Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Reviews: Anonymous

Location Germany, Gender Female, Age 28

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Kick Ass Hostels, Edinburgh, Scotland
9.4
22nd Jul 2014

This hostel has some of the best facilities I have ever seen during my travels around the world. It's an amazing place to stay and I wish all hostels were held at the same level of standards. The only blight on our stay was a very rude female receptionist, but I guess we are all allowed off days.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Castle Rock Hostel, Edinburgh, Scotland
9.1
17th Jul 2014

Great place to stay in the middle of Edinburgh!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
The London Waterloo Hostel, London, England
5.1
29th Jun 2014

No customer comment

View Property Reply

We provide 2 luggage rooms for free and the lockers are only £1 per day. It appears that you are the only person to complain about the temperature of the showers. Our staff are multiracial, and I do not believe what you say regarding comments about nationalities. Your comment is very revealing. You make reference to the nationality of the family (Asian), but no reference to the nationality of the high school students. What does the nationality of the family have to do with your complaint?

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Samba Palace, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
8.0
23rd Jun 2014

This hostel has amazing facilities that are regularly cleaned throughout the day. But sadly breakfast is only served from 8-10 which is obnoxious since most of the tours we did while in Rio picked us up around 7:30. And with the exception of two people, the staff is also rather unfriendly and not very helpful.

View Property Reply

Dear Mel, We are very sorry to hear that your were unhappy staying with us.Breakfast is served from 8-10because mostly backpackers are never up that early to eat and never complained about the time.Its our first complain and I'm truly sorry to hear this.If you had informed reception, for sure we would make an exception.We are really surprise to hear this and also about the unfriendly part. It's always difficult to deal with people of different cultures Thank you very much for your feedback :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Iguassu Guest House, Foz do Iguacu, Brazil
9.7
21st Jun 2014

Can't imagine a better place to stay while visiting the falls. Great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Mango Chill, Puerto Iguazu, Argentina
10.0
19th Jun 2014

This place is AMAZING! The food is fantastic, they have a nice selection of wine at decent prices, Alex is an amazing host along with the other guys that work there, and the facilities are brilliant!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Milhouse Hostel Hipo, Buenos Aires, Argentina
8.0
13th Jun 2014

This hostel has amazing facilities and that are kept immaculate. However, the front desk staff seem to be completely incompetent. I was given completely wrong information a few times. The girls especially were quite rude and many seemed more interested in chatting up the guys than actually helping customers. I also had a few things go 'missing' from my laundry and they did absolutely nothing to help. It's only good to stay here if you're in BA for a short time or really like drinking.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Caballo Loco Hostel, Montevideo, Uruguay
9.4
11th Jun 2014

Beautiful building with wonderful facilities. The two guys that work there are also great and helpful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Casa Amelia, Huanchaco, Peru
10.0
28th Apr 2014

One of the best places I've stayed in Peru. It's a brilliant place to take a break while traveling and enjoy the beach and try some surfing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
8.0
26th Apr 2014

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Alternative Hostels, Cuenca, Ecuador
9.4
19th Apr 2014

No customer comment

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Hostal Transilvania, Banos, Ecuador
6.9
13th Apr 2014

Nice place to stay if you're paying low season prices since it includes breakfast, otherwise, a little worn down and outdated. Not exactly a welcoming atmosphere either.

View Property Reply

low season prices are pretty much all year long, except for local holidays.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Galapagos Best Home Stay, Galapagos Islands, Ecuador
9.7
11th Apr 2014

Great place to stay in Santa Cruz! Kevin is extremely helpful and the free tour around the city was extremely helpful. You might be able to find a cheaper place or one closer to the dock, but the facilities and staff more than make up for it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Caleta Iguana (Casa Rosada), Galapagos Islands, Ecuador
9.7
9th Apr 2014

This place is amazing and the staff is terrific. It's a wonderful location, great bar, nice breakfast, wonderful tours, and everything is very clean and welcoming. Do yourself a favor and stay here when visiting Isabela Island.

View Property Reply

Hi! thanks so much for your nice comment, we are all so happy you liked our little beach hotel! We thank you very much for your visit and hope to see you back! take care!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Posada del Caminante, Galapagos Islands, Ecuador
5.4
8th Apr 2014

Stayed here for one and didn't see any staff the whole time. Had to leave a note at check out after multiple attempts to pay. Finally had to come back after a tour (that we had hoped to book through the hostel but couldn't) and hunt down someone to pay. This hostel is more for families than backpackers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Community Hostel, Quito, Ecuador
9.7
31st Mar 2014

Excellent place to stay in the Old Town. Staff is brilliant and very helpful. The only downside is the minimum number if bathrooms, but it shouldn't be a reason not stay here. Great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Kimchee Sinchon Guesthouse, Seoul, South Korea
8.9
1st Mar 2014

Great hostel in a great location. The accommodation was wonderful and the lounge area was very comfortable and spacious. However, the heat at night was a little excessive for what the weather was like outside. Also, be careful of what you leave on the floor overnight during the winter (ondol floor heating)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Rainbow Lodge HK, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
9.4
30th Dec 2013

Rainbow Lodge is a great place to stay in Hong Kong. Located right on Nathan Road it's close to the harbor, various shopping markets and centers, and museums. Everything in the hostel was new and clean and they had terrific staff to help us with any questions or concerns we had. It's a wonderful place to stay in Hong Kong if you're looking for budget accommodation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
Where 2 Next, Manila, Philippines
7.7
22nd Dec 2012

Great hostel in Malate. Clean and comfortable. Also has an excellent bar/ restaurant with great options. Disappointed the staff wasn't very welcoming or involved. Wi-fi was very unreliable, but luckily the coffee shop across the street and the Korean restaurant downstairs had a great connection.

View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We apologise for our staff's behaviour. We will be discussing your response with them and ensure that this does not happen again in the future. Apologies for the WiFi as well down at the bar. We are currently working on this and hope to get it resolved asap. Despite these happening, we still hope you enjoyed your time with us.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
J-Hoppers Hiroshima Guesthouse, Hiroshima, Japan
10.0
3rd Aug 2012

Great place to stay in Hiroshima. Not far from Peace Park and renting bikes helped reach the rest of the city. Also a great location to catch the train for a day tip to Miyajime. Staff was wonderful!

View Property Reply

Thank you ever so much for your nice comment. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here and would welcome you back anytime. Thanks again :0)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
9.7
1st Aug 2012

Great! But K's House Hostels usually are : )

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
K's House Mt.Fuji, Mount Fuji, Japan
10.0
30th Jul 2012

Wonderful! Good place to relax after a long hike up Mt. Fuji. Also enjoyed renting bikes and riding around the lakes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Capsule Inn Kinshichou, Tokyo, Japan
8.3
28th Jul 2012

Good experience for at least one night for a foreigner wanting to try a capsule hotel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Siem Reap Rooms, Siem Reap, Cambodia
9.4
28th Dec 2011

Fantastic!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Velkommen Guesthouse, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
7.7
24th Dec 2011

Extremely loud late at night and early in the morning. Also, our bathroom smelled horrible which, unfortunately made our room smell horrible. If you dont mind the noise and smell it is a great location and the bar downstairs is nice as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
Luan Vu, Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam
9.4
28th Jul 2011

Nice hostel. Our stay coincided with them doing some renovations so the place smelled strongly of paint, which wasn't pleasant, but otherwise great hostel. The people at the desk were really helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
9.7
27th Jul 2011

Good hostel. A little confusion with the airport pick-up, but made up for it with a ride back to the airport for free. Some of the staff seem to sleep in the lobby at night which is a little uncomfortable when you have to leave before 8 in the morning and step over everyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
9.1
23rd Jul 2011

No customer comment

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.