Reviews: Anonymous

Jaque Mate

Mendoza, Argentina

Good location and reasonably clean, but this is definitely a traditional hostel, in all respects, not a hotel-type hostel (even though there are private rooms). That's not necessarily a bad thing, just be aware of that when booking.

Hotel Deniz Houses

Istanbul, Turkey

Clean, beautiful views of the sea from both my room and the top floor breakfast room, and very easy location for sightseeing.

Blind Eye Hostel & Guest House

Prague, Czech Republic

Fun place to stay, with very friendly staff and movies playing in the front room almost all the time. Room was pretty clean, and the free breakfast was great. The hostel is about a 25 min walk to the old city (or even quicker tram ride), and about a 15 min walk to the Florenc bus station.

Museum Inn Hostel

Prague, Czech Republic

Extremely clean (and large) private room and bathroom, with access to a small shared kitchen. Great location just a couple minutes from Muzuem metro station and Wenceslas Square, very convenient for sightseeing. Our one complaint is that the wifi signal was very weak (staff told us the router is not in the apartment itself)'s easy to find free wifi around Prague and we could access it in the room sometimes, just something to keep in mind if you need consistent/strong wifi access.

Dilettante's Hangout

Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic

Definitely interesting decorations in the room ;) The double room was spacious and clean with a canopy bed. The hostel is in a quiet location a couple minutes' walk from the heart of Cesky Krumlov. We didn't have much interaction with the staff, but upon check-in they did give us a hand-drawn map of recommended bars, restaurants, etc. which was very helpful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, as we spoke briefly on the phone, I was abroad, playing a theatre performance 800 kilometers away from Krumlov, regretfully I did not manage to return on time to meet you. I have no staff and do not run the Hangout as a hotel/hostel, you were staying in my home and were being attended by my teenage children. Unfortunately they are not very extroverted to want to interact, I must retrain them. ;0) I hope your time in Cesky Krumlov was memorable. Best, Maty Dio


Vienna, Austria

Double room was cute, clean, and in a small apartment (across the street from main building) with a few other rooms. Shared bathrooms, kitchen, living room worked well since the apartment was not at full occupancy, but may have felt crowded if more people had been there. Staff was very friendly and does laundry on-site for a reasonable fee. Not immediately in center of Vienna, but still walkable to museums etc.

Old Town Zagreb

Zagreb, Croatia

Pros: central location (walkable to bus station and sights), double room and common spaces were spacious, bright and clean, they let us keep luggage there for a few hours past checkout until our bus left. However, because there was no air conditioning we had to keep the window open to prevent the room from getting extremely warm. The normal street noise wasn't too bad, but the school across the street played loud music starting early in the morning for a couple hours.

Apartment Marin

Split, Croatia

Very large studio apartment just outside Split old city walls, with plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby. Only issue was that wifi wasn't working while we were there, but the apartment was clean and staff was helpful.

Jele Rooms

Dubrovnik, Croatia

Very friendly family-run establishment - they picked us up from and took us to the bus station. There is a bus to old town Dubrovnik from just outside the house, but we never ended up taking it because the walk was very manageable. The room was a little small but clean and functional. I think there is just one other guest room, so it works well if you want a quiet and relatively private place to stay, as opposed to a place where you will meet lots of other travelers.

Yep! Hostel

Budapest, Hungary

The double bed apartment was in an excellent location close to lots of restaurants and all 3 subway lines, but the apartment itself was dusty and dated, with kind of rough/itchy bedding.


Works fine if you just need a clean place to sleep the night before an early morning flight. However, note that the free airport shuttle does not run in the afternoon so if you want to go back to the city, you have to pay for the cab back to the airport to take skytrain. Very limited food options in walking distance of hotel.


Good location between night market and Old City. Restaurants/bars are a few minutes' walk away, but that also means it is quieter. Beautiful view of mountain from 4th floor room, the room was very clean and a small but nice balcony.

Lub d Bangkok Silom

Bangkok, Thailand

Very clean, good location. Good breakfast at cafe on first floor.

Rosy Guest House

Siem Reap, Cambodia

Excellent - beautiful and very clean guesthouse, staff was helpful in booking tours, and the restaurant downstairs was cheap and very convenient.

Sunshine Bedz KL

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Note that the toilet is still in hallway for ensuite rooms (only shower is in room). Great location next to monorail for easy travel around KL, good breakfast.

Fernloft City (Chinatown)

Singapore, Singapore

Good value for Singapore, but very small (one bathroom for all guests), and the proprietor lives in the dorm so you feel like you have to be extra quiet just walking to the bathroom at night.