Reviews: Anonymous

River City Inn

Singapore, Singapore
89%

Pros: Good common room, lockers, curtains on every bed for privacy, free breakfast (toast and fruit), hot showers. Cons: Staff not knowledgeable about tours or places to eat.

  • 16th Dec 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
All our staff are knowledgeable and give good recommendations for places to eat and visit. Please approach our receptionist whenever in doubt.

Syok @ Chulia Hostel

Penang, Malaysia
91%

Pro: Friendly and helpful staff, aircon, common room, free breakfast, free towels. Cons: Bathroom has on wall open air letting bugs in. Curtains as dorm room doors.

  • 14th Dec 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


Keystone House Kings Cross

London, England
43%

Dont stay in the twin rooms, they are downstair in a mill due smelling basement and have no windows and the beds are terrible to try sleep on. There are not enough bathroom facilities and there is no sound proofing. Upstairs (3 bed room) is much better but beds still bad and loud noise from the street. It's also not a place to meet people, little atmosphere. They also charge you to store your bags on checkout day. But the location is an easy walk from Kings Cross Station.

  • 26th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi J., Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry that you had a unpleasant stay at our hostel. As the hostel is relatively new we are always trying to improve our facilities. Therefore, It is always good to get feedback from our guests so we know the exact areas that need to be improved. On Hostel world, it does mention that this room is a basic room and is located below ground level with no windows, all these rooms do, however contain A.C. Thanks again Orla

Hostal Marino

Ibiza, Spain
31%

They only provided one key to a 2 person room. Reception is not 24 hrs, we stayed 4 days and saw the owner twice, all other times they leave it up to the bar staff who know very little. We asked twice, but they hardly even tried to find us a bar crawl to join, their final advice was ask another hotel. Location is not that great, 15 minutes walk through the maze of streets to find the beach or bars (very hard to find your way after a few drinks). Not a good place to meet other travellers.

  • 21st Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


Rethymno Youth Hostel

Crete, Greece
71%

Overall the hostel is fine, but it's missing the little things. Wi-fi is a bit slow. No breakfast provided. No lockers. Bathrooms are in a separate building (men and women share). The beds are rubbish, pillow very thin, blankets worn, scratchy and too thick (no sheets). No aircon, fan little help, so we had to leave the window to the noisy street open. I booked a 8 bed female only, got a 6 bed mixed. But location is great and good social area. They don't organise tours anymore as the claim.

  • 3rd Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


Bergen YMCA Hostel

Bergen, Norway
74%

Pros: Good location right near Bryggen. Hot showers. Decent beds. Good sized common room. WiFi works well. Free luggage storage. Cons: No lockers in the rooms. Breakfast not included. Staff are not very helpful and the recommendations of places to eat on the wall were no good.

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


Slottsskogens Youth Hostel

Gothenburg, Sweden
69%

A little far out of town - 20 mins to the station - 2 stops on the tram (or 10 minute walk) to restaurants and bars. Security of the building is good, but there are no lockers. No breakfast. Linen not included. And no real atmosphere in the hostel - lost of families and non-backpackers. The staff do try to help, but win no prizes for knowledge or friendliness. On the plus side, WiFi works, beds are ok to sleep on and the place is kept clean.

  • 28th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Thank you for the crits we will try to do better. One or two things though. We serve a breakfast buffe for only 70 SEK. We are located in the restaurant/bar area of Gothenbourg. For example, there are 8 restaurants between us and the mentioned tramstop. the Staff

Backpackers Göteborg

Gothenburg, Sweden
69%

Hostel is a bit far out of town, you have to catch the tram. Some staff were helpful, others not so much. There are families and old people staying in many of the rooms and there's not a great atmosphere. Not recommended for solo travellers. Bathrooms are ok, showers are hot. Both linen and breakfast are not included. Free working WiFi.

  • 27th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


60%

WATCH OUT: When you book into a 6 bed dorm, chances are it will be a 9 bed. But you wont get money back because they are the same price. Breakfast is a small roll and jam/butter. Nothing else. Location is not so great, stay closer to the train station. Atmosphere is also not good in the hostel, no real communal setting or backpack focus. Receptionist did not know where the free waking tour or pub crawl left from - don't rely on them for info. Not enough showers on the top floor. Linen was incl.

  • 25th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


Klaipeda Hostel

Klaipeda, Lithuania
66%

The hostel is located 25 minutes walk from the old town & port. The double room is actually a twin and is missing little details like a mirror. The beds are very hard. The showers themselves are good, but the bathrooms extremely small so there is no where to put your clothes. They say they offer a ride to Riga for only 80 Lei, but in reality its not per person but per car, which makes the price 320. No breakfast included and no restaurants nearby. Stay here if you just need a bed, nothing more.

  • 14th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Of cours you have to pay some other price if you are going just 2 persons on ypur spetial time for flight with sightseeing road... About the hostel: some bathrooms are biger, was not full hostel and was able to use any.Near hostel we have 2 restaurents which are open from 9.00 and you could have breakfast, also at the hostel is kitchen. However every morning all guests have homemade apple cake, but you didn't see it... :(

The Monk's Bunk Kaunas

Kaunas, Lithuania
54%

We arrived on a saturday and this place was dead. Only one other guest in the whole hostel. The guy at reception was smug and not friendly, who loudly plays off beat bongos intermitedly through the afternoon which is really annoying when I was reading and the other guest trying to sleep. The location is 20 minutes out of town and you have to catch a taxi to the bus station. It is kept clean and facilities are ok, but it is best used just as a bed. Not a hostel to hang out in.

  • 13th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am speechless about your comment:/ You two stayed in 6bed dorm with one other guest and in other rooms we had 7 more people, which makes the hostel half full. You wanted a social experience, then why didn't you join us in common area where we played with guitar and a djembe? Or it's too alternative for you? Our location rating(now) is 94 and that says a lot. We are in the middle of everything. I wish you luck in travels and try to be less grumpy.

Jimmy Jumps House/Hostel

Vilnius, Lithuania
91%

Great place for solo travellers. Easy to meet people in the awesome common room. Free waffels for breakfast. Very central location. Kept nice and clean. Helpful staff giving advice on things to do/tours/bus times. Only small cons is that there are no room keys (although there are small lockers in the rooms), only one bathroom on the top floor and it can be a little loud. But I still recommend styling here.

  • 11th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


JugendStube

Brasov, Romania
71%

The location is good, right in the old town. Included breakfast is cereal and yogurt. Downsides, staff are not very knowledgable. The private rooms open directly to the kitchen and there is no sound proofing. I was woken at 3am by the staff microwaving food and again as he laid out breakfast. A dog also continuously barks outside. WATCH OUT: The 3 castle tour (bran, rasnov, peles) they offer is not a real guided tour, it is only a non-english speaking driver. Not value for money.

  • 10th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


Umbrella Hostel

Bucharest, Romania
60%

The rooms are nice, beds comfy. But everything else was lacking. 24hr reception was asleep, we had to ring the bell and eventually call (with roaming charges) to get in at 6am. At other times the door to hostel is left open and no one is at reception. There is no sound insulation so its very loud. Air con had no power point. It's a 15 minute walk to the main sights. Use the upstairs showers, the downstairs ones leave you with men taking a dump next to your shower stall.

  • 9th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


Retro Moldova Hostel

Chisinau, Moldova
91%

The staff here will go out of their way to help you (they organised both a day trip and wine tour for us). Also, they are great at keeping the hostel quiet during the night and early morning so you can actually sleep. Breakfast is included, providing cereal and toast. And place it quite clean. Downsides, there is only one bathroom, so there is often a wait for the shower. And the day trip was a little expensive. It's also a little hard to find the hostel entry, especially at night.

  • 6th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


Vertigo Vieux-Port

Marseille, France
80%

Pros: Location is right near the port. Staff did try to be helpful and were friendly. Free breakfast but only cereal and bread. Lockers (would fit a backpack only) in rooms. Cons: Showers while hot had no water pressure and you have to hold the shower head yourself. The sound insulation is not great so you hear everyone in the hallways. Our room keycard stopped working every day so we had to get it refreshed.

  • 26th Apr 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


Montenegro Hostel

Kotor, Montenegro
51%

Stayed in apartment room - No WiFi in the rooms, creaky bed, bright light poured in from outside due to lack of curtains, bathroom was not clean when we arrived and was not cleaned during our 3 days, drain was clogged, hair in sink (not ours), staff make terrible restaurant recommendations, tour was poor as driver constantly smoking and guide provided little information. NO breakfast included! Dinners are 5 euro and were not appetizing. No common room (only dining room). Not value for money.

  • 22nd Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You took rafting on the biggest canyon in the Europe ( on the Tara River), not the tour. Transfer to rafting includes only driver not the tour guide. We have checked and driver told us that he was smoking and he apologizes. You stayed 3 days in brand new apartment and you didn't tell staff any complain for the cleanliness or anything in that room. If some mistakes happened you didn't give any option to the staff to fix the problem. We clearly put that breakfast is not included in the price. Hostel has common room designed as traditional tavern in Kotor. Dinner is also traditional and homemade. If you didn't appetizing the food we cannot do anything about that.

Dancing Monkey Hostel

Tirana, Albania
57%

Very loud (but was warned), shower had no water pressure and very little hot water, toilet did not flush, no common room, pub crawl did not go (although they advertised everywhere they had one), staff only there (sporadically) from 8-Midnight but keys only worked if you knew the 'trick' so we got woken by other guests banging on the door to get in. Fair walk from city center and busses. Only pros: Air con and breakfast in restaurant next door (although pretty bad). Staff not very helpful.


Shanti-Hostel

Skopje, Macedonia
86%

Dorm rooms have curtain on each bed for privacy, dimable lights for each bunk, lockers for every bunk, good beds.


Shanti-Hostel

Skopje, Macedonia
91%

Air con in the really nicely decorated double bed room, very close to train station and walking distance from old town, helpful staff arranging transport and tours, kitchen was good, bathroom was kept very clean but is not the prettiest, breakfast is basic but free, nice outdoor area, no restaurants nearby. Good value for money!

  • 16th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


Hostel Mostel

Sofia, Bulgaria
83%

Double rooms are located in a separate building 5 mins walk away, where there are a few to many people for the one shower and there was no air conditioning. But on the up side; WIFI in rooms, free breakfast and pasta dinner were good. Pub crawl was OK (it was during the week). Organized a Monastery tour. Friendly/helpful staff who made great restaurant recommendations.

  • 15th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


Lazin Hostel

Novi Sad, Serbia
57%

So LOUD! No air con. No computers. Smokers constantly in the hallways. Pathetic common room/kitchen. Only cash as the owner is self confessed technology illiterate. No helpful hints on the city. Bad shower. Was there during exit festival and was not worth the price.

  • 13th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
During the Exit festival in the street party was organized by 17h-00: 00h, but the 40 guests who stayed at the hostel went to the fortress where the Exit festival held from 18h until 08:00 h the next morning, so all the guests had normal to sleep! She was frustrated because I did not have much time to devote to them, you will agree that it is hard to please the person who is a perfectionist and such person shall sleep in a luxurious hotel! Of course, the hostel has a computer!

Hostel Central Station

Belgrade, Serbia
77%

Pleasantly surprised with this hostel. Directly across from the train station, air conditioning was a blessing. They stored our luggage for a few days for free. Showers were satisfactory, had hot water. Good value for money.

  • 12th Jul 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


97%

It is hard to fault this hostel. Tasty free breakfast. Many small bathrooms sectioned of for privacy with hot showers. Everything is kept spotlessly clean. They have lockers for your bag. 2 common rooms (kitchen and the cutest little lounge room) with TV's, DVD's and Wii. The staff are very friendly and helpful, always with a smile for you. The one tiny fault is it would be nice is there was another lounge room as is can get cramped in there. Book well in advance because it is often booked out.

  • 3rd Jun 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


Hostel San Marino

San Marino, San Marino
60%

There is no one at reception, you must go down to the bar to find the staff, who have rather poor english skills (except the bartender who is great). We booked the double bed private, they put us in a 10 bed dorm and said that no one else would be put in there! I argued we paid for a double bed, not two single beds. Eventually we were 'upgraded' to a room with a 'double bed' (two singles pushed together). The showers are wet rooms and take 5 mins to heat up. Only good for one night stop and go.

  • 19th May 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


Ostello Gallo D'Oro

Florence, Italy
63%

No customer comment


Ostello Gallo D'Oro

Florence, Italy
51%

The beds are small and uncomfortable. It is a 20-30 minute walk from the main attractions (not 10 as stated). There is no common room, only a breakfast room with small tables and chairs. There are no extra blankets. The showers while being warm, are one huge stream, like a pummeling waterfall, not like rain. The hostels saving grace is that breakfast is free and the staff are friendly. To expensive for what it is.

  • 17th May 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thanks for your review but we think you are talking about some other hostel... We don't have any air conditioned here, but we do have many extra blankets available.... All you have to do is ask!

Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark

Amsterdam, Netherlands
57%

The hostel is very large, and the common areas are not good for meeting people. So if you are travelling alone, this is not the place. You have to make your own bed, not what I want on holidays. We stayed 4 nights, the shower was only cleaned once. Location is perfect for the park, but if you want to go into the 9 streets, its a 20min walk or a 5 euro tram ride. Security is over the top, 4 checks to get into our room! and my key card stopped working for no reason. The free breakfast is good.

  • 28th Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


McLays Guest House

Glasgow, Scotland
60%

This is hardly a guest house, more a complicated maze of corridors in a low budget hotel setting. The breakfast is free, but very poor quality. Staff were unfriendly and even a bit snotty or completely absent (as they were when we tried to checkout). But the showers have hot water and decent pressure and the room (while dated decore) are large enough. The hotel is a far walk from both the west and and the center of the city, so prepare for taxi fares or long walks. No social atmosphere.

  • 23rd Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


Edinburgh Backpackers

Edinburgh, Scotland
66%

Our double room was in a separate building down the road. So no WIFI. They make you pay for bag storage. They offer a relatively cheap breakfast in the cafe next door but it is no good. But the location is very good and staff are helpful enough.

  • 20th Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


Traveller's Cave Pension

Goreme, Turkey
83%

Stayed in a double bed cave room, which was fantastic and topped off my a spa bath with jets and nice hot water. The staff can organise you tours, although we ended up going for a hot air balloon ride with Butterfly Balloons (highly recommend) over their recommended company. They also serve lunch and dinner for a moderate fee, which isn't gourmet but nice enough. Not the most social of hostels, but for a group or a couple it is value for money. Also right near by Top Deck Restaurant (eat there!)

  • 7th Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


Sezgin's Guesthouse

Kusadasi, Turkey
63%

Defiantly not the place for solo travelers as not many people were in the common room. The pool was not filled (although it was quite cold anyway). TV's was only in turkish channels. They server dinner for a moderate fee, but the fish was had was plain and the salad not too fresh. The breakfast is not to great cereal, cold boiled eggs, salad and bread - normal turkish style but is free. The room was ok and for the price it's not to bad. Staff did give us some basic information on things to see.

  • 5th Apr 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


94%

The staff are amazing, so helpful and welcoming. Giving you a great intro the they city, a map and advise on where to eat. She also recommended us a free walking tour. The rooms are clean, with lockers and comfortable mattresses. The showers are plentiful and hot with great water pressure. Price is great value for money. Even organized us a taxi back to the airport for much cheaper than what we paid to get to the hostel, only 6 lats. Would stay again in a heat beat!

  • 18th Mar 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


Jinta Andaman

Phuket, Thailand
83%

If travelling alone, this is not the place as there is no common room. If you want for a quite stay, it is perfect as even in the dorm you have your own walled off space. The staff are extremely nice and helpful, and can get great discounts on tours. There is a cheap place next door serving tasty breakfast. Easy walking distance from restaurants and the beach. Rooms cleaned daily. But there is only one, stall style, hot shower in the girls dorm and it's only fan cooled (but I was comfortable).

  • 15th Jan 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


Gongkaew Chiangmai Home

Chiang Mai, Thailand
57%

The hostel is slightly out of the way and it is located on a one way street so taxi drivers always try to charge you extra. I arranged pickup from the train station, unfortunately my train was 3 hours late and no-one waited for me. However, they did agree when I asked to drop me off at the airport. The bathrooms are not enclosed, so you have mosquito issues. The rooms have airconditioning and beds are clean, if a bit hard for western tastes. The staff did arranged tours for me which was good.

  • 12th Jan 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


Yes! Lisbon Hostel

Lisbon, Portugal
97%

Stayed here for 4 nights and would recommend it as one of the best hostel I have stayed in. The free breakfast is excellent the dinners are well worth the 8 euro and are a great place for socialising. The beds are extra comfortable and each bed has its own big, lockable draw to safely stow your luggage. The rooms are also nice and big. Showers are also great. Only negative is that becuase i was a solo traveller I found myself asked to move rooms to make space for groups, but not a big thing.

  • 4th Sep 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


Way Hostel

Madrid, Spain
70%

Stayed in a private room for one night and it was nice enough, nothing spectacular. Breakfast is boring cereal and toast. The staff ripped us off one night accomodation, we cancelled the exrta day when we arrived but they would only refund us our money if the room sold. To me its either they refund or they don't, it should not be dependent on a room selling. The walking tour is good, but too long.

  • 31st Aug 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


53%

This hostel may be good in a different room, but BEWARE the 8 bed drom. The a street lamp shines right in the windown and there are no curtains to dampen it, so it feels like daytime all night. Also, the dinners becuase of how the tables are set up are very groupy, so not great if your travelling alone or want to meet people. Plus, people come in at 1am making a lot of noise and the staff do nothing about it. I would not stay here again.


67%

The beds squeek all night and the matresses are not comfortable, but you have enough room and the ensuite was clean. The location is OK, 20mins walk to Notre Dam. No TV room, but that's Paris. Staff do try their best to help but are not overly knowledgable.

  • 21st Aug 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (43 reviews)


GIDIC Backpackers

Tallinn, Estonia
93%

GIDIC is well worth the short walk (took us only 7 minutes) into old town. The matresses on the beds are really comfortable. The bathroom is spacious, cleas and best of all always has hot water and decent water pressure. The manager is very helpful and even took us on a free tour of the national park. I would definantly stay here again.