Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

22 Oct 2018 , 3 nights
2 Guests

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2505 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2505 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jagger-1235881
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Oct 2018
8.9

Great spot, loved playing pool in the basement area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2018
7.7

Great location, right by the train station, staff were friendly. Only criticism is that it was extremely noisy inside the hostel in the early hours of the morning, we stayed on a Saturday night but still didn’t expect screaming in the corridor and banging on doors at 2am. Perhaps a noise deposit/fine/staff checks on the floors would help deal with this! Also it was VERY hot, the heating was on full blast the whole time, made the room sweaty & smelling of BO and the lounge too hot to sit in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning we are sorry you found some issues with your stay as stated in your review we do take security deposits from the groups this covers noise and behavior we also do hourly walk a rounds as we take our guests security very serious i am afraid your room was on the same floor as a group who wear noisy we do try and get the groups to be quiet when coming back in from there night out most the time it works and some times not again sorry for the issues. with kind regards the albatross

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
10th Oct 2018
9.4

I enjoyed my stay! Staff was very friendly and helpful. They offer free tea and coffee which is nice. And the location is great: right in the center of Newcastle. Thank you for the great time at Albatross!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for the amazing review we are very happy that you overall stay with us was a great one and we hope to see you again soon. with kind regards the albatross

  • simonbatcup5060
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Oct 2018
9.1

Nice front desk staff, would have been good to have internet in the bedrooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are glad you had a good stay with us and hope to see you again soon. with kind regards the albatross

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Sep 2018
8.0

Great place for a short stay - amazing location and very helpful staff. It was quite noisy, but that has to be expected so not a big issue!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for the review we are glad you had a good stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future. with kind regards the albatross

  • giramund
  • Switzerland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Sep 2018
10.0

just awesome, great hostel with incredibly friendly staff. would come back anytime

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for the amazing review we do try and give our guests the best experience as possible we do hope to see you again if you pass our way again. with kind regards the albatross

  • emilyyhowes3896
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Sep 2018
10.0

First time staying in a Hostel and was pleasantly surprised, super friendly staff, really clean. Location is very central, city noise is nearly non existent from the rooms. Was able to store luggage before check in and after check out, would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for taking the time to write us an amazing review we hope to see you again very soon. with kind regards the albatross

26th Sep 2018
10.0

Great location. Friendly and helpful staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for the amazing review we hope to see you again very soon. with kind regards the albatross

  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Sep 2018
7.7

Very good price for such a central location. Comfy beds, hot showers and clean toilets, sinks etc. Kitchen was a bit messy but I understand this is hard to keep on top of with so many people using it. Would have liked a curtain in the room as the blind let a lot of light in. We also had a bit of a problem with check-in as reception staff insisted we needed to show driving license or passport, which I didn't have with me (this is not actually needed for UK citizens).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for the review we are glad you had a good stay we hope to see you again soon. with kind regards the albatross

  • bowerrich1103
  • South Africa, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Sep 2018
8.3

The hostel staff were very friendly on arrival. The room was clean and check in and out was a breeze. Couldnt ask for a better location in relation to the train station!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for the review we are happy you had a good stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. with kind regards the albatross

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×