Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

American Dream Hostel

  • 168 East 24th Street, between Lexington and 3rd Av, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2290 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2290 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Jun 2018
10.0

This is the only hostel I stay at in NYC anymore. Central location, good food nearby, good bars. If you need a cheap single room in a clean place, this is it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ldufficy769
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2018
7.7

Decent value considering the price. Great location...walking distance to lots of restaurants/shops/public transport. Rooms tiny but clean. Can be very noisy on the street outside from early in the morning with the post office next door. Breakfast a nice touch. Bathroom on the second floor only moderately clean...water would clog up while you were showering but would go down quick enough once you finished. Overall quite satisfied with my stay,

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • lesleighewright4143
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2018
8.6

American dream was fantastic. My partner and I found it very affordable and just what we needed. The facilities were very clean, beds were comfortable and everyone was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the morning is great and although there are laundry facilities available, it was recommended that we use the dry cleaners next door for our washing. For one load of washing it costs us under $10 US and it was washed, folded and ready for us the same day, very helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • enricopp89
  • Italy, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2018
8.9

The hostel is in a central position, perfect to visit the main attractions. The check in was ok. Facilities and restrooms were very clean. I was in the last floor and the WiFi doesn’t work well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kamrynbrown
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jun 2018
8.6

Great place to stay in New York on a budget. Highly recommend using the third floor shower if you stay, because it was significantly cleaner, due to the fact it is used the least! Additionally if you keep the a/c running all night it drowns out the street noise, which is great! I would stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • phq2662716
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2018
7.4

I've never stayed at hostel before and wasn't sure what to expect. Everything was clean and tidy. Didn't mind sharing toilet and shower and the rooms being small, of course wasn't spending time in the room. We were walking miles and miles a day! So since that's what we were doing I would appreciate a much better quality mattress so we could get good sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • harrietroberts16419
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2018
8.9

Would absolutely stay here again and recommend to anyone!! Breakfast was amazing, the bagels were insane. Lots of choice and plenty of fresh fruit. Room was clean and comfortable, had private sink and towels were provided. Air con. Bathrooms were super clean. Really great location. Only downside was could have been more social.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jun 2018
8.6

Clean, no-fuss hostel that has all the essential amenities. Great value for NYC. Rooms are small but so are most rooms in Manhattan. Shared Bathrooms cleaned regularly and rarely had to wait. Would recommend for the busy traveller who wants to spend their money on NYC activities rather than a room you never see.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • iris_wong1231238
  • Hong Kong, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jun 2018
7.7

Breakfast is great. Snacks available throughout the day. We stayed in a private room with bunk beds. Not the best sleep we've ever had but you get what you pay for. Staff is friendly. Easy check-in and check-out. Only one shower per floor but we didn't need to wait too long. Toilet and shower are clean enough. Hostel is quiet but our room was on the side that faces the back of hostel so not sure about the other side that faces the road.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Shelbyelkins
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2018
8.6

I enjoyed my stay at American Dream and would gladly visit again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×