Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Adventurehostel JFK/NYC

  • 538 East 86th street #3 Brooklyn 11236, Brooklyn, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 144 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 144 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Sep 2018
7.1

Staff friendly, place very clean. it is a House, so there is not a big space in rooms or the rest of areas.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Sep 2018
10.0

Great place if you have a layover to jfk.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • edmorishima1525
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Sep 2018
10.0

The staff at the Hostel (David and Amanda) we’re very friendly, kind and knowledgeable. I was given great information when trying to get to a specific location via bus and train. I was also given great information on where to go in Brooklyn to see Awesome sites. I would recommend Hostel World and the Hostel I stayed at to family and friends. I felt extremely comfortable there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nnath944709
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2018
9.4

I really liked the place! To get the one inconvenience out of the way, it's located well in the south of Brooklyn so it takes 45 minutes to get to Manhattan. But it's super clean and organized, the staff is friendly and professional, and residents usually leave behind enough food for a decent free breakfast! The neighbourhood provides a nice contrast from the swanky attractions normally associated with New York. It seemed pretty safe too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2018
10.0

Pretty good considering sharing a room with 7 other people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Sep 2018
8.3

David was warm and welcoming from the moment I walked in. He gave me a quick tour of the hostel but was intuitive in knowing whether I was at a loss or needed some form of assistance; very open to helping out. Five minutes from the B17 bus line, ten minutes from the L line station. Plenty of convenient, local grocery stores (very cute might I say). On my last night there David had pizza, snacks, soft beverages and a movie for anyone interested. I absolutely loved my stay here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hannahgillespie326659
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2018
4.9

Cannot fault the staff at all, they were super friendly and made us very welcome, however, the hostel, was not a hostel. It was basically someones apartment in the middle of a random estate, with no signs to point out where the hostel was. The rooms were tiny and had 4 bunk beds crammed into them. There was no proper aircon, the rooms were extremly hot and unconfortable. I would not recommend staying here. We were very dissapointed and it definitely wasn't worth the cost, too far from the city.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2018
8.3

David and Amanda are wonderful and really go out of their way to offer suggestions of things to do and help you out. For example, I was having problems with my flight home and David let me use his phone. Lovely place to stay, slightly far out but depends what you're wanting to see.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • wixdaver4886
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2018
8.0

Nice folks running the unit out of an apartment in Brooklyn. It's in a shadier side of town, so I'd be careful late at night or travel in a group. Mile walk from the L train, which is a good way to get into the city. No AC, but fans make it reasonable in the summer. Prices a little high for a small room with 8 bunks, $30 would be more reasonable than $50. Still, a lot cheaper than a hotel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dileesh28037598
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
22nd Aug 2018
7.4

What I like the most is staff, David is good and smart guy. He can cheer you up, it’s a quite place , those who like to stay away from fast N City life this is the best location for you. Place is clean and acceptable atmosphere. However location is kind of away from city, it’s not easy to find things over here. Beds are weak and only one shower. No breakfast as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×