Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous

Location England, Gender Male, Age 27

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Yak, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
8.6
6th Jun 2017

Good hostel, friendly staff and a lot going on so good if you are travelling solo. I preferred the hostel bar to most of the bars in Playa in terms of atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostal Catedral Merida, Merida, Mexico
8.0
4th Jun 2017

They could do with more common space and things going on, as there isn't much atmosphere. However it's one of the most comfortable places i've stayed in and good value. The free airport pickup was great and amazing that it was included at the price I paid.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Roomies Hostel Condesa, Mexico City, Mexico
6.6
2nd Jun 2017

Amazing location, but they've got way too many beds here for the space. Only one shower and toilet to go around, although it was quiet when we were there so wasn't too much of a problem. Kept imagining the chaos if the place was full. The 3 bed private was actually a double with single bunk over it in a broom cupboard. However for the area you can't beat the price, the dorm looked more spacious.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Casa Angel Youth Hostel, Oaxaca, Mexico
9.4
1st Jun 2017

Great breakfast, friendly staff and really nice hostel. There wasn't much atmosphere when we stayed however it rained a lot of the time so we couldn't use the roof.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Tower Bridge Hostel, Puerto Escondido, Mexico
9.7
29th May 2017

Amazing hostel and value for money. Always stuff going on so would recommend for solo travellers. Only slight downside is the location, is a bit of a walk to the beach or clubs/bars, but the hostel makes up for it

View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for your comments! We are happy that you have liked your stay. All the best!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Mexico City Hostel, Mexico City, Mexico
8.3
26th May 2017

Incredible value for money in a private room, but not much atmosphere, very quiet. Also a note on Mexico City if you want to go out to stay closer to Roma, as that is where the bars are. For daytime sights this place is right on the square though. Overall very clean, staff and breakfast were both good and would recommend as a good budget option

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Chaski Lodge, Lima, Peru
7.4
10th May 2017

Nice hostel, loads of space and a good rooftop. I can't comment too much on the breakfast as it was porridge the day I stayed, good porridge admittedly. It's definitely not a party hostel, very quiet place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Kokopelli Hostel Paracas, Paracas, Peru
8.0
7th May 2017

Good hostel but maybe a bit too big to meet people as a solo traveller. The boat tour was good value and the staff were nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Banana's Adventure, Huacachina, Peru
9.7
5th May 2017

Great hostel. We did the wine tasting and the dune buggy tour and both were great. Also had a great atmosphere and pool

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Puriwasi Lima, Lima, Peru
8.0
3rd May 2017

Good hostel with a great location. They have a great rooftop bar but it was always quiet every night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Friendly AQP, Arequipa, Peru
8.6
1st May 2017

Really nice hostel and great value. The pancakes for breakfast are recommended and its in a quieter part of Arequipa. It's a chilled place, so don't stay here if you're looking to party a lot, but has good common areas. Im not sure why they don't make more of the rooftop, they might be working on that but it has a lot of potential. The day tour to Colca was good value. I'd recommend staying here if you're after a smaller, chilled hostel in Arequipa

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Pariwana Hostel Cusco, Cusco, Peru
7.1
24th Apr 2017

It's not really a party hostel, we also stayed at Loki which had a better atmosphere. But it had one of the comfiest beds I've had in South America and the breakfast and laundry service were both very good. They had issues with the water while we were there so no water for a day meant the pace got dirty quick...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Canto de Agua, Jardin, Colombia
8.9
20th Apr 2017

Loved this hostel, set away from the town surrounded by incredible scenery. It's about a 15min walk into the town, but the free hike was great. Also one of the best breakfasts I've had in South America

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
All In Hostel Guatape, Guatape, Colombia
10.0
16th Apr 2017

Loved this hostel. Willy (the owner) was incredibly helpful and made sure everyone had a great stay. He upgraded us to a private room for free and has an obsession with making sure there is cold beer in the fridge, something all hostel owners should have! It was a great size and space for socialising so very easy to meet people. And right by the Rock for hiking. It's not in the town but easy to get there. Highly recommended. Ask Willy about Cher, you won't be disappointed!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Casa Kiwi Hostel Medellin, Medellin, Colombia
6.3
12th Apr 2017

Not sure why people rave about this hostel. It had a completely dead atmosphere while I was there and some of the most unhelpful staff I've come across. The only plus is the location, it's right where you want to be. I stayed at garden of blues and partied at happy Buddha which were both way better.

View Property Reply

Hola Alex, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the hostel much while you were with us. March and April can sometimes be somewhat of a low season, so maybe that was a factor, although fortunately we manage to stay pretty full most of the time. Maybe you caught us on an off day. Regarding the staff, we're always working to improve our standards of customer service, so thanks for the feedback. Hopefully you'll give us another chance some day!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Pachamama hostel Cartagena, Cartagena, Colombia
7.1
10th Apr 2017

Great location but I thought it was really overpriced, even for Cartagena. Not much of an atmosphere either which surprised me based on reading about the place. The AC TV room was great and the staff were helpful though

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
El Viajero Cartagena Hostel, Cartagena, Colombia
6.6
8th Apr 2017

I thought it was over priced considering the state of the place. And there wasn't much of an atmosphere when I stayed there. No plugs by beds which always annoys me and the showers aren't great. Good location though

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Casa Elemento, Minca, Colombia
7.1
6th Apr 2017

Firstly, despite the score, if you stay here you will most likely have an amazing time as the atmosphere is great and location incredible, however the place is really let down by some tiny things. - 12 bed dorm: hammocks, NOT beds. Not specified anywhere in description which annoyed a lot of people - I handed laundry in then came back the next day but got handed back the bag of dirty laundry. Didn't realise until I left. Staff at reception weren't great in general The food was amazing though!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
PuraGuajira Hostel, Riohacha, Colombia
9.7
1st Apr 2017

Really good hostel. A nice size for meeting people as it isn't too big. The rooftop is great for socialising and the staff are incredibly friendly. We're very helpful in getting me into the desert! If you're looking for somewhere near the beach this isn't the place for you, but it is close to the mall and perfect for a stopover in Riohacha. Recommended for solo travellers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Dreamer, Palomino, Colombia
9.1
30th Mar 2017

Great hostel right on the beach in Palomino. They organise something every night so despite the fact it's a big hostel, it was easy as a solo traveller to meet people. The pool was lovely and the food in the restaurant was great as well. Only thing I could mark it down on is value, it was expensive for a 2 night stay, although my lack of self control with a tab system also didn't help matters...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Journey Hostel, Santa Marta, Colombia
10.0
27th Mar 2017

Amazing hostel, I don't think I could ever get tired of the view from the dorm and the family style dinners mean it's very easy to meet people. The atmosphere was always great when there and it's one of the closest hostels to the main entrance for Tayrona. Staff were so nice and it's definitely one of the best places I've stayed at in South America. Highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Tiki Hut Santa Marta, Santa Marta, Colombia
6.3
23rd Mar 2017

It's not in a great location to be honest and it was a very quiet hostel, I only stayed one night in the end. If you just want a place to chill out in Santa Marta, it is nice and has a pool. Staff were helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Macondo Hostel, San Gil, Colombia
9.4
18th Mar 2017

Great hostel, all the activities I did were fantastic and good value. The staff were great, especially Sean who is probably the most helpful owner I've ever met travelling. Always happy to help anyone with any questions they have using his experiences in Colombia. Tejo Tuesday was great as well and the place had a good atmosphere for meeting other people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hotel Casa Sabelle, Bogota, Colombia
7.4
16th Mar 2017

While the room was very good value the walls were paper thin. Could hear people on the stairs all night. The room didn't have a window either but for a double room in the centre of town it was good value overall. Friendly staff and very well priced mini bar in the room. Although you have to pay if a guest comes with you, which I thought was weird for a hotel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
El Pit Hostel, Bogota, Colombia
9.1
12th Mar 2017

Loved this hostel. It's very comfortable and a great place to chill out. Staff were very friendly and helpful and is easy to meet people in the bar. The food at the bar is also very good. You could walk to candelaria for all the tours in about 20mins so good location as well

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Local Hostel Manaus, Manaus, Brazil
8.3
7th Mar 2017

Only stayed here before and after a jungle trek. We booked a twin room but were given a double room. The bed was very uncomfortable but the staff sorted this the next day. Tour operator on sight was good and the jungle trek was great. It's also got a great location right by the square. More of a stopping point for treks, but the staff would also list things going on in the city. You have to pay for breakfast but it's good and worth the money

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Jeri Central, Jericoacoara, Brazil
9.4
4th Mar 2017

Loved Jeri and really liked this hostel. Very chilled and comfortable place to hang out and perfectly located next to the bus stop. The owner was very helpful and we had a great stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Albergaria Hostel, Fortaleza, Brazil
6.0
3rd Mar 2017

We only stayed one night but the place is pretty average. Location is good for the beach and bed is comfy enough, but the 6 bed dorm is very cramped. 2 three tier bunk beds in a room the size of a cupboard. We also had to pay a day rate even though we were only staying one hour after check out. Apparently to pay for the cost of the AC even though it's on all day anyway...

View Property Reply

Hello. Thanks for the comments that help us with our system improvements. We send your comments to the responsible sector and we are working to always improve the experience of our guests. We hope to see you on your next visit to Fortaleza.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Galeria 13, Salvador, Brazil
9.7
28th Feb 2017

Fantastic hostel, all the staff are really friendly and breakfast till 12 is great. Caipirinha hour is also amazing and located right in the old quarter for the sights

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
9.1
23rd Feb 2017

Right on the beach, so fantastic location. Also for a triple room we found it great value for money and the staff were really friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Tetris Container Hostel, Foz do Iguacu, Brazil
10.0
16th Feb 2017

Absolutely loved this hostel. - Location, it's on the bus that runs to the airport and the Brazilian side of the falls. Easy to get to the bus station and Paraguay as well. Also close to a really good food market, which is also made of shipping containers weirdly - The Argentinian iguacu falls tour I booked was great. Appreciated the hostel pool after as well - They have a toastie maker you could use for breakfast. Heaven on a hangover - A free caipirinha every day at 8 Highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Social Hostel, Curitiba, Brazil
8.6
14th Feb 2017

Really nice hostel and great staff. They had a board with the best things to do in Curitiba every night which I thought was a nice touch. The place had a good atmosphere but mostly non-english speakers staying when I was there so I did my own thing. Very clean and safe place though, maybe not the best location, but it wasn't far to the bus which ran to the rodoviaria and all the central plazas.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Solar63 Hostel, Porto Alegre, Brazil
8.3
13th Feb 2017

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Trip Hostel, Punta del Este, Uruguay
8.3
10th Feb 2017

It was mostly Spanish speakers staying there when I was there, but the hostel had a really good atmosphere with stuff happening every night. The staff were also great and all spoke good English. Only downside is there are no lockers in any of the rooms. You can't really lock valuables away, not that I felt like anything would get nicked. This has the added problem of everyone's stuff having to just go on the floor so the dorms are messy most of the time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Buenas Vibras Hostel Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay
9.4
8th Feb 2017

Really loved this hostel. I arrived on a Wednesday exhausted only to be told that I'd come at the perfect time and it was BBQ night. If you're there for it, is definitely worth the money! Also got a load of info on the carnival and the place just had a great atmosphere in general. Matias especially wanted to make sure everyone was having a great time all the time, so thanks for that, would recommend!

View Property Reply

Thanks for your review!! I'm glad to hear you've enjoyed your time here! :D Cheers! Matías

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Wild Rover Backpackers, La Paz, Bolivia
8.3
14th Jan 2017

The Irish bar is fantastic and the staff were great. Booked a really good death road bike tour through the hostel. Definitely a party hostel so only stay here if that's what you're looking for! Everyone tends to stay in the bar as the prices are so good. Only -'ve is there are no plugs in any dorm rooms, you charge all your stuff at reception. I only had 1 lock so this made life a bit inconvenient

View Property Reply

Dear Alex, Thank you for choosing the Wild Rover Hostel, La Paz, and giving us such great review. We are extremely pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and a good Death Road experience via our in-house travel agency. We are presently working on installing more electrical outlets in dorms and hope this did not cause you too much of an inconvenience. We would like to wish you the very best with your future travels and if you are still travelling around South America don't forget, as well as La Paz, we have two Wild Rover Hostels in Peru; one in Cusco and the second in Arequipa, all perfectly located in the city centre. Many thanks once again, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Best wishes, Wild Rover Team

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The Bellavista Hostel, Santiago, Chile
6.9
13th Jan 2017

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostal Po, Valparaiso, Chile
8.9
11th Jan 2017

Had a great stay here. Really cool rooftop and a good atmosphere. There's a big table in the common room that everyone chats around so is easy to meet other travellers. Breakfast could be better but otherwise a great place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Castillo Surfista Hostel, Santiago, Chile
8.6
9th Jan 2017

Really nice place, feels like you're staying in a house rather than a hostel. Breakfast was good, but not really close to Bellavista, so not really a place to stay if you want to party in Santiago.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
MNL Boracay Beach Hostel, Boracay Island, Philippines
9.4
26th Feb 2016

Had a fantastic stay at MNL. Very good value for money and the roof terrace is very good for meeting other travelers as well. Bit further back from white beach, so good if you want to be close to the kite surfing side, but only 5/10mins walk to white beach in any case. We would have stayed longer if we could and still visited the roof terrace even after changing hostels!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Spicypai Backpackers, Pai, Thailand
10.0
20th Oct 2012

Great value, great people, great place. originally booked for 3 nights but stayed for 10! That's the same story with most people here. Always full and best hostel i've ever stayed at. Had a great time

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.