Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
La Guitarra Hostel Gdansk, Gdansk, Poland
4.9
14th Sep 2016

This is an average hostel with silly rules. Checkout is at 11am and we were told at 10:50 and 10:59 that unless we got a move on we would be billed for another night. We checked out 5 minutes later and sat by reception talking to another guest. We were told that if we did not leave the sofa within 15 minutes we would be charged. We're older (early 30s) and quiet guests. Staff seemed embarrassed to say these things to us. A very silly rule and a bad way to be treated.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Apple Hostels of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, USA
8.9
2nd Mar 2016

Great staff and location - a solid no frills hostel with stuff to do as well

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hilltop Hostel, Washington DC, USA
8.9
27th Feb 2016

This was a really nice hostel. The owners, Ron and Laurie were really friendly and helpful and have great knowledge of the local area too. John who works in the hostel was also really helpful and gave us loads of good places to visit. The hostel is comfy and has great facilities like a pool table and a giant TV with loads of available movies to watch. There are also two decent bars and a brilliant café down the road for music/chatting/tasty breakfasts. It's also right next to the rail station

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Celica Art Hostel, Ljubljana, Slovenia
9.7
29th Oct 2015

It was a nice hostel which seemed to think of everything. I must thank the reception staff - they were very knowledgeable and friendly and made my stay in Slovenia a great one

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
San Geremia Rooms, Venice, Italy
8.0
26th Oct 2015

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Doug's Mountain Getaway, Innsbruck, Austria
9.7
1st Jun 2015

A superb hostel for people of any age. Very laid back and Doug has thought of everything! I think this is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
HI Miami Beach, Miami, USA
8.0
19th Dec 2014

Rooms spacious and tidy. doesn't have a communal area or laundry etc so if you are wanting to meet loads of people don't stay here. If you want a nice clean and spacious hostel with helpful staff this is just right.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Reggae Hostel Ocho Rios, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
9.4
15th Dec 2014

The staff here were just brilliant. They were both so lovely and helpful and nice to speak to. The room was the best I've ever stayed in - better than some hotels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Reggae Hostel, Kingston, Jamaica
6.0
14th Dec 2014

Mario was very helpful and pleasant. The hostel itself has a large nice grounds and a decent social area but its pretty dirty and very crowded. Rooms are rubbish, rest of the hostel is okay, staff were great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hospedaje Dodero, Liberia, Costa Rica
4.9
1st Dec 2014

The regular owner was away when we visited. The replacement guy was not very helpful, he had us booked in for another night and tried to blame it on us even though we had a printout of the booking email clearly stating we were correct. The room wasn't very clean and yet housekeeping had left an envelope asking for a tip to be left in it. I'm sure the regular owner is cool as the reviews were positive, but our experience was not very good.

View Property Reply

Thank you for writing a review although I am a little confused. I checked the reservations book to see what might have gone wrong with your reservation and who was working at the time you arrived. I see a note saying you were a "no show" and I (the owner) was actually working that day. I wonder if you did not accidentally go to the other hostel a 1/2 block down. It seems as though this would have been realized once you produced the printout but maybe not. I apologize for the confusion.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
In The Wind Hostel & Guesthouse, San Jose, Costa Rica
8.3
30th Nov 2014

Friendly hostel with very good staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
8.3
23rd Nov 2014

Small hostel, staff were lovely and atmosphere was good. Rooms are pretty tiny. great location

View Property Reply

We are sorry to hear that the rooms were tiny... We are working every day to provide a comfortable experience for our guests. Thank you for recognizing the lovely staff and atmosphere! ITH appreciates your feedback!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Step Inn Guest House and Hostel, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
7.4
27th Oct 2014

Decent hostel with friendly staff and good location. I did get bed bugs though so maybe spray the mattresses more often!

View Property Reply

Dear Joe First of all thank you for staying with us, we appreciate the review. We are always trying to improve, and address any concerns from our guests. We regularly spray the rooms for bed bugs, however occasionally guests bring them to our guesthouse. We are really sorry you had a bad experience. We will take your comments on board and please rest assured we endeavor to provide a clean and pleasant stay for all of our guests. We hope to see you again, safe travels..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Green Kiwi Backpacker Hostel, Singapore, Singapore
8.9
25th Oct 2014

Decent hostel with friendly and helpful staff. Doris really goes out of her way to be nice and helpful. Location is good and there are useful tips on things to do all over the walls.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Six Degrees, Jakarta, Indonesia
9.1
22nd Oct 2014

Very friendly and helpful hostel with plenty of good facilities. You won't stay in many hostels that are better than this

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Gandhi Hostel, Denpasar, Indonesia
8.0
19th Oct 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. The hostel is run by Putri and her extended family with input from the friendly investor Dr Sami. I was made to feel so welcome by everybody. It was a really great atmosphere and people were so very helpful and friendly. A very good hostel.

View Property Reply

Hi joe, thanks for stay with us at the time. come back soon...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Backpackers Imperial Hotel, Hobart, Australia
8.3
12th Oct 2014

Solid hostel. Staff were very helpful and location was very good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Jailhouse Accommodation Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand
9.7
8th Jun 2014

The staff were very helpful with advice on where to go and directions. The hostel has good facilities and was very spacious. I would definitely stay here again if I was in Christchurch

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Haka Lodge Queenstown, Queenstown, New Zealand
9.7
5th Jun 2014

This hostel was very clean and pleasant. The staff were all exceptionally polite and helpful. T I would stay there again for sure if I was visiting Queenstown.

View Property Reply

Thanks for your great review - we really appreciate you taking the time to share you experience. We love Haka Lodge being a cosy, clean home-from-home where guests can relax and enjoy Queenstown to the max. Happy travels : )

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Yesinn @Fortress Hill, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
5.4
9th Jan 2013

This hostel offers very basic options. Some of the staff were pleasant - others were unhelpful. Seemed a bit of a lottery. Quite hard to find also - could use a sign outside on the street.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Guangzhou DIY Tour Hostel, Guangzhou, China
7.7
8th Jan 2013

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Sanlitun Youth Hostel, Beijing, China
10.0
5th Jan 2013

I've stayed at many hostels and this is right up there as one of the best. Very cheap, great social area, lovely food and drinks. The staff were exceptionally helpful. I dealt mainly with Owen and Candy but they were all brilliant. The tours were well priced and were good value for money. I would really recommend this hostel to anyone of any age who wants to get a lot from a trip to Beijing

View Property Reply

Hello, thank you very much for the good comments, wish you will have a good time in China. Regards Sanlitun hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.