Reviews: Anonymous

Location: Australia, Age: 24

Smart Camden Hostel

London, England
69%

Definitely not the best hostel I've ever stayed in but not the worst either. For 25 pound a night I wasn't really impressed though. Beds are small and the mattresses are cheap thin foam. I was late to check out and therefore lost my 10 pound key deposit which I understand, however when I went to reception to check out there was a sign that said "Back in 15 minutes" and i waited for over half an hour just to check out. Quite frustrating! Location is good and close to camden station and markets

  • 5th Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (22 reviews)


100%

This was one of the cheapest and best hostels I have stayed in. I paid under 11 pound a night for my big 18 bed dorm but it felt really private because the beds had curtains. In a great location and the staff were really friendly. One in particular, Loz who checked me in made me feel really welcome and remembered me later at the bar which was really nice. Will definitely recommend this hostel to friends

  • 1st Oct 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (22 reviews)


Sant Jordi Diagonal Hostel

Barcelona, Spain
69%

Pretty disappointed to learn I was paying €23 a night and the guy in the bed next to me was paying €15. Quite a difference for the exact same thing! Showers were really small and no space to get dressed in private so you have no choice other than changing in front of others which is embarrassing. Aside from that, staff were friendly and it felt like staying in a friends apartment . Good wifi and TV room

  • 1st Sep 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (22 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The price changes everyday! If there's a lot of beds avalible, we obviously put the price down. If you run a business one day, you'll easily understand that! :D

71%

The girl who first checked us in with the long curly dark hair was nice and helpful when we asked questions about the city, however was a bit disappointed with my stay. We came from oasis Seville which was great but oasis Malaga had no hot water, our door was broken so couldn't close to outside, there were no enforced noise restrictions and our room was right off the kitchen so we were kept awake all night. When asking staff about these issues always told "ill ask the manager" but no resolution

  • 25th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (22 reviews)


80%

Wasn't as good as Oasis Seville where we had just come from but still a decent hostel. Location is amazing, staff are friendly and good atmosphere. Losing huge points for no aircon though and inadequate fans to compensate for it. Was waking up at night covered in sweat. The one and only room fan was 1m high so my poor friend on the top bunk had no airflow whatsoever and the temp in the room according to the thermometer on the wall ranged from 30-32 degrees all day and night

  • 22nd Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (22 reviews)


100%

Wow. €11 a night and it was "hostel luxury"! Aircon, private bathroom. Great location, free wifi, clean rooms. can't believe the price we paid for what we received. Only complaint was we paid €18 to go on the tapas tour, the guide picked us up and we walked all the way there to find out it was cancelled. We were refunded our money though and offered 50% off the bill at that restaurant so we had a great €6 dinner with drinks that worked out better for us anyway! Definitely stay here in Seville!

  • 19th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (22 reviews)


U Hostels

Madrid, Spain
100%

For €14 a night I expected the worst, and got the best. Best bathrooms I've ever had in a hostel, great dorm rooms. Our flight was delayed 8 hrs meaning we missed a nights accommodation and they took that off the price of our stay. Went to the flamenco show with the hostel for €13, Pablo the host did a good job, lots of energy- the right kind of person to be working at a hostel. Overall very very impressed. Cinema room also a big plus- comfy place to sleep before check in time!

  • 13th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (22 reviews)


Hostel Malti

St. Julians, Malta
86%

Staff were great. Aaron and Chris were able to answer all our questions and give us good advice for places to go etc. our room was small and smelly (2 girls with 4 dirty boys) and there was no aircon which was tough in such hot weather. Bathrooms also a little dirty but the atmosphere and the rooftop terrace makes up for it. Aaron was a good host, taking us to bars/ free shots and took us on a trip to blue lagoon which was fun

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (22 reviews)


71%

Wasn't wrapped in paradise beach club. Had just come from iOS and the value for money here is not even remotely comparable. We paid €65 each for a twin room, and this didn't even include wifi. Some staff were lovely, others quite rude. We were told to be at reception at 4pm for a 6.30 ferry, came at 4pm and they said they wouldn't take us till 5. Was a inconvenient because we had our suitcases and everything packed up and ready. I then got told off once for lying on the couch, and feet on couch

  • 5th Aug 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (22 reviews)


Far Out Beach Club

Ios, Greece
97%

If you want to party this is the place to be. Not the best place for a "night off" though! They deliver what they promise. For the small increase in price it's worthwhile getting a cabin/bungalow rather than a pre erected tent. So much more room and the option to pay an extra €5 per day for aircon

  • 31st Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (22 reviews)


Athens Backpackers

Athens, Greece
100%

Im not gunna lie- Athens is a crappy, dirty city. However, I can't fault this hostel. The staff were friendly, very helpful, facilities were clean, and in terms of location it's perfect. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Athens, if I ever had to come back

  • 30th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (22 reviews)


Carpe Noctem

Budapest, Hungary
100%

Amazing amazing amazing. Second time visiting here and Don't have one negative word to say about this place. Still hands down the best hostel I have stayed at worldwide. I will definitely return again xxxxxx cara

  • 13th Jul 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (22 reviews)


Nomads Auckland

Auckland, New Zealand
20%

Bed bugs. Staff were awful when I brought it to their attention. Very very disappointed in my stay here. Will not return

  • 17th Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (22 reviews)


Nomads Auckland

Auckland, New Zealand
83%

Stayed in a deluxe private and was pleasantly surprised with the room. There was a king sized bed, tv.small bathroom. It was noisy but considering the location there's not much you can do. I returned on my own 2 days later and stayed in a 10 bed dorm. I hate to wrongly accuse but I have a lot of bites over me since my stay. I was only away for one weekend and stayed at a friends the night in between. Call me paranoid but I think I may have been bitten by bed bugs, will go to docs soon if worsens

  • 15th Mar 2013
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (22 reviews)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time in the private room but are afraid to hear that you might have been bitten. Just so you know we have strict procedures in place when we become aware of any incidents like this and the rooms will get sprayed. We hope you get better soon and hope you will stay with us again in the future. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

Surf City Hostel

Los Angeles, USA
89%

my second stay at surf city, would definately stay there again. Its not the 'nicest' hostel I've ever stayed in but you can't fault that location, i could see the beach from my window

  • 26th Feb 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (22 reviews)


Hollywood Beach Hostel

Fort Lauderdale, USA
89%

I only stayed here one night, I got in late and left early in the morning. It is a really nice place but because it is a hostel/hotel it doesn't have the same feel as a regular hostel. The guy on the front desk, i think his name was bruno, was really nice and helpful with everything. It is a little more expensive than some hostels, my stay cost me 30 something for one night, and i had just stayed at Jazz on Southbeach in Miami before that for $12 a night

  • 23rd Feb 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (22 reviews)


91%

Good hostel, great location. I know it's not the hostels fault but there are a lot of weirdos staying there! I also think they need to enforce age restrictions because they call themselves the #1 party hostel but 50% of the guests are 35+ !

  • 20th Feb 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (22 reviews)


Wombats City Hostel Munich

Munich, Germany
94%

great hostel, was my second time staying there and would definitely recommend and stay there again. There are en suites in the rooms which is great, its a shame there is no kitchen.. but there are signs saying they can't get one coz of some legal restrictions so not their fault. cant fault the location!

  • 16th Feb 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (22 reviews)


Carpe Noctem

Budapest, Hungary
100%

Amazing hostel!! i cant believe this isn't the first to pop up on a search for hostels in budapest! I already wrote a huge review on trip advisor but hands down the best hostel I have ever stayed at. I have never felt more at home in a hostel and as a solo traveller they make sure you never feel alone. Every night there are awesome things on, they make it sooo hard to leave !!

  • 9th Feb 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (22 reviews)


Walkabout

Manchester, England
60%

Given that its both a hostel and a hotel it doesn't have the hostel feel with common areas, kitchen, etc. It was really hard to sleep because the bar/nightclub downstairs was playing really loud music till 2-3am and after that there was the clean up with loads of smashing bottles etc. There are however ensuites in the dorm rooms and they supply towels which is a bonus. If you are travelling alone and want to meet people I recommend hatters on hilton chambers, more social, and it was cheaper

  • 26th Jan 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (22 reviews)


City Backpackers Hostel

Stockholm, Sweden
94%

great hostel, good location! would stay here again definately. stockholm as a city is pretty expensive so i guess the price isn't too bad when u compare it to other costs! They have macbook computers around and a good living area. I am travelling alone and always had people to chat/hang out with

  • 19th Jan 2012
  • Globetrotter
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (22 reviews)