Hostelworld.com

AAE Portland Downtown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 399 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 399 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.0
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • torinelson09032488
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2018
10.0

I loved this hostel! I am a single woman traveling and I felt very safe. I will absolutely book this place again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Sep 2018
6.0

This hostel and the website have a major disconnect. DO NOT BOOK THIS PLACE IF YOU ARE 30 YEARS OLD OR OLDER.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jabu811922
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2018
2.0

With all my luggage, after the tiring trip, and spending time, money & effort to get to the hostel, I was supposed to feel relieved, but got rejected because of my age! I am in my 30's! Can you imagine being discriminated and not having a place to stay in a strange city? After turning me down, the receptionist is not even empathetic & helpful. The name displayed at the front of the building says a totally different name too which is confusing. Also, the place stinks like an indian kitchen.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • cjstandish4972
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2018
10.0

I loved my stay at AAE Portland. Very friendly staff. I had a single private room. Microwave, mini-fridge, flat-screen TV with cable. Everything I needed. The grocery stores nearby were expensive. I drove to Target; $30 for 4 days of food. My room overlooked the streetcar tracks. Especially at night they were noisy. I happen to sleep very soundly so never awoke though. Liked the East Indian decor and especially the rose bushes planted outside along the bldg. Perfect stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • raindear3333946
  • Thailand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Aug 2018
8.3

Location is the best! Staff is nice and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Aug 2018
2.0

Worst service ever, I want my deposit back now!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • misterfrisbie815
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jul 2018
4.0

I didn’t get to stay. Apparently, they are ageists. They only provide accommodations for those 18-35. I fortunately found another place but at double the rate. Also, if I paid anything in advance, I don’t know if I’m being refunded. The young man at the desk said he had to contact the owners about a refund, I’ve heard nothing more.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2018
10.0

The hotel is located on the campus of the State University. The location is very good, the transportation is convenient and the price is affordable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
×