Reviews: Anonymous

Hootananny Hostel

London, England
91%

The Hootananny is a great place to make new friends, that can become a family away from home. Just 2 suggestions: double glazed windows are a must as some are broken & this will reduce noise issues. When first checking in there needs to be signage saying there is a hostel & a note of how to check in would help. The bar staff need training-they are bad! The kitchen/lounge facilities are great (except broken oven) & the bar below has excellent entertainment. This is my favorite hostel in london xx

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (2 reviews)


Edinburgh Backpackers

Edinburgh, Scotland
46%

Expensive, unclean, smelled, rude staff at times that were slow and uninformative. No lift and alot of stairs. Good location close to train and main streets. Good Cafe next door with food.

  • 30th Dec 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (2 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If guests don't enjoy their first stay they usually don't return for a 2nd visit as you did. You checked in at the busiest time of day, during the Hogmanay festival. I specifically remember checking you in and apologised for your 5 minute wait. I also provided you with a map and recommendations of places to see and things to do during your time in Edinburgh. You stayed on the first floor so I fail to understand why the stairs were a problem for you. As for cleanliness the hostel bathrooms and common areas are cleaned at least 5 times per day. You also stayed in a newly renovated room, with brand new beds, mattresses and linen. Good luck with the rest of your travels