Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Amstel House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 3274 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 3274 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jul 2018
9.1

Good atmosphere. Clean. Decent location - safe, nice neighborhood, close to transit yet further from destination (20-30 mins).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2018
9.7

The best hostel I’ve ever stayed in! It seems recently renovated and updated so very clean. The lockers are HUGE which was a pleasant surprise, and the showers are well thought out and big enough. This reminds me of a hotel, and the staff were all super friendly! It is located in a more “real” neighborhood than most which is easy to access through transit. When I come back to Berlin, I will most definitely be staying here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • shacharlev973314
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Jul 2018
7.7

Staff was good. Location was close to metro so you could get anywhere. Pretty good price. Met some nice people in my dorm, very clean, big big big downside: the age there is younger than 18+, expect to see a lot of very young children and teenagers and they’re very loud and annoying. But it wasn’t a bad time. Facilities are really good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2018
9.4

Was a very nice hostel. Clean, secure and comfortable/spacious dorm rooms. Only small issues was no access to a kitchen and the wifi was a bit unreliable sometimes. If I couldn’t stay in Kreuzberg or Friedrichshain would happily stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jul 2018
8.6

Super nice place, easy to meet people and has a kitchen, p easy to get around the city if you have a u-bahn pass

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind words! It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the future :) Cheers, your Amstel Crew

  • erinmckay2129841
  • Northern Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2018
7.4

Amstel Hostel would have been great if it was in a better area. Having been to other hostels in Berlin the atmosphere in Amstel House was basically dead in comparison. It’s in a more residential area, about 10 mins from the u-bhan station and buses which makes it easy to get to but it’s fat out from clubs and bars. Staff were good and facilities good too

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback. Sorry you didn't like the atmosphere in our place! We are located in Moabit, that might be a little far from the clubs, but its in one of the last real neighbourhoods in Berlin. Since we're well connected with the rest of the city, you can have best of both worlds. Always safe travels, your Amstel Crew

  • mats06609264
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jul 2018
9.4

Great place to stay, solo or group. Massive facility, friendly and helpful staff, great common area and guest kitchen, and close to grocery market. Short-ish distance to public transit which takes time to get into the city, best to take a bike and ride around the streets to see everything at better pace. Perfect place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cpippin15459
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Jul 2018
10.0

This hostel is amazing! The rooms are spacious and each bed has a light and outlet. The security lockers are huge and you can fit all of your stuff in them. Staff was really nice and the common areas were great for meeting people. The location was also great because it was in a cute neighborhood with great places to eat and grocery stores. But you could also get to local buses and metros easily! The place is also really clean. If I’m ever back in Berlin I’ll stay here for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for this great feedback! We're lookign forward to seeing you again. :) Cheers, your Amstel Crew

2nd Jul 2018
6.6

Moabit is a definitely an interesting area and Amstel House is basically a dorm residence for tennie boppers. I was super annoyed with the thin walls and how they were running up and down the hallway banging on the walls at 4am. It’s a huge hostel and there were huge groups of kids under 18. The bathrooms need some updating. Water goes everywhere and then there’s this puddle of dirty water you have to walk in. The beds are old and shake when you move (constantly waking up when someone moves).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your honest feedback, we appreciate it. Sorry you didn't like the overall experience. Sometimes we have school classes visiting us on weekdays, we try our best to keep them quiet, so everybody can get the night rest they need. Our bathrooms are cleaned twice a day, so we're sorry you didnt like the overall cleanliness. Cheers, your Amstel Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Jun 2018
8.3

It’s a little bit out of the way, but the facilities are amazing!! Very clean and well kept but we didn’t meet many people, maybe dependant on the time of year....

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks a lot for your kind review. We'd love to welcome you again in the future. :) Safe Travels. Cheers, your Amstel Crew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×