Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Alcatraz Backpacker Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 951 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 951 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Jul 2018
6.3

Not a hostel to drink and meet people at but accomodation is fine

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2018
10.0

Nice hostel with a location near transit stops.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Jun 2018
7.7

Hostel has potential to be really fun but there was a 10pm noise curfew which I get but it was a little annoying! The staff were nice but he WiFi was pretty bad!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2018
6.0

While I really enjoyed the location (outside of the touristy centre, close to lots of transportation, great neighbourhood), I was less in love with the hostel. When I stayed, there was no atmosphere and if you saw someone, it was a family or group that kept to themselves. There was also no wifi in the room and the bathroom smelled awful at all times. The kitchen was great though, and the room I stayed in was big and had great windows to let in light and a cross breeze.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2018
8.3

Decent hostel, located near the metro so it’s easy to get around. Good amount of food in the area. Beds are pretty comfortable, no plugs by the beds and not all the rooms have WiFi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kyracarey2723
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th May 2018
9.7

The rooms are a little small but the environment there was so amazing. The staff are so friendly and are willing to help you out no matter what. Transit is right out the front making it easy to get around. You can even leave all of your luggage there the day you have to check out and go explore for the the rest of the day too. I highly recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • yachtbarbaraann6588
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Apr 2018
8.6

Private rooms were a bit “institutional” looking. Kind of reminded me of pictures of old GDR apartments. But, very clean. Bed was comfortable. Staff was professional and efficient, but not exactly personable or friendly. Shared bathrooms were only shared by one other room, which is good, especially if no one is in the other room. Not sure the provate rooms are worth what they’re charging. Better deals are to be had with Airbnb, as far as private tooms are concerned.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2018
9.4

Very friendly and helpful staff. Laid back atmosphere while being in the heart of the ever awake Berlin. Clean as well. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×