Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

American Dream Hostel

  • 168 East 24th Street, between Lexington and 3rd Av, New York, USA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 2172 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 2172 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jan 2018
6.3

It was an OK stay. The place is old and things are clean. except for the carpet on the room which was pretty disgusting. I got a single room but I got a room with a bunk bed still (apparently they are all the same) I paid to be not just alone but to avoid hitting my head when I woke up. So this wasn't ideal. The lady at the entrance was helpful but sort of creepy. Good to spend one night, I would check for other options if the stay was a bit longer.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Dec 2017
8.9

This hostel is great, very well located, staff friendly. I got unfortunately sick during my trip, and since some days I opted for staying in and ordering something to eat, the staff was acomodative enough to let the delivery boy come thru the hostel to bring me my food. I'm sure I'll be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Dec 2017
8.3

Good location, near 23rd St subway station for easy trips downtown and uptown. Also well served by local restaurants. Very good breakfast, with easy-going attitude to food left in the kitchen, helps to save on meals out. Warm, comfortable and welcoming.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Dec 2017
8.6

We were looking for a budget option for our first trip to NY and this hostel really was value for money; the staff and breakfast were brilliant, rooms and facilities perfectly fine for what we needed. Excellent WiFi and a good location just far enough from the neon and noise of Times Square, but within easy walking distance for us.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Dec 2017
10.0

Staff were super friendly and helpful after a long day. Food is available all the time which is great for a hungry traveller. Location is perfect there’s heaps to do within walking distance would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Dec 2017
9.4

We very much enjoyed our stay at American Dream Hostel when we visited NYC during Christmas time. It's expensive for a hostel (NYC ain't cheap), but we still felt like we got our money's worth, because it's located in a great part of the city, the staff is friendly, and the atmosphere is great. We loved coming back to our private room to watch Christmas movies and sleep after a long day of playing tourists. I'd definitely recommend this hostel to anyone who is planning a trip to NYC!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Dec 2017
8.0

The location was great. The security was good, and the staff was friendly. The room and bathroom were clean. The drawbacks were the three flight walk up with luggage and the radiator heat you could not adjust. It was roasting on the top bunk. Overall it was a good value for the money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tboitier4783
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Dec 2017
9.1

Good location, affordable room. Try not to get the room 21, plumbing noises will not let you sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Dec 2017
9.4

What a great hostel! Prior to arriving we were nervous and almost booked a hotel. We are so glad we didn’t. The reception is 24hours which was perfect with our late arrival. All staff were so lovely and helpful. My partner & I booked a twin room & shared bathroom. It was basic, clean & safe. Out of the 5 night stay only had to wait for the shower once. It can be a bit noisey and it’s small but it’s NYC and it was such good value for money. Breakfast was an incredibly good spread. Location great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Dec 2017
9.4

Excellent location and great value for money, especially if you're not fussed about having in-room bathroom/toilets. Location is walking distance to all Manhattan sites/venues and it's a nice, clean B@B. They have a nice kitchen and great breakfast, with facilities to have coffee etc. throughout the day! Something most hotels don't offer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×