Reviews: Anonymous

Location: USA, Age: 28

Palmers Lodge Zagreb

Zagreb, Croatia

A convenient location close to bus and train stations. The neighborhood is very loud, so earplugs are a must. The staff were extremely helpful, but the place had some issues. The shower was extremely moldy. Removing the plastic curtain would probably greatly help. The refrigerator had clearly not been cleaned for a long time; the smell was awful. Finally, there are large lockers and the staff is willing to loan out padlocks if you didn't bring any.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for reviewing our hostel! We apologize about the showers, it was not mold but soap remains and the curtains have been replaced with new shower doors, so this will not be an issue in the future. The refrigerator gets cleaned once a week, but we cannot take responsibility for the fact that some guest put food that may not have the nicest smell :) We hope that you will have a chance to stay with us in the future and until then, enjoy :) PL team

Apartmani Maruna

Zadar, Croatia

Marijan was very helpful and friendly. We had to change rooms partway through our stay (we booked late), and the cleaning woman did a fast, excellent job at cleaning our next room so we could change rooms early. The deluxe 2 bed apartment was amazing. Nice balconies with every room, and laundry is free. One main complaint: The hostel is a decent walk from things and in addition to the directions not really telling how to find the hostel, maps are hard to come by until you get one at the hostel.

Vila Veselova

Ljubljana, Slovenia

The staff was great and very friendly. They cleaned every day. The complimentary breakfast was yummy. There are multiple well-stocked kitchens. It's a bit of a walk from old town, but there are some interesting bars and museums in the area. The lockers are large and there's a keypad to get into the building. There isn't air conditioning, however, just a fan. We heard that there were a couple of portable AC devices, but we never got one in either of the rooms we were in.

Andrea's Home

Bled, Slovenia

Andreja is very nice and gave us maps and lists of recommendations for Bled and our next two(!) destinations. Our room was overbooked, so we had to change to another hostel partway through our stay, but she discounted our stay and arranged the other hostel for us. We went from a very nice one-bedroom apartment to a two-bedroom nearby. One downside is that there are no screens and the windows must be used for ventilation, but there weren't many bugs so that wasn't an issue. Highly recommended!

Stadtalm Naturfreundehaus

Salzburg, Austria

While there is a hike to get here, there is also a lift (2.10 one way; 3.50 round trip) which goes to the modern art museum and is very close to the hostel. The views were excellent and the restaurant downstairs was good. The staff are a bit terse, but it was a good experience.

The Tent Munich

Munich, Germany

A bit far from things, but easy to get to/from. Close to the botanical gardens, which were nice. The food served by the kitchen is excellent. The staff were generally very helpful and charge any electronics for free. The beds are comfortable, but there are 100+ other people, so it gets noisy around 4 from returning clubbers and noisy around 7 from early birds. Bring ear plugs. The facilities were the best 'camp' facilities we've seen. Lockers are big (40L bags). Bring bug spray (mosquitos).

Wombats City Hostel Munich

Munich, Germany

A good hostel for meeting people and it's well-located. The bar seemed pretty noisy. It didn't bother us on the 5th floor but lower floors may be affected. Of course, the hot water didn't work in our room, so we had to shower on the 2nd floor, but it wasn't a huge deal. The terrace was nice, though we didn't make much use of it. Finally, the free tour (tips-based) is not worth it. It's not that hard to grab a map and see it yourself.

Hostel Enjoy

Sarajevo, Bosnia And Herzegovina

The owners told us they would drive us to the airport for free, but en route told us that it would cost money. Since we didn't have enough, we had to convert euros to retrieve our luggage. Since the currency is not convertible outside the country, all converted money was lost. Bathroom doesn't have hot water. Tunnel museum is interesting but expensive. Location is good and quiet, but overall would not return since it felt like the owners tried to scam us a couple times.

B&B Three Turtles Hostel

Split, Croatia

Difficult to find but not too far from things, and it's nice to be in a neighborhood rather than the main drag. Spacious kitchen and seating area where people can mingle. Sitting on the terraced patio, the ambiance of the grapes all around, children playing down the street, the sound of turtles humping madly, and the lovely owners (some of the sweetest people you'll meet) chatting with travelers makes this a wonderful place to stay in Split. Also, the bathroom is very large and kept very clean.