Hostelworld.com
17 Nov 2018 , 3 nights
2 Guests

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 2523 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 2523 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jenniferdavies237230
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2018
4.9

The noise at night was relentless, slamming doors, shouting and squealing, right through to 6am. The toilets were a long walk from the room and it was less than pleasant trying to reach these with many drunk people around. The reception demanded a key deposit from us both which seemed unnecessary to request from two people in their mid 30s. Felt more like a holiday camp for teenagers than a hostel. Kitchen dirty. Room was just about clean enough but drafty. Pretty grim experience overall.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • sticklemouse1405
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2018
9.4

My second time at the Albatross, just as good as the first time. Great facilities... comfortable... helpful staff... excellent! Definitely not the last time I will visit when in Newcastle.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning, thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are happy to hear that you decided to come and visit us again and we hope to see you again when you back here in Newcastle. with kind regards the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Nov 2018
9.4

Great location. Clean. Comfy beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are very happy your overall stay with us was a good one and we hope to see you again soon. with kind regards the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Oct 2018
8.3

Great hostel in the heart of Newcastle! Was made to feel very welcome here! Nice common room, two thumbs ups from me, highly recommended! 😁

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning, thank you for taking the time to write us a review we are very happy your overall stay with us was a good one and we hope to see you again very soon. with kind regards the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
22nd Oct 2018
9.7

Really clean place. Nice staff - Maurice and Jade took really good care of me. Great location in the middle of Toon, lockers under every bed, clean bathrooms, and a kitchen with two stoves.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning. thank you for the review i will let the staff know about your comments we hope to see you again soon. with kind regards the albatross team

  • azzouzadlene804898
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Oct 2018
9.7

Amazing hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jakepbfranks4663
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Oct 2018
10.0

Great hostel centrally located in Newcastle. Staff were fantastic, and obviously really like their job. My room had metal bunk beds, which were a bit squeaky when sleeping, but not too much of a bother. Have stayed before, and would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good afternoon thank you for the fantastic review we are glad you had another great stay with us an we will see you again soon :) regards the albatross team

  • backpackbill8894
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Oct 2018
7.4

Great central location but having to walk down 3 flights of steps to get to the toilets was ridiculous. Try to avoid the top floor dorm rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jagger-1235881
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Oct 2018
8.9

Great spot, loved playing pool in the basement area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good afternoon thank you for the review we are glad you had a great stay with us and we hope to see you again if you passing our way again. with kind regards the albatross team

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Oct 2018
7.7

Great location, right by the train station, staff were friendly. Only criticism is that it was extremely noisy inside the hostel in the early hours of the morning, we stayed on a Saturday night but still didn’t expect screaming in the corridor and banging on doors at 2am. Perhaps a noise deposit/fine/staff checks on the floors would help deal with this! Also it was VERY hot, the heating was on full blast the whole time, made the room sweaty & smelling of BO and the lounge too hot to sit in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

good morning we are sorry you found some issues with your stay as stated in your review we do take security deposits from the groups this covers noise and behavior we also do hourly walk a rounds as we take our guests security very serious i am afraid your room was on the same floor as a group who wear noisy we do try and get the groups to be quiet when coming back in from there night out most the time it works and some times not again sorry for the issues. with kind regards the albatross

×