Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

A&O Amsterdam Zuidoost

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1043 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 6.7
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1043 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 6.7
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • frhnramos
  • Malaysia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jan 2018
9.1

Great staff, good environment, the location just a lil bit outside of the town. But its just near to the train station. Just about 500m. The lobby of the hotel is usually pack with amazing people. Just all the good thing about this hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lamazn6291
  • South Africa, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2018
10.0

What a wonderful place to stay at! The staff were so friendly, happy and so helpful no matter how many questions you ask (I asked a lot). The location was so great as well. Its so close to the metro and the shops so helps you not get lost. The rooms were cleaned everyday and if you needed anything else they would jump to help! Not ever staying at a hostel before it was a really good first impression! I will definitely be going back there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • w_cadinelli5452
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Dec 2017
8.6

Location is not good and subway in Amsterdam stops by midnight. So if you after fun at night that will be a problem. Taxi costs around 30 euro. The kitchen was small and a bit smelly but the rooms were nice and comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. Nice that you like the option to use our guest kitchen and the comfortable rooms. After midnight you can go by nightbus. For more information ask our staff or have a look on the internet. Cheers from Amsterdam, Team A&O Amsterdam.

  • Raphasouza
  • Brazil, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Dec 2017
9.1

Nice atmosphere, staff are friendly, everything is cleaner. Really close to the metro, some restaurants and takeaway are close as well. Could be more options of foods in the bar, the pizza is expensive for the quality. Really nice place, very good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are always determined to satisfy the wishes of our guests. We can only benefit if you draw our attention to areas in which we can improve or to issues we can resolve. We are happy to hear that you liked our place, our possition next to the metro and restaurants, our atmosphere, our friendly staff and the cleanliness. Cheers from Amsterdam, Team A&O Amsterdam.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Nov 2017
10.0

Great place, great people, great service

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Nov 2017
8.6

Very good hostel. Very clean, very close to the metro station, good breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for you positive feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed our clean place, the good breakfast and that you liked that we are close to the Metro Station. Cheer from Amsterdam, Team A&O Amsterdam.

  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Nov 2017
8.0

Cheap and good place to stay over in Amsterdam. Would definitely visit again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Nov 2017
5.1

I was pleasantly surprised to have a double bed to myself in an 8 bed dorm as it was the only one left. The next day I went out and when I returned there was a homeless person with mental health problems in the other side of the double bed despite several free beds in the room. He was talking to himself and punching kicking the air. Explained this to the guy on reception who responded it's a hostel! It took myself and the other freaked out guy in my room to get security and eventually get moved.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for letting us know your experiences in our hostel. We can understand that it was an unpleasant encounter with a person who should not stay with us. But because we are a low budget accommodation it happens that it therefore attracts persons who are not a tourist. Normally it is extremely difficult to move out those persons. We do have extra attention on this subject, so thanks for letting us know. Cheers from Amsterdam, Sven de Boer, Hotelmanager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2017
2.0

Terrible place. The staff overbooked our room resulting in my friend and me to share a bed. The system they have in place for reserving a bed is out of date. They have no database information either so when it came to us complaining about it they refused to refund the money the bed they overbooked. They lack responsibility. The whole vibe of the place is unprofessional. It is worth spending a bit extra and staying elsewhere.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your experiences with us. It helps us understanding our guests needs and with that we can improve our services. We have looked into your statement and we found out that we were not overbooked in that room or where overbooked in general. In fact that 8 bedded dormitory, had your reservation in and still 1 bed available. We had plenty of other rooms where we could have given you a bed when you complain at the reception. It might happen that two other guest had put their lugagge on top of an empty bed. Our staff is willing to help you whenever they can. It is sad that you complain after a month after your stay. Cheers from Amsterdam, Sven de Boer, Hotelmanager.

6th Nov 2017
5.7

A very clean, spartan and somewhat empty feel to the place. Security was fine and rooms clean but front desk service was very slow. It's a semi hotel/hostel in a nice neighbourhood.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, thank you for reviewing us. Thank you for your honest feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. With your comments we can improve our services. Cheers from Amsterdam, Sven de Boer, Hotelmanager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×