Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: KDav

Location Canada, Gender Female, Age 28

  • KDav
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Digby Backpackers Inn, Digby, Canada
7.1
23rd Sep 2016

The hostel is clean and cozy but security was lacking (rooms do not have locks or lockers, and we had an uninvited guest one morning when someone just walked into our private room...) - thankfully you don't feel like you have to worry much about theft in Digby. The employees were very nice, although the one who checked us in didn't seem too sure about how things worked, and we were just told "Oh, that's strange!" when we asked about securing the room after the walk-in. Guests seemed older (40+).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • KDav
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Friendly AQP, Arequipa, Peru
7.1
17th Apr 2016

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • KDav
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
7.7
10th Apr 2016

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • KDav
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Cruz de los Andes, La Paz, Bolivia
9.1
8th Apr 2016

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • KDav
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
365 Inn, Beijing, China
8.0
5th Nov 2015

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • KDav
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Casa Che B&B, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
10.0
4th Nov 2015

Did not end up staying here as our plans changed, however they were very pleasant to deal with in our few communications.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • KDav
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Sergio House, Rome, Italy
8.9
25th Jun 2014

We had an excellent stay at Sergio House! The staff were friendly and accommodating, the room was quiet (impressive, given the location two blocks from Roma Termini!), the location was very secure (you had to pass through a gated courtyard to enter the hotel, and there were keys for the main door, each floor sub-section, and the room itself), and the room and bathroom were very clean (one note - they appear to use a vinegar solution for cleaning the towels based on the smell!). Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • KDav
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Alloggi Serena, Venice, Italy
8.3
23rd Jun 2014

Alloggi Serena was a great place to stay. Secure, comfortable (quiet AC and great beds!), clean bathroom, and in a quiet location but within easy walking distance to everything. The person who checked us in (Antoni I believe?) was quite rude to my mom and it took nearly 45 mins for him to check us in, but we mainly interacted with Marcella afterwards, and she was a complete sweetheart. Good value for money here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • KDav
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Pans Place Guesthouse, Vang Vieng, Laos
7.4
27th May 2013

Atmosphere and cleanliness certainly didn't blow me away, but the location was stellar and at $3/night, I don't think you can really complain! You do get what you pay for, but it was an acceptable place to sleep for a couple of nights. Warning: not all the dry bags actually are dry... Staff tries to be helpful though! Lots of warnings about theft and hostel acknowledges turning a blind eye to drugs and evening "guests", which could be a plus but was a turnoff to us. Can't complain at $3!

View Property Reply

Krista I have had a number of complaints latly about the amount of advise I give and how clean this cheap guest house is. So for all thoes who warnt places that are sparkeling clean and dont want to be helped with local info, Please stay some where else. However if you like free,drinking water,wiffi conection,tv room with movies and tv shows on a hard drive, you are welcome. This place is safe and I will help you if you have a problem.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • KDav
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Sihome Backpackers Hostel, Vientiane, Laos
9.4
26th May 2013

Loved it here! The staff were amazing and very helpful, and the common room was always full of people to start a conversation with. The shared washrooms were in good shape for being shared washrooms, although quite small! Would definitely stay here again, and gladly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • KDav
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Green Tulip House, Chiang Mai, Thailand
9.4
21st May 2013

We loved our stay at the Green Tulip! Along with the many other reviews, yes, Stella is absolutely incredible (I swear she doesn't walk, she bounces!), but the rest of the staff are great as well. They're extremely friendly and willing to help (almost too much so sometimes - you mention an interest in something and they're on the phone to book it before you've decided!), and the actual hostel itself is one of the nicest we stayed in on our trip throughout Asia - comparable to a hotel. Stay here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • KDav
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Bodega Phuket, Phuket, Thailand
8.0
18th May 2013

Hostel was in a great location, very clean and very safe. However, it is extremely overpriced (especially for food and drinks given the area around it - 50 baht for a "mixed fruit plate" with 3/4 of an apple and a mandarin orange! When I expressed surprise, to their credit, they added a cut of pineapple and a banana. Especially surprised given the overflowing tropical fruit bowl on the counter...), and I felt like I was intruding by being there, except for one lady at the counter, who was great!

View Property Reply

Hi Krista, Thank you for your comments! We do our best to keep our prices low and competitive, but as it is a bar and restaurant we cannot offer the same prices as the street carts or mini-marts. We do have an all inclusive atmosphere and everyone is welcome to join in on the party! We're sorry that you felt intrusive but we assure you our staff and guests are always happy to meet new people, and make new friends! We hope to see you again and show you just how friendly we are! Happy Travels!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • KDav
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Sivarin Guesthouse, Bangkok, Thailand
7.7
17th May 2013

Good overall, but not an easy place to meet other travellers and air conditioning only on from 6pm - 11am!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • KDav
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Sivarin Guesthouse, Bangkok, Thailand
8.0
16th May 2013

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • KDav
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Angkor Wonder Hostel, Siem Reap, Cambodia
9.7
13th May 2013

Absolutely loved our stay with Mr. Why Not and his family at the Angkor Wonder Hostel! The staff are extremely kind and helpful, both with arranging some last minute plans for us, advising us on common scams at the border to Thailand, and asking us if we wanted to shower after a 4-wheeler adventure when we'd already checked out (yes!). Location is very close to everything, but off the main street so is quiet. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again (and my three travel companions agreed).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • KDav
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Vy Khanh Hostel, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
9.7
10th May 2013

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • KDav
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Golden Time Hostel, Hanoi, Vietnam
9.4
5th May 2013

Anne, Tony and Alice (and another man who's name I didn't catch!) were incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and well kept, the location was amazing, and we felt totally safe there. They were great about making a delicious breakfast, changing money at bank rates for us, and booking us an incredible day trip to Tam Coc. They also took care of our train tickets for us with only a tiny delivery fee. We had a friend from Vietnam stay a night and he was impressed by staff integrity.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • KDav
  • Canada,
  • Avid Traveller
St Christopher's Village, London, England
8.3
3rd May 2011

Great place; location is okay but not stellar. Enjoyed the stay though - great people and fun atmosphere!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • KDav
  • Canada,
  • Avid Traveller
St Christophers Prague, Prague, Czech Republic
10.0
28th Jun 2010

Everything was AMAZING. Staff was great, rooms were lovely, bathrooms were BEAUTIFUL. Only issue was very few computers for use, but that's minor. Highly recommended!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • KDav
  • Canada,
  • Avid Traveller
7.3
18th Jun 2010

Staff a bit surly (depending on who's serving), and hostel was a bit lacking in character/boring, but location was really quite good, and the hostel was very clean. A good place for a quiet sleep (except the three-level bunk beds), but would probably have preferred something slightly bigger or more lively.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.