Hostelworld.com

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
Dundee Backpackers Hostel, Dundee, Scotland
9.1
27th May 2016

Fantastic hostel in a historic building. The TV and games rooms were cool and the staff were fantastic! However, I could not open the heavy windows in my bedroom which became very stuffy as the night progressed. I also had to make my own bed. But great otherwise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Castle Rock Hostel, Edinburgh, Scotland
10.0
15th May 2016

Great hostel with large rooms and loads to do. The staff were very friendly and one French guy shared his dinner with me. I really felt part of the family and loved the big cinema and the quite rooms. Breakfast was a bargain at £1.50 and the views over Old town are great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Belford Hostel, Edinburgh, Scotland
10.0
3rd May 2016

Fantastic under rated hostel which is closer to the centre of town than most people think. The staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing was ever a problem. The place has a homely feel and unique character and I slept like a baby whilst there. Dillion the assistant manager was always positive and very knowledgeable of the city for an Aussie. My laundry was done promptly and breakfast was a bargain. Would highly recommend!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
Euro Hostel Glasgow, Glasgow, Scotland
9.1
1st May 2016

This is s very nice hostel and the staff were very accommodating. However, my room was poorly ventilated as the Windows where locked shut and the water in the showers was BOILING!! So I could not have a shower. There was internet everywhere and the kitchen facilities were good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
Tartan Lodge, Glasgow, Scotland
10.0
2nd Apr 2016

Fantastic hostel. Very clean with long beds and deep mattresses. The bedding was all cotton and the room spacious. The place was very clean and everything worked. Would highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Cowgate Tourist Hostel, Edinburgh, Scotland
7.4
20th Sep 2014

Strange Hostel which consisted of flats. People were very friendly and there was a nice kitchen where you can cook. However, there was no tv room or other facilities and it was a pain trying to get into the shower in the morning. The location is good for the city. However, there were hundreds or very loud young drinkers outside as its in the middle of a range of big nightclubs. People were screaming and fighting at 3am in the morning. All could be heard in the room. The staff were very friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
St Andrews Tourist Hostel, St Andrews, Scotland
8.9
9th Jul 2014

The staff are very welcoming and the other hostel residents were mainly very friendly Great place to stay beats the vastly overpriced accommodation elsewhere in town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
Oxford Backpackers Hostel, Oxford, England
3.4
8th May 2014

Rude staff at check-in. Hostel was filthy, bedding was unchanged and stank. Entire place looked very tired weary and dirty. Only one bathroom for entire males on the hostel with cold water hot taps. Fight broke out in the room next door at 2am and spilled out into the corridor waking everyone up. The worst hostel I have ever stayed in but management do care as its Oxford and people keep coming through the doors. Stay away from this place. You were warned!!!

View Property Reply

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. With regards to your linen, this is changed every day by housekeeping. Unfortunately another guest had broken rules, and had used your bed, as you noticed upon checking in. This was the changed by the receptionist on duty. We did have a group in at the time and unfortunately they were a bit loud, but this was handled by management at the time, and was no fighting in the hostel. We have a strict policy to ensure the safety of all our guests

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
YHA Oxford, Oxford, England
8.0
30th Aug 2013

I thought the staff were very friendly and helpful and really loved the library. I was very impressed with the breakfast. However, my bed felt so uncomfortable that I felt like a caged bird and found it very difficult to sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
Rowan Tree Hostel, Ennis, Ireland
10.0
24th Oct 2012

Best Hostel I have ever stayed in and I have been to many around the world. I love the old townhouse features and the fact that everyone is so helpful and welcoming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
St Andrews Tourist Hostel, St Andrews, Scotland
9.3
15th Nov 2011

This is a great hostel with extremly friendly and welcomindg staff. It has a chilled atmdosphere and is clean and cosy. I loved the lounge and the kitchen was organised and very user friendly.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.