Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

American Dream Hostel

  • 168 East 24th Street, between Lexington and 3rd Av, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2373 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2373 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • natalietravelstheworld
  • Ukraine, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2018
9.1

The only downside if you are traveling alone - you still get a bunk bed. Aside from that, everything is excellent. Location is amazing, staff is friendly, breakfast is fantastic, it is extremely clean and secure. My only wish is to have a few rooms with just twin beds so it would be more convenient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dlwheaton3497
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2018
9.7

Excellent value for the location! The staff was friendly and helpful. My room was a small cubicle with a window facing a wall about a foot away but it was clean and the sink in the room was a nice convenience. The community shower and toilette facilities were very small but they were clean and functioned well. Since I mainly wanted a place to crash after spending the day and evening exploring NYC, the small size of the room and lack of view or window light was not a factor.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • emills95434
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Sep 2018
6.9

Does what you want for a location in New York but the hostel itself is nothing special. Window in room facing a wall. Staff friendly and available to help

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • malesinha3363
  • Chile, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2018
8.6

NY isn't one of the best cities I've visited, worse if you just arrived from DC which is an amazing, green, calm and nice city... But hopefully Albert was on turn the night we arrived and he welcomed us very warmly! In comparison to DC, the room was 1/3 of the one we got over there for double the price, but I guess that's NYC prices... Breakfast was very good, though they could add some ham, cheese, salty stuff to eat. Sadly the hostel is located off the side of USPS parking lot (very noicy)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • julikantor2675
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Sep 2018
8.9

Breakfast makes up for every little detail you can find. It's a great hostel with again, the best breakfast ever.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • victoria_ralph3817
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2018
8.0

Don't know why you would ever pay 200 plus a night in NYC when you could stay at this wonderful place. I saw the only bad reviews were that the pipes were noisy in the night, so we brought ear plugs and were just fine. You not only save a some money, but get clean bathrooms, comfortable bedrooms with air conditioning and a delicious breakfast every morning. Would and will recommend to all I know going to NYC, and will stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • bridgetballantyne642749
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2018
10.0

Myself and my daughters had a fantastic stay at the American Dream Hostel. The staff were really helpful and friendly, the breakfast was great and access to snacks all day was fab. We were also very lucky with our room as we shared a bathroom with the room next door so didn’t have to go down the corridor for shower or toilet 😊 Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, easy access to everything either on door or by subway.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ignaciomorales87
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Aug 2018
8.0

the hostel is fine if you need a place to crash, that's pretty much it. the good thing is that everything was super clean, which for me, is super important in a place like this. I think the comfort of the beds and mattresses could be improved at least a little as it gives some back pain the morning after, but other than that, it's just what you would expect from a hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alice_gac5465
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2018
8.3

The staff are very helpful and friendly. The breakfasts are great and of good quality with plenty of fruit and real orange juice. The location was perfect. The wifi works well. Our room has no daylight but had a fan and air- conditioning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Aug 2018
7.7

Good location, clean rooms, good breakfast and reasonably helpful staff. Has zero atmosphere so it is more of a bed and breakfast than a hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×