Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Abbey Court

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 8135 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 8135 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Jan 2018
6.6

Fine hostel, location is great and the free breakfast is nice. They’re undergoing renovations which wasn’t an issue, but I felt they should say something when booking. I stayed in a 20 person dorm which was fine minus the fact that there isn’t plus by every bed, meaning it’s very hard to charge your phone/set an alarm. Make sure to bring a UK adapter because they’re very expensive from the hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. We are almost finished our renovations and we state on our website and social media platforms that they are taking place. We understand they are quite inconvenient but promise to have an even better hostel once they're done :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jan 2018
7.1

It’s advertised as the best hostel in Dublin. I had to drag my suitcase up the stairs (at no point did I see it mentioned that there was no lift.) Got into my room and couldn’t have my bag open at the same time as the locker drawer because there wasn’t enough room. The beds had terrible plastic mattresses that crinkled every time you moved and made it ridiculously hot when sleeping under the doona. Was not the most enjoyable stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, sorry you were unhappy with your experience. We do hope to install a lift at some point but we have not been able to up until now unfortunately. We always have plenty of staff to help with bags if necessary, just ask :) Thank you for the review!

  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2018
8.9

Everything was great except I made the mistake of booking a 20 bed dorm where it was very difficult to sleep- I understand that people come and go at all hours but for a light sleeper between the noise in the room and people being loud in the hallways for the better part of the night, I was unable to get any sleep before an early flight.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, sorry about that! We do recommend smaller dorms if a very good sleep is necessary as although most guests are aware of dorm etiquette some do not follow it :(

  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jan 2018
7.7

Good location, unfortunately very close to the street, very loud, difficult to sleep- mattress that was hard as rock didn’t help either. Nice staff, average atmosphere, hot showers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are actually one of the quieter hostels in Dublin as there's only two pubs on our street compared to many on others! Thank for the review and hope you had a good time!

  • abrittinpolamd
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2018
9.1

The hostel was lovely and the staff were nice. I stayed in a 4 bed all female dorm. We had our own bathroom but it was extremely tiny. Everything seemed a bit dated, but it was quite clean. Our room was above the street and at night you could open the window and listen to live music; if you didn’t want to hear it, you just closed your window and the sound was minimal. I’m a solo female traveler and I felt quite safe here. Do keep in mind to bring your own lock. A little pricey.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. We are updating all areas and rooms at the moment :)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2018
4.0

I would like to point off that the location was good to nearby sites etc and the staff were very friendly and helpful. As for the rooms, they were disgusting a d cheap looking. There was only one outlet where it had to be shared between guests. The washrooms were a nightmare. Needless to say, I will never stay here again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the review and sorry to hear you were so disappointed with the rooms. A lot of our rooms have been recently renovated and the others are currently being done. Having said that, we feel 'disgusting' is a bit harsh a term to describe any area of the hostel seeing as we clean thoroughly daily all areas, especially the bathrooms. Our staff are also available 24 hours should you need anything and there's signs to this effect (like extra blankets or if an area needs immediate attention) Many thanks.

  • elizabetheharrington6260
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2018
5.4

The thing that makes me never want to come back...ever...is the fact that the rooms only have one light switch. So every time someone came in at night when you're trying to sleep, every light went on. When sharing a dorm with a down people, this is the most annoying thing ever when you're trying to sleep...especially when you're on the top bunk and the lights are directly above you. The other bad thing is they charged me to leave my bags there only 1 hour before check in!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, many thanks for your review. We are in the process of having lamps fitted at every bed in each dorm. Some of the rooms already have this and we are getting it done as fast as we can. We know this issue is a bit of a pain but the problem is really with the guests coming in late or after 1030pm. They should know not to turn on lights and have necessary things they need left easily reached so as not to disturb other guests - it is general dormitory etiquette and usually our guests are very good about this. We also have free luggage storage in the basement which is always pointed out to guests before they pay. Cheers :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
10th Jan 2018
7.7

It’s a nice enough place but expensive for what it is compared to other Dublin hostels. There’s decent showers but the breakfast isn’t much to speak of. The place is under construction as well, so all the activity rooms it advertises actually don’t exist right now.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for the review. We know the construction is quite annoying but we are getting it done as quickly as possible and we have very clearly stated on our website that we are under construction, and also on our social media channels. Our breakfast is free of charge and all you can eat and includes tea, coffee, brown and white toast, fresh fruit, a choice of cereals, cold cuts of meat and cheese and sausage rolls. We feel it is fairly plentiful. Thanks again for your review :)

4th Jan 2018
2.0

Location was ok but the experience as a whole was terrible. I’ve stayed in budget hostels before also in rooms with 24 beds but this was awful. Cement walls and ceilings were all cracked and huge chunks missing. Staff comes in the rooms at 12-ish loudly talking to each other and waking people up trying to clean. Light fixtures above all of the bunk beds controlled my the main switch so if you stay with inconsiderate people who turn the light on- it’s right above your face.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, sorry to hear you had such an unplesant experience. Our check out time is 10:30 which is clearly displayed and communicated to all guests. The reason you were woken up at 12 noon was because you had already stayed 1.5 hours past the check out time of 10:30. This distrupted check ins arriving to the room later that afternoon. We are currently undergoing some renovations throughout the hostel however none of the affected walls are inside any bedrooms. If you had an issue with any rude customers staying in the room you should have reported it to reception at the time and it would have been looked after immediately. Our hostel is located in the epicentre of Dublin so we cannot understand the reasoning for your location rating of 2.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
4th Jan 2018
8.3

Nice enough hostel, get what you pay for. Triple bunks aren't ideal but comfy enough I guess. Staff are pleasant and helpful, location was perfect, very central! Renovations at the moment, which kind of sucks but no fault to anyone, all in all it wasn't a bad stay! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Awesome, thank you! :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×