Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous

Location England, Gender Male, Age 29

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
St Christopher's Greenwich, London, England
10.0
23rd Aug 2016

Great location, great security and nice staff - Definitely recommend

View Property Reply

Hello thank you for your review! We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt safe during your time here. We are glad you found out staff friendly, we will be sure to pass on your kind words to them! Safe travels!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Central Hostel, London, England
6.3
14th Aug 2016

You need to put bars on the top bunks of the beds - I felt like I was going to roll off it in the night. Also make sure that your long term residents behave themselves!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Smart Sea View Brighton, Brighton, England
8.3
12th Aug 2016

Good hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Mad4you Hostel, Madrid, Spain
8.6
4th Jun 2016

Overall a good hostel

View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank so much for nice comment! We would love to host you here again in the near future! Best regards from the whole team!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Duermevela Hostel, Segovia, Spain
9.1
3rd Jun 2016

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Albergue los Pascuales, Toledo, Spain
10.0
1st Jun 2016

Casi perfecto Pero que no dejes a la gente fumar en la terrassa interior porque el humo sube y entra a las habitaciones por las ventanas

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Central Hostel, London, England
7.4
4th Apr 2016

BIG PROBLEM: Just before paying I told the receptionist that I was being charged for 6 nights instead of 5. She said OK you pay everything now and then, later, my manager will give you a refund. I requested the refund on the Wednesday, for the Saturday night, and was refused. What a disgrace! I have stayed in many hostels and have never been refused a refund when it was requested so far in advance. To be fair the hostel's entire policy with regards to cancellations and changes to booking is bad

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Lybeer Travellers' Hostel, Bruges, Belgium
6.3
19th Feb 2016

Security really was very poor. Beds were quite cool in my dorm in the form of pods. Nice building, nice location, decent kitchen. I didn't see anyone on the reception even once. Anyone could just walk through the front door, straight up to the dorms and nobody would know because the staff are, seemingly, based in the bar in the common area. In a hostel with excellent security you would need a card to enter a) the front door, b) the bedroom area and c) each individual room.

View Property Reply

Hi there, sorry you felt this way about our security. We need to correct your statements however: the reception is ALWAYS manned, there's a front desk, as well as a reception further down the hall. Staff tries to be everywhere where needed (reception, bar, kitchen, laundry room, rooms, bathrooms, etc..), we are always there to help you. People don't just walk in here, we know exactly who enters and leaves (cameras everywhere). Front door works with a code, rooms with a key. We never had any security issues, we strongly believe this person means well but is definitely exaggerating, hope to welcome him again and make it up! Cheers, Lybeer Hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Gastama, Lille, France
8.0
18th Feb 2016

Good place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Gastama, Lille, France
7.4
16th Feb 2016

An OK place to stay. You need to fix the COMPUTERS. You need to make the CURTAINS so they are long enough on the beds. You need to sort the timer out on the light in the disabled toilets - it goes out after 2 minutes - inadequate. Don't let big scary dogs into the bar and certainly make sure that all dogs are on leads! Overall a decent hostel with lots of room for improvement

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Uppelink Ghent, Gent, Belgium
10.0
13th Feb 2016

Great staff and perfect location. fantastic building with a great lounge area and good breakfast

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Sandeman Allen, London, England
9.7
2nd Jan 2016

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Bunkhouse, Cardiff, Wales
10.0
29th Dec 2015

A great place to sleep in a great little city! The lounge area is totally unique and it should be a tourist attraction in its own right .. My dorm was clean and spacious with a nice comfy bed and I got a nice sleep. Something for the hostel management to consider is the luggage storage situation - which isn't great - but I was told that this is in the process of being sorted out. Also - just a minor thing - just check that the dorm 8 door is heavy enough to shut by itself - one time it didn't

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Smart Russell Square Hostel, London, England
8.3
20th Dec 2015

Good place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
8.0
11th Dec 2015

A very nice hostel overall .. But the luggage room really needs a re-think! It really isn't very secure at all. Also staff should be asking proof of ID when people enter through the front door. Anyone could just walk in. The lighting situation in the big dorm room is quite unfathomable .. Three o' clock in the morning and I can't find a way to turn them off .. Very strange. The beds are comfy and HAVE A GREAT CURTAIN ON EACH BED - fantastic! Very nice decor on all three floors. Sort security!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Safestay London Holland Park, London, England
8.9
21st Nov 2015

Great place in a perfect location but could be better: 1) Staff need to check who people are when they buzz them in to the premises and when giving access to luggage room 2) Customers need a place to get drinking water during the night Other than this this place is a truly fantastic hostel. Go there!

View Property Reply

Hello & thank you for your lovely comments. Just to let you know for futre, we do have vending machines which dispense drinks 24 hours a day. Best Regards Reception

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Jardim de Santos Hostel, Lisbon, Portugal
8.9
21st Aug 2015

Overall lovely Some things to consider: 1) Use FLY NETS to cover the windows 2) Have individual locks and keys for each dormitory. 3) Don't allow people to smoke on the kitchen balcony Overall very nice :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Blue Coast Hostel, Setubal, Portugal
9.4
18th Aug 2015

Lovely hostel overall, in a lovely city Things to consider: Locks on the dormitory doors. Make the terrace floor safer. Put fly nets on the windows. Make doors in first floor toilets taller. Don't use plastic cups in reception area (think environment.) Make outdoor area no-smoking. Overall a great place to stay :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
HI - Portimao Youth Hostel, Portimao, Portugal
6.9
15th Aug 2015

Overall a decent hostel. Security was quite poor - the front gate is rarely closed so anyone can just walk in. If someone in your room opens the balcony door then it can be easily accessed from five other rooms. Location was picturesque but far from tourist area. Staff were OK overall but, strangely, seem to leave the phone ringing for minutes at a time whilst sitting there. Doesn't help the atmosphere. More of a family/ school group place than backpackers. Some good facilities including pool

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostal de las Heras, Badajoz, Spain
8.6
13th Aug 2015

Despues de todo un buen hostal pero hay algunas cosas de considerar: Las televisiones en mis 2 habitaciones no funcionaban biend Cuando un cliente te dice a las 9 de la noche que quiere imprimir un billete de autocar urgentemente porque sale a las 4 de la manana, y pues te recuerda 4 veces de hacerlo, hazlo! Una cortina en la ducha en la habitaction 201 seria bien Despues de todo un buen hostal :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Old Evora, Evora, Portugal
9.1
10th Aug 2015

Lots of great things about this hostel. Some things to consider: Recycling facilities. Improving wi-fi - It worked poorly in the kitchen, which is the only communal area which is open at night. Maybe make a computer available for guests to use (maybe even for a fee.) Overall a great place to stay for a few days in a nice town :)

View Property Reply

Dear guest Many thanks for your good review.We have a computer in sitting room available for free. Best regards.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Private Accommodation, Lisbon, Portugal
6.6
4th Aug 2015

Overall a reasonable place to stay if you need a private room. Things to consider: The front door of the building needs a lock! The wi-fi needs to improve. The floor of the lift needs fixing. Long term residents should be reminded to keep doors closed when in the kitchen etc as they can be very loud.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Residencial Aviz, Peniche, Portugal
9.4
28th Jul 2015

Good things: good location, good staff, nice room, nice bed, nice table and chair in room, sink in room, nice roof terrace. One thing to improve: The smell in the bathroom on the first floor. Overall a very good place, great value, would definitely stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Grande Hostel de Coimbra, Coimbra, Portugal
6.0
25th Jul 2015

Good: Nice outdoor spaces, nice kitchen, nice lounge. Could improve: Ban smoking in more areas. It was quite hard to get away from the smoke, and some staff seemed to be allowing drugs to be smoked on the premises. One member of staff even told some guests they could smoke on the tiny balcony on the first floor, from where smoke inevitably blows straight in to dorm rooms. Also, security was pretty poor during the day. The front gate always open, the front door generally open. More could be done

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Aveiro Rossio Hostel, Aveiro, Portugal
9.4
23rd Jul 2015

Good: Free fruit! Nice lounge, nice outdoor terrace, nice staff, quite enviro friendly, Ideas to improve: make the light in the downstairs toilet one that you turn on and off manually - timer is currently set for about a minute! Not long enough. Put partitions up between beds on top floor for more privacy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
M2Students Hostel, Porto, Portugal
8.6
15th Jul 2015

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Central Hostel, London, England
7.4
30th May 2015

Overall good but some points to consider: Put a ladder to the top bunk. Put a side on the top bunk. Make the outdoor area non smoking

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostal Vistapark, Santander, Spain
10.0
29th May 2015

Excelente

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Surfing Etxea, San Sebastian, Spain
9.1
26th May 2015

A great place to spend time. Fantastic staff. You should put locks on the dormitory doors though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Ganbara Hostel, Bilbao, Spain
9.7
24th May 2015

Unos companeros muy amables y un buen ambiente !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
GA Property, London, England
7.1
23rd May 2015

Still in construction - Overall a reasonable place to sleep. Ought to deal more responsibly with lost property! Great access to Hornsey station and reasonably close to Tottenham Hale

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Living Cat's Hostel, Madrid, Spain
9.4
14th Feb 2015

Good staff especially Luis Figo and Didier Drogba

View Property Reply

What? I didn't hire those guys! Where were they? Cheers man! Thx!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Algarve Hostel, Faro, Portugal
8.9
21st Dec 2014

Nice little place with a decent roof terrace. Very good location near the bus station. Decent little kitchen, nice staff. PUT LOCKS ON THE DORMITORY DOORS

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Triana Backpackers, Seville, Spain
10.0
17th Dec 2014

Excellence: Lovely place in a great location. Fantabulous roof top terrace. Good breakfast. Nice staff. Good offer for pilgrims hence lots of pilgrims around. Room for improvement: All three computers need attention from a maintenance person. Computer chairs need something on the bottom to stop them from squeaking. Smoking should be forbidden on the roof terrace. Bed could be fixed so less squeaky. Decaff needed Conclusion: The room for imrovement things are very minor. Overall excellent

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Casa Babylon Backpackers, Malaga, Spain
8.0
13th Dec 2014

Necesitas cerraduras en las puertas de las habitaciones!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Venture Hostel, London, England
8.6
29th Nov 2014

The bed was far too creaky. The ladder was unfit for use. Other than that I quite enjoyed my short stay

View Property Reply

thank you for your comment, we are glad you've enjoy your stay with us as for the bed we going to look into it and replace them. Looking forward to see you in future. Thank you Amelia Reception

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
10.0
11th Sep 2013

I thought that it was a very nice hostel in a great location, near to Victoria station and also in a very nice neighbourhood. The staff were really friendly especially Justine, who I felt set the friendly tone right from the moment I walked in the door. I would definietly recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
PLUS Berlin, Berlin, Germany
10.0
31st Oct 2012

The staff were great: Pittsburgh, Brasil, Sweden especially... I didn't learn many of their names but I am referring to them by their nationality ... Swimming pool was GREAT, as was sauna, internet pretty good, though not perfect wi-fi in rooms ... A VERY SPACIOUS HOSTEL with ample BREATHABILITY. Free pool and ping pong in the astounding third floor games room, surrounded by real works of art and enough sofas for many people ... truly epic space up there ... Clean yes, very, with a

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
St Christopher's Barcelona, Barcelona, Spain
9.1
19th Oct 2012

Nice staff, nice premises, the best location in Barcelona, super cool bar / general mingling area, where hostel guests can chill without having to buy anything, which is nice, pool table is overpriced, prohibitively so. Would probably have spent five euros a day on it if it were 1 euro per game instead of 2. I spent zero on it ...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
YHA Cambridge, Cambridge, England
8.3
27th Aug 2011

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.