Reviews: Anonymous

Lub d Bangkok Siam Square

Bangkok, Thailand
77%

Third time staying there. Always a good experience. Can't beat location. Thanks.


Rainforest Bed and Breakfast

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
86%

Great place to stay in KL, but a little expensive. Breakfast was disappointing- crappy white bread and jam, instant coffee. They could offer more for the price. But staff was great, very comfortable. Location fantastic, 10 minutes walk to Petronas towers, Berjaya plaza, LRT line.


Lanta Thip House

Koh Lanta, Thailand
77%

The only complaint is the location. It's a kilometre's walk to ANYTHING, including a beach. But the staff is great, the room is clean and perfect. But still, you can get just as nice a place close to a beach for less money. If you want to stay here, you'll have to rent a scooter or hire tuk-tuks. Luckily, they're around in abundance.


Old Penang GuestHouse

Penang, Malaysia
69%

Wifi was inaccessible and staff didn't know how to address situation. Helpful in offering suggestions for Penang sights though. Hostel was quiet and clean. Would stay again.


Matahari Lodge

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
71%

Wifi was spotty and near useless. Nice enough place, room is spare but cool at night.


77%

Clean, orderly hostel. Felt safe secure and welcome. Staff very helpful in offering direction help to airports. Very near station but tricky to find. A sign wouldn't hurt somewhere nearby.

  • 29th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (29 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comment! We are looking forward your next stay at K's House Tokyo!

Hotel Kobe Shisyuen

Kobe, Japan
77%

Cleanest hostel I think I have stayed at. Very nice. Handy to get to once you find it. Here's a hint: it's in the side alley between the shrine and the kerumae station. We had to wander a bit to find it. Staff was great, very helpful.

  • 24th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (29 reviews)


83%

The hostel has a good, quiet, peaceful vibe, but the walls are a bit thin if some dorks decide to talk all night, which unfortunately happened to us. We loved the location though and would stay again. The staff were excellent in helping us find the place when we were coming in very late at night.

  • 20th Jan 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (29 reviews)


Spa Lodge Backpackers

Rotorua, New Zealand
57%

A better backplace place for young people travelling on the cheap. Older travellers might want to try elsewhere, though it wasn't a disgusting stay. Faint praise, indeed. The hot tub ('spa') is pretty grungy, and the water/electrical system dicey looking at best. Hardly usable. There are several hostels closer to bus drop-off. Hint to owners: magic-markered walls don't really add style to a place.


YHA Napier

Napier, New Zealand
71%

No customer comment


The Cambridge Hotel & Backpackers

Wellington, New Zealand
74%

Very handy to downtown, more an old dowager hotel than hostel. Didn't find kitchen until after checkout, would have been nice to know about. But well situated and would stay again. Internet was very expensive.


Around The World Backpackers

Christchurch, New Zealand
54%

Nothing grosser than being put in a converted garden shed and being told this was the 'Love Shack'. The staff person on that night was excellent. But the place was crowded and shabby. The 'free wifi' voucher of 20MB was stingy, even by New Zealand hostel standards. Probably would avoid again unless absolutely necessary.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear John You were not very happy with our hostel, were you? Our love shack is NOT a "converted garden shed". In NZ, we call that a "sleep out". It is quite quirky and most people who have stayed in our Love Shack - Love It! Of course, I can understand that it may not be to everyone's taste as it obviously did not suit you. I do, however, take offence that you described our hostel as "shabby". It most definitely is not! It is clean, comfortable and friendly and provides more than adequate facilities for budget travellers. Regarding our free WIFI. Wifi is expensive this part of the world and what we do give to all our guests is a small 20MB wifi voucher to help out - anything more then the guest will need to pay for it themselves (@10c a MB). On average it will last approx. ½hr of internet browsing or emailing. It is not intended for uploading or downloading a screeds of data. We also provide our guests with 2 FREE computers with Internet!! I really do not know what you expected from our Hostel. I hope you took the time to read the ratings/reviews our hostel or go to our website to be informed about our hostel - BEFORE you booked as we know that requirements and expectations vary from person to person. If at any stage we were dissatisfied with your stay, you only had to see our Manager(s) and tell them about your grievances. We pride ourselves in having a hostel that is welcoming, friendly and comfortable and if people are dissatisfied with any aspect of our hostel we would appreciate it they would come and talk to us where we could have worked out a solution rather than finding out about your discontentment online! Seems like no-one is willing to speak face-to-face anymore only happy to vent online. Finally, you say that you "would avoid again unless absolutely necessary'...well, what can I say? If ATW Backpackers is not to your liking, please look for alternative accommodation the next time you are in Christchurch. But book well in advance, as hostels fill up very quickly during the Summer season. Despite your grievances with our Hostel, I am glad that you found my husband Lee gave you excellent service, another thing that we are proud of - our excellent service - and we wish you well and happy travelling wherever you may be. Cheers, Geri

Nomads Capital Backpackers

Wellington, New Zealand
83%

I would recommend this hostel for any family or older travellers. Its location is particularly excellent, right downtown and a block from a bus that takes you directly to the airport. Central to everything. My only beef is the flimsy beds. They creak and shift something awful. A few bucks spent on washers or more sturdy frames is in order. Othewise, thanks!


Hotel/Hostel Inn Tourist

Montreal, Canada
70%

Very odd, only three rooms, no lobby, no facilities. Had to show up on-time or no one there to answer door. Thus bit of confusion for us when we arrived early. But owner very kind and helpful, place very clean, and location can't be beat for Montreal shopping and food. Only block from Subway. Not so much a hostel as a guy who has some empty rooms he can let. We felt safe and room was plain but clean. Good for what you want. Would recommend .

  • 7th Jul 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (29 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
For some people size doesn't matter yet they complain if it is small. It is not correct to say a guy with some empty rooms can rent. It is not just as simple. To run a legitimate business, one needs approval from the Govt. and they inspect every year. We have trade license from the City and the Province of Quebec and CITQ which is another govt. body they impose stringent rules regarding safety and cleanliness. We are graded every year and our grading is "one star" which is not as important as customer rating. John Boivin is at least honest in mentioning the cleanliness and about our service. Thanks to him.

Lub d Bangkok Siam Square

Bangkok, Thailand
90%

Second stay at Lub D. Excellent location, next to rail system, and a great way to get established if you're a newbie to Bangkok. Highly recommend. Great for older travellers, though lots of 'kids' around.


87%

Great place to stay, best beds on the trip! My one beef was no staff on hand in morning to help you set up your day, ask questions of, etc. Even toast would be handy to have in morning.... thanks!


Classic Inn Budget Hotel

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
90%

Fourth time staying here. They treat you like family. Greatest hostel b-fast ever. Thanks guys!


Jubilee Hotel

Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei
67%

Not a hostel, more a hotel. Good value for expensive Brunei. Nice place to stay.


Sandakan Backpackers

Sandakan, Malaysia
73%

Staff were wonderfully helpful for us making plans and getting around. But the place itself is nothing to speak of. Clean but threadbare, not even a nightstand in the room to put stuff on. Bathrooms were clean but again, very basic. Blankets were a bit of a joke too. And what's with the smoking in the lobby?


Miso Guesthouse and Hostel

Seoul, South Korea
97%

A brand-new home-stay, Mia is working hard to make this a success. Couldn't ask for more from a place, felt right at home. Great for families and older folk.


BackHome Kuala Lumpur

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
83%

Staff were sweet and helpful. Wifi was solid, which was welcome. Near to train station making movement easy. Will stay again.


Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie

Amsterdam, Netherlands
90%

This had an excellent location if you want to do more than smoke dope in Amsterdam... and even that is a 20 minute walk away. Fall out of hostel and almost hit the Van Gogh and Riyksmuseum. Couldn't ask for a better staff. One shower a bit gross, but others were fine. As an older traveller, would easily stay again.


63%

Would like to have a word with the staffer who crashes and clangs around at 6:30 a.m.. Place looks pretty beat up and seedy but the beds are clean. Don't look around much and it's a good place to stay. Nice and close to metro.


63%

After a somewhat surly reception the stay was OK. Great location, but some dumb rules- especially annoyng was the rule you had to get out between 11-4. No pillowcases was a real ick factor, and no change of sheets. It really is fr 18-35 year olds, and bring a high tolerance for the same10 discos songs played over and over. But good location near Vatican.


Camping Serenissima

Venice, Italy
73%

This really is a camping site, not a hostel, and the trip out of town can be chaotic on the bus. The walls of the rooms are very thin, we were there in late fall so it was quiet anyway, but I'd hate to be there at a busy time of year. That said, we felt very welcome and safe. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Great place to save good money when you visit Venice.


87%

Staff could do a bit more to ensure quiet in the middle of hte night, especially since the hostel encourages drinking by its guests (1Euro beers, etc). But generally quite satisfied, very professional place, helpful staff, would stay again.


Do Step Inn

Vienna, Austria
83%

Excellent service and support. Nice and quiet in the rooms two doors down the street. Would stay again.


87%

Here are easier directions: when you get to the Hauptbahnhof, go out via the George Washington Square exit and look to your right. You can't miss it. It's more of a hotel than a hostel, but I would recommend it to any budget traveller.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear John, thank you very much for your nice comment. Regarding the point fun we 've stared ogonizing guest kitchen events, so that our guests from all over the world get the opprtunity to exchange their thoughts, cook together and enjoy the nice atmosphere. Please visit our facebook site and see the latest event and recipies at : www.facebook.com/meiningerhostels. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hostel

Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt

Frankfurt, Germany
77%

The bathroom in basement was dirty. Very noisy doors and hallways. Should have curfew for some rooms so you don't get waken up by late-nighters. Neighbourhood sketchy but safe enough. Good for a novice like me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
; ) very charming! a curfew... i wonder who else would like that?!? i think i rather do something about the doors : ) thanks anyways!!!