Reviews: Anonymous

Central Station Inn

Rome Ciampino, Italy

This hostel is horrendous - far worse than any hostel we have stayed at in South America. Grumpy staff (Didn't acknowledge our 'double room' booking online. Dirty sheets (including hairs from previous people). Disgusting bathrooms (shower heads had broken off so hand held showers were hanging loose with no locks). Good location for an early morning flight.

Owner Comment (Hide)
good morning thank you for your comment 1 checked in with me and I do not think she was rude 2 had its reservation on line and there were no problems 3 The sheets were clean as the room because they did not complain with our staff? 4 showers are installed without their locks THANK YOU

Hostel Split

Split, Croatia

Great little stand alone room away from the hostel. No party atmosphere, but great for a stop over in Split.

Hostel Sue Candelaria

Bogota, Colombia

Great location to base yourself in Bogota. Unfortunately, the breakfast was dissapointing because unless you presented at 8am - you almost always missed out on cereal and/or bread. In terms of security, we had to provide our own lock for a double private room.

Hostel Sue Candelaria

Bogota, Colombia

Not a bad place to base yourself for a few nights in Bogota.

Princesa Maria

Banos, Ecuador

Lovely family-run hostel with increibly helpful and welcoming staff. Private room was very clean and comfortable. We spent an extra night in Banos we enjoyed the hostel and activity opportunities in Banos.

Alternative Hostels

Cuenca, Ecuador

Beautiful, modern hostel with lots of natural light. Kitchen was very well equipped and shared bathroom facilities were immaculately clean. Location was a very manageable 10-15 walk to the CBD.

Amazing Hostel Arequipa

Arequipa, Peru

Fantastic hostel with great facilitites (large kitchen, spacious double room and nice communal area). Staff were incredibly helpful and the breakfast prepared (banana pancake or scrambled eggs) is a nice change from bread and jam. Only downside was that rooms facing onto the courtyard are a little loud with constant doorbell ringing and chat.

Arthy's Guesthouse

La Paz, Bolivia

Lovely hostel with a relaxed atmosphere. We were disappointed to learn of the midnight curfew which restricted our evenings with friends. All facilties was good aside from the luke-warm and low pressure showers. Great location.

Casa Al Tronco

Sucre, Bolivia

What a beautiful place to stay in Sucre! The owner was very hospitable and more than willing to share his passion for the city. Beautiful views of the city from very comfortable and well decorated rooms. The only negative were the showering facilities. If you are up for a party, don't stay here, but if you are a couple there could not be a more romantic setting. We highly recommend!

Jodanga Backpackers Hostel

Santa Cruz, Bolivia

Beautifully modern hostel, including a pool. Unfortunately, we booked a private room which was located across the road without wifi (terrible regardless) and atmosphere. Breakfast lady was grumpy - perhaps she could do with some support fr other staff to put a smile of her face! No need to spend more than one night in Santa Cruz - head straight to Sucre.

Barra Beach Club Oceanfront Hostel

Florianopolis, Brazil

Great staff, food, crowd and facilities. Need I say more?

Iguassu Guest House

Foz do Iguacu, Brazil

We were greeted by wonderful staff who happily offered their advice, as well as a few beginner words in Portuguese. Very clean facilities and AC was efficient, however, the 6 bed dorm was very cosy. Lovely atmosphere with a free caprinha in the evening. Thank you

Marcopolo Inn Iguazu

Puerto Iguazu, Argentina

Fantastic location opposite the bus station (perfect for accessing Igarzu). A/C in a room and pool was delughtful and very essential in the heat of Februay. Only downside was the ill equipped and tiny kitchen.

Art Factory

Buenos Aires, Argentina

Great location in the heart of San Telmo and extra friendly staff who were happy to help out no matter the question. If you want to party, this isn't the place for you, but if you want to see everything else the amazing city has to offer, art factory is the place to stay!

Ashanti Lodge Gardens

Cape Town, South Africa

We would not recommend this hostel. The facilties themselves were positive including a very clean kitchen, clean and spacious bathrooms and a pool. The double room was clean, cosy and did not ventilate well (very stuffy with windows open full-time). The staff and atmosphere were perhaps the most disappointing. The hostel appeared to be staffed by heaps of different youth working for their accomodation and as such, didn't seem to really care about new people. Also, food vanished from the fridge.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Jared Thank you for your review. I am disappointed that you did not seem to enjoy your stay with us. We do have a few foreign interns working for us who are doing practical experience but they are usually quite friendly. It is a shame that you did not feel welcome and I apologise for that. In terms of food vanishing from the fridge, we unfortunately cannot account for all our guests' honesty and from time to time this does happen. I truly hope that you will come visit us again one day and have a better experience. Regards, Lisa

Banghoek Place

Stellenbosch, South Africa

A very clean and modern place to base your stay at Stellenbosh. Beautifully decked out rooms with clean and spacious bathroom. We were greeted with a smile on arrival and helped with anything we needed during our stay. Kitchen was fully functional and a great place to prepare your own meal, with dining areas next to the pool. We would definitely recommend and come back.

Backpackers Paradise

Oudtshoorn, South Africa

Great hostel with great facilities! Fully functioning kitchens, a chilled bar and the option of having a well cooked ostrich braii for dinner. A great location to check out the middle of town and a short drive from the cango caves. The hostel also offered great discount vouchers to everything the town had to offer! Thanks.


We were greeted by two very friendly hosts who happily shared their knowledge/informaton about Knysna. Very spacious private double room with small but very adequate bathroom facilties. Loved the breakfast provided and self catering kitchen was well stoked. Thank you.


We stayed in a very clean and naturally lit double room. Shared bathroom facilities were top notch. Huge warehouse style communal area and kitchen. Within walking distance to the beach and Ushaka Marine World (~30-35min walk to CBD or 10min People Mover Bus). Would happily stay at Happy Hippo again. Thank you!