Hostelworld.com

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Smart Stay Hotel Station, Munich, Germany
6.9
9th May 2013

Great location, helpful staff. Room with shared bathroom had a sink, and furniture was good. Only issue was that the bar was very quiet and unwelcoming, and the on street cafe did not exist.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Eco B&B Marela, Rome, Italy
10.0
18th Apr 2013

Fantastic place!!! Marela is a wonderful host, the apartment is excellently appointed, has the comfiest first bed ever, and you get a huge delicious breakfast. Location is in the suburbs meaning you are not amongst the 1000s of tourists, but only a short bus/tram trip from the centre. Easily the best place in our 5 months of travelling.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Wangfujing Hotel Super 8, Beijing, China
6.3
7th Apr 2013

The hotel is OK. Room is in the basement and is large and well equipped, although holes in the wall filled with newspaper and ceiling panels missing in the bathroom weren't great. Staff were OK in check in, however forgot to give us our wakeup call, and when we checked out they were asleep on the floor and the couch in the reception area. We are used to seeing that in Korean love motels, but not at hotels - especially when we had informed them when we were to be leaving.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Lucky Family Hostel, Beijing, China
8.0
1st Apr 2013

Big and comfortable room with comfy bed. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the location - down a traditional local street - was beautiful and close to the subway. Breakfast was good, although a bit cramped as everyone gets it from the counter, and you have to eat it by 9 so not good if you want a sleep in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
8.0
28th Mar 2013

Amazing building to stay in. Room and bed was large, but were a Chinese thin-style mattress on a raised wooden floor/bed. Still quite comfortable but some may not like it - but great for bad backs! Food was OK, but the several common areas to relax in were superb with a mix of socialising and private areas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
8.3
23rd Mar 2013

Fantastic staff! Especially Rabbit...very eager to help and full of information. Room was decent size, although smelled a little bit musty, as did the bathroom - although have found this in a lot of Asia. Great downstairs area to relax in and eat food from the hostel, which is very good. Unfortunately the WiFi signal was very poor and only worked (slowly) in the lobby.

View Property Reply

It's actually working everywhere, however when the wireless routers work for few days, it requires a reboot to solve the "traffic jam", you might have experienced this difficulty while you were attempting to get connected, but it will be no problem now as we just installed a main power to control all of the wireless routes in this building, we'll give it a reboot every morning :) Best regards,

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
7.1
19th Mar 2013

Decent hostel in a good location near the lake. Plenty of outdoor areas to chill and helpful staff. The hairdryer though is located in the hallway, so every morning we were woken up whenever someone had to dry their hair, and then a second time when the loud cleaning staff started cleaning the rooms. Still, nothing ear plugs didn't fix!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
10.0
15th Mar 2013

Fantastic place! The staff there are amazingly helpful. One of the staff, Wei, even helped us choose all of the trains for our month in China. The room was huge, quiet, and had the most comfortable bed we've had in over 3 months of hostels. We will certainly be back!

View Property Reply

Hi, We really appreciate your booking here and your high comment,we will do better and better in the future.Wish you have a nice trip in China !Tianna

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Dragon Hostel Hong Kong, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
8.3
9th Mar 2013

A decent enough place for the price. Rooms are tiny - as are all in Hong Kong! - but surprisingly well appointed. Right in the heart of Mong Kok and with a subway stop less than 2 minutes walk awasy. Tip: If you are a couple, take a twin room as the double bed we were offered was in effect a large single.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Phan Lan 2, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
9.4
27th Feb 2013

Van was the most helpful person that we have had at a hostel...although it is more like a hotel! It's located down a cute (safe) alley right in the heart of the backpacker area but due to the alley it is very peaceful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
U-Baan Guesthouse, Bangkok, Thailand
9.7
25th Dec 2012

Second time staying at U-Baan. Joy was extremely helpful and friendly. Room was comfortable and location in a Thai suburb, yet close to the BTS, was a nice place to be. Our only complaint was that the stairwell was very loud...but nothing earplugs can't fix.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Shadow Inn, Bangkok, Thailand
6.3
18th Dec 2012

It was very cheap. And it reflected that point. Not the cleanest place, but we have stayed in worse. We were there for one night and upon leaving in the morning the water didn't work. Would be OK for a place to crash after a day in the city but not much more.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Saerim Hotel, Seoul, South Korea
8.6
30th Nov 2012

Fantastic location right on the market street in Insadong. Essentially a love motel (the room was identical to most) that you can book, and with helpful staff and somewhere to leave your bags before your train leaves.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Saerim Hotel, Seoul, South Korea
8.3
1st Jun 2012

Perfect location right next to the main Insadong street. Could possibly get better appointed and cheaper love motels, however most of these around the area have no booking and late (11pm) check in times. Will definitely be staying again!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Bike Tainan Hostel, Tainan, Taiwan
9.4
24th Dec 2011

Great place to stay. The hostel is spotlessly clean, well appointed, and located down a typical charming Taiwan street. Our host Paul was fantastic...very eager to help, and was able to provide a map with all of the information of the city, including what buses to take and the best spots to go. Our double room was quite large and simple but perfect for what we wanted. We can't thank Paul enough for his help during our stay - thanks!! ^^ We will be staying again when we come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hualien 11, Hualien, Taiwan
9.7
22nd Dec 2011

Great place to stay. Lisa was extremely helpful and was always willing to help! Even picked us up and dropped us off from/to the train station! Room was very comfy, and rather quirky which was a nice change to hostels we are used to. The only problem was that the bed was so comfy that getting up was a huge challenge! Will definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Fun Taipei Backpackers, Taipei, Taiwan
9.7
18th Dec 2011

Fantastic place to stay...not a hostel, but an apartment in an apartment building. Big TV, comfy bed, great facilities, close to MRT and across the road from the biggest night market. Will definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hotel Raizan South, Osaka, Japan
4.0
17th Feb 2011

I wouldn't stay here again. It is in a bad area and we felt quite unsafe after dark. The hallways smelled of smoke, and the hotel is very dated. They only offer 2 showers, both on the ground floor, which is not enough for the 10 floors of rooms. On the plus side the rooms were large.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
9.3
14th Feb 2011

Very large hostel. Was spotlessly clean, and the room was large and warm. The bar/cafe offered god food/drinks after a long days sightseeing. Location near the train station and subway was great. Will be staying again.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Khaosan Tokyo Samurai, Tokyo, Japan
9.7
10th Feb 2011

A great place to stay. Clean, quiet, and good location - about 5 mins walk to subway. Only complaint is that the walls in between the private rooms are very thin. But aside from that would recommend staying here.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Elysee Motel, Busan, South Korea
8.3
23rd Dec 2010

A good place to stay, however probably more expensive than other love motels in Busan. The bathroom was a bit tired and not as clean as it could be, sheets/linen were not offered for the bedding, and the ondol was permanently on so it got far too hot, even when it was -3 outside. We had to have the air con and fan going all night. However, owner was fantastic, it was quiet, comfortable, and had large rooms. Would definitely stay again.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.