Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Everythang Guesthouse, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
7.1
26th Nov 2015

The staff were great and very welcoming and helpful. Good atmosphere, can't beat that view, definitely the place to be for chilling on the beach all day with some beers! Loved the location as it wasn't too busy on the beach, but if you want to party hard out in the evening you can easily grab a tuk tuk to Serendipity Beach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Downtown Siem Reap Hostel, Siem Reap, Cambodia
8.3
21st Nov 2015

Great hostel - the staff were all great, super friendly, welcoming and helpful. Lovely chilled bar by the pool where it is all too easy to chill out all day. 50 cent beers! Loved the organised activities eg. BBQ and pub quiz, to get you chatting to other guests. They have a 'tab' system where you just pay for everything at the end which makes things really easy and relaxed. Yayyy stay here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Phi Phi Cozy Seafront Resort, Koh Phi Phi, Thailand
8.0
14th Oct 2015

Really nice resort with great views. Super friendly receptionist always keen to help. Thanks for a great time!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Tasman Bay Backpackers, Nelson, New Zealand
7.4
4th Sep 2015

Tasman Bay was a really nice cosy, homely backpackers with a comfortable vibe. Easy to settle in and feel at home. Lovely common area with lots of space to chill. And a friendly cat!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Te Nikau Retreat, Punakaiki, New Zealand
7.7
3rd Sep 2015

Really a hostel with a difference - buried in the rainforest in an absolutely stunning location, all rooms are separate lodges so a beautiful sense of isolation and connection with nature. Really impressive for a backpackers. Definitely worth a stay! And Punakaiki is just incredible.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers, Wellington, New Zealand
6.0
2nd Sep 2014

We stayed in a twin room for one night. The room itself was OK. Big enough and handy to have a sink in the room, and it was nice to have a bathroom shared with just one other room. But the bathroom facilities were old and although I think it was clean, it just felt unclean that everything was so old and dated. The hostel had everything we needed, but because it is so big it is hard to get that typical, community, 'hostel' feel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Sequoia Lodge Backpackers, Picton, New Zealand
9.1
18th Jun 2014

Sequoia Lodge is amazing! Definitely one of the best hostels I've stayed at. Such a cute, friendly and welcoming little place. I could have stayed there for a long time. Staff were amazing, the perks were incredible and the best value for money I've seen in New Zealand. Felt instantly at home thanks to the friendly and chatty staff. Lots of laughs were had. Just wish I could have stayed longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Arthouse Hostel, Launceston, Australia
7.4
14th Mar 2014

Arrived pretty late in the evening and left early the next morning. Beautiful building and nice buildings. Staff were great. There were a lot of long-termers there which, as is usually the case, made it hard for guests who were just passing through to make friends. People were also terrible at cleaning up after themselves in the kitchen. But on the whole a good experience.

View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comprehensive review, and thanks for the compliments. We were inundated with 2nd year visa guests and we were taken by surprise at how messy they got. We have pretty well caught up on them and the tidiness in general has improved greatly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Portside Inn Backpackers Lodge, Napier, New Zealand
8.0
19th Sep 2013

A really nice, homely place with very friendly and welcoming staff. It is a bit of a walk out of Napier itself though, which is slightly annoying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Base Taupo, Taupo, New Zealand
6.3
15th Sep 2013

Good location and quite nice and clean and modern, but I found it harder than usual to make friends as the rest of the hostel was full of huge groups on the Kiwi Experience. Would have liked a larger communal area to make it easier to meet people. The staff were quite hit and miss and the woman that booked the Alpine Crossing for me wasn't very knowledgeable about it. The kitchen was very badly equipped, with only about 3 pans for the whole hostel! Did have a great time though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Crash Palace, Rotorua, New Zealand
8.6
10th Sep 2013

Crash Palace is an amazing, quirky, homely hostel where it is easy to feel right at home. They run free activities every night so it is easy to make friends if you are travelling alone. Loads of free stuff for backpackers on a budget. Staff were so nice and welcoming and they have a DJ on the decks all day every day! Stay here!

View Property Reply

so glad you enjoyed your stay. thanks for taking the time to leave us a review i have been away working with our charity so no one has been on the decks but we have still been playing our wicked selection of NZ tunes music is my passion i hope you find yours and love the life you live safe travels

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Mount Backpackers, Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
9.7
7th Sep 2013

Small, friendly and homely. Staying at Mount Backpackers is like joining a little family! Amazing vibe and very clean and modern. Loved staying here and will definitely be back for longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Nomads Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
8.3
3rd Sep 2013

Perfect hostel for newcomers to NZ/lone travellers. Big hostel but with a friendly vibe and the Union bar is awesome! Met loads of people and had an amazing time. Shout out to Jana and Michelle on reception! - Liz :)

View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks very much for your feedback! We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We will pass your good feedback on to our lovely Interns! Please make sure you see us again while travelling. If not in Auckland maybe visit our other properties in Wellington or Queenstown! Enjoy your time tin NZ :) Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.