Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Amstel House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 3000 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 3000 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
31st Dec 2017
8.3

The staff was friendly and helpful. The cost to rent a towel was reasonable. The rooms were very spacious. I would recommend this place due to its cleanliness and proximity to the metro system, which made sightseeing easy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Dec 2017
8.0

A nice hostel in a good location with good staff. A little out of town but easy to get the train or bus into the city. MOST of the staff were very nice and helpful but sometimes when there were groups checking in it would take a long time to speak to someone. Kitchen area was well equipped and breakfast was good, bathrooms were clean and there was a nice atmosphere in the evening in the communal areas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thanks for your rate. Even though we are in a residential area it takes only 15 minutes by bus to reach the heart of the city center. Next time ask our staff, we will be happy to give you the best tips. We are very sorry to have made you wait. Even though we only have few group check-ins a week, they sometimes take a bit longer.

  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2017
8.0

It was just what we needed!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks! We would love to know what we could have done to be perfect. We hope to host you another time in Berlin.

  • bradladewig8576
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2017
9.1

Great hostel, friendly staff. Big breakfast buffet. Expensive for New Years Eve (but everything is in Berlin that evening). Very clean rooms, fresh linen, and clean bathrooms. Also great security (swipe card access from the foyer, then swipe card access to the room). Good location, not far from centre of Berlin and easily reached if you're flying into Tegel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks. You are right. New Year's Eve is always more expensive in the entire Berlin. But our prices are actully budged, one of the best cost benefit in town. Come back another time and you will see it ;)

  • enricobieri7231
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Dec 2017
7.4

This is the biggest hostel I'm ever been. Sadly it is situated pretty far from the central station. The next bus and metro stations are not too near to the hostel. The stuff was nice. It was annoying that you have to pay 5 euro deposit for the room key. The Toilet after new year'Eve was pretty horrible but I think, It's now everyday like that. They have a very cool bar, and someday they make "All you can eat" BBQ for only 7.50 euro. The Hamburgers are amazing!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
30th Dec 2017
8.0

Other than the staff being entirely oblivious or behaving like they could care less about your concerns (after you've paid to stay there of course) The place is good it's close to public transport and good cafes etc nearby

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Dec 2017
9.7

This place has everything you could possibly need while exploring Berlin (including a 24hr bar). The staff are incredibly friendly and more than happy to help with anything you need! The dorms and bathrooms are clean and it is only a 10 minute walk to the local train and bus stops which can take you anywhere in the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2017
9.7

Really nice place, went to Berlin for the new years to visit friend so I wasn't around a lot but the staff was really polite, the hostel clean and spacious, would gladly stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • haunatasha9660
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Dec 2017
8.6

My stay at Amstel House was great - I stayed in a 4-bed mixed dorm + ensuite. The dorm itself was quite spacious; I never felt cramped. My belongings were always safe as there were lockers for the room and building. The breakfast buffet is good. The ensuite was a rather small though, and unfortunately the shower did not drain properly, so often I showered in a small pool of water. It was also poorly ventilated but leaving the door open does the trick, and there are communal showers available.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Dec 2017
8.6

Great hostel, though my room didn't get cleaned the whole week I was staying there

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×