Hostelworld.com

American Dream Hostel

  • 168 East 24th Street, between Lexington and 3rd Av, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2450 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2450 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Nov 2018
9.7

Loved.the place, breakfast and location. Really good Deal for NYC. Strongly recomend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • annee19958232
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2018
10.0

Perfect place! More like a bed and breakfast than a hostel. A bit cold during night, but that was okay, as everything else was great. We had a 2 person private room, but you could easlith have slept 3, as the bunkbed was larger at the bottom mattress ☺️

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Nov 2018
8.9

This place was great!!! Perfect location, kind staff, and the free breakfast was a bonus :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • happy_wanderer
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Oct 2018
10.0

Had a great stay at american dream. My room was fit for purpose, clean and comfortable. The shower was hot and clean. I loved the fact that there were additional towels and bedding available aswell as laundry facilities. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic,. there was some street noise but this is to be expected everywhere in NYC, some earplugs sorted this out. Good location and the building felt safe and secure. would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • larissa_izaias8169
  • Brazil, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Oct 2018
9.4

Great location. Perfect price for NYC

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • magentana1624
  • Thailand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Oct 2018
9.4

Really nice location. Breakfast are excellent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Oct 2018
8.0

Breakfast surpassed expectation, good location, but a little noisy from street noises at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Oct 2018
8.3

Private room bed felt pretty comfortable, with decent mattress and linen. One of the quieter NYC hostels I've tried, which is a plus for getting a decent sleep. Breakfast range seemed pretty good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • krjohnson128776
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Oct 2018
10.0

My stay was great! Good location, friendly staff, clean room & bathroom! I especially like that the shower was separated from the toilet. Breakfast was included and there was a good variety.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rockwell20164009
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
26th Oct 2018
9.1

Breakfast was FABULOUS! Waffles, Dunkin’ Donuts, beagles, orange juice, coffee, etc. I do wish they had more hot tea options. The room was what I expected. Unfortunately, our radiator was on the fritz for the first two nights, so I didn’t sleep a wink. When I brought the situation to their attention, they fixed it ASAP. I was VERY happy with their response. I gave 4 stars for security because they didn’t have a lock on their luggage storage room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
×