Reviews: Anonymous

Hoax Hostel

Liverpool, England
89%

The beds are really big and comfortable, the hostel had a great atmosphere and it is in a spectacular location, close to Albert Dock and all the nightclubs. It's also a very attractive hostel, which is a nice change when travelling. The only downside is they didn't have a common room so you don't really meet anyone from the hostel. Apparently one is under construction, but I'm not sure when it will be done.

  • 1st Feb 2014
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (11 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your great feedback on your stay at Hoax! We love being so close to all that Liverpool has to offer, including Albert Dock as it's a great spot to visit! And yes you're right, our 'Chill Out Space' is in the making and will be ready shortly for all guests to meet and mingle - equipped with games consoles, books a plenty and board games for old fashioned fun. Come back and see it for yourself :) - The Hoax Team

Hatters on Newton Street

Manchester, England
71%

We booked Hatters at the last minute so that may be why it was really expensive. Pros - great location to see the sites and go out at night; convenient breakfast (which was well stocked even though we didn't get there until 9.30). Cons - 22 pounds for a ten person dorm that doesn't have power points or lockers wasn't value for money; the dorm was up a massive flight of stairs; shared bathroom is freezing cold and there were only two girls toilets for the floor; no real communal space.

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (11 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi guys!! The most likely reason that your stay was expensive may have been due to the fact that it was New Year's Eve...we try to keep cheap but our prices can go up in high demand times! Our dorms do have power points and there are also some in our 24/7 common rooms, just ask us if you can't find them :) We apologise for the stairs, we can't let go of our beloved antique lift!!

86%

The hostel was very clean and the rooms were big and modern, it was by far the nicest hostel we stayed in and that's saying something in Vietnam! It's a great place to go and relax but it's definitely not a party hostel and though we met people there that was more by chance than through anything facilitated by the hostel. Staff were friendly but were the least helpful that we'd come across I.e. where to eat, what to see. They also had a free buffet breakfast which was a major bonus!

  • 5th Jul 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (11 reviews)


Sunflower Hotel Hoi An

Hoi An, Vietnam
80%

The hostel was really clean and social but quite a way out from the town and the beach. In cooler weather a 20 minute walk to the town may not be so bad but for us it had a huge impact on our stay. A massive pro is its close to lots of good, cheap restaurants and it has a bar (thought it closes at 10) but the con is the staff. We didn't have much to do with them but that was because everyone we spoke to said we should avoid them. It has wifi but questionable quality, but has an awesome brekkie.

  • 2nd Jul 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (11 reviews)


Vy Khanh Hostel

Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
89%

Thanks we really enjoyed a time there.

  • 24th Jun 2013
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (11 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guests, Thank you very much for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again and, hopefully, to get a higher ratings from you. ;-) Best regards, Your Vy Khanh Guesthouse ;-) (Ms Vy)

Nomads Capital Backpackers

Wellington, New Zealand
89%

No customer comment


Green Tulip House

Chiang Mai, Thailand
94%

Stella and Nine are awesome! We had a great stay here, extending our one night to three. Nine helped us book everything we needed and the rooms were great. We stayed in a double, a single and a twin while there and all the rooms were clean and comfortable. For Chiang Mai the hostel is definitely a little way out from all the bars and nightlife but tuk tuks are cheap. Just make sure you have a map on you to show where you're going! I would definitely recommend this place!

  • 21st Jan 2012
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (11 reviews)


Saphaipae Hostel

Bangkok, Thailand
86%

The first hot shower we had in three weeks so kudos to the hostel! We stayed in a four person dorm and it was super clean, secure and comfortable. Even the shared bathrooms and showers were clean. Though we didn't use them the movie rooms looked really cool for when you wanted to chill out and the wifi actually worked (for the most part) in both the rooms and lobby. The only downside was that most of the staff couldn't speak English and weren't helpful with directions and travel.

  • 18th Jan 2012
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (11 reviews)


The Hostel Koh Phangan

Koh Phangan, Thailand
74%

We had an awesome time while staying at the Hostel over new years. The hostel is a bit of a conundrum, we stayed in a triple room and in our bathroom there was no hot water, one of the beds was almost impossible to sleep on and we were right on the street so it was incredibly loud. However the structure of the hostel and the main bar make it super easy to meet people, the staff are always happy to help you and the food there is great value for money. Because its so social i would recommend it!

  • 28th Dec 2011
  • Avid Traveller
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (11 reviews)


80%

The hostel was pretty good though quite expensive. The bar had a really nice vibe and was a good place to meet people though drinks were cheaper at the travellers bar down the road which seemed a bit strange. Other then that everything was really good quality, and they offered towels for free which is a huge credit to them! Beds were comfy and the rooms were spacious (four bed dorm). Lockers were good as well as they provided the locking service.


HelloBCN Hostel

Barcelona, Spain
93%

So much fun!! I was traveling by myself but hardly noticed. It was so easy to meet people in the dorms or bar and you always had someone to go out with. The staff were so helpful as well, and were always happy to have a chat and give you advice on sites, beaches, clubs, food anything you could think of!!