Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Imano Tokyo Hostel, Tokyo, Japan
7.4
1st Apr 2016

Not a bad hostel, all basics are available and the staff is really friendly. Unfortunately, apart from the bar downstairs, the atmosphere is very clinical and people just don't seem to interact much. People live on different floors with no natural meeting point (besides the bar). There is a lot of effort, I can see that, but the result still doesn't compare to some of the best hostels in Tokyo and Japan.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Guest House Roku, Hiroshima, Japan
9.7
26th Feb 2016

Just a wonderful hostel with such kind and open staff! The atmosphere in the hostel is great in large part due to the common area, which - at night - is a bar for both hostel guests and locals. In a very positive, hyperlocal way. The room (8-bed mixed dorm) was very good. Curtains around the beds allowed for privacy. Facilities were spotless. Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Hostel 64 Osaka, Osaka, Japan
8.6
24th Feb 2016

I had a great stay and the staff's very friendly attitude definitely helped. The common area is nicely decorated, wifi very fast (although not so fast in the dorm - in the corner I slept). The dorm, six or eight double beds separated by linen cloth, was definitely good although people ended up switching on the lights a lot at night (after 12 and 1 and 2am). Due to my jetlag that wasn't an issue for me though. Could benefit from more communal spirit and activities. Very close to two metro lines.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Lisbon Poets Hostel, Lisbon, Portugal
10.0
21st Jan 2016

Excellent hostel - perhaps the very best I've stayed at. Fantastic staff and great facilities. Definitely recommend the hostel's organized activities, especially the dinner. The common room invites to relax and get to know other travellers. Stayed in a 4-bed dorm: clean, relatively large room, quiet. Totally recommend Poets Hostel.

View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your kind words, all the best! Poets Hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Hostel on 3rd, San Diego, USA
7.7
8th Jul 2013

Decent Hostel close to the buzzing part of Gaslamp quarter. Cafés & supermarket (Ralphs) just 1 min away, mall with food court just 3 mins. Rooms are alright but there is imminent danger involved in the proximity between the ceiling fans and the upper-bunk beds in many rooms (for tall people in particular). I almost beheaded myself. I told the staff to take care of that but I'm not sure they will.

View Property Reply

Thank you for the heads up (pardon the pun) regarding our ceiling fan. We are most serious regarding your observation and have removed the top two mattresses. We are considering turning that room into a private one.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
USA Hostels San Diego, San Diego, USA
9.7
6th Jul 2013

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
4.6
14th May 2013

Stayed in a 4-bed compartment ("4-bed mixed dorm ensuite") and I must say I was not impressed. There six such compartment as part of a 24-bed dorm. The ensuite means that there is a toilet shared with up to 23 people rather than (as you would expect) 3 others. This led to it being not very clean. Furthermore, the heating was not working and the temperature sank down to about 15C at night. Wifi is available but neither very fast nor available in the rooms (but in the common room in the basement).

View Property Reply

Thanks for expressing your concerns. We can see that you had booked a 24 bed Deluxe Mixed Pod Dorm, which has a communal bathroom. As we also have a 4-Bed En-suite rooms, we would have been happy to upgrade you to one if required. We clean the communal bathrooms many times a day, however, if we miss something we are happy for our guests to report any issues for us to address. If the free Wi-Fi is slow for some reason we also have computers with free 24h Internet access!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
Sant Jordi Sagrada Familia, Barcelona, Spain
10.0
30th Jan 2013

Great atmosphere and common room. Super clean and new facilities. Brilliant value for money. Easy access to metro/subway system and Sagrada Familia within walking distance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
8.6
18th Jul 2012

Stayed in a spacious 6-bed dorm that was fitted with Victorian style furniture (besides the beds). It felt safe although the Hotel cum Hostel is rather large. Due to this largess the service was little personal and sometimes even rude. The bar on the 5th floor has a great view but the food was difficult - sometimes it took 45mins for a pizza for one person while the other got their food already after just 10mins. The burger I had was the worst I ever had. Though omelets and muesli were fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
West Lake Youth House, Hangzhou, China
9.4
15th Jul 2012

Enjoyed a stay in a twin room and the proximity to the lake. It's literally 2mins from the West Lake. Bikes, which can be rented are in a good condition. We (not intentionally) demolished a tire but the staff was very friendly and made no fuss about it. Bikes are a great way to reach the inner city or any place around the lake within 15-20mins. The food is good though not as cheap compared to the room prices. Fantastic for couples and also great to meet other backpackers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
The Phoenix, Shanghai, China
10.0
14th Jul 2012

Stayed in a twin: fantastic great room with en suite bathroom. Much rather like a hotel not a hostel in terms of the room quality. And yet there were plenty of other backpackers and one could easily get to know other travelers. Good bar on the top floor, the wifi had a decent speed and heaps of routers throughout the building. Can absolutely recommend the place. One minor thing: no soap in the bathroom, like in so many places in China. Subway reachable in 4 mins slow walking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
8.0
12th Jul 2012

I really appreciated the bar and restaurant that offered a range of drinks and Chines and Western food decently priced. The atmosphere was especially good in the bar. The room I stayed in (5-bed) was absolute standard: clean, a locker, maybe the mattress was a little bit too hard/thin. Staff was really friendly. 10mins from Forbidden City.

View Property Reply

thanks for your comment we really hope you stay again when you come back to beijing

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
Green Studio Hostel, Belgrade, Serbia
8.7
8th Oct 2011

Friendly staff. Great place to meet fellow travelers!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Avid Traveller
Santa Barbara Hostel, Miami, USA
9.0
8th May 2011

Also good for people without company for you will find some people here to hang out and have fun. It's really just 3mins from the beach. The rooms aren't very big though.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
HI - Boston Downtown, Boston, USA
8.7
27th Feb 2011

Great hostel with friendly staff conveniently located. Really only 4mins to the subway (green line). Not far to several restaurants, fast food and stores. Wifi could have much more bandwidth, especially in the rooms and the common rooms on the upper floors. Decent breakfast.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.