Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous



  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Wombats City Hostel Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
5.4
1st Sep 2016

We arrived by car and asked where to park, the staff recommended us a parking place which was almost 7000HUF per 24h although there options for half the price of that. Our room had a roof-window with a broken sunblind, we then got a different room in which the air condition didn't work. We would have lost too much time with another room change, so we stayed. The location is great, but it is a quite big place in which a lot of bigger groups stay.. The common area is quite impersonal.

View Property Reply

Hey, thank you for your feedback, we can always improve. As you can read in the facilities section, we only offer bicycle parking and no car parking unfortunately. We always try to think with you and give you the best option that we know of. As you could see we are very willing to help you if you have any issues in the room. Also we make sure that when you update us about it, it will be fixed, so that the new guests can profit from your sharp eye! We are in any case quite content that you were satisfied with the location and the security, and we hope to offer you an even better stay in case you will return. Happy travels and all the best, Your Wombats Team.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
8.6
18th Aug 2016

I thought I had booked a room without ac, but it had ac, which was really good because it was quite a hot day. Showers and toilets can require some waiting time. It is a good place to meet other travellers and still get a quiet night. For pet hair allergic people: go somewhere else, there are cats and dogs everywhere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Old Town Hostel West Wing, Kotor, Montenegro
8.0
17th Aug 2016

our room was in a different building, probably they were overbooked and so moved us to a very nice other building. There we got the rooftop flat where we always hit our heads on the low celing. Bathroom was tiny. Internet and aircon worked fine. Staff was nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Majdas, Mostar, Bosnia And Herzegovina
9.7
15th Aug 2016

easy to meet other travellers; all facilities new and clean; breakfast included, although not enough if you want to go hiking; parking in the hostel area; a very good hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Tresor Hostel, Ljubljana, Slovenia
8.3
12th Aug 2016

we arrived late at night and the air con didn't work, so we got a new room the next day. Staff was very nice. There was a DJ with loud music when we arrived in the hostel and we liked that. All rooms have windows which are not to the street, so the partying of the guests doesn't affect your sleep. The hostel used to be a bank and that gives especially the kitchen area downstairs a unique athmosphere. Plenty of showers and toilets, we never had to wait. Good place to stay

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Grampa's Hostel, Wroclaw, Poland
8.9
7th Jul 2016

nice place, easy meeting other travellers, everything quite new.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Soda Hostel, Poznan, Poland
8.0
5th Jul 2016

I paid with credit card and they directly converted it into euro. I asked them to pay in PLN because the exchange rate seemed to be very bad and it should be possible to pay in Poland with its money. The receptionist said a lot of confused stuff but didn't change it and said she wouldn't know how to do it. I later withdrew more money with the same card to see the offical exchange rate and the hostel overcharged 5% with their tactic. New hostel,good facilities,not easy meeting other travellers

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Mamas & Papas Hostel, Gdansk, Poland
7.7
2nd Jul 2016

nice staff, easy to meet other travellers, but it's not really close to the center. I had a double room with shared bathroom and found 56eur ok, but not really a bargain.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
7.4
24th May 2016

very big hostel, which is pretty well organized. I didn't like the bathroom, the toilet seat was badly set and we had to sit on the dirty toilet bowl. Check out time is very early.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Lost Inn Lisbon, Lisbon, Portugal
8.3
21st Nov 2015

CONS: Noise: the house front is currently being renovated. At 8:30 in the morning they start hammering against the walls even on Saturdays. Also at night it can be very noisy when people party in the common area till 4am. In addition I found the towel in the bathroom pretty dodgy. Paper towels would be better. PRO: location is gread, staff is nice and helpfull, good breakfast, easy to meet other travelers I was in a small double room without private bathroom for 60€, that's not cheap but ok.

View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you so much for your review. We are happy to know that besids the noise from the works on the building next to us you enjoyed your stay. A good breakfast is the best way to start the morning. :-) Safe trips and see you next time in Lisbon

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Island Life Backpackers' Hostel, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
8.3
25th Mar 2015

I missed a bit of "local touch". The hostel could be anywhere in the world and it doesn't feel like DR or Latin America. All employees except the cleaning lady are westeners and it looks a bit like a pub with pool table, dart board and UK bar music. But that is personal taste and others will like it especially because of that. Warm water was often not available even after waiting, but I guess that will be fixed soon as the place is very modern and the owners take very good care. Very good Hostel

View Property Reply

Thank you for your feed back. Our goal was to create a home away from home for when travelers come in from a days exploring and are able to relax and chat about their experiences with like minded travelers. Our local staff are our cleaner, cook and security guard. Our hot water is solar heated and we are currently in the process of expanding our system so hopefully that will resolve the few times that it has run out. We appreciate your feedback and hope you have great onward travels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Reggae Hostel, Kingston, Jamaica
7.1
17th Mar 2015

The place is ok, not great nor bad. If you want to do hikes in the blue mountains from there, ask before when the hostel does its tours. It's quite unconventient to get to the mountains and back in just one day without a tour.

View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your review. I think you will be happy to know that we are constantly making improvements based on feedback and we hope one day you will return to have a better experience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Cedar Ridge Lodging, Montego Bay, Jamaica
7.4
14th Mar 2015

Like other places in Jamaica the hostel is quite expensive. It's a bit outside of Montego Bay and you need a transport to get to the bus station and other things in the center. I liked the location in the hills, but for very short stays it could be inconvenient.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Meyerbeer Beach, Nice, France
8.0
17th Oct 2014

nice hostel, which gets all the important things right. In my room it was quite noisy at night because of cars and scooters driving aroung. There are no real lockers in the room, which I didn't mind.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Barbieri Granada Hostel, Granada, Spain
7.1
10th Oct 2014

The place it not really a hostel, it is more a budget hotel which also has a dormitory. There are mainly couples and families staying in the hostel. If you are an indipendent traveller who wants to easily meet other people, it's probably not the best choice. Nevertheless it's a nice place with nice staff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Sevilla Hostel One Centro, Seville, Spain
8.6
7th Oct 2014

very nice old building in good location, we had a double room with a roof top terrace, highly recommended

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Lisboa Hostal, Algeciras, Spain
7.4
6th Oct 2014

The place is a budget hotel and not a hostel. It's hard to meet other travellers there in case you are travelling alone. But the staff is nice and helpfull. The city is no place in which most people stay for more than 1 night and for that the hostel is a good and cheap option.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
7.7
3rd Oct 2014

There are plastic bags over the matresses which gets more and more common. I hate that and it makes sleeping uncomfortable and sweaty. In addition not all rooms have windows to the outside, so when we opened the window to the reception and kitchen area it was dificult to get any fresh air in, as there are people cooking most of the time. Location and staff are great.

View Property Reply

Hi, dear traveler. We use anti-allergenic mattress covers which a lot of people appreciate, since it gives additional protection. We invite you to stay here again and let us know in advance if you have any special wishes such as balcony/window on the outside.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
B&B Distrito Condesa, Mexico City, Mexico
2.9
14th Mar 2013

It's the 78th place I booked in HW and I haven't received so little value for my money yet. Location is ok, but the bath tub which is the shower was very old and distgustingly dirty. In the bathroom they painted over the tiles with a heavily smelling probably unhealthy varnish or so, which makes a headache. There was a lot of construction noise. No staff at all at night in Mexico City, Condesa is only "comparebly" safe. No window to the outside. A double for 85usd+18%tax? Heavily overpriced!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
The Yak, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
8.3
8th Mar 2013

There was a used shaver and some hair in the bathroom of our private room. In Generall very nice hostel which makes party, but not too noisy so you can also sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
8.3
4th Mar 2013

Very organised and clean place. The couple who are running the place are very helpfull. The hostel is not directly in Flores, you have to take a small boat over the lake to get there. So there is also more sound/noise of animals during the night. One can like or dislike it. It offers for sure a great view.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Quetzal, Cancun, Mexico
8.0
26th Feb 2013

There was no warm water available during the 4 days of my stay. Maybe that has been fixed by now. In Generall a verz nice hostel in which it is extremly easy to meet other people, because of the included breakfast and dinner, which offer rather small rations and the perfect chance to meet other travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
7.4
3rd Feb 2013

It's a nice small guesthouse with very nice and helpfull staff. It's a good option and gets the important things right, but nothing too special either.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
7.7
2nd Feb 2013

The hostel get's the important things right. Staff is very nice and helpfull

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
NapPark Hostel at Khao San, Bangkok, Thailand
8.0
28th Feb 2012

in generall a nice place, near Khao San street, which is unfortunally 6km away from the next skytrain station. The hostel has very nice details, but some basics like hot water in the shower didn't work. The place is more expensive than the average Bangkok hostel,but also better . The toilet door doesn't cover the 10cm at the bottom and the 50cm on top. So if you want a real door at your toilett, that could be a problem for you.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
HI Siem Reap, Siem Reap, Cambodia
7.7
25th Feb 2012

very nice hostel, helpfull staff, has it's own fleet of Tuk Tuks, among the best HI hostels which I have been to

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Velkommen Backpackers, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
5.7
21st Feb 2012

There were several things which I didn't like about that place: - the bathroom had a very bad smell - the room door was made out of glas, so there was a lot of light in the room at night - it was very noisy at night (room was on ground floor, same as the bar) - no small reading lights - towels were full of brown stains - place seems quite expensive - used toilett paper has to be thrown into a garbage, but that garbage doesn't get emptied every day the postivie thing: excellent location

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
NgocThao GuestHouse, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
8.0
16th Feb 2012

nice family run hostel, it's more expensive than other places near by, but it is also better

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hue Backpackers Hostel, Hue, Vietnam
7.4
11th Feb 2012

very nice staff, hostel gets the important things right

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
10.0
4th Feb 2012

outstanding place, huge value for the money, great breakfast, loved the staff, would always come back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Danhostel Copenhagen City, Copenhagen, Denmark
4.7
16th Jun 2011

I didn't like that place. The hostel is huge. On hostelworld they write that there were a parkting, but there isn't. The cleaning of the room changed only the bag of the garbage, the bathroom wasn't cleaned. The wifi is a quite a hassle, you need a 1 hour code and it was quite often difficult to log in.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
City Backpackers Hostel, Stockholm, Sweden
8.7
10th Jun 2011

It is the best hostel I have seen in Scandinavia.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Townside Hostel Bremen, Bremen, Germany
8.3
20th May 2011

There were no lockers in my dorm, but I saw lockers in different rooms. Apart from the missing locker a very good hostel.

View Property Reply

Hello Peter, thank you for your rating. :) By now, for the missing lockers in this dorm, we offer all guests to give their valuables to the safe at the reception. But I hope on your next trip to Bremen, we will have lockers as well in the 6 bed dorm :) Save travelling Lucia Hoymann

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
City Sleep-In, Aarhus, Denmark
6.0
7th May 2011

The hostel is very noisy, bathroom facilities look "used" to put it friendly. Nevertheless it is good that there is a hostel in Aarhus. Bring your own sheets, if you can. Renting them will raise the price by 20%.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Backpackers-Duesseldorf, Dusseldorf, Germany
7.3
1st Apr 2011

I had the single room which is cheap, but the room is directly under the stairs which means that especially girls on heels will wake you up. The hostel is completely ok and gets all the important things right.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Liège Youth Hostel, Liege, Belgium
7.0
16th Jul 2010

the place is nothing special but completely ok

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
City Youth Hostel Dusseldorf, Dusseldorf, Germany
7.7
15th Jul 2010

Check Out at 9:30 is a pain, breakfast is good, everthing is quite new and modern, 24h parking costs 10euro

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Hostelche, Belgrade, Serbia
9.3
6th Apr 2010

I've just looked it up. I've booked 51 hostels with hostelworld so far. This is one of the very best.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Art-Hostel, Skopje, Macedonia
7.7
4th Apr 2010

We had the double room, which is nice. It is a very relaxed place with very kind people. We went there by care and had lots of problems with finding the place. At the end we had to pay a taxi driver to drive ahead of us and show us the way, but he couldnt find the place either without calling the hostel, although we had google maps print outs.

View Property Reply

From 2nd - 7th of April "RENOVATION" was taking place in the hostel, so Art-Hostel "APOLOGIES" to all guests who stayed in this period because of the overbooking we had to use the helping rooms for accommodation. We did the renovation of course so our guests can have better facilities and bigger comfort. The hostel in this period was also enlarged with 4 new high-class rooms, and new common area . Thanks Art Hostel Team

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Loreni Hostel, Tirana, Albania
7.3
3rd Apr 2010

The place is somehow affiliated to freddys hostel. The rooms were clean and newly furnished. It is difficult to find

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Podgorica Hostel, Podgorica, Montenegro
6.7
1st Apr 2010

the place smells of cat pie, the bed in the double room is very small for two people. But it is the only option in Podgorica and I was happy that it is there.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Silver Central Hostel, Split, Croatia
8.7
29th Mar 2010

We had the appartment, which is very nice and newly furnished

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Fluxus Hostel, Ljubljana, Slovenia
8.3
10th Oct 2009

It was quite noisy at night, but staff and location are perfect.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Vegas Hostel, Bratislava, Slovakia
8.3
15th May 2009

all facilties are very new and clean. In the common room there are always people in front of their laptops doing online gambling - Vegas hostel: nomen est omen

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Greg & Tom Hostel, Krakow, Poland
8.7
12th May 2009

very nice hostel with very nice staff... a problem is that there are not enough bathrooms. There was always a long q in the morning and at night. My room was headed eastwards and the curtains neither dark nor big enough. So it was very difficult to sleep in the morning. Nevertheless it is a very good hostel!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
New World St. Hostel, Warsaw, Poland
8.7
11th May 2009

As clean as a japanese hostel. The water in the shower could be some degrees hoter.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Hostelgate Privates, Vilnius, Lithuania
8.7
9th May 2009

in all aspects a very good hostel. The kitchen equipment is especially outstanding: It was the first time that I found such an expensive Tefal pan in a hostel.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
The House Hostel, Riga, Latvia
6.7
7th May 2009

It is a small and cosy hostel without a lot of rules. It is a 20 minute walk from the central bus station outside of the old town. There are no lockers, which I didn't need, because I was the only guest of the hostel and that is the biggest con of the hostel: it is extremly quiet during the week. You can easily get bored, although the staff tried its best to entertain me.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Anker Hostel, Oslo, Norway
6.3
29th Apr 2009

The hostel is ok. There were only 4 lockers in my 6 bed dorm. One of them was brocken. There are better hostels in world, but Anker Hostel makes a fair and good offer.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Dublin City Bunkhouse, Dublin, Ireland
7.3
18th Aug 2008

The hostel is quite expensive. I paid for a weekend night 39€ in 8 bed dorm. I guess there are cheaper places in Dublin. The room was, including the bathroom, less than 20m² and the hostel took 312euros altogether for the 8 beds. A five star hotel charges probably less per m². I wouldn't recomend the 8 bed ensuites. There was always a long q for the bathroom every morning. Beyond that the hostel gets the important things right, the staff is nice and the breakfast good.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Living Cat's Hostel, Madrid, Spain
6.0
26th Mar 2008

The hostel has changed a lot since 2005, when I stayed in it last time and when it was voted in the top 10. It is still ok, but extremly far away from any top 10.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
El Viajero - Hostel & Suites, Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
8.0
18th Mar 2008

Apart from the bathrooms a very nice hostel.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Estoril, Buenos Aires, Argentina
8.7
17th Mar 2008

I especially liked the bar on the roof top. A good combination of fun and sleeping hostel. There is a nice bar, but the partying is never too wild or noisy to stop or interrupt the sleep of the guests who want to rest. The staff are all very kind and helpfull. I only didn´t like the mattresses. I slept in three diferent ones and all had hollows from the previous guests.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Andes Hostel, Santiago, Chile
8.7
15th Feb 2008

A very good hostel!

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Andes Hostel, Santiago, Chile
8.3
25th Jan 2008

The hostel is more like a hotel which also has dorms. It is very clean and very well organized. It feels so comfortable, that there are a lot of people staying for longer periods (language courses etc.). I wouldn´t call it a party hostel. At night normaly the tv is running at maximum volume. The only thing I didn´t like there were the showers with unadjustable water temperature.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Kona Tau, Easter Island, Chile
7.7
19th Jan 2008

The owner is an extremly nice guy!! I wouldn\'t have expected such a clean place. There are no lockers in the dorms. Ask for a key to the kitchen, if you have an early toor. I didn\'t know that and was standing in front of a locked kitchen.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
YHA Mt Cook, Mt Cook, New Zealand
8.0
9th Jan 2008

They made an error with my booking, so they gave me a cot for free. The staff is very nice. For me the bist YHA in NZ! The only negative point is, that there are no free lockers.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Bumbles Backpackers Queenstown, Queenstown, New Zealand
7.3
7th Jan 2008

There are no free lockers, they cost 2$. Nevertheless it is a good place to stay. The kitchen needs better equipment.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
YHA Te Anau, Te Anau, New Zealand
6.7
6th Jan 2008

There are no lockers. The staff is very friendly. It was probably the best YHA I\'ve seen in NZ. There are a lot of families and couples in the hostel, so don\'t expect to meet a lot of people, if you\'re travelling on your own.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Tuatara Lodge, Invercargill, New Zealand
6.7
5th Jan 2008

The hostel is a bright spot in a depressing town. It is not a good place to stay, as most people are just stopping by here for a day or two. The internet prices are as high as in the internet cafes nearby. There are no free lockers and the kitchen is just unequipped. There is not even salt.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
YHA Dunedin, Dunedin, New Zealand
6.3
4th Jan 2008

There are no free lockers and not a lot of them. There is only one shower per floor. Besides a typical YHA: clean, excessive internet prices and conservative athmosphere

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Base Christchurch, Christchurch, New Zealand
7.3
2nd Jan 2008

Positive: the location couldn\'t be more central. In general it this hostel is ok. There is an incredible dirty and old carpet lying on the floor, which gives the place a dodgy athmosphere, but the bathrooms are clean, the beds are good and there are free lockers. I absolutly didn\'t like the kitchen, which is horribly equipped. There is not even one 50%-proper pan. This hostel is pretty big, so it is a bad choice for people, who prefer more smaller and more intimate hostels.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
YHA Wellington City, Wellington, New Zealand
6.0
30th Dec 2007

There are no free lockers. My room was headed to the atrium and it is not possible to open the windows there completely. So it was extremely stuffy in the room. If that is the best hostel in Oceania, then the standard of the top hostels is in Oceania a lot lower than in Europe or Asia.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
YHA Auckland International, Auckland, New Zealand
5.7
25th Dec 2007

The hostel has a very well equiped kitchen. The rest is ok. I don't like hostels which don't offer free lockers. The staff is not capable of calculating the right prices, ie reduce the 10% prepayment. I and a lot of others got wrong bills.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
The Beachouse, Coral Coast, Fiji
8.0
17th Dec 2007

It is defiantly a good place. But if you want to swim in the sea, it is the wrong place. The sea is less than 1m deep for the first 200m and behind these 200m there are dangerous currents. It is a bit ridiculous why the boxes for the backpacks are not lockable. Some iPods were lost.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Sakura Hostel Asakusa, Tokyo, Japan
8.3
9th Dec 2007

A good hostel. I prefer smaller hostels, but Sakura offers everything you need. You can use the computer offline for free and they offer breakfast. A good place to stay.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Asakusa Hostel Toukaisou, Tokyo, Japan
4.0
8th Dec 2007

A place for grandparents. It is clean, but they really charge you 1000Yen, if you miss the 10 o'clock check out by some minutes. The sign outside is in Japanese only. It is hard to meet people there. There are better hostels in Tokyo than these. I also stayed in Sakura and K's and these are better.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
9.3
6th Dec 2007

I stayed in three hostels in Tokyo. For me that's the best one.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Seoulbackpackers Guesthouse, Seoul, South Korea
6.0
28th Nov 2007

The Korean system of bathroom is that the shower is directly above the toilet. So the toilet is constantly wet. The location is great, but some of the staff are quite repellent. It is not really a great hostel, but it offers everything you need, including free internet and washing.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Seoulbackpackers Guesthouse, Seoul, South Korea
7.7
28th Nov 2007

The shower is above the toilet, so the toilet is always wett. It is forbidden to wear shoes, but the bathroom is constantly wett.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Taipei BackPackers, Taipei, Taiwan
10.0
23rd Nov 2007

Nearly perfect hostel. Just the walls are a little thin and some rooms a little small. You can get a lot of noise from the reception and computer area. In the smaller dorm rooms there are two 180*80cm bunk beds on 5 square meter.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany,
  • Globetrotter
Eurohostel, Helsinki, Finland
7.7
14th Nov 2007

The hostel is OK. It matches its own description and is as Finland - not too emotional. In general a good place to stay.

    • 0.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 0.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.