Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Reviews: Matango

Location Netherlands, Gender Male, Age 36

  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Ruthensteiner Vienna, Vienna, Austria
9.7
16th Sep 2015

This is an excellent hostel. We stayed here in a private bedroom for two nights, then upgraded to the appartments. We thought the private bedroom was a bit pricey, while the appartments provide much more space for a little bit more money. Best thing of this hostel though is the atmosphere, it has great common areas (garden, bar) which invite people to sit down and have a chat. Only small con is the westbahnhof area, however as far as traveling goes this is the best station to get in/out Vienna.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Slumber Party Hostel, Koh Phangan, Thailand
8.3
9th Feb 2014

Excellent place. Great for meeting fellow travelers, both for chilling out and party. Best value for money ever, except during full moon ofcourse ;-) Staff was great, place very clean. Add 100 THB to your stay if you want to use a locker.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Suneta Hostel Khaosan, Bangkok, Thailand
6.9
2nd Feb 2014

Overpriced! It's a nice place, just far enough off khao san raod not to be noisy. But they ask too much money for a dorm room. Good stuff: clean, and nice place to meet people. Bad stuff: price and the staff being rude at several occasions.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Bun Kao Guest House, Siem Reap, Cambodia
4.0
26th Jan 2014

I booked the dorm room. DON'T At arrival, they told me that they overbooked the place and there was no room or me. After telling them they can pay for my room in another place, suddenly I could stay after all. Wtf?? The dorm room turned out to be on the attic, with no ceiling just the roof itself. It is not clean, has no lockers and the showers are extremely basic. After the two nights I booked here, I moved to a better place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Eighty8 Phnom Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
8.3
23rd Jan 2014

Hard to beat this place. It looks like a nice hotel with swimming pool, except it's for backpackers. Facilities are good, the bar serves nice food (luckily because I wasn't impressed with local food) and the beer is reasonably priced. Happy hour is a good time to meet people. Only con: Wifi is really, really slow. For cheap bus tickets, go to the bus station just around the corner.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Vietnam Inn Saigon, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
8.9
16th Jan 2014

Great place! The rooftop bar is awesome, and great for meeting fellow travelers. It is just far enough off backpacker street to make sure you have a quiet night sleep. Food and drinks are a bit pricey, but good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
6.3
14th Jan 2014

Nice place to chill out at the pool for a day or so. The dorm room has only one shower/toilet, so plan ahead ;-)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Sunflower Hotel Hoi An, Hoi An, Vietnam
8.0
7th Jan 2014

Basically a hotel for backpackers. The free breakfast is awesome, and you can chill out at the swimming pool. Location is the big con, it is not close to town or beach. However, they have a free shuttle bus (sometimes) to take you there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hue Backpackers Hostel, Hue, Vietnam
7.4
3rd Jan 2014

Very good hostel! pros = breakfast, very laid back atmosphere and chilling out on the balcony. Excellent place to meet fellow backpackers. cons = DMZ tour I would not recommend because its mostly sitting in a bus.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
6.6
31st Dec 2013

Together with the downtown backpackers, this is the nr 1 party place in Hanoi. This was simply not my bag, it reminded me of an all-inclusive holiday in greece dedicated to getting drunk and laid. I really missed the laid-back atmosphere of a hostel, and found it hard to connect to people here. People stick more to their own groups and friends, staff is there to entertain people and whip up the party mood. Decide for yourself if you are looking for this.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Wada Hostel in Guilin, Guilin, China
7.1
22nd Dec 2013

Nice hostel, with friendly staff and decent rooms. The menu is a bit pricy.

View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay here and that our staff were able to assist you with everything you needed. Regarding our food prices, we constantly ask for the feedback of our past guests about our food and have determined that our prices are very fair. We go the extra mile with providing fresh vegetables everyday, using high-grade cooking oil and many other high quality imported ingredients that other hostels probably would overlook. Happy travels!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
8.3
11th Dec 2013

Very good hostel, convenient location near the north train station and Wanshu monastery. I booked 2 nights, but ended up staying 10 nights. It has a very nice atmosphere and is a good place to meet people. Staff made a very good impression: when I booked the tour to Jiuzhaigou, on the tour I had to pay 50RMB extra. I got that money back after telling staff about this. only con: the common room is very cold in the winter, so you'll have to wear your coat and sweater there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
6.0
7th Dec 2013

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Han Tang House, Xi'an, China
7.4
5th Dec 2013

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Dragon King Hostel, Beijing, China
8.0
30th Nov 2013

Nice place! I've had some very fun nights hanging in the bar with other guests, and the staff were nice and friendly. The beer was too expensive (20RMB) :-( Location near forbidden palace is good, check out the BBQ place across the street for cheap beer and great food.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
7.7
28th Nov 2013

Very cheap, basic place. I can recommend the pizza's, best I've had in 3 months.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Comfort Hostel HK, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
4.0
23rd Nov 2013

Worst hostel I ever stayed in, and overpriced. From what I heard, all hostels in HK are crappy and this one simply confirmed this. It is just an apartment with as much beds as possible cramped in. The 10-bed dorm room is in the living room, it has no common room. Interacting with fellow travelers is next to impossible because everbody escapes as soon as they are awake. Do yourself a favor and book a better place, even when it is more expensive.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Wang Fat Hostel, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
4.0
21st Nov 2013

Worst hostel I ever stayed in, and overpriced. From what I heard, all hostels in HK are crappy and this one simply confirmed this. It is just an apartment with as much beds as possible cramped in. The 10-bed dorm room is in the living room, it has no common room. Interacting with fellow travelers is next to impossible because everbody escapes as soon as they are awake. Do yourself a favor and book a better place, even when it is more expensive. Beware: all places at Paterson st. are the same org

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
8.0
20th Nov 2013

Only stayed one night, but the owner was nice enough to upgrade our room to a twin private. The location is great and atmosphere nice and cozy. For Taipei, the price is OK as well. Only con may be the shady establishment next door, but that didn't bother us.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Shin Kao Hotel, Chiayi, Taiwan
8.0
19th Nov 2013

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Formosa Backpackers Hostel, Hualien, Taiwan
7.1
8th Nov 2013

No customer comment

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
5.1
2nd Oct 2013

When I arrived, I was sent to the 9-bed dormroom. I told the staff I booked the 6-bed room, and they simply told me there was no difference. Obviously, there is! Only after insisting I got the 6-bed room, and the staff treated me as if I was the one causing a problem here. Very disappointing.

View Property Reply

sorry,we don�t have real 9-bed dorm.I don�t know how do you calculate on Arrival by check in you didn�t Show our staff that you booked a 6-bed dorm this is very important and you came after reception time!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Castle Hostel 1004 - Bled, Bled, Slovenia
7.7
30th Sep 2013

Generally a good hostel, if you can find it ;-) Put up a sign guys!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Old Town Hostel, Zadar, Croatia
6.6
28th Sep 2013

The hostel is OK, but a bit pricey for Balkans. Also, you have to walk 3 stories up and parking is impossible because it is in the middle of the old center. Other than that it's alright.

View Property Reply

We're the EU, not the Balkans anymore ;)) Hostel is in a pedestrian zone, so noone can park near the hostel, but we do provide information about free parking nearby.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hedonist Hostel, Belgrade, Serbia
8.0
26th Sep 2013

Great hostel! The staff has made space for my motorbike when I arrived. They joined us for drinks and were fun to hang around with. All were friendly and helpful. It's a great place to meet people and when the weather is good the garden is fantastic. I recommend this place to any traveler!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Day 'n' night, Nis, Serbia
8.0
23rd Sep 2013

Nice hostel, and the owner is a cool guy. I had a few raki with him and heard some good stories about Nis and Serbia. The place is new and very clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Mostel, Sofia, Bulgaria
8.3
19th Sep 2013

Very good place for meeting fellow travelers. Also great is the secure parking. Not so great: communication about which rooms offer breakfast and which not. I thought I had the right one, just to find out on arrival this was not the case. Simply said you have to book the 10+ euro rooms for breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Hostel Mostel, Plovdiv, Bulgaria
8.0
18th Sep 2013

In terms of facilities the hostel is average, but the great thing about it is that it's a great place to meet fellow travelers. Added bonus is the secure parking for cars. motorbikes or bycicles.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Boomerang Guesthouse, Selcuk, Turkey
8.3
15th Sep 2013

The people running the hostel are very helpful and friendly. The dormroom however is very big and obviously this makes it less safe. There are no safe deposit boxes to make up for this. Other than that, good place for exploring Ephesus and overall a nice place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Artemis Yoruk Hotel, Pamukkale, Turkey
8.0
14th Sep 2013

Great location near the terraces and the swimming pool is a very nice extra in the summer time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Bayrams Treehouse, Olympos, Turkey
8.0
11th Sep 2013

It's a very easy-going, laid-back atmosphere place close to the beach. Great for taking a few days off your busy travel schedule and taking it easy. The tree house dorms are a bit cramped, I would recommend taking the 4-bed dorm instead of the 6-bed. Offering both breakfast and dinner is a great deal, especially because both are really good. Only drawback I found is the unreliable WIFI, ask the staff for the 'secret' WIFI ;-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Sato Cave Hostel Goreme, Goreme, Turkey
8.9
7th Sep 2013

Basically the best place you can have. Single beds instead of bunks, breakfast included, price below 10 euro, very nice and helpful staff and good location for exploring capadocia. For turkish standards the internet connection is good, but expect a dodgy skype conversation. Best thing of the dorm is the nice bathroom and the constant temperature of about 22C, day or night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
TIU Front Page Hostel, Odessa, Ukraine
8.6
28th Aug 2013

The hostel is very clean and run well by the owner, Adam. For any help on what to do or see, staff will help you on your way. The rooms are spacious as is the common room. Atmosphere is good, thanks to the nice common room. I can recommend this place to any traveller.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Trotter's Den Hostel, Chisinau, Moldova
6.9
26th Aug 2013

The hostel is in an apartment in the center of Chisinau, and very small. However, facilities are clean and the atmosphere is nice. Value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Kismet Dao Hostel, Brasov, Romania
8.6
24th Aug 2013

The hostel has spacious rooms, is clean and has staff 24hrs. Because of its size and the good common room and kitchen it is a great place to meet fellow travelers. I have not found any bad stuff, the place is runned very well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Felinarul Hostel, Sibiu, Romania
8.9
23rd Aug 2013

It's a beautiful place and really has the traveler's vibe. Great place for meeting people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Matango
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
Brussels Hostel Grand Place, Brussels, Belgium
5.7
19th Jul 2012

Location could not be better, but other than that the hostel isn't very impressive... Expect the most basic facilities.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.