hostel is a good place to meet people and hangout. The bar area is chill. The activities could have been better. The food on the menu was super cheap and wonderful! The staff were not that helpful and sometimes seemed annoyed when I asked questions. The location and security are good. There are always taxis waiting outside the hostel and if not, the staff will call one for you. There are hot showers, lockers (provide your own lock), and average beds. I would recommend this hostel!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
9.0
21st Jul 2011

This was a really great place to meet many people and have a good time. The staff organized fun activities everyday. Breakfast could have been better. The place was pretty clean and there were lockers but you must have your own lock. One is able to put things in a safety box but it can only be accessed until 6pm. Comfortable beds. Great drink specials! I would stay here again.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Casa de Romero, Guayaquil, Ecuador
10.0
19th Jul 2011

This was one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. I stayed in a solo room one night and a 3 person room another night. Both were great. The staff were amazing and willing to help with anything. There were hot showers and super comfortable beds. Also, there was a huge selection of DVDs and various magazines available. The location was good and in a safe location. Breakfast was good too-- toast, eggs, juice, coffee, tea, etc. No complaints!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA,
  • Globetrotter
Chicago Getaway Hostel, Chicago, USA
8.3
23rd May 2010

My two friends and I stayed here and we are glad that we did. We loved that there was a free cookout and a free wine night! The morning breakfast was great! It included bagels, muffins, toast, fruit, tea, and coffee. The location was really pretty/close to the L stop. Its easy to get to from O'Hare! Our only complaint was that our room was on the first floor, which was right by the common room/kitchen. We often had a lot of noise during the night/mornings. Overall, we recommend this hostel!

View Property Reply

Tia- Thanks for the review- I really appreciate it. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our breakfast, BBQ and wine night! We're very appreciative of the 5 rating for fun! You'll be happy to know that we are going to be installing some noise shields on the 1st floor rooms as well as adding a glass door from the lobby to the 1st floor hallway to reduce noise from the lobby and cafeteria. I look forward to welcoming you back soon and showing off our positive changes. Cheers, Mat Meadows General Manager

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.