Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Airlie Beach Backpackers By The Bay

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1011 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1011 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • martina28
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Jan 2018
9.7

I stayed there for 2 nights in an 4 dorm bedroom and it was great. a positiv point is that you can open the door to outside if its to warm or use the AC. (for me these was to cold ;)). its only a 5-10 min walk from the greyhound bus stop to the hostel. further 10 min you will be in the city main street with locals and shops. to the lagoon its a further 5 min walk. i enjoyed it really to stay here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Jan 2018
3.7

The only possibility to lock your staff away is an old box, they smoke in places where it is forbidden, not indoors though, but not limited to the guests.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
24th Dec 2017
6.0

I didn’t find it a very friendly hostel. People had already made their friend groups and sat in a group smoking all day. Plugs were far away from the beds so a pain to charge your phone at night. Had to pay for wifi and it wasn’t even very good. The facilities seemed like they could have been nice 10 years ago but are outdated. It’s also further out from the centre than the other larger hostels. Didn’t really enjoy my stay here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Dec 2017
8.9

Clean Hostel with nice staff, would book again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Dec 2017
9.4

Great hostel, some of the most helpful staff that I encountered during my travels. Room was comfortable, showers were nice and pool/hammocks were great. It's a little more of a walk into the bars/restaurants than some of the other hostels in the area, but still less than 10 minutes so it's not a big deal!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Dec 2017
7.7

Nice hostel, just about the noisy centre. Supermarkets and bars are ony 10 minute walk away. Very nice staff who really want to help you, and also the quiz nights were nice to meet some people. The bathrooms and kitchen need some (more) cleaning. Lockers in the rooms, and also an AC (which is turned off at 7.30am). Definitely coming back if I am in Airlie Beach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Dec 2017
9.1

Good location to stay away from the noise in Airlie beach and enjoy a few beers with the other guests. Security felt nonexistent especially since the doors were always left unlocked but there was a small briefcase in the room the lock personal belongings. Facilities were clean and staff was nice. Pretty easy to meet people in the common area and close enough to go for a stroll down to the nightlife after a few drinks but far away enough it won't keep you up at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Dec 2017
8.9

Staff were really great and helpful. Lock box for valuables. Great atmosphere that is really laid back with an outdoor bar and quiz nights. Hammocks outside to relax in and only really a short walk to the main town so no problem and really close to greyhound. Worth a stop if you are looking for a good laid back atmosphere. Could do with a bit of revamping in kitchen and bathroom and maybe an extra toilet or two but minor things really as service and atmosphere more than make up for it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Dec 2017
7.4

I had a good time at this hostel, but I think it's kind of stingy that they're already on the expensive side and still charge extra for everything. Like wifi what even? Having said that, the staff was really nice, especially the guy who did the pub quiz seemed really motivated and determined to make sure that everyone had a good time. The verdict: do stay, but make sure you have data and don't bother with their breakfast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Dec 2017
6.6

Not the worst hostel I've ever stayed in but definitely not the best. Everything feels run down and unclean, the aircon is only on between 6.30pm and 7.30am so it's really hot in the rooms outside this time. A lot of people chilling in the garden all day and night which is nice if you like that. Overall fairly average.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×