Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alcatraz Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 930 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 930 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Nov 2017
6.3

Apart from the bathrooms, we had no complaints. The common room during the winter/autumn months is quite dead and the atmosphere in the kitchen was not great. Good for people who want a hotel-like experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Oct 2017
8.9

Gorgeous street in Prenzlauer near Mauerpark and easy to reach. The staff were especially helpful and nice!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Sep 2017
8.3

More than average hostel, in the perfect location of the town for party, sightseeing and just enjoying Berlin vobe. For that price range (late booking) I've seen much better facilities in other Berlin hostels. Good for solo travelers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Sep 2017
7.7

This was a pretty decent hostel with a good location. There is a train station right outside so makes getting to places very easy. We found that there was no atmosphere when we were there. We didn't see many people hanging out and those that were around did talk to each other. The hostel doesn't seem to be built for socialising - from what we saw anyway.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Sep 2017
8.3

Great place and atmosphere. Staff was very helpful too. It was a bit far away from the touristy places though. You have to buy public transportation tickets to get anywhere. Very hipster area as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 42 reviews
12th Sep 2017
9.4

Clean. Nice vibe. Friendly and super helpful staff. Good kitchen facilities. Nice part of town

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
18th Aug 2017
10.0

The staff was very helpful and friendly. We loved that we could rent bikes from the hostel. Location was very nice, a lot of nice restaurants and small, more authentic streets in the area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Aug 2017
8.6

All I would say lets this place down is the noise from the Inmates, other that that, its great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Jul 2017
6.3

The Alcatraz Backpacking hostel was clean and safe but quite far out from other areas such as Kreusberg so be prepared to spend time on the train. The first man who checked us in was very unfriendly and didn't really explain the transport so there's a metro and a tram from eberswalder staße which were very handy. The room was clean but the walls were quite thin so you could hear everyone coming in at 5am. Also the Internet is only free downstairs so don't expect it in your room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×