Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Amstel House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 3070 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 3070 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2018
5.1

Despite empty rooms available, they squeeze in newer guests in already occupied small rooms at late night and very early morning which interrupt sleeping previous guests. They do so to reduce their cost of cleaning and maintenance of room later on but new guests checking in all night, from mid night to 6 am in a 4 bed room do not let sleep others. Very bad experience so not recommended.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • kkolodzik75101
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2018
9.7

The staff were fantastic and very nice. They even printed off directions for me to get back to the airport. Cleanliness was good. Breakfast was a bit expensive (6 euros), but it was decent. The only downside was that the bed shook anytime anyone walked past it so it would walk me up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Apr 2018
9.7

Really nice hostel, has a very friendly vibe and the decor is quirky. Busy bar and really good prices, happy hour is a must. Beds were comfy and rooms were well set out, really enjoyed my stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • marisa_thewanderess
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
1st Apr 2018
7.4

A big 'institutional' type hostel that is close to transit/airport but a bit far from the main sights (Berlin Wall, Checkpoint Charlie, etc.). The beds were super comfy and our 4 bed female dorm was pretty spacious. The only downside during our stay was that there were several large school groups staying there and the time so that made it SUPER loud and crowded at times, but I guess because this hostel is so large, it is a popular choice for big groups so that can't be helped.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Mar 2018
8.9

40 minute walk from city centre. 5 minute walk from nearest subway station Turmstrabe. Quiet hostel despite each evening having groups in the common room. Seems to be a hostel where school groups come to stay, though there were other groups/individuals travelling. Facilities were really good and clean. Able to borrow a towel for 1 euro and buy a lock for the lockers for 2 euros. Always had staff available at the reception to help. Was a nice hostel to stay at. Felt safe being there alone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • chinsuk_alex8463
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Mar 2018
8.9

Great hostel with a bar and happy hour! 10 minute walk to the train station with convenient access to the rest of the city. Nice food court area only a block away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kayleigh-janewright_19395
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2018
8.6

Amstel House Hostel is the perfect spot for anyone wanting to stay outside of Berlin 'city centre' but still wants the convenience of the main transport systems. The Hostel itself is a very cool venue with 24hr bar which has great prices and happy hour every day! There is lots of local shops, cafes and a few eating places surrounding the hostel including at the market hall just down the road which has some amazing food and drink options. I stayed in a female dorm and couldn't have been happier.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2018
9.7

great hostel with very nice facilities just a bit outside of town

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for the nice words!

  • macinnisbrodie4724
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2018
9.1

Very friendly staff, decent location and a cosy feel. 9.1/10 would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you! We would be pleased to host you again. Always welcome in our Amstel House =)

  • whitleysasha968739
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Mar 2018
9.7

I loved this hostel. The building is really cool with a lot of artwork, foosball, a bar, a cafeteria, etc. The staff was friendly and helpful and everything was clean. I have absolutely no complaints.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 36,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×