Reviews: Anonymous

Downtown Backpackers

Wellington, New Zealand
60%

We stayed in a twin room for one night. The room itself was OK. Big enough and handy to have a sink in the room, and it was nice to have a bathroom shared with just one other room. But the bathroom facilities were old and although I think it was clean, it just felt unclean that everything was so old and dated. The hostel had everything we needed, but because it is so big it is hard to get that typical, community, 'hostel' feel.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (8 reviews)


Sequoia Lodge Backpackers

Picton, New Zealand
91%

Sequoia Lodge is amazing! Definitely one of the best hostels I've stayed at. Such a cute, friendly and welcoming little place. I could have stayed there for a long time. Staff were amazing, the perks were incredible and the best value for money I've seen in New Zealand. Felt instantly at home thanks to the friendly and chatty staff. Lots of laughs were had. Just wish I could have stayed longer!

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (8 reviews)


Arthouse Hostel

Launceston, Australia
74%

Arrived pretty late in the evening and left early the next morning. Beautiful building and nice buildings. Staff were great. There were a lot of long-termers there which, as is usually the case, made it hard for guests who were just passing through to make friends. People were also terrible at cleaning up after themselves in the kitchen. But on the whole a good experience.

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (8 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a comprehensive review, and thanks for the compliments. We were inundated with 2nd year visa guests and we were taken by surprise at how messy they got. We have pretty well caught up on them and the tidiness in general has improved greatly.

Portside Inn Backpackers Lodge

Napier, New Zealand
80%

A really nice, homely place with very friendly and welcoming staff. It is a bit of a walk out of Napier itself though, which is slightly annoying.

  • 19th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (8 reviews)


Base Taupo

Taupo, New Zealand
63%

Good location and quite nice and clean and modern, but I found it harder than usual to make friends as the rest of the hostel was full of huge groups on the Kiwi Experience. Would have liked a larger communal area to make it easier to meet people. The staff were quite hit and miss and the woman that booked the Alpine Crossing for me wasn't very knowledgeable about it. The kitchen was very badly equipped, with only about 3 pans for the whole hostel! Did have a great time though.

  • 15th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (8 reviews)


Crash Palace

Rotorua, New Zealand
86%

Crash Palace is an amazing, quirky, homely hostel where it is easy to feel right at home. They run free activities every night so it is easy to make friends if you are travelling alone. Loads of free stuff for backpackers on a budget. Staff were so nice and welcoming and they have a DJ on the decks all day every day! Stay here!

  • 10th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (8 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
so glad you enjoyed your stay. thanks for taking the time to leave us a review i have been away working with our charity so no one has been on the decks but we have still been playing our wicked selection of NZ tunes music is my passion i hope you find yours and love the life you live safe travels

Mount Backpackers

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
97%

Small, friendly and homely. Staying at Mount Backpackers is like joining a little family! Amazing vibe and very clean and modern. Loved staying here and will definitely be back for longer!

  • 7th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (8 reviews)


Nomads Auckland

Auckland, New Zealand
83%

Perfect hostel for newcomers to NZ/lone travellers. Big hostel but with a friendly vibe and the Union bar is awesome! Met loads of people and had an amazing time. Shout out to Jana and Michelle on reception! - Liz :)

  • 3rd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (8 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks very much for your feedback! We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We will pass your good feedback on to our lovely Interns! Please make sure you see us again while travelling. If not in Auckland maybe visit our other properties in Wellington or Queenstown! Enjoy your time tin NZ :) Thanks Nomads Auckland Management