Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Amstel House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 3477 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 3477 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • victorcrunchjr5769
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Sep 2018
9.1

It's a good hostel with a nice staff. The layout of the common areas is nice. I did not feel that people socialized that much here but hey, every group is different.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rmgomez12
  • Trinidad And Tobago, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 39 reviews
17th Sep 2018
7.7

Overall nice hostel but very expensive. I liked that they had free luggage storage, large common areas, good locks on the rooms, reception all friendly etc. While I was staying here, there were hundreds of teenagers staying there, running around and being loud. Also at night the common area was dead quiet. No social vibe at all. If it was cheaper I would say worth it, but for this price I can't say so

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • mmbardach8533
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Sep 2018
8.6

For the most part, this hostel was good. Secure, clean, nice comfy atmosphere and friendly staff. The only downsides were that I had to walk almost an hour to get to the main part of Berlin. There’s a bus not too far away but I prefer to walk. Also, I had gotten used to having my own electric socket at other hostels’ bunks. Not this one. There were 2 for the whole room of 4 people, so two of us didn’t get to charge our phones overnight. Also you have to make your own bed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stellalyc
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Sep 2018
8.0

Location is slightly away from the main city. Suburb seems dangerous for 2 female travellers when you’re walking after dark. The hallways were brightly lit, really enjoyed the fun facts on the door. Toilets and bathrooms were clean. And the dorms were very spacious. Lockers provided but you had to bring your own padlock.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Sep 2018
5.1

Staff seemed money hungry, the first thing he mentioned when I arrived was the amount of money I owed

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • spencerwhitecolumbia2068
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Sep 2018
7.4

Kinda Far from most things. Staff was nice. Toilets and showers were not. Not bad overall but I just wouldn’t recommend it to a friend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lred1358564
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Sep 2018
9.4

good location for lollapalooza, the staff were great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mirandamcdowell8975
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Sep 2018
7.4

Pros: only a 5-10 min bus ride to the train station. About 20 mins by bus to city center. Staff was very helpful with finding bus stations, pharmacy, post office, and places to eat. Swipe card security worked well. Cons: WiFi was horrible. VERY loud. Would recommend wearing ear plugs so you can't hear people walking/running in hallway or people from out the window. They don't wash the blankets after people checkout out, only shake them out and re-fold them. Bring your own lock to store luggage!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ameliamw955172
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2018
8.9

For the most part everything was great! The staff was super helpful and very friendly. The location is the only thing that was kind of iffy. It felt like a slightly sketchy area of Berlin especially at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your amazing review! We're looking forward to having you again in the future. Cheers, your Amstel Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Paraguay, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Sep 2018
8.6

It's a little away from the city centre. Staff are friendly and has a nice common area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×