Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2277 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2277 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Dec 2017
7.7

Good part: The hostel is very nice and well located and the staff are as friendly and helpful as anyone would be able to expect. Bad part: The beds were not very comfortable and the place was quite noisy. The price was 27.90 GBP per person per night. At this price, I will try to find other options if I travel to Newcastle again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Dec 2017
4.9

Toilets/shower room was poor for a modern day hostel. Our lock broke on the door and there wasn’t even a mirror in the room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Nov 2017
9.1

Staff were incredibly nice and helped a lot with all requests. Showers and bathrooms were very clean, kitchen was not so much but that is more down to the other guests staying - and it wasn’t too bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good afternoon thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are glad your overall stay with us was good we hope to see you again in the near future. with kind regards the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Nov 2017
9.1

Although noise travels through walls very easily, the rooms and bathrooms were clean, tidy, and spacious. Staff were lovely, and it’s basically right beside the main station and is close to many things to do/see!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you should you make a return trip to Newcastle. Kind regards The Albatross Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2017
9.7

Great hostel, very clean and good value for money. Wifi in rooms would have been nice but for a weekend away it didn't really bother us. Free toast, tea and coffee was a nice touch. Amazing location and very friendly staff too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good afternoon thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are very glad you had a great stay here with us at the albatross i will pass on your comments to the staff and we hope to see you again real soon :) regards the albatross team

29th Oct 2017
7.7

Very close to central train station and close to good bars and restaurants. WiFi didn't reach into the room, but was strong on the first floor and in the lounge. Not very social. At check in, the staff was very rude and unprepared. It made the experience very confusing and difficult. Overall, a good place for a night to go out or rest, but not very memorable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are sorry you found some issues with your stay i will pass on your comment to the management regarding your check in as we take all our guests comments very serious. with kind regards the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Oct 2017
8.9

Enjoyed my stay at the Albatross. Was located close to station, not bad price. Clean and very comfortable living.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review. We are really pleased your stay here was comfortable. We hope to see you again in the future. Regards The Albatross Team

21st Oct 2017
7.1

I'll describe this hostel as being good for people/groups who are not too bothered about where they stay so long as it is close to the Newcastle nightlife. Bars/clubs are very close by which can be described as both excellent and terrible depending on who you are and what you want. The interior of the hostel is ok though unmemorable. Stag/hen parties will take over on every weekend so be aware of this when booking.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for taking the time to write us a review we hope to see you again in the near future. with kind regards the albatross team

20th Oct 2017
7.4

Rooms inconsistently have lockers, which wouldn't be a huge issue except that during the weekends the whole hostel becomes full of pissed up, puke soaked hooligans. Bathrooms are demolished and covered in sick in the mornings. Not exactly an environment where you want to leave your stuff out. Wifi only works in common area which is on the other side of the building. Hostel would be fine if not for the weekend crowd.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Oct 2017
9.4

Excellent location and very clean hostel. Beds and pillows were also very comfy. Slight shame that the cellar area was closed, but understand if for HSE reasons.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good afternoon thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are sorry you found some issues with your stay and we hope to see you again very soon. with kind regards the albatross team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×