Reviews: Anonymous

Location: New Zealand, Gender: Female, Age: 29

Railway Square YHA

Sydney, Australia
86%

was in a female 8 bed dorm, which had its own bathroom. nice and spacious. like many hostels the bed frames could do with an oil? to stop the squeaking when moving etc, I couldn't see any powerpoints but didn't really need one.

  • 27th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


Clink261

London, England
83%

Stayed one night. Staff were friendly. Room was tiny..very little space and no lockers. Breakfast was good. Clean room bathroom. Great overnight place for moving to next destination with station so close.

  • 21st Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your time leaving us a review! We appreciate that you liked the location, breakfast, found staff friendly and the rooms and bathrooms clean :) Sorry that the size of the room didn't meet your expectations, we have lockers at the reception and the staff is always happy to keep your valuables behind the desk. Hope to see you again some day, enjoy your trips!

Lake District Backpackers

Lake District, England
51%

Stayed here for 4 nights. Room really small and no lockers, and the code to all rooms were the same. Bed/room was dirty

  • 17th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Melissa, thanks for your comments, we do have lockers in the lounge and I suppose the room being small is a very subjective comment, however there is no excuse for it being dirty and I will check with the cleaners to see what happened. Thanks Paul

Albatross

Newcastle upon Tyne, England
77%

Stayed here 4 nights. Very basic cooking facilities. Clean room however no lockers. Long walk to showers/bathrooms as they are on other side of where room was. Lots of painting happening and smell was to much. Offer a basic free breakfast which is toast, butter tea/coffee. Was in an 8bed dorm but apart from first night i had it to myself. Would stay again.

  • 13th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


Embassie Liverpool Backpackers

Liverpool, England
69%

Friendly staff that make the effort to get to know you and hear about your day. Kevin (son) did free fish and chips being match night...they were really good!! The daughter? was rude to staff who live there..also seemed to have more staff than guests staying here,with them staying in the dorm room all day making you feel uncomfortable when you returned. Very unclean room, uncomfy and noisy bed. Room door never shut and heaters left on in room when unattended. Lockers in room but had to pay depo

  • 10th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


Hatters at Hilton Chambers

Manchester, England
86%

Stayed here for 4 nights. No lockers in room. hostel was nice. Good breakfast. Morning staff were helpful. Manager telling cleaner off in front of guests was unprofessional.Laundry is expensive. Room was good but very noisy being on the main road. I was next to the window which needs a bit of work done as every time you open or close it the wood would fall onto bed. would stay here again.

  • 9th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
!!! We will be telling the manager off, in the backoffice or somewhere more secluded. The basement maybe. Or just make him fix those windows in compensation. Either way thank you for letting us know your thoughts on our place, much appreciated and we hope to see you back again soon :)

Hatters at Hilton Chambers

Manchester, England
83%

Stayed here for 4 nights. No lockers in room. hostel was nice. Good breakfast. Morning staff were helpful. Manager telling cleaner off in front of guests was unprofessional.Laundry is expensive. Room was good but very noisy being on the main road. I was next to the window which needs a bit of work done as every time you open or close it the wood would fall onto bed. would stay here again.

  • 6th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
!!! We will be telling the manager off, in the backoffice or somewhere more secluded. The basement maybe. Or just make him fix those windows in compensation. Either way thank you for letting us know your thoughts on our place, much appreciated and we hope to see you back again soon :)

Paddy's Palace Dublin

Dublin, Ireland
69%

Was on floor 3 of the red door..room and hall smelt like stale urine. Bed not the greatest. Only tho powerpoints for 8 people. Wouldn't stay here again

  • 27th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


Alberguinn Youth Hostel

Barcelona, Spain
94%

I needs somewhere close to station for the airport. So for me this was perfect. If you were site seeing this would be to far out. Clean hostel and nice beds

  • 26th Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


Hostal Atlanta

Palma de Mallorca, Spain
77%

Was great tp have a cheap one bed room. Easy to get to. Helpful staff. Kitchen facilities basic and also saw a cockroach which wasn't pleasant. Room was ok. During night the sink made loud noises which woke me..not sure if it was the plumbing. Would stay here again

  • 23rd Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


Equity Point Centric

Barcelona, Spain
74%

Not a fan of this hostel. It is so noisy when trying to sleep. The light in bathroom was on a sensor and having shower was quite hard as light kept going out. Only given one sheet. Hardly any powerpoints. Probably wouldn't stay here again

  • 2nd Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


Hostel Happy Seven

Gdansk, Poland
86%

Hostel would be great after a bit of tlc. The toilet was broken along with hot water shower tap. Quite noisy even with efforts of door closed. No lock on door bed could be better, thin mattress staff were excellent made it a good friendly atmosphere with a nine chill out lounge

  • 30th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


Tapir Hostel

Warsaw, Poland
80%

This was a very nice hostel, good breakfast, friendly staff. good location, was between the gardens and the old town there were no cooking facilities, just a fridge, but food here is cheap so no issue. there were only 12 people in this hostel so there wasn't really a chance to communicate with other guests if you are looking for a trip like that i definitely recommend it. the reception hours were a bit to short with the staff finishing at 3, if you were to check in later then it may be a hassle

  • 27th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


Mosquito Hostel

Krakow, Poland
97%

Great hostel. Paula met me and was so friendly and helpful. She sat me down telling me where to go and where to eat. Hostel.breakfast was good. Only let down was the room door didn't automatically lock and i don't think anyone is room ever locked it. Perfect location. Very close to old town and main station. Definitely recommend.

  • 24th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


The Monk's Bunk

Tallinn, Estonia
63%

For starters they charged me full amount, even tho i had paid a deposit. I didn't notice until i put payment through. The room was big, not sure about powerpoint facilities. The door tho was so noisy to open. its a shoes off hostel which wasn't to bad. it was a good start point for the tour i was doing but i wouldn't stay here otherwise.

  • 16th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


Astor Victoria

London, England
69%

8 bed dorm with only 2 powerpoints is a bit poor. took ages for someone to attend to me at reception, there was 3 people but only 1 helping (think one was training) the carpets wern't clean it was a good location if you have an early or late night by Victoria Station didn't use the kitchen to rate

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


The Fort Boutique Hostel

York, England
89%

Was a great friendly hostel, great location and really friendly and helpful staff the rooms were nice, tho hard to talk to others due to the layout the common room was nice, huge tv, big area, no shortage of power sockets the fridge space a bit tight and the staff a bit to enthusiastic to wake you up in the morning, cleaning room just before checkout and opening blinds etc but apart from that i loved it. the bathrooms were clean but a good going over would be good

  • 12th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


St Christopher's Edinburgh

Edinburgh, Scotland
69%

Perfect spot, right next to the train station. again, booked this room ages ago but got allocated a top bunk, yet the people only there one night was allocated a bottom one the crate in the room are quite noisy, especially for when people arrive or leave late/early was nice to have a bathroom in the room. didn't use kitchen facilities to comment

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


St Christopher's Edinburgh

Edinburgh, Scotland
74%

rooms are ok, pretty basic but you are only there for a bed. crates under the bed are a tad noisy to use was on road traffic which was a bit noisy. booked this nearly 11 months ago (fringe gets busy and prices go up closer to time) bit annoyed at being allocated a top bunk when I was organised!! but its just a bed. shower wasn't the best

  • 2nd Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for reviewing you stay here. We have taken your comments onboard and have checked out the showers in the rooms were staying in. You can request a bottom bunk and we try to accomodate these requests as much as possible. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. St Christopher's Staff.

EastSeven Berlin Hostel

Berlin, Germany
100%

Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Two stops away from the main station made it a very handy venue. If you stay here definately go to the Asian restaurant up the road, it is cheap, fast and probably one of the best i have ever had! I personally liked the fact the hostel was stairs only! But it may not suit all. The top floor is the 4th floor so it isn't much really.

  • 29th Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


Hotel Hayk/ Altstadthaus

Cologne, Germany
100%

Was a great private apartment, very warm, looking over a square, easy to get to

  • 28th Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


Edinburgh Nights Hostel

Edinburgh, Scotland
60%

Very unstable bunk beds Unclean bathrooms Unclean sheets, had to ask for pillows. Sheets smelt of cigerette smoke Unsafe door entry, code written on door frame

  • 29th Dec 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


Big Fish Budapest Hostel

Budapest, Hungary
91%

Great location, very friendly staff. A bit of a noisy location being on the main st but in saying that it is very central making everything walkable. It is not like an everyday hostel. Only 26 beds and it gives you a feeling of being at home rather than at a dorm. Shoes off, no locks on the door, free internet, nice bathrooms well looked after.

  • 21st Sep 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


Home Backpackers

Valencia, Spain
74%

NO AIR CON - very hot and noisy if the windows are open Bathrooms are even hotter and it mutlishare bathrooms. Our stuff went missing from our beds which we wern't impressed about.

  • 26th Aug 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)


Smart Sea View Brighton

Brighton, England
46%

For paying a decent amount for a hostel the windows didn't close, the shower didn't work - there were drafts from the windows increasing the noise levels Its was advertised close to Brighton but was a 30-40 min walk away

  • 7th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (26 reviews)