Reviews: Anonymous

Jailhouse Accommodation

Christchurch, New Zealand
86%

We had a double room and barely had enough space for a couple of small bags - the dorms were actually roomier! Although the location and facilities were pretty good, the price was a little steep for a hostel. Staff were really nice although super strict about check out time!

  • 14th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • India
  • Female, 31-40
  • (6 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to rate our hostel. We're sorry to hear that you didn't have enough space in the room for your bags. Our guest rooms are original Jail cells and we do agree that they are quite compact but we have provided a set of drawers with room to put a large bag or suitcase on top and in for guests who have lots of luggage there are extra lockers on the ground floor of the hostel. For a small fee you can lock away items and take the key. We have to be quite strict with our 10am check out time so that we can give all our rooms a really intensive clean in preparation for our incoming guests but we always welcome our departing inmates to stay for as long as they need to whilst waiting for taxi's, coaches, shuttles etc. They can use the hostel communal areas and facilities or store luggage whilst exploring the city. Once again thank you for your valuable feedback. We hope to see you in Jail again very soon. Kind regards The Jailhouse team

Oaklands Lodge

Auckland, New Zealand
86%

Very nice hostel, comfortable and clean. Great restaurants and shops around the corner from the hostel. Corner rooms on top floor with balconies were lovely - let in a lot of light. Was a ways away from the airport though which was a little painful since we were there only one night.

  • 13th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • India
  • Female, 31-40
  • (6 reviews)


On the Beach Backpackers

Whitianga, New Zealand
89%

Just a short walk from the main street where we found a small grocery store and lots of good restaurants. Staff were knowledgeable and helpful. There were 6 of us so we booked out a little unit and had it all to ourselves :)

  • 11th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • India
  • Female, 31-40
  • (6 reviews)


Crash Palace

Rotorua, New Zealand
77%

Rotorua was a bit of a disappointment after all of the other wonderful places we had been to in NZ. The Crash Palace was excellently located and clean enough, but had a bit of a grungy feel to it and added to our general grey mood about the city! The staff were very nice, knowledgeable and helpful. When you book a room, try and find one away from the kitchens or you'll have to deal with a lot of unwelcome smells. If you want a quiet night - the rooms overlooking the sauna are not for you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Woah bummed to here you didn't enjoy your stay in Rotorua. sorry about the cooking smells from the kitchen mate something we can't avoid. the sauna is turned off at 10pm this should not affect your stay unless someone has jumped the fence while we were also asleep. apologies from us to you. hope you enjoy the rest of the country.

Glow Worm Cottages

Franz Josef, New Zealand
83%

The hostel is located right around the corner from the main street where you start your treks/heli-hikes to the glacier. 6 of us shared a dorm which was roomy. The big windows let a lot of light in and there were heaters and extra blankets for the night. Good value for money.


Cleopetra Hostel

Petra, Jordan
90%

No customer comment