Reviews: Anonymous

Location: Canada, Gender: Female, Age: 21

Rio Nature Comfort

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
37%

We had a terrible experience here! They had bed bugs in every mattress we looked at (three separate rooms) so we ended up sleeping in hammocks on the roof, and the owner still charged us 3/4 of the price we would have paid for beds, claiming it was the cost of breakfast (bread and papaya). They didn´t even seem worried about the infestation, like they probably won´t clean it so DON´T STAY HERE

  • 18th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (33 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guests, As you can see, we only have great comments about our hostel. As we are in an area surrounded by tropical forests, insects are common. However, we have repellents available for our guests. We did not charge your night, only a BRL15.00 fee for breakfast, which we offer coffee, milk, juice, tea, chocolate powder, bread, cheese, ham, butter, banana, papaya, apple and orange. We always try to provide a quality service to our guests.

Other Side Hostel

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
100%

Most fun we´ve had at a hostel in south america! They take you on day trips and out to see the culture of Rio´s nightlife. The best of everything Rio is at the Other Side!

  • 12th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (33 reviews)


CabanaCopa Hostel

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
86%

nice hostel, everyone gets a big locker, and you are super close to the beach

  • 10th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (33 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our hostel and location. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

Books Hostel

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
91%

Aside from the fact that the computers were crashing a lot, this hostel has everything you need. Amazing breakfast, helpful staff, party atmosphere!

  • 6th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (33 reviews)


Hostel Bar Duck

Cusco, Peru
71%

Hot showers and the kitchen were good. Only a handful of the dvd cases contained dvds. Felt safe, near enough to the main square, but the lights were dim and the bathroom smelt like mould. Pretty much what you'd expect for how much cheaper it is than other cusco stays

  • 3rd Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (33 reviews)


Mama Simona Hostel

Cusco, Peru
74%

Comfortable beds, nice people and pretty close to the main square. But the kitchen is tiny and there was a hole in the floor in our hallway....the rest of the floors were creaky...not much else there.

  • 30th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (33 reviews)


Sumac Chaska Hostel

Ollantaytambo, Peru
80%

Nice place to stay to see some ruins or just take a break in the journey between Cusco and Machu Picchu!

  • 27th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (33 reviews)


Yawarmaki Hotel

Cusco, Peru
100%

If we could rate this place higher than 100%, we would. Raquel is the nicest woman in Peru. She will offer you tea and blankets endlessly, make personal omelettes for your breakfast, and when we got a cellphone stolen in a large festival crowd she spent hours the next morning trying to help us find it in the black market! There is a kitchen for guest use if you ask even though it's not advertised and everything else you need is here!!

  • 20th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (33 reviews)


The Point Lima

Lima, Peru
60%

They don't have a kitchen because of their restaurant and they don't let you bring your own booze in because of their bar, which aside from happy hour was overpriced. As far as party hostels go it isn't the best atmosphere

  • 15th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (33 reviews)


71%

Not the nicest part of Lima, but the hostel itself is decent.

  • 10th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (33 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Most possible not the part of town you were expecting or interested in. The Historic Center was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO (not many cities in the world are). It is also where all things in Lima occur. Sometimes you could be mislead because some buildings are not well maintained and could seem chaotic with the traffic and thousands of people walking, but the historic center is full history, cultural heritage that goes back thousands of years, museums and things to see and do.

Ekeko Hostel

Lima, Peru
97%

Loved the place and the staff! Well stocked kitchen and dvds, the only thing was our shower was never hot! But it felt like home and we would definitely come back

  • 5th Jun 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (33 reviews)


83%

I stayed here because I needed to catch a flight in the morning from the nearby airport so the location was perfect for me, although maybe not if you want to be in central Rome every day. There's lots to do in the campground though and the staff in reception are helpful.


Silver Gate Hostel

Split, Croatia
93%

We stayed here for a whole 11 nights and it was awesome! No complaints, I would definitely tell anyone coming to Split to stay here.


Rome City Hostel

Rome, Italy
77%

The hostel is a little far from the centre of Rome, though it's not too bad by metro or bus. The rooms were clean and although the common room is little, it makes it easy to chat with everyone there.


Emerald Palace

Florence, Italy
93%

This place is extremely clean with comfortable beds! The staff is super helpful in telling you all about Florence - where to go, how to get there, etc. Easy to walk to all the sights from here. I would definitely recommend it!


Hostel Pisa

Pisa, Italy
97%

This hostel was great! Free pool table and ping pong! Even board games! It was also extremely clean and awesome. We wished we could have brought the hostel with us to florence! haha

  • 12th May 2011
  • Globetrotter
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (33 reviews)


Antico Capon

Venice, Italy
73%

The location was perfect and the owner was wonderful but the younger male receptionist seemed like he hated his job and made no effort to be helpful. The bathrooms were clean but the room had a lot of dust.


OstellOlinda

Milan, Italy
73%

Good place for the money. Just ten minutes on the metro to get to central station and not much longer to Duomo. The rooms are really clean, the bathrooms are ok. I'd recommend this for backpackers like me!


67%

It was clean and fine but not fun to hang out in and harder to meet people because the common room is lame.


83%

it was a really nice place. stocked kitchen and game room. but you have to stay downstairs for wifi or else pay to have it in your room and although they have food and drinks for sale it's all way too expensive. just walk two blocks to the grocery store instead. very comfortable to sleep here and hang out downstairs

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, We are happy that you had a good time at our hotel :-) Your Meininger Team

Inner Amsterdam

Amsterdam, Netherlands
53%

The room was so damp that it felt disgusting lying in your bed. we couldn't believe there was no window or any ventilation at all, causing the room to be as hot as a sauna even when it was cool outside. the shower didn't close properly so the whole bathroom would get soaked. wouldn't come back and would not even recommend it to an enemy


Jorplace

The Hague, Netherlands
83%

It was a nice building and very clean but the hang out area shuts down at midnight which means it is really boring. If you aren't looking to hang out and have a good time into the night it's fine.


70%

three bed bunks are kinda rocky, but a clean place to sleep. and the guy working the pub/reception wasn't very nice...


St Christopher's Village

London, England
87%

All the staff were kind and helpful, the rooms were cleaned daily and the nice pub by day became an awesome party bar by night

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there and thanks for leaving us with your thoughts. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Glad you took advantage of our wicked nights in the pub! Hope to see you abck in the future! Cheers Again, Patrick Kipfmiller

Bath Backpackers

Bath, England
73%

not as nice as the oxford backpackers but still a decent place to stay


Oxford Backpackers Hostel

Oxford, England
100%

awesome stuff!!!!!


Phoenix Hostel

London, England
87%

Stacey was awesome!


Phoenix Hostel

London, England
87%

This hostel is fun, safe, full of helpful staff and in the best location you could ask for! However, the windows are grimy, the beds are stacked three high and the bathrooms could use counters. All in all, this is definitely good for a budget accommodation.


Harrington House

Dublin, Ireland
73%

Very nice, cute place. free internet, free tv, cleaning every day :)


Abraham House

Dublin, Ireland
20%

No customer comment


Abigails Hostel

Dublin, Ireland
60%

OK so Abigails has great breakfast and nice rooms. But if you are on a budget, this is probably not the place to go. On top of their expensive daily prices, there are little fees for EVERYTHING. Nothing comes free here so watch out!


Hostel Aphrodite

Athens, Greece
80%

The reception was very friendly and helpful. The place was always clean and the breakfast was good. They tell you the safest way to get around the city and everything. I would definitely stay here again


Soula Hotel

Naxos, Greece
53%

The hosts really don't speak english well. the area is good because it's close to the waterfront restaurants but i had a man follow me around that area which was really scary.