Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Reviews: Anonymous

Location Canada, Gender Female, Age 23

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Rio Nature Comfort, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
3.7
18th Jul 2013

We had a terrible experience here! They had bed bugs in every mattress we looked at (three separate rooms) so we ended up sleeping in hammocks on the roof, and the owner still charged us 3/4 of the price we would have paid for beds, claiming it was the cost of breakfast (bread and papaya). They didn´t even seem worried about the infestation, like they probably won´t clean it so DON´T STAY HERE

View Property Reply

Dear guests, As you can see, we only have great comments about our hostel. As we are in an area surrounded by tropical forests, insects are common. However, we have repellents available for our guests. We did not charge your night, only a BRL15.00 fee for breakfast, which we offer coffee, milk, juice, tea, chocolate powder, bread, cheese, ham, butter, banana, papaya, apple and orange. We always try to provide a quality service to our guests.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Other Side Hostel, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
10.0
12th Jul 2013

Most fun we´ve had at a hostel in south america! They take you on day trips and out to see the culture of Rio´s nightlife. The best of everything Rio is at the Other Side!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
CabanaCopa Hostel, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
8.6
10th Jul 2013

nice hostel, everyone gets a big locker, and you are super close to the beach

View Property Reply

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are glad to hear you like our hostel and location. We hope to see you again! Best regards, CabanaCopa staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Books Hostel, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
9.1
6th Jul 2013

Aside from the fact that the computers were crashing a lot, this hostel has everything you need. Amazing breakfast, helpful staff, party atmosphere!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Bar Duck, Cusco, Peru
7.1
3rd Jul 2013

Hot showers and the kitchen were good. Only a handful of the dvd cases contained dvds. Felt safe, near enough to the main square, but the lights were dim and the bathroom smelt like mould. Pretty much what you'd expect for how much cheaper it is than other cusco stays

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Mama Simona Hostel, Cusco, Peru
7.4
30th Jun 2013

Comfortable beds, nice people and pretty close to the main square. But the kitchen is tiny and there was a hole in the floor in our hallway....the rest of the floors were creaky...not much else there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Sumac Chaska Hostel, Ollantaytambo, Peru
8.0
27th Jun 2013

Nice place to stay to see some ruins or just take a break in the journey between Cusco and Machu Picchu!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Yawarmaki Hotel, Cusco, Peru
10.0
20th Jun 2013

If we could rate this place higher than 100%, we would. Raquel is the nicest woman in Peru. She will offer you tea and blankets endlessly, make personal omelettes for your breakfast, and when we got a cellphone stolen in a large festival crowd she spent hours the next morning trying to help us find it in the black market! There is a kitchen for guest use if you ask even though it's not advertised and everything else you need is here!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
The Point Lima, Lima, Peru
6.0
15th Jun 2013

They don't have a kitchen because of their restaurant and they don't let you bring your own booze in because of their bar, which aside from happy hour was overpriced. As far as party hostels go it isn't the best atmosphere

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
7.1
10th Jun 2013

Not the nicest part of Lima, but the hostel itself is decent.

View Property Reply

Most possible not the part of town you were expecting or interested in. The Historic Center was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO (not many cities in the world are). It is also where all things in Lima occur. Sometimes you could be mislead because some buildings are not well maintained and could seem chaotic with the traffic and thousands of people walking, but the historic center is full history, cultural heritage that goes back thousands of years, museums and things to see and do.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Ekeko Hostel, Lima, Peru
9.7
5th Jun 2013

Loved the place and the staff! Well stocked kitchen and dvds, the only thing was our shower was never hot! But it felt like home and we would definitely come back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
8.3
2nd Jun 2011

I stayed here because I needed to catch a flight in the morning from the nearby airport so the location was perfect for me, although maybe not if you want to be in central Rome every day. There's lots to do in the campground though and the staff in reception are helpful.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Silver Gate Hostel, Split, Croatia
9.3
21st May 2011

We stayed here for a whole 11 nights and it was awesome! No complaints, I would definitely tell anyone coming to Split to stay here.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Rome City Hostel, Rome, Italy
7.7
15th May 2011

The hostel is a little far from the centre of Rome, though it's not too bad by metro or bus. The rooms were clean and although the common room is little, it makes it easy to chat with everyone there.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Emerald Palace, Florence, Italy
9.3
13th May 2011

This place is extremely clean with comfortable beds! The staff is super helpful in telling you all about Florence - where to go, how to get there, etc. Easy to walk to all the sights from here. I would definitely recommend it!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Pisa, Pisa, Italy
9.7
12th May 2011

This hostel was great! Free pool table and ping pong! Even board games! It was also extremely clean and awesome. We wished we could have brought the hostel with us to florence! haha

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Antico Capon, Venice, Italy
7.3
8th May 2011

The location was perfect and the owner was wonderful but the younger male receptionist seemed like he hated his job and made no effort to be helpful. The bathrooms were clean but the room had a lot of dust.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
OstellOlinda, Milan, Italy
7.3
6th May 2011

Good place for the money. Just ten minutes on the metro to get to central station and not much longer to Duomo. The rooms are really clean, the bathrooms are ok. I'd recommend this for backpackers like me!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
6.7
24th Apr 2011

It was clean and fine but not fun to hang out in and harder to meet people because the common room is lame.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
MEININGER Hamburg City Center, Hamburg, Germany
8.3
20th Apr 2011

it was a really nice place. stocked kitchen and game room. but you have to stay downstairs for wifi or else pay to have it in your room and although they have food and drinks for sale it's all way too expensive. just walk two blocks to the grocery store instead. very comfortable to sleep here and hang out downstairs

View Property Reply

Hey, We are happy that you had a good time at our hotel :-) Your Meininger Team

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Inner Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands
5.3
19th Apr 2011

The room was so damp that it felt disgusting lying in your bed. we couldn't believe there was no window or any ventilation at all, causing the room to be as hot as a sauna even when it was cool outside. the shower didn't close properly so the whole bathroom would get soaked. wouldn't come back and would not even recommend it to an enemy

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Jorplace, The Hague, Netherlands
8.3
17th Apr 2011

It was a nice building and very clean but the hang out area shuts down at midnight which means it is really boring. If you aren't looking to hang out and have a good time into the night it's fine.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
7.0
5th Apr 2011

three bed bunks are kinda rocky, but a clean place to sleep. and the guy working the pub/reception wasn't very nice...

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
St Christopher's Village, London, England
8.7
3rd Apr 2011

All the staff were kind and helpful, the rooms were cleaned daily and the nice pub by day became an awesome party bar by night

View Property Reply

Hi there and thanks for leaving us with your thoughts. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Glad you took advantage of our wicked nights in the pub! Hope to see you abck in the future! Cheers Again, Patrick Kipfmiller

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Bath Backpackers, Bath, England
7.3
2nd Apr 2011

not as nice as the oxford backpackers but still a decent place to stay

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Oxford Backpackers Hostel, Oxford, England
10.0
25th Mar 2011

awesome stuff!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Phoenix Hostel, London, England
8.7
22nd Mar 2011

Stacey was awesome!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Phoenix Hostel, London, England
8.7
21st Mar 2011

This hostel is fun, safe, full of helpful staff and in the best location you could ask for! However, the windows are grimy, the beds are stacked three high and the bathrooms could use counters. All in all, this is definitely good for a budget accommodation.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Harrington House, Dublin, Ireland
7.3
19th Mar 2011

Very nice, cute place. free internet, free tv, cleaning every day :)

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Abrahams Hostel, Dublin, Ireland
2.0
18th Mar 2011

No customer comment

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Abigails Hostel, Dublin, Ireland
6.0
17th Mar 2011

OK so Abigails has great breakfast and nice rooms. But if you are on a budget, this is probably not the place to go. On top of their expensive daily prices, there are little fees for EVERYTHING. Nothing comes free here so watch out!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Aphrodite, Athens, Greece
8.0
10th Mar 2011

The reception was very friendly and helpful. The place was always clean and the breakfast was good. They tell you the safest way to get around the city and everything. I would definitely stay here again

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada,
  • Globetrotter
Soula Hotel, Naxos, Greece
5.3
6th Mar 2011

The hosts really don't speak english well. the area is good because it's close to the waterfront restaurants but i had a man follow me around that area which was really scary.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.