Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

22 Aug 2018 , 3 nights
2 Guests

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2443 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2443 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • hadlowteacher6500
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Aug 2018
6.9

Albatross Hostel is well located. Good security. No breakfast is disappointing. They say free coffee and bread but that's not the best without milk or butter. Facilities overall were fine. Lockers under the bed were hopeless - too small to fit a bag, and not easily lockable. There's a fair few stairs to climb each time you go to your room. It's very middle of the road from my experience, but I would stay again. It was comfortable enough.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2018
9.4

I hate a great stay at Albatross! The girls in my room definitely added to that time, as well as all the others staying in the hostel.. they were all so friendly. The staff was very welcoming and offered advice when needed. The waterpressure when showering wasn’t the best but at least the water was warm and the area was clean! Also, the kitchen and lounge area was a bonus. And the distance to the train/ bus station as well as the main sites to see was amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2018
8.3

Linen on beds was very good, comfortable and starched. We’d have liked to had jam available in morning so that toast could be eaten with jam and so breakfast would be covered. Kitchen was very well looked after and hostel was very clean. We had bikes with us they could be securely stowed outside but it would have been good to have had a immovable object to secure them to. Staff were very helpful and cheery, no noise at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2018
8.0

Located near most pubs and clubs in the city. Only problem I had with the place is that their wifi service wasn't strong in the rooms. Only in the lobby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good afternoon thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are glad your overall stay with us was good and we hope to see you again. with kind regards the albatross

  • briancstory488
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Aug 2018
9.1

Everything you need in a hostel, they have. Friendly and helpful staff and a great set of facilities. Super close to a lot of sights and even closer to transportation around the city. Only downside was awful wifi and vibe, but that's not the hostel's fault, nobody was in a talking mood.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good afternoon thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are glad you had a good stay with us and we hope you come and see us again if you are ever passing this way again. with kind regards the albatross

  • AaronLMueller562
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2018
8.3

Staff was friendly and helpful. My key card didn't work several times which was annoying but they set it right. The rooms, beds, showers and toilets were clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for your review we are sorry you found an issue with your key card we hope this will not stop you from coming and seeing us again. with kind regards the albatross team

3rd Aug 2018
8.0

I only spent one night in the place. It was a Friday/Saturday night. There's a club with loud music played right opposite the hostel so it was making a lot of noise when I was entering the hostel. Nevertheless, my dorm was located at the other end of the building and the noise was barely detectable. The place was clean and spacious. So was my dorm. Good central location of the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • maxtait973907
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2018
10.0

Really happy with my stay in The Albatross, the staff were so lovely and I have to commend them on how well they put up with all the drunken people that stay there haha. It was very secure, with key carded doors and lockers in the rooms. The bathroom was always very clean, and the kitchen was great, I loved that they had free tea and coffee. The communal area was also huge, full of chairs, tables, sofas, all spread over 2 floors (the basement area was so cool). Will definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for your review it is nice to read that your stay was a great one and we cannot wait to see you again on your next adventure. with kind regards the albatross team

25th Jul 2018
9.1

A very good hostel, excellently located, with super friendly staff and everything you need. Beds are comfortable, showers are good, there's free coffee and tea. The space is not the biggest you can get, but it's wide enough to ensure you don't feel cramped.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for your review we are glad you had a good stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future. with kind regards the albatross team

  • levdad447972
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jul 2018
9.4

Large, friendly, central. Free tea coffee and toast. Bathroom bit of trek from our bedroom, but not really an issue. Had access to washer and dryer, needed two of each not one as there were a few people trying to use them. But very cheap to use.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for your review we are glad you had a good stay with us and hope it will not be to long until your next visit. with kind regards the albatross team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×